Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
              9/10 from 185 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mummyofboys 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second visit here in as many weeks and are already counting down until we can go again. The site is family-run and the owners are so helpful and welcoming.

As the site does slope a bit they will tow your outfit onto your pitch for you, making sure it is all level and have plenty of levelling blocks too.

As mentioned in previous reviews the toilet and shower blocks are well maintained with plenty of hot water.

The site itself has the most perfect view down to the bay and over to Ravenscar and you really do just find yourself just sat gazing at it for hours. There was plenty of grass area for our boys to play on and we actually welcome the lack of children's playground as it tends to lessen the number of trips to A&E.

Robin Hood's Bay is about as close as you can get to a Cornish village without having to drive eight hours. It is very picturesque, some pretty shops, interesting local museum and lovely hidden away cottages that make you want to move until you realise you wouldn't even be able to afford a shed. The bay is ideal for rock pooling and nearby Ravenscar offers a great scramble down to the beach which is littered with fossils.

We ate out at the Victoria Hotel and can highly recommend it. Children can only go in the Family Room which is lovely and is in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Food is delicious - try the Thai Seafood curry if it's on the special's board.

We had some good weather and headed to Sandsend to body board. Excellent waves and can park on the road that runs along the top of the beach. We went outside of school holidays and there was no lifeguards and there is a strong rip tide so be aware.

There are plenty of campsites in this part of Yorkshire, however, you would be hard-pushed to find one as perfect as Hooks House Farm.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Perelik 1 review from this member

This is my second visit and would stay again as the views are wonderful. Even thought there are only two showers for men and three toilets, granted they have individual washrooms which are a bonus.

Staff very friendly and helpful. The site was very full but after 10pm all was quite so no rowdy party's.

The Grosvenor hotel does excellent food and on Tuesday nights have good live music and is a has a great atmosphere. Get there early to et a seat, we were late but they found room in the restaurant for use to eat and you had the choice of bar meal or Ala Carte menu.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JamesKelly91 3 reviews from this member

My girlfriend and I stayed at this campsite over the first weekend in July 2011. We rang ahead to confirm that they did not book grass pitches, and was told that as long as we got there fairly early we were pretty much guaranteed a pitch. The lady just asked us not arrive before 9am.

We arrived Friday morning at 9. 30 am and were greeted by friendly staff who were able to answer any questions and informed us of the site rules in a polite manner. Normally, we find the staff to be a bit obnoxious but this site was different - it's as though the staff wanted to be there and genuinely wanted you to have a nice stay.

As we had arrived fairly early we were informed of the rough layout of the site and told to just help ourselves to a pitch. This was no problem as some pitches were already being vacated and there was a large selection already available - as we were informed.

Although the site was on a slope, it did not bother us and the spectacular view over robin hoods bay more than makes up for it.

The usual problem of queuing for the showers happened due to the ratio of people on the site and number of showers. However, there is a separate block of wash rooms which both my girlfriend and I used with no waiting around.

The use of the microwave, kettle, fridge and freezer was a great touch.

The showers, wash rooms and toilets were all very well ventilated and kept very clean. The toilets were exceptionally clean and even had air fresheners in each cubicle which was a great touch too. In the gents toilets there was also a socket for electric shavers.

By tea time on Friday night the campsite was full as people had been arriving all day. The staff were checking for pitches for the later arrivals and showing them to make sure it was okay for them before they were booked in. This once again shows the staff's friendly and kind nature.

Every time we saw a member of staff they wished us 'good morning/evening' and said 'hello' to us.

There isn't much to do at Robin Hoods Bay, however because the weather was so nice it didn't bother us. There are a few pubs with beautiful beer gardens. We spent all afternoon outside The Victoria Hotel, whose beer garden overlooks robin hoods bay giving spectacular views. The food here, however, was a bit pricey and if you go down to the pubs a bit further in land (we love The Grosvenor Hotel) you get meals one or two pound cheaper with more on your plate - much better value.

As stated on the campsites website there are bus stops located either side of the road next to the site which provide regular access to the 93 bus. The 93 bus is a half hourly service which runs from Scarborough to Whitby (and sometimes as far as Middlesbrough) via many villages and Robin Hoods Bay. One village pub definitely worth a trip is the Hare and Hounds in Hawsker.

