Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodovis Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodovis Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832968

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 21.03.14 - 31.10.14

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
              9/10 from 78 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a 5 night break at Woodovis and I didn't want to come home.

What a wonderful find - such a peaceful site but also a lovely site for young children, with the play park, swimming pool and games room.

The only thing that would have made it even better would have been a space for ball games and a run around away from the pitches.

The showers were fantastic, particularly as you could adjust temperature and pressure.

The Tamar Donkey park is worth a visit if you have younger children - we had a lovely day and even got to take a very stubborn donkey for a walk!

We are so glad that we found this site and will definitely be returning in the not so distance future!

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Walkpink 1 review from this member

My wife and I spent a week at Woodovis Park at the end of March. We are not in the habit of leaving reviews but in this instance believe that the standards set by this site are so high that we have to recommend it to others.

The facilities are excellent and kept immaculate. The site is very quiet and pitches spaced so that there is no sense of overcrowding. The showers are super powerful and the temperature is fully adjustable, they even provide shower gel!

The staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have come across and we are looking forward to meeting them again when we return later this year.

The site is an ideal base for touring both Devon and Cornwall but is also a great place to spend a lazy day. A fresh baked croissant or pain au chocolate is a good start to the day and the freshly baked baguettes are delicious.

The pool with a jacuzzi and infared therapy sauna is an unusual and welcome addition to this relatively small site and provided at no extra cost.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 55 reviews from this member

Picked Woodovis following the glowing reviews on here and their website statement (quiet, peaceful site) and thought this would be just our cup of tea!

As you can see from all my other site reviews I am not in the habit to leave negative reviews but I feel I have to be honest about Woodovis.

This site was not for us at all, which was surprising as we use the unbiased reviews for guidance, so here goes;

Good points:

Easy to find with good accessibility

Pretty & rural location, no road noise

Lovely long entrance drive

Warm welcome

Freshly made croissants/bread - delicious

Bad points:

Where we were pitched was not quiet. We were in the 'main' area near the toilets and reception next to a car parking area for the statics and any new arrivals. There was a constant stream of traffic in and out, at one point there was a queue right in front of our van. Lots of slamming of car doors and comings and goings - not exactly what we would call 'tranquil'.

Pitches in the main area are small. Tamar field is apparently better but they are a further walk from the toilets. No outlook from our pitch to anything apart from more cramped pitches on what we really think should be left as a 'green area' for children to play on or just to sit on and soak up your surroundings as it really is a pretty park.

The dog walk - small and not long enough, also nowhere to allow dogs to have 'off lead' exercise. The drive makes a lovely walk, but again it is not safe to let dogs off here.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingbunnies7 6 reviews from this member

This is the nicest site we have stayed at! Go! Can't recommend it highly enough. Lovely flat pitches, all facilities spotlessly clean and tidy, the staff can't do enough for you and are all happy and clearly enjoy their work, pool lovely, games room perfect for the kids who all got on really well and made lots of new friends (save all your 50p and pound coins for the table football, pool and pinball!)Lovely little playground too.

Very quiet after about 10.30 so ideal for families with younger kids who need to sleep!

If I had to give any constructive criticism (and this is really nit-picking!) all the soap dispensers were high up in the toilets and the kids couldn't reach them. That's the only fault, apart from that this is the perfect site. Can't wait to go back again!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kellog 4 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Devon and Woodovis. Extremely helpful wardens, and managers couldn't have done more to make our stay more relaxing. Site is well planned with 2 great dog walks even with doggy waste bags provided should you be caught unawares whilst taking Fido for his walk!

All facilities were extremely clean and of a high standard,with plenty of hot water at all times. Also worth mentioning is that all this lovely hot water is heated by solar power as is the swimming pool,environmentally friendly too!

Nearest town is Tavistock with its Pannier Market,open every day except Monday, and also lovely quaint market town shops. There is both a Somerfied and a Morrisons near the site,so supplies are never far away-having said that there is also a site shop selling the basics including fresh baked croissants and pain au chocolat each morning.Heaven!

Would I recommend Woodovis Park for a camping holiday? I think I just have!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon23 6 reviews from this member

The site is so quiet it is unreal we were there bank holiday weekend when it was full and it was bliss no hustle and bustle.

We arrived early after a long drive and our pitch was not ready so the delightful staff suggested going for a swim !.

Site is very clean and spotless at all times as were showers and toilets.

All the staff are so nice if shop was closed it was no trouble to open for the kids.

The feel of the site was great all the kids of all ages played together and looked out for the younger ones my 5 five yr old was in his element in the games room with the big boys gang lol!

Only 1 little point to make is the fully serviced pitches are along some high trees so satellite reception was a no go but this in no way is a negative point as we never missed it!

Would we return yes with out a doubt and probably will just the 6 and a half hour drive stops us going every week!

Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0439