Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
              8/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weekend away. This is our second time we have stayed here and we cannot fault it at all, like someone else has put it just seems to get better. It is situated with breathtaking views and lovely walks on site that take you to a sandy cove and if timed right if tide is in a lovely swim in the sea. Plenty to keep the kids busy with their exploring and fishing nets. We are hoping to go back in a few weeks time hopefully for a week. The new stewards are brilliant so helpful and their shop inside the awning is fantastic has everything you need. And exactly what the site needed. Kids still enjoyed their homemade icecream from the farm at the top pf the site. Can't wait to go back

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrbaggio 13 reviews from this member

Location = Lovely location situated near the beach and beside some fields with cows and sheep. Away from noisy roads. Nice walks in the countryside and near some Bird Nature Parks or walks onto the beach.

Facilities = Very good. Cleans showers and good washing facilities. Good recycling facilities for glass and general waste.

Overall = Great campsite with flat fields for tents with very helpful stewards always at hand for advice. Campsite was very busy so lots of children around. Even though their were signs stating no music after 10pm we could still here music and kids shouting past 11pm.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollyscoffy 5 reviews from this member

Visited Gibraltar farm over a perfect weekend. The first time for over five years.

The new toilet block is a huge improvement as are the new wardens!

Our previous visits were slightly spoiled by radios blaring, dogs roaming free, loud parties til the early hours.

What a difference a few well enforced rules make. This time the 'firm but fair' wardens. Really did make sure the rules were enforced. And I REALLY loved it!

It was a shame not to be able to have a fire but I fully understand why not. We took advantage of the great weather and took the fire stuff onto the beach where we played guitar, toasted marshmallows etc. Brilliant and no danger of setting the whole campsite alight!

All in all, great improvements all round in a beautiful place. Well done!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crozier1975 1 review from this member

This is the first time we have visited Gibraltar Farm for 2 nights. It is a beautiful place. The Toilet/shower blocks were really nice and clean all the time. The stewards were excellent. I visited with my 2 boys and we went down to the beach lots of time which my boys loved. We will hopefully going again soon. Would benefit possibly from a childs play area, but that is the only criticism I have about it.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fullpassports 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site several times over the years and it just gets better. The price is great value and the shower block is spotless with loads of hot showers and all free. This year they have new stewards and they are such lovely helpful people with a little shop that stocks things you may have forgotten. The weather was a bit wild when we visited but we still had a good time. Superb walking and very near Leighton Moss for birdwatching. We went mid week but it gets busy at weekends and school hols

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dwsok 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Gibraltar Farm Campsite. The stewards were very helpful and friendly even though it was a busy weekend. The weather was warm and sunny but the wind was a little cold.

The entrance to the campsite is down a steep hill but gave us no problems. The toilet block was very clean with plenty of room in the showers. We had a hard standing pitch with hook up and great views overlooking the sea. The locally made ice cream was great. I would go to Gibraltar farm again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hookers 6 reviews from this member

Don't get me wrong this site has spectacular views and much improved facilities as compared with a couple of years ago. It really is ideal. However, having just returned from a two night stay I am sorry to say that a few people have been allowed to camp there that really shouldn't. A group of lads and a group of girls (separate to each other) made a point of swearing loudly and using abusive language till about 12. 10am. When you've got kids with you (we haven't) it really would be a shame to hear this. The management of the site seems to have slipped somewhat compared to a couple of years ago. I spoke to the manager at 12am and he said he'd go and walk around. Surely it would have been better to do this at 11pm when everyone should have toned down.

Please don't be put off by this review. This is a great site with a great location but if the management slips things could change.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KateM49 7 reviews from this member

Just had 3 days at Gibraltar Farm. Great site in fantastic location.

The couple who look after the site are really friendly and helpful.

Toilet block was clean, even when the site was busy, and plenty of hot water. Good washing up facilities.

The stewards operate from a camper van with an awning which is reception and shop. They sell basics groceries, including some tinned goods, sweets and pop and have some information leaflets. You can use the freezers in there for freezer blocks (free of charge).

Although site was busy, it wasn't too noisy and the stewards made sure noise was kept to a minimum after 11pm. One group were asked to leave while we were there because they had made too much noise. If there are any issues, the stewards seem to deal with them promptly.

Very close to Leighton Moss RSPB reserve, loads of walking in the area.

Can't believe what good value the site is. We intend to go back. Would think booking essential in school hols and summer weekends.

Didn't use any local pubs this time.

No playground, other than a tyre swing in a tree, but space for kids to play and bits of woodland for them to explore.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janeywoo 3 reviews from this member

Have just spent 2 nights at this site and thought it was wonderful. Took my dog and 2 daughters and hubby. This was our first trip for almost 2 years and the first test of our new (to us) tent. Arrived on site and it was heaving down with rain but picked a spot and got cracking. The tent went up easily despite the rain and we didn't even fall out! It rained all day and night with heavy wind during the night to the extent the girls slept in the car, I spent the night sat in a chair as expected the tent to go any minute! Hubby was as expected sleeping like a log and snoring!

Despite really poor weather and being cold this site is brilliant. The toilets and shower block were clean and warm at all times and the stewards little shop was well stocked. She gave me some of her own sugar as she had none in stock.

The stewards were very helpful and did remove a rowdy group of young adults at 2 am. We have been on other sites and the noise has been terrible.

My children are a little older but it looked as if all the younger children were having fun despite the poor weather, there are rope swings and a central rocky outcrop which all the kids seemed to love. There is plenty of room for ball games. The smell of the wild garlic walking to the shower block is divine. The woods are lovely and the walk to the bay is fab. The views over Morecambe bay are stunning, I could just imagine a beautiful few days of nice weather and it would be brilliant. We will definitely go back to this site it is everything you want for a peaceful, relaxing break.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julesjones 3 reviews from this member

After disappointing stay last September we came with friends for May bank holiday. We hardly recognised the caravan site, the fields looked so bare and open and we were horrified to see the amount of trees that have been felled on the fields and in the woodlands. As a personal member of the National Trust, I spent the whole weekend photographing the damage caused to this wonderful wooded area.

We were booked in by a new steward who told me mike and linda had retired. She said they had big plans for the site and I was pleasantly surprised to see fires were back up and running on the tent fields. Her partner said he felt 'chimney' fires should be part of camping. No protection whatsoever from winds and many tents were trashed. Was unhapppy at being told where to pitch unlike previously where you could choose your own pitch.

Toilet block was far cleaner than last season which is good but the showers were again cold. Lovely views from the tenting field, which is the main reason for our visit. 10 min walk to village

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7502 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977