Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Watermouth Cove Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
Watermouth Cove Holiday Park
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01271 862504

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m   1m  5m  1m 

Pitches: 90
Open: Easter - End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 106 Reviews
              7/10 from 106 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Guy Rope Tripper 1 review from this member

We stayed in the upper camping field in August this year, together with a party of other family members in 2 other tents. We had this field largely to ourselves, although I suspect this may have been because of the combination of this summer's overall poor weather and the Olympics being on at the same time.

The campsite and facilities were lovely, the views and general surroundings very scenic and beautiful. We have previously stayed at Napps Touring Park at the top of the hill above the same cove, and found the wind to be ultimately too much to cope with - particularly on the penultimate night when it destroyed my much-loved, but rather old canvas frame tent. We were pitched on the lower side of the top camping field at Watermouth Cove, and this meant that we were sheltered well from wind. It was a pleasant amble up the hill each morning and evening to watch for dolphins, of which we saw several.

Our pitch was not entirely level, which was OK, but not ideal. The pitches are delineated with lines on the grass. Our tent was exactly as wide as the maximum space allowed, because we pitched a tube dome tent sideways on to have the bedrooms as level as possible. I think that the pitches could be landcaped a bit to make them flatter.

The amenities in the site were well appointed and well situated, not being too far nor too close to where we were camped. The showers in our field did not have lighting at night, which meant that you had to shower during daylight hours - or use the showers in the main part of the campsite, which I always did anyway because they are nicer. I liked (a lot, actually) that the shower blocks and toilets all had coathooks, seats to put your clothes on while you showered - so that they remained dry - and plenty of handwash solution. I find that I can put up with a lot of discomfort when camping, so long as I can get clean and dry again. Too many campsites have shower blocks where you cannot keep your clothes dry whilst showering, which was not the case here. The shower pressure was good and the water nice and warm.

The shop is relatively well stocked, although I felt it opened a bit late in the day and closed a bit early for high season. A couple of times I found myself sitting outside waiting for them to open so I could buy supplies for breakfast. The staff were always cheery and friendly in the shop. I felt the prices in the shop were pretty much what I would expect to find, and so went further afield for larger shops.

The shop had a good attitude towards the freezing of cold box blocks, renting them out (we forgot ours) or freezing those of the patrons, both for a reasonable fee.

The swimming pools were nice, although I only went in the heated one of the two. Our kids didn't really use the park. I think there was a rule of no unsupervised children in the park, which no one seemed to be observing.

The bar and games room were great, and we spent more time there than we normally would do in a campsite, and won the pub quiz. The food in the bar was good, tasty, of good portion sizes, and priced as one would expect (a little higher than the high street, but reasonable for a campsite).

Watermouth Cove is geographically well placed to explore much of Devon, and the historic villages of Combe Martin and Ilfracombe are close by. There is a reasonable sized Tesco at Ilfracombe (calling itself a 'superstore'; although what is called a superstore in that part of the world would be merely a medium-sized shop where I live). Good surfing beaches at Woolacombe and Croyde are about half an hour's drive away, which is reasonable enough if you are looking to be able to camp near(ish) those beaches, but still not camp amongst a lot of crusty jugglers in campervans as you would find in the basic campsites above those beaches.

The campsite's little beach, rockpools and caves are fantastic - looking in turns like, Jurassic Park, the planet Mars and that place where elephants go to die in old Tarzan films. They are most definitely worth a visit.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. I sensed that the staff are very keen to run the best possible site, and keen to get feedback. On one particular day it rained on a biblical scale; the water running across all surfaces everywhere in the area, blocking the roads, choking the streams and rolling across the campsite's pitches. I was pleased to see that the campsite's staff were all outside at this time, pumping and sweeping out water and generally helping the patrons. Those sort of things make a big difference.

If we come back to Devon camping again - and I am sure that we will at some point - we will be very happy to stay at this campsite again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Georgie d 1 review from this member

What a brilliant site this is have just returned from best weeks caravanning ever ! Cannot praise the very helpful friendly staff enough. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Check in was easy and very quick. They helped my partner with the awning ( I had shoulder injury) the pitch was plenty big enough and well drained.

Toilets and showers were spotless and the site over all beautifully clean. Plenty of games to keep the children occupied and of course the beach with its stunning views and easy access for the kayaks.

Enjoyed cream teas and some very tasty meals in the club house.

The well stocked shop had everything we needed and reasonably priced for a park shop.

Only a short ride away from beautiful ilfracombe and a short walk to the Sawmill inn( more yummy food )!

Will be going back next year for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolaemason 2 reviews from this member

Lovely area.

Hated the site wasn't my kind of place. I think I like quieter more rural settings. Kids loved it though.

As long as the facilities are clean I don't mind. When the place is packed with sqarking kids in August I just couldn't wait to get away! Wasn't interested in the entertainment but I think this was very much a keep your kids entertained holiday and all the children seemed to be having a great time.

Nicola x

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John Preece 2 reviews from this member

I have to start by saying what a lovely site, but with so much that went on I cannot help but give you the warts and all on this site.

We arrived at 10. 30am on a Saturday. Anyone will tell you that you cannot always predict your arrival time when visiting this area, so we completely shocked to go to reception and be told that 'under no circumstances would we pitch you before 12pm as stated on the website'. A little disgruntled I went away and went to have a look around coombe martin (about a five minute drive away). I come back at 12pm to be told it will be impossible to give us a pitch before 12. 30pm. This really annoyed me especially as 20 minutes earlier we saw a caravan taken to a pitch.

After a bit of dialogue we were pitched 5 minutes later. The pitch itself was in quite poor condition with a pretty bad dip which when we left turned into a bog and was slippy under foot.

