Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Silverhill Lane
Teversal
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG17 3JJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 551838

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
              9/10 from 171 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DollyFlo 2 reviews from this member

This site is the best we have visited. The reception when you first enter the site is first class and continues throughout your visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The shower block deserves a 6 star rating very clean and very spacious. Pub at end of road is first class as is the other pubs recommended in the area.

Plenty to do if you like walking and cycling. Site is very quiet. Will definitely return when next in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzy37 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here earlier in the month and had a wonderful time.

We were pitched on hardstanding towards the end of the site near to the road and although there were a couple of occasions where we heard traffic overall it didn't bother us. We did have to borrow an extension to our mains hook up lead as ours was did not reach and it was the 25 metre one!

I can confirm that the toilet block is immaculate and the wet rooms brilliant. We also used the family room which has a small baby bath to bathe my 3 yr old as she does not like showers.

The site although full was never noisy after 10pm. The children's play area, although small was adequate to amuse my daughter. There is also a large field where they can play ball games etc.

The shop on site was well stocked and handy for milk and bread. The nearest shop is a co-op about 2 minute drive away and Morrisons about 10 minute drive.

The site owners were very pleasant and helpful and I would definitely come back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tellsitasitis 8 reviews from this member

Visited this site last week. Yes loos were great as posted on here several times. We were on hardstanding back of loo block with tent area right next to us. Had some noise from the tents at around midnight. Think they got the message when I banged my caravan door shut - twice! Why do people think they can just get away with being so inconsiderate? Didn't bother complaining and next night silence after 11pm.

Constant noise from motorway, might keep some people awake but didn't bother us too much.

Ate out at Hardwick Inn, awful food. Complained about my meal being smothered in sauce that was skinning around the edge due to the cold plate it was served on. Waitress said she tell the chef, and that was the last we saw of her. Unfortunately you have to pay or leave your car keys with them before your meal! Could it be folk leave without paying? I wonder why? Go to the Caenarvon Arms, two minute walk from the site, great food, great staff.

Wouldn't call this a pretty site but the facilities are good, with some nice walks/bike rides just across the road.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Blongs 46 reviews from this member

We stayed for the weekend here and had another great trip. I had visited a few years ago and the site is pretty much the same as I remember.

The toilet block is still in great condition and the welcome is very friendly, the assistants come out of the hut across to greet you as you arrive. There had been a lot of water come down over the last month or so and the site had stood up pretty well. We were on hardstanding with grass surrounding the pitch was containing a lot of water but you could hear in draining away over the course of the weekend.

There were quite a few tenters out as well on grass pitches near us so it can't have been that bad.

Our pitch wasn't the most level I have seen but the blocks were able to sort that out from side to side (pitch 82). There is a cycle/dog wash area outside and a hut with tourist information brochures/book/dvd/game exchange.

The only complaint about the toilet block was from my wife who mentioned as the shower head is fixed and directly above you it makes having a shower without washing your hair a little hard.

We went to the Carnarvon gastro-pub just down the road for a meal on Saturday night, very popular and you should probably book. The meal and service was excellent.

The country park over the road is popular for cycling and we walked up the hill to the miner statue to take in the view across 5 counties.

We paid £45 for 2 adults, hardstanding and electric for 2 nights which isn't too bad for a club site.

The site was quiet overnight and we slept well with no road noise or anything.

There are static options as well on the site with a caravan or 2 to rent plus new Safari Tents in one of the old tent areas. These look great.

There is a motorhome service point with fresh water tap and waste hole in the ground. The washing up place is covered over for bad weather and the toilet dump also has a faux marble wall to match the toilet block.

All in all an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Norfolkvango 2 reviews from this member

Well the very best thing about this site is the toilets/showers!

The 360 tour on the caravan and camping site does live up to the reality.

The toilet block appears quite new, the ladies had 3 toilet cubicles with a one general use handbasin with handryer. There are a further 2 cubicles with hand basins in. For showers there are 5 but they are not just showers they are 'bathrooms' with a wet room shower area, toilet and basin! There are plenty of hooks and a seat to accommodate your stuff when you shower.

There is also a hair-dryer which is free!

There is also a separate family shower room which seemed very well set up!

At the back of the block there is a covered area for washing up.

There was always plenty of hot water and the whole area was spotlessly clean.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and they were always on site it makes it feel nice and safe.

There is a small shop selling the basics and newspapers, for local info there is a summerhouse full of local leaflets etc.

Directly opposite the site is a former coal mine which has been transformed into a beautiful country park with loads of walks.

The site is well placed for accessing the Peak District.

There is a pub just down the road but we didn't try it. There are loads of supermarkets within easy reach.

The negatives are that the site is very regimented with several of the pitches 'fenced out', virtually all of the pitches have a gravel parking space and some have picnic tables.

The thing that we found difficult was that our vango icarus 500 and canopy only just fitted onto the grass area, we had to use very short guyropes. Given the weather we were keen to have our windbreak in place but really did struggle.

There was very little space at the side of the tent.

The other problem was that we were pitched next to the boundary hedge which had a lane the other side which seemed to be a favourite for the local racers.

