Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Point Sands Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Point Sands Holiday Park
Tayinloan
Kintyre
Tarbert
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01583 441263

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
5m  1m  5m   5m  1m  5m 

Pitches: 50
Open: April 1st To October 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
              8/10 from 45 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jojo439 5 reviews from this member

This was our second trip to Point Sands, in a group of over 20 people, our last visit was August 2010.

We stayed in a tent, however, within our group we had a caravan, two motorhomes, tents, and last year a trailer tent. We found the site and access road to be perfectly suitable for all.

We brought our boat in August and were able to launch it from the beautiful beach using our 4x4 - and when the clutch disintegrated while bringing the boat ashore the Point Sands staff very quickly sourced a tractor to pull the 4x4, trailer and boat out.

On our recent trip we were met with gale force winds on our first night, so severe that two of our tents were destroyed and had to be skipped. Again, staff were super helpful and the morning after organised for the now 'homeless' members of our party to stay in one of the static caravans, which they had available, at a very agreeable rate. Due to the force of the wind that carried on over the weekend one very kind resident (George, I believe) on the static caravan side of the site offered to let remaining tents camp in his garden - what a star!

We had a super trip over to the Isle of Gigha, you can walk to the ferry along the beach in half an hour or so but there was plenty parking available at the ferry terminal for us too. The Achamore Gardens are well worth a visit and the The Boathouse does a good panini and half pint of Peroni!

The site was full but at no time did we feel it so. The toilets and showers are nothing fancy but certainly ample for a campsite - clean and light. The shop has everything you should need - although you should bring your own alcohol and favourite brand of cigarettes, if required! There's a wee shop in Tayinloan, but Campbeltown and Tarbert are each about 40 mins away too.

We were also allowed a small camp fire on the beach - which we think makes the whole camping experience!

All in all, Point Sands is a great experience. We will be back!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alfcat 1 review from this member

Had one night on the site, it is badly in need of updating! we found the charges far too high. Some of the play equipment broken, only one shower working in ladies(very low doors) and a charge of £1 to use, although cleanish needs seriously updating!

Yes the area is fabulous but facilities need to be also, for the prices charged. We found the Cara Cafe to be not a Cafe but a metal storage container ! not really what we were expecting.

We use a lot of campsites and for the price it was not good value for money. Sorry to have to say these things but we were very disappointed and will not be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 278 reviews from this member

Site fairly quiet when we stayed. Took a pitch by the beach without electric (£16 without elec but you have to pay for showers so fairly expensive when other sites in area £15 with elec and showers incl).

As said before toilets / showers very dated, they were clean but cant imagine how they cope with more than a few people.

Lady in reception super friendly and helpful. Has a wonderful little shop which is well stocked.

The Kintyre Way passes through the site so you can walk in either direction along the beach.

Overall a nice site in a great position - with new facilities will be a really great site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Griswaldo72 1 review from this member

Just got back from a week on this site and had a brilliant time. Site is in a great location right on the beach looking across towards the isle of Gigha. This area had some of the best coastline in the country. The kids, aged 6 and 10, never got bored and loved the bodyboarding at Westport Beach (so did I to be honest).

Weather changes very quickly but when it was warm at night we were never really bothered by midges etc due to the coastal location.

Sites amenities were fine and adequate and the shop very well stocked. The owners were excellent and helped with trip ideas and would do anything for you, even ordering your daily paper in for collection from the shop each morning.

We spent one evening in the sun on our chairs on the beach with a bottle of wine, snacks and a frisbee, brill fun with the kids and a scenic setting with the sun going down over Jura in the distance.

A great family holiday where Kayaking, walking, trips on speedboats, bodyboarding and sand castle building were the order of the day.

Would recommend for a relaxing break away from the daily grind, the kids can't wait for their next adventure.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunsetskye 1 review from this member

We stayed in July for the school holidays, was dreading it as thought it would be really busy but so much space there was a real party atmosphere. Everyone was happy, helped along by the super friendly and always cheerful owners. Kayaking in the rain was great fun and went over to Gigha as much as possible, great bike rides and crabbing off the pier!

Shop was great, real lifeline with fabulous ice cream!

Yes toilet block was in need of updating but understand that the new owners can't do everything at once. Always spotless even at busy times.

Sunsets and beach amazing - have booked to go back again this year! Can't wait!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel+ali 5 reviews from this member

Quite a pleasant spot on the beach overlooking Gigha. We only stayed one night, very convenient for the ferry to Islay. This is obviously a very popular site with families/groups & booking advisable in high season. The facilities are dated but fine, I would imagine busy at peak times as appeared to be only 2 showers & 1 washing up sink. Can recommend the Argyll Hotel, a short drive south from site for a good meal.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0449