Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Padstow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01841 532061

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   10m  1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
              9/10 from 151 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Triton1953 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site on more than 1 occasion and its got better each time, It now boasts a coffee shop with a free complimentary coffee, The site is immaculately kept with informative friendly staff. There is a regular bus service outside of the site entrance, a short walk of 500yds. Padstow is a lovely place with plenty of nice pubs and eateries for every ones taste. I will certainly visit this site again. 5 star.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 39 reviews from this member

This is a great site with open views. Access could not be easier down a straight road into a very wide entrance / reception area. All staff really helpful and friendly. We had a fully serviced hard standing pitch which was big enough for a big RV and almost level.

When you arrive you will be given an excellent plan of the site which also includes a lot of very useful information about the area.

The facilities we found to be very clean and the ones behind the reception area are to a very good design standard.

As mentioned the walk into Padstow is a good 20 minutes down hill and you cross fields and go over stiles to get to the road. If you are energetic the walk back will get your pulse rate up. The other alternative is to catch the 555 bus which starts from the car park entrance near the cycle hire shop, and at the time of writing, went on the half hour and stopped at the end of the road to the site.

As an alternative to Rick Stein's eateries try the Endoc Hotel at Rock which is run by Nathan Outlaw. Food and service superb and at £15 for a 2 course lunch very reasonable. The ferry trip accros and the walk to it all add to the experience.

Definitely go back and would happily recommend this site

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 31 reviews from this member

This is a great site, clean and tidy with wonderful walks to the superb Padstow.

I think if your a Dog owner this is ideal. The walk is only suitable for the active as it goes over three fields and some tricky stiles, very muddy at times on one stile.

The Dunes around the side of Padstow are beautiful, clean and quiet.

Site is secure and quiet with a good little shop, we had no problems at all and will return

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Groober 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a one week stay at Padstow touring park. I have to say the website looks a lot better than the park itself. We stayed on a deluxe pitch which I felt was very small and we were extremely squashed in and there wasn't much room for the car.

However the park was in a great location for the beaches and close to Padstow. I would not recommend walking to Tesco across the fields as it is quite a long walk the car is quicker.

The on site toilets and showers were very clean and had plenty of hot water. We had a problem with a dog fouling on our pitch I complained to reception and someone was cleaning it up before I had even walked back to the tent, full marks for that one.

On the whole we had a great week at the Padstow Touring Park we were quite lucky with the weather I would just say it was a little to busy for us but I put that down to school holidays and Cornwall being a very busy holiday destination.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CDOD 5 reviews from this member

It was our second visit to this site and we loved it as much as the first time. Lovely spacious pitches. Our pitch was a little boggy due to the rain they had had, they did try to change it but it was busy so were not able to but staff did come along and put sand down for us which did help. The toilets, although not the best I have seen are clean and there are plenty of them, which is good because they can get busy when everyone comes back from the beach. The shop is good for essentials. On arrival you get a very informative leaflet about the beaches and other things in the area. We loved being able to walk to Padstow across the fields and we also rode our bikes from the site to Padstow to join the Camel trail. So many great beaches in the area and lovely places to visit. Can`t wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taylors38 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this touring park, and it wont be our last. The staff were very friendly the site was well kept. It is situated in a farm where you can walk through the corn fields into Padstow or tesco.

We were on a deluxe hard standing pitch which was very big. The shower rooms all had their own sink and toilet, the only negative point I would make is that to operate the shower you had to push the control in far too often ( duration time needs to be longer). The showers were always clean and staff would be in there at nine o`clock cleaning them.

Though the site accepted dogs I feel that they could have a separate area to allow dogs to do their business even though the dog owners cleaned the mess up. It was on a large grass area where children played and on one occasion not all was removed.

Other than that it is a very good site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markyboy236 7 reviews from this member

Well run park about 1. 5 miles out of Padstow. Ideal for touring the area. There is a walk into town across several fields which can be a bit messy in the wet. Bus service outside the site is also a bit haphazard with there timetable.

Site can be breezy and toilet blocks are showing there age.

Port Isaac (Doc Martin) is stunning and well worth a visit. Along with Tintagel. If you like it a bit more lively try Newquay.

Not much near the site food wise - But Padsow is full of Restaurants to suit all types of pocket. Paul Ainsworth at No6 is superb but for deep pockets (£160 for 2 adults)and you need to book well in advance.

For the active try the Camel trail, for walking or cycling along. It follows the old rail line along the Camel estuary so its nice and flat. We managed to do the 12 miles to Wadebridge and back. Plenty of places to hire cycles down at the harbour.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pozzle 6 reviews from this member

We stayed for one week. I asked for a pitch away from the loos etc as I was taking my dog and people going past would possibly make him bark.

We had a lovely big pitch in a nice quiet area, lovely flat pitches all over. Bright and clean site. Small shop 9-5 hours. Toilets/showers clean and perfectly good, hot water. No need for coins or tokens for shower.

Campsite entry in and out is barrier controlled with number plate recognition. One night we came in about 10. 30 and couldn't get the thing to recognise our numberplate - tried again a few nights later and it worked - think it was our incorrect approach angle previously :-/

We were told that there was a footpath to padstow from site and there was. 1/2 mile to a small tesco store and a further 1/2 mile into town. We walked this most days to save on driving and parking. Could be a bit difficult if you are unable to climb a stile or dry stone wall step (elderly or with young kids/pushchairs) but then maybe a mile walk would put you off anyway!

The staff were friendly, helpful, and this was a brilliant little campsite. We don't have kids but there is a little play area, lots of kids take bikes as its flat and safe to cycle about on.

We took our dog and so did most other people there! every type of dog conceivable and all very well behaved. To be kept on a lead at all times.

I would certainly go there again - thank you padstow touring park for a lovely holiday and thank you padstow town for being so dog friendly!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dillonsma 6 reviews from this member

Firstly the landscaping on site is very nice and we were allocated a good spacious pitch. However, this park is promoting itself with a five star AA rating and based on this expectation it is very disappointing.

There are a number of areas in view that are not pretty, old seemingly abandoned caravans in a storage area, old commercial style waste bins, grass cuttings piled high near pitches etc. But worst of all the loo and shower facilities are not five star. The block to the rear of reception is the best with individual shower rooms, the main blocks are grim, acro props and wonky wood in the ladies supporting the roof and no apparent cleaning on the first day we were there.

The walk to Padstow is fine, although a longish mile but a note to dog owners. The styles are not very dog friendly, especially if your dog is a little older. They are high stone styles with nasty drops and others are broken with nails sticking out, we had to lift our pooch over!

On the plus side check in was efficient and the handout provided very good. For motorhomers the waste water point was impossible for our 7m van due to placement of gas tanks behind and a grass cutting trailer to the side, no wonder the people on the pitch next to us drained their waste water on the pitch! Just did not live up to five star expectations.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Saonkirk 12 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay here. Very friendly welcome.

£8. 00 in total for two dogs for two nights seems excessive. Especially when the other sites we stayed at on our way down didn't charge and were the same per night if not less.

Pretty easy 20 min walk into Padstow. Take a torch for on the way back.

Toilet blocks very clean and never busy.

Pitches were quite level. Can't comment on closeness as the park wasn't full.

Enjoyed our evenings at St Petrocs Bistro and Margots restaurant. Overall a very good stay and very good weather.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1172