In general the site is good but the pitches need to be a bit bigger.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 85 reviews from this member

WOW! The bar has been set so high for the standards and services provided by the franchised owners of this Caravan & Camping Club site at Teversal.

Normally I do not bother doing fresh reviews of revisited camp sites unless changes have occurred. However with the high standard, very friendly staff and continued improvement this site does warrant further praise.

The location offers a great stop off when travelling on the M1, and an ideal base for touring this area of the country. The 5 star boutique hotel standard toilets area its crowning glory.

The on-site shop is quite well stocked with the basics, but pre-purchased on-board supplies are required for motorhomers/campers not wanting to move vehicles as there are no handy shops within walking distance or easy cycling.

Highly recommend and other owners should look at this for to set standards. Keep up the good work guys.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodlander 10 reviews from this member

Teversal came highly recommended to us and from the minute we pulled in to a warm welcome we knew we were onto a winner.

During a cold spell the toasty warm shower rooms were a blessing but just a small grumble the lights go off too quickly in the shower block and the 'magic eye' shower controller is a bit erratic and on a personal level I don't like overhead shower heads. However I wish all sites came up to this standard.

Lots to do off site such as walking around the local nature reserves or cycling further afield without having to take the van off pitch. We have already recommended Teversal to other caravanning friends. A fantastic place to visit.

The highlight for my husband was catching the Pleasley mine open to visitors and having a conducted tour of the surface buildings etc.

As there was just the two of us I can't give an opinion as to child friendliness of the site apart from there was a grassy area for them to let off steam and have ball games.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 6 reviews from this member

My opinion of this site will based on me being a full-time carer for my husband who is totally wheelchair dependent. We visited this site at the beginning of June during mixed weather. The welcome from the franchise site managers was very warm. As always, on arrival, I mentioned that my husband was in a wheelchair. I had booked a grass pitch as we find hardstands, with gravel, are a nightmare for manoevring a wheelchair. Even though there had been a lot of wet, we were still allowed to use a grass pitch as drainage appeared to be pretty good and the ground firm enough to tolerate our 3. 5 tonne camper-van. The site manager was also quick to point out that he had earmarked two pitches, near to the facilities for disabled campers and had personally laid brick paving from each pitch, across the gravel to make wheelchair or mobility scooter use easier.

The facilities are fabulous! All environmental friendly with underfloor heating. There are self contained cubicles, each with a shower, toilet and handbasin, complete with mirror. Separate handbasin only and toilet only cubicles are also available. The disabled cubicle is accessed by Radar Key and has to be the best equipped cubicle we have used in 20 years. The shower has a fold down seat, with backrest and three drop down safety rails, totally surrounding the user and preventing potential falls. Other than the rails, the cubicle is fitted to the same high standard as the ladies and, I assume, the gents.

Across from the site are the Teversal Trails, most of which are smooth enough for wheelchair and mobility scooter use. All told, we couldn't fault the site and would certainly use it again, as it is easily accessible from the M1.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Firefly0748 5 reviews from this member

We booked this site for the Jubilee weekend and have already decided to return. Even the poor weather did not put us off as the site was beautifully maintained and the modern facilities were the best we've ever seen (my husband even said he was moving his airbed into the shower block!).

The family room was fantastic as they had a built in baby bath next to the changing unit (which is great for our little one who hates showers!) We could then put him in the seat attached to the wall to keep him dry while we finished packing up towels, mopping the floor etc.

As I have said the site was beautifully maintained with clearly marked pitches. We were a bit worried at first as we were given a hard standing pitch (my fault for booking later than I should!) but with a groundsheet underneath and the tent carpet, we only noticed the gravel when crawling round on our knees and our little one (almost 2 years old) did not seem to mind.

If you need food etc, the on-site shop is well stocked and there is also an Asda (24 hours) about 10 mins drive away. We would also recommend the Carnarvon for great pub food.

If you are looking for things to do there are a variety of things in the area or a short drive away. Across the road from the site is a beautiful country park great for bike rides and walking the dog. We also went on the Peak Rail steam train which was great for a rainy day and to Matlock Farm Park (this is expensive though for what it is) We didn't try anywhere else but there are leaflets available in the Tourist info hut on site.

Overall we were really pleased with this site and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The only thing I could say that was negative is a slight amount of road noise at night and early morning but it wasn't enough to keep us awake.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor lodge 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here in May for long weekend ie; Thurs-Mon. Site was full but didn't it feel overcrowded or to busy. Staff welcoming & friendly.

Facilities, really well looked after at all times, wonderful underfloor heating in showers. Only one big downside they are lit by motion controlled lighting and being the only person in there early on three morning, I had to shower in semi darkness so was dangerous and accident just waiting to happen.

Carnarvon Arms pub at end of road is great, ate there Saturday night & Sunday lunch. Really good value and very good food.

NT Hardwick Hall within walking distance along old railway trails, about 1hr there, 1hr back(strolling). Definitely worth a visit.

One big problem. Can hear the M1 motorway most of the time in day and some times in the night. Unless you love walking there isn't much to do at all! A basic kids play area

Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1275 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508