Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave dot 5 reviews from this member

Just come back from a few nights on this site. The site is well maintained, clean though out and most of the pitches have an excellent view across Ullswater.

The pub on site has a small soft play area suitable for the under 5ish, and has a 'games room' downstairs for the older kids consisting of a pay to play table football, free ping pong and a tv room.

The on site park was a little disappointing - a small climbing frame with cargo netting, a couple of swings and a muddy tunnel into a small hill (may not have been as muddy if it hadn't have been so wet!)

Good : clean, friendly, location.

Bad : distance to toilets, pea gravel on tent pitches, very small shared freezer for ice blocks.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkkie 11 reviews from this member

We had a good stay at The Quiet Site but there are a few points that were niggling.

First of all the booking was not straight forward. An e mail confirmed availability but when ringing to book the day after there was some hesitation taking our booking because it was only for 3 nights and over a bank holiday. Well in my opinion most people don't get long school holidays and getting away for 3 nights is most peoples only chance to do so. My daughter had a similar problem with them accepting a 3 night booking but they finally relented, this makes for an uncomfortable introduction.

Second when we arrived we were warmly greeted by a gentleman who asked if we had stayed here before --no was our reply. He took us to our pitch by bike, a tent pitch with electric and that was it, no directions to the toilets or bar and no real conversation.

Then the pitch- small, the tents on either side had pegged their guy ropes on our pitch making it even smaller. We had to cross their lines to have enough room for our tent and then even though they were on our pitch one was critically examining our lines! The owners should have pointed out to the other campers to stay on their own pitch and not leave it to new arrivals to squeeze in the remaining space and have to challenge their neighbours.

Good points- the views are amazing, the toilets clean, the bar was welcoming as were the shop staff.

If the pitches were larger this would have made a big difference, the none ehu seemed much more spacious and open and in my opinion if you pay for electric you should get a decent sized pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Georgiewuk 1 review from this member

This is a really attractive site and can absolutely agree on most of the positives that the other reviews talk about. We rented a bell tent and even though it just had a flat groundsheet (not sewn in or bucket) was spacious and seemed like good fun and hassle free for a one night stay. But more on this later if you are considering the bell tent option! Site is friendly, attractive and clean, good facilities and would have loved to be giving it yet another rave review. However the night we spent was without doubt one of the nosiest ever- and with name like the quiet site. It somehow made it worse! Firstly the site was surrounded by sheep. Which didn't sleep. They bleated away all night long. People were still noisily moving round site after midnight. Then one family got up and left site in their car at about 4am after scrunching around on the gravel and shutting car doors quite a number of times. Now in fairness this may have been a medical situation but given time to get in car and go and generally chattiness from inside the car, it sounded at the time much more like a family simply leaving. Shortly after there was a scratching around inside the tent and we could see the outline of an animal. Thankfully it was just a hedgehog which we chased out - it should have come earlier and helped us with the slugs and toad that had already visited! After that a car came on to site (the same as the one that left 3/4 hour earlier? We don't know. ) And then by dawn we were laughing about it all as the crows and beautiful birds chorus joined in noisily with the sheep. The Quiet Site indeed. Very glad to read reviews and see that this was an unusual night. We must have got unlucky with folks this time - and imagine the noise of sheep wouldn't have bothered so much otherwise. We would and probably will return with own tent or the caravan. And ear plugs. But really wouldn't recommend the bell tent unless they fit a bucket ground sheet. Or unless you are happy to share!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyndsaylou 6 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our stay at at the Quiet Site, Lake Ullswater, it is a beautiful area to visit and explore and there are some nice walks from the site. I visited the site many years ago and the layout seemed more spacious the last time I visited. The main tent area has all been tiered, which gives good flat pitches, however you can't park near your tent and the pitches are really on top of each other. You have to park up and carry all your equipment up or down a hill depending on where you are. We have never felt so crammed in on any site, which gives noise issues. We were awoken several times by our 'neighbours'. On our first night we were awoken by an argument over noise from a few tents away, this happened on three occasions with different campers during our week stay! I have never come across so many arguing campers! this is simply due to the close proximity of the pitches. The tent behind us was playing loud computer games until past midnight - we come away camping to escape all that, grrr. The better pitches are the non electric as these are on the perimeter and felt less hemmed in. There are lovely views over the lake from most of the pitches and the bathrooms and shower blocks are really good, and modern - although they can be quite a trek from some of the pitches. The site would benefit from a couple of loos at the opposite end of the site. It is a 5minute walk in the dark dodging guy ropes to the toilet block so torches are essential. Great facilities for campers including microwave, fridges, freezer, small shop with essentials and a quaint bar to visit. We enjoyed our week but mostly due to the beautiful area and lovely weather. I wouldn't visit this site again as I like a bit of peace when I go away after 10pm, and also a bit of space around our pitch. Also, a tip re the walks you are given. The 8 mile one is a really beautiful walk and well worth doing, but when you reach the waterfall the instructions are incredibly confusing, we talked and met several campers who all got lost in the same place - worth taking a proper map with you.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Discoverystu 10 reviews from this member

A group of us were allowed on last minute by very friendly French lady. Site is on a slope that has been levelled with terraces. Pitches are a mixture of pea shingle and grass. It is very organised and almost regimented into straight lines and as a result maybe loses some of the casualness and as a bit of formality to the site. People on the terrace above you will be looking down onto you a bit. We had the top most terrace near the lane and road and it was a bit of a midge fest. Site quietens down after 10. There is a bar on site that is friendly again I think that shut at ten. Toilets are clean although it can be a long walk back up the hill. We were stuck for somewhere to stay and it wouldn't usually be our first choice however I would recommend it for those wanting a quiet night. There are some fantastic views over the water however. Nice site just not my cup of tea. A pitch was 20 per night so was fairly expensive when you consider me and my pop up tent

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sooty721 1 review from this member

Set in the idyllic area of Ullswater in the Lake District this is a very beautiful part of England. The views are stunning and the site is very easy to find though the last part of the journey is down a single track. Watch out for the sheep coming the other way!