We needed some supplies and decided to go to the camp shop. Bought 6 rashers of bacon, 8 sausages, bread, milk and wine and imagine our astonishment when we were charged £30 for it. Some have said how well stocked the shelves were, but we found the range to be limited and vastly overpriced (£2. 50 for a stale loaf).

The toilet facilities were very narrow and limited (space for about 160 units and only 6 showers per sex and some family rooms up in the non ehu camping field.

The bar was great and very reasonably priced. Meals were also very reasonably priced, the site had some beautiful views, but with so many issues and at a cost of around £60 per night I really did expect so much more.

There is a lovely park, which the kids could use, but being unattended parents should stay in case of issues of spite.

Finally we also witnessed a couple who who were clearly new to camping and were struggling in the poor weather conditions. They were in a non sig tent and were left in an exposed position of the camping field. No one from the site staff offered any help, so we intervened helping them make the most of there pitch and giving them a windbreak and a tarp to help in the muddy, wet and windy conditions.

Its such a shame as I really loved the site, the views and the harbour, but with so many negative experiences and the cost (which I think is unjustified). I doubt I will be visiting again.

Management response: Under normal circumstances, along with most Holiday Park Owners, we take criticism on the chin, some of it is constructive and we can either choose to act upon it or ignore it. However, when comments are blatantly untrue and unjustified it is time to take a defensive position and argue the facts. Mr. Preece, if you felt the need to complain about our lack of customer services, why didn’t you come and tell us whilst you were on the site?

You arrived on a Saturday morning at 10. 30 am, we can certainly understand that you had experienced a long journey, but in all the literature that we send out, it clearly requests all our clients not to arrive before 12 noon. Further, it doesn’t just mention this once but on all documents that are issued including booking forms, Terms and Conditions and general information. This gives those that are leaving time to vacate their pitch, we are then able to mow or attend to any maintenance required before checking in the next arrivals. Logistically it is not possible to attend to those departing, sometimes experiencing problems, at the same time as those arriving. I recall that it was explained to you that the caravan that was sited before you was in fact a late arrival due in from the day before who had suffered a mechanical breakdown.

Your comments regarding the pitch being slippy can only be attributed to the most amazing storm and downpour experienced and we feel no other dialogue on this matter is necessary. No other booking had departed early or complained.

We are pleased that you found the bar ‘great’ and good value and the meals reasonably priced, however, it would not be sound business to make the bar good value and then charge ridiculous amounts in the shop, perhaps your recollection of the amount for the sausages, bacon, bread, milk and wine were slightly hazy, the actual cost for these particular items was £14. 63. It would be extremely foolish and totally unacceptable to charge £2. 50 for a loaf of bread and quite honestly I would expect every loaf on the shelf to be stale, I doubt anyone in their right mind would pay that amount. For a relatively small square footage we feel the stock covers most of the necessary items required, from toiletries, camping requisites, freshly cooked croissants, French bread, milk, eggs, papers, buckets and spades, fishing bait, goodies and biscuits, the list really is endless.

We do not advertise a supervised children’s play area and feel that your comment is detrimental to your fellow guests.

On the matter of the cost being ‘around’ £60 per night, we respectfully suggest that you check this figure. The cost for the tent pitch with EHU, 3 adults, 1 child, 1 dog was £351 for 8 nights, these details were all confirmed in an email to you along with directions/information and the reference number that you checked in with.

In conclusion, the staff and owners here at Watermouth Cove put so much effort into helping, assisting and advising customers with the express desire that they enjoy their holidays or short breaks and it saddens us all to read what we consider unjustified and sometimes damaging comments written for what would appear to be no reason. Of course not everybody is aware of the good deeds that are done throughout the season, opening the clubhouse at 4. 30 am due to the lashing rain and horrendous storm and gales, rescuing families in the early hours of the morning with young children soaking wet with no tent or cover, making hot drinks and providing choccy bars whilst the children watch DVDs in the Clubhouse, organising our own chalets for them, but then Mr. Preece we don’t brag about these deeds and of course you wouldn’t know because you weren’t there, but, we do recall that you called on our assistance to help you with your vehicle because something had been left on and your battery was flat, in fact not just once, but on the second occasion we seem to remember you apologised for being a nuisance!

We are sorry you found it necessary to write this review but we are so grateful to those customers who have recorded their memorable experiences at Watermouth Cove and thank them all.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marclewis 14 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site and so lucky with the weather after all the rain we had. The site has a small bar overlooking the narrow entry to the beech. The setting is outstanding and the sunsets were beautiful.

The main camping and caravan area is flat with plenty of electric hooks ups. I would like to see dedicated water hook ups and drainage too though.

It's not a large site, but it is an amazing place to explore. Just past the entrance to the beech, you walk up a hill to the left and find the gate on the right hand side.

Walk through and down the steps to a small cave. I will definitely be making my way back here again. The couple next to us have been coming here for 30 years. That says it all.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JAS55 1 review from this member

This was our first camping holiday under canvas with our dog for many years, so some trepidation, This site was excellent. The toilet block, showers and the dish washing area were kept spotless. Hot water was free and plenty of it. We had electric hook up for the tent and it was easy to access and did not have to stretch cables.

There seemed to be plenty of space between tents, and we had room to park our long base van without overshadowing the tent next door, although we could have parked on nearby spare concrete parking area.

Best bit was the club house which allowed dogs and prepared good and reasonable meals for eating in or takeaway. It was a fantastic facility during a week which was not brilliant for weather, so a wet dog could dry out in front of the television. I wish more people would use it because it is such value.

Area good, some good beaches, dog friendly, including the harbour itself at Watermouth (campsite beach does not allow dogs. Watersmeet was a good National Trust wooded area for dog walking and tea room, again good food. We will definitely go again next year.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1055