We travelled into Scarborough, but found it to be getting very run down. We are from Middlesbrough, so have grown up travelling to Scarborough/Whitby for the weekend and much prefer Whitby. Whitby has managed to keep its old-world charm and prettiness whereas Scarborough is much more like Blackpool. We won't be re-visiting Scarborough in a rush!

The site itself is lovely. Because it is essentially one big field, and not blocked off or sectioned, you very easily get talking to other campers which made the holiday for us. It is a 5 - 10 minute walk into Robin Hoods Bay which was lovely and convenient. We were able to walk down to the shop for food and drink and bring them back up to the tent easily.

There is also a separate playing field which meant that children weren't running around bumping into tents, etc.

We paid 8. 00 pppn, which we thought was great value for money. This totalled 32 for the two of us for two nights. Other sites around the Whitby area charge per pitch - not per person - so you can end up paying over 50 for a two night stay, which for us isn't very good value for money.

We will definitely be returning to this site for a 2 to 3 night stay next month. However, we are planning on going midweek so it will hopefully be a bit quieter and more peaceful. This should also mean that we get easy access to the showers. I will write another review when return from our second visit to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snafu 10 reviews from this member

Just got back from a fantastic week at Hooks House Farm. Difficult to add anything which has not already been said. The View? One of the best from any site we have stayed on.

Facilities are always spotless although they are a bit over worked when the site is full and the slope of the field gave us a bit of trouble trying to get our trailer tent level in a way where the sleeping area was horizontal and we could still get the pegs in all around the edge but that's just being picky.

So much to do in the surrounding area, the walk along the old railway to Whitby is a pleasant 6-7 mile trek with no steep climbs. Or a short walk down to Robin Hoods Bay and you can walk the beach (Remember the return to RHB is cut off at High Tide) or just wander around the village and spend your money in one of the many cafes or shops. A few nice pubs in RHB as well.

There is also a Ghost walk once or twice a week around RHB, a nice way to kill an hour or so before grabbing an evening meal. On the subject of food, I can really recommend the Fylingsdale inn in Fylingthorpe, fantastic food and a good selection of ales and if you find yourself in Whitby search out the Magpie, their fish and chips are excellent.

For the less energetic the bus between Whitby and Scarborough stops around 100yds from the site.

The only thing left to comment on are the owners nicer people you could not wish to meet. Always available but never intrusive.

All in all one of the nicest sites we have visited, a definite thumbs up.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie133 1 review from this member

Hubby & I have just spent 5 wonderful days at this camp and what a fantastic place. Greeted by very friendly owners who keep the facilities spotless, toilets even have airfreshner, 3 showers for the ladies & 2 for the men, with endless hotwater also separate wash area for families with plugs and baby bath.

Kitchen wash area again spotless, with 2 freezers and a fridge so no problems freezing your icepacks. Plus the use of Microwave and kettle.

Field on a little slope but provide wooden blocks for caravans etc, but with outstanding views of the bay and 10min walk to Robin Hoods Bay/beach which our dog Izzy loved, plenty of cosy pubs which are all dog friendly. Small postoffice 5mins from camp which stocks everything or supermarket 4miles away in Whitby.

Overall this is one of the best sites we have stayed on for cleanliness, breath taking view and only a few miles from the main seaside towns.

Would highly recommend to couples and families.

Will definitely go back for more this year

Just watch to the far left of the field there is an electric fence to keep in the sheep, and our dog got a little surprise the first day but didn't go back for more

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bexbex 1 review from this member

Been using Hooks House since the early 90's and still our favourite site. Owners always friendly and helpful. Facilities clean, plenty of hot water, soap, paper towels. Over the years we have seen the site develop. The view is amazing - the BEST!

Robin Hoods Bay is great. Good pubs, cafes, chippy. Really dog friendly - you can take your dog in most of the pubs and all do good food. The good pub in Fylingthorpe is also in walking distance and a well stocked shop.

On a down side camping has got so popular that you may find the site full and you cannot book for short stays. The area is great too - coast and countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TBoothy 1 review from this member

We spent the Spring bank week at this site.

Although we only wanted to book an EHU for five nights we were asked to commit to 7 nights it being a bank holiday. Seems to be becoming the norm nowadays due to the upsurge in the popularity of camping as they weren't the only site to ask so I won't go on.

Views were just