Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoppos on tour 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Cofton. This is the biggest site we have ever stayed at and I must admit we were wary but after reading some of the reviews thought we would give it a go. The site was easy to find and access and on arrival the staff were very welcoming. I got the added bonus of a trip in a buggy with one member of staff who drove me round showing me pitches available. This was a great start to our holiday as it was an incredibly busy site and no doubt we would have wasted a lot of time driving round searching for somewhere suitable.

We stayed on a tiered area and found the pitches large enough for the van, awning and a decent windbreak area for some privacy. The layout meant that we were facing down at the people pitched in front and as there wasn't much space between the front of our pitch and their caravan it did feel a little invasive at times.

The site is very well maintained. All credit should go to the staff here. They must work incredibly hard to keep on top of everything. Considering the huge volume of people staying here it never felt overcrowded or untidy. The toilets were clean as were the showers. The hot water was a bit hit and miss occasionally but we never had to wait for a shower. The washing up facilities were a bit grubby at times but to be fair this could be helped if some of the users left the areas clean and tidy.

The site has a great shop which had everything you could possibly need at reasonable prices which made a refreshing change. Some nice local produce on sale too.

Our children absolutely loved the play areas, the woodland adventure area was excellent. The areas and equipment were safe and well maintained. Great football area too where our 8 year old disappeared to every day! There was plenty of open space for cricket, bat and ball and just racing around generally!

The outdoor pool was lovely and we made full use of this on the days when we were blessed with sunshine. There was always a lifeguard on duty and plenty of space to sit and read a book whilst supervising if you didn't fancy a dip.

The new facilities looked very nice but we didn't use them as we had the dog with us. Felt that the cost for taking the dog was very overpriced. We paid £50 extra to take him with us but couldn't really see how that cost was justified.

The best part of this site is the location. The walks were fantastic and the surrounding woodland seemed to go on forever. Even our mad springer spaniel was exhausted from all the excercise. We walked to Cockwood Harbour and Dawlish Warren and it was well worth the trek. We had some great days out and visited Teignmouth and Torquay. We also took the ferry from Stracross to Exmouth which we thoroughly enjoyed. Very pretty area and we will definitely return as there is still so much we would like to see.

Overall a great site and we would stay at Cofton again but perhaps not in peak season. The end of our holiday was marred slightly by inconsiderate campers who felt that they needed to play music from the minute they got up to end of the day and at a volume that meant there was no escape. We didn't complain as we only had a couple of days left but I have no doubt that had we drawn this problem to the attention of the staff that it would have been resolved.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B16hxx 8 reviews from this member

Just got back from two week stay at Cofton, first impressions were Oh Dear how many children on bikes and what a big site but first impressions can be wrong.

The site staff are very friendly and we were shown to our pitch near the lakes by a guy in a buggy.

Following 5 days of rain we ended up with a mud bath in our awning which smelt like a farm yard and after asking for sand to dry it up and being told that they would get to us as soon as they could we decided to move pitches to a dryer area.

The new facilities are fully open and are a godsend if the weather is poor, the pool and sauna / gym are top notch and the two Bars / dining areas are fitted out to a very high standard, evening entertainment is so/so and most nights it ended up like a kiddy disco.

The Swan pub is good for food and a quiet drink and the site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The fishing was good early morning and later in the day I had a dozen carp over 4 sessions between 4 & 13 lb great for kids with a pint of maggots they can catch roach & skimmers all day.

The walk down the lane to Cockwood harbour is pleasant and the food very good in both pubs but booking is advisable. Dawlish Warren beach is great with life guards on duty and only 5 mins by car or 40 mins on foot.

A very large site but not too noisy if you get the right pitch, the WCs & Showers were clean and the water & waste points ok, the elsan WC disposal needs a little more thought the hose and water pressure make for fun and games also its a bit of a walk from certain pitches.

Great site for families with kids.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kildarekelly 1 review from this member

This is an extremely wonderful site. A large pitch with plenty of room and lots of nice places within a short drive.

Staff are very helpful and the pool area has plenty of space around it for lounging about.