The shower blocks are very nice, free and kept very clean with the added bonus of two baths, very useful when travelling with toddlers. There is an on site shop though not well stocked with fresh produce it does have a good range of other stuff.

There is a fridge freezer and microwave on site that is free to use.

The outdoor playground is excellent and despite a lot of rain it kept well drained and kept my two entertained for hours. The site lacks a daytime indoor area other than a very small TV and games room with table tennis, air hockey and table football. There is nowhere to go for a coffee or an indoor play when the weather is too bad for out doors. There is an excellent indoor soft play area but sadly this didn't open until the pub opened at 7pm.

The pitches are combined grass and pea gravel and whilst this allows for good drainage it plays havoc with the tent groundsheet. The pitches are also quite exposed so putting up a tent in strong winds was a challenge. The site is well maintained but the down side is its anything but quiet on the day with what seem like a constant noise from grass cutting and hedge trimming

A very pleasant stay in good weather and very peaceful after 10pm

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bikky73 4 reviews from this member

Been back to this site again this month. We took advantage a 4-4-2 offer. Again, the site was fantastic. The FREE facilities were impeccable as usual, and the on site bar more than welcoming with its big open fire, and own brew beer.

They're currently on having a biomass boiler built to reduce costs, and help the environment. Their reedbeds, newly built last year are all fully developed now, for cleaning waste water.

Staff on site are great, will spend time chatting with people. With several walks direct from the campsite itself.

There is a small play park for children, and a children's room in the bar, although we generally avoid times when kids are around.

Give it a try.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Evofylde 5 reviews from this member

We booked a few weeks in advance and stayed for 2 nights. It was very easy to find and the last 600m is a single track when you approach from the Pooley Bridge end.

The lady who runs the office showed us to our pitch which was number 11 and had stunning views over the lake. Higher pitches were available. The views and surrounding landscapes are quite beautiful. You could argue the pitches are expensive but I felt we got our money. We aren't the sort of campers who stay on site all day, as we like to drive up, pitch our awning and drive off for the day. So for us, it was perfect to explore the Lakes from.

We felt the campsite was immaculate. Showers very clean, washing up facilities perfect. You couldn't have an open fire but I was allowed to use my Kelly kettle and the owner even gave me my fuel. Our pitch had a mains hook up.

The bar was a lovely place to relax in the evening and it is quite a unique spot and has to be seen.

The office/shop is fairly basic but we had all we needed so we were fine. The children's play area is big and has plenty to do and was perfect for our 6 and 8 year olds.

All in all, we would return and stay longer as for us, it is a great spot explore the Lakes from.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Woddy 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in a POD for 3 nights, which was excellent, they are well kept, a lamp and heater are provided, and there are 2 plug sockets. They provide good space for 2 people, we had campbeds and managed to fit our table & chairs inside to eat when it got a bit cold outside.

Although the site is well kept, the staff friendly and the Quiet Bar is a lovely, quirky place, we felt the site was a little over-rated and over priced. The one and only shower block is modern and clean, but the showers only last approx 25 seconds! We even tried pressing the nob several times to keep the water on to no avail. Also, our clothes got soaked whilst the shower was on, there is a narrow panel with a small seat behind which is not adequate to keep anything dry or even to sit on. I hung some things on the door hook and even they got sprayed with water. My husband said he had seen better facilities, but the women's were fine.

The on site shop is extremely small and acts as a reception area. There is limited choice, so you will need to bring more or less everything with you.

The bar is very cosy and has a roaring fire, but it's a shame they don't do more in the way of bar snacks, ie soup, sandwiches etc.

One good tip is to not follow one of the local walks that the site provide you with, the owner omits to tell you that you need to go through the Ullswater camping/caravan site, through 3 very boggy fields and up to the lane to get back. Thanks to the staff at the Ullswater site, we managed to get back but covered in mud and cow muck. Being given the impression that this was an easy 4 mile walk, we didn't dress for all terrains.

From reviewing the web-site, the impression is that this is a 4 star site, in our opinion it is not, there are better sites that are cheaper with better facilities.

Although we enjoyed our stay, we won't be staying here again and will be staying at Castlerigg Hall camp site in Keswick, far better facilities, shop, and location.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClareMew 3 reviews from this member

Dusted off the tent for a weeks camping in the wettest summer on record! We love the Ullswater valley more than anywhere else and this site is perfectly placed to give extensive views from its fell side location. The site is located on the side of a fell about a mile above the lake. There are no sloping pitches as they have all been terraced (think Chinese paddy fields) The services are all based in converted farm buildings which can be a hike from the highest pitches.

Services are excellent, clean, free hot showers. They have invested in solar water heating, underfloor heating, private bathrooms etc and they all seem to work well.

The site bar was a real bonus as it rained just a bit! Children welcome, had their own play room, toddlers room etc. Bar has a lovely smokey feel and we enjoyed it in its own right.

Large play field with low key play park. Dog walk area.

The pitches were a mix of grass and pea gravel and remained completely free of mud through out stay.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The website is full of information and you can download walks, cycle rides etc or view on your smartphone as you walk.

For us this is a site we will return to. The facilities, location and fellow campers were just what we were looking for.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016