Only downside for me was the noisy lot behind me who kept us awake till gone 12 and the showers were hit and miss with the hot water and there was no plugs in the pot wash area near the barnfield.

Prices are reasonable in the on site shop and sainsburys is a 2 min drive away.

Take the effort to walk to dawlish warren from the site but make sure you take a torch if at night.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy_campers09 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Cofton and stayed for a week. We arrived early on the Saturday morning before 11am which is the stated time you can pitch from. It was very busy and there was a queue so we had to wait for a few minutes but were then quickly taken to the Barn Field which is where we requested to camp. The staff are very friendly and will try to accommodate your requirements.

Even though the site was extremely busy it never felt as though it was overcrowded. The toilet and shower facilities are excellent and on the whole very clean.

The outdoor pool is free and we did use it rather than pay for the indoor one. I did feel that the outdoor pool was in need of a bit of repair as the tiles were coming off in places. We used the chip shop on the site and although the food was excellent the wait was over 1hr! It's a shame as we would'nt use it again.

We walked to the pubs at Starcross and enjoyed a great pub meal which was quite reasonable. The train from Starcross to Plymouth was brilliant, it cost £20 for a family of 4 and we had a great day the kids even swam at Tinside the outdoor saltwater pool.

Cofton is in a great location with excellent facilities but feel it is taking on more of a holiday park feel than a campsite and is becoming quite expensive.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madam 8 reviews from this member

Large, well run family site. Spotlessly clean around the site, all the toilet blocks are immaculate, and there are plenty of toilet blocks on site to accommodate. This site has been well thought out to provide everything a camper should need.

There is a lovely outdoor pool and a brand new indoor complex with pool and gym and two restaurant/bar areas. There is a take-away fish and chip shop, supplies shop and small arcade, two laundry rooms, a woodland activity area, donkey field, dog exercise field, fishing lakes and plenty of room.

The pitches are very big although these days the tents are bigger than the caravans and some were so big they extended into the pathways/roadways which is not great when trying to get a caravan in or out of a pitch.

The campsite even own land adjacent to the site which you can walk through lovely woodland down to Dawlish Warren itself and the other way along the road that runs through the site (a very quiet road that is) that takes you into Starcross.

This site caters for touring caravans, tents, static caravans, seasonal pitches and even has a couple of pitches specifically for RV's.

We found all the staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Even the staff that cleaned the toilets made time to chat and check that we were happy with everything.

Even though the site is large we never felt over crowded. One thing to bear in mind is that it is in a valley with the camping fields on the hills either side. The pitches are mostly flat and tiered in some fields, no worries with camping on a slope, however, if you have difficulty walking it could be hard going up to the farthest camping fields but they make for lovely views over the site and surrounding countryside.

We were blessed with 10 days of solid blue skies and sun shine and we had a fabulous time. I would recommend this site to families.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FrankorJulie 2 reviews from this member

Large well run site with indoor(extra charge) pool and gym as well as outdoor pool. Definitely a holiday park rather than a campsite. Various tent options though to us the Orchard field seemed the best if you're prepared to forego electric. Tiered family field avoids being surrounded by caravans. The good thing is pitches are allocated on arrival so there should be some choice.

On site shop (well stocked, reasonable prices), helpful reception, 2 bars including one in new build area with large screen TVs and soft play (operates as a cafe like space in daytime) with outdoor balcony seating. Also laundry, on site fish and chips and some arcade games.

Shower block clean with hot showers at all times (no queues but could have been more forceful). Didn't like the push taps on the sinks or the lack of soap in some dispensers (gents).

Not cheap (you're paying for the facilities) and £37 for the dog seems steep for a week. Dawlish Warren has a nice beach and the ferry from Starcross to Exmouth is worth the £5 return. The 2 local pubs were excellent in Cockwood particularly the fish restaurant at The Angel and the beer garden at the The Ship.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jperry2982 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 days, end of July 2012, This site is quite big, but caters for all type of holiday home, we were in quite a big 8 person tent and our daughter was in a 5 person tent, We were put next to each other even though the camp was very busy, as I have difficulty walking we were placed close to the toilets and showers, There are lots of toilets and shower blocks across the park, they are all spotless clean and all are free, there is also plenty of washing up areas, There is lots for the kids to do including several parks and play areas, there are donkeys to visit on camp and our kids young and old loved the woods and zip slides and mini assault course, There is the open air swimming pool, all this is included in the price of your holiday, there is an indoor pool and gym but you pay a little extra for this. There are also a choice of places to eat and drink on site, from the chippy (that also does a good take away breakfast) to the bar/restaurant, the only small problem was some other campers were a noisy late at night, (around midnight)but that was just one night, over all and excellent place to stay,

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heather37 13 reviews from this member

I've got mixed feelings about this site. Yes the facilities are excellent as previously reviewed. And the staff really helpful but certain things have left me not wanting to return here.

first is the road in Starcross. I know this has nothing to do with the site but the journey there was not easy. The narrow long stretch of road should have traffic lights on it as you can't see what's coming and in our case 2 other caravans and a double decker bus! Having inched our way through with not much to spare we arrive at the site with no direction on where to park to check in.

The site is very hilly and getting on some pitches was not easy. We did enjoy our time after we were pitched up until the dreaded day to leave.

As it was a Saturday it was very busy. People were arriving early while others were trying to leave.

I think the site should not have arrivals and departures at 11am.

since the entrance is via a narrow road we had to wait 30mins while staff tried to sort out the mess. And since there were 7 caravans trying to leave there was nowhere for the new arrivals to go.

I know people want to start their holiday and get pitched up as soon as possible but it was very inconsiderate to arrive before 11am!

This really made me not want to return to this site. It's not worth the hassle of arriving or departing.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keeleyroh 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weeks stay at this site and I've got to say that this site is the best we have stayed.

We never once queued for showers no matter what time of the day we went, its very clean and extremely well looked after.

I liked that the in site shop was not over priced, but there is a sainsburys 2 mins away by car if you turn left out of the site.

On arrival we were shown a few different pitches as we needed an end one due to the size of our tent and the young lad was very helpful.

The outdoor pool is very popular and it does give you the feeling of being abroad especially when the weather was glorious.

We are returning next year for sure and we cant wait.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pmg1173 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic week at this lovely site :

Toilet block - clean, hot showers which stay on, never found it closed for cleaning but was always clean, separate toilets, family bathroom, key available from reception for a deposit, disabled facilities too.

Only negative of the shower block was not enough hooks to hang up towels / clothes etc, did have a high shelf but difficult to negotiate especially with trying to organise myself and my daughter.

New indoor pool - gorgeous, large changing rooms, 1. 2m across the whole pool, no deep end. Ideal

Cost just over £4 for my husband and daughter to use the pool on a one day pass, you can buy longer passes but not sure of cost for these.

Outdoor Pool - free - great in the hot weather we had - only negative is the deep end is 2m, shallow end 1m so you need to make sure kids don't stray from the shallow end.

Didn't use the bar / restaurant facilities so can't comment, weather was fab so had BBQ's most of the week.

Did use the on site Chippy though which was great and packed out most nights. Highly recommend it though for a lazy day.

10 min walk to the Anchor and Ship Inn at Cockwood, both nice local pubs, Ship is cheaper !

Route we took was via Starcross which has a very narrow section which was a bit dodgy with large delivery vans etc coming in the opposite direction and does get backed up quite regularly apparently so bear this in mind if you are arriving or leaving around peak time.

In general staff were friendly and helpful, were shown to the pitch by one of the staff. We had a hard standing which backed onto the fishing lakes which was lovely but were woken fairly early each morning by the ducks which was fine if you are early risers but not so great if you like a lie in.

Only negative of the overall site is the cost for visitors. Cost us £10. 50 for 2 visitors to sit at the side of our van for a few hours, they charge regardless of your visitors using the facilities or not.

Will definitely return to this site next year for longer, just hope the weather is the same !

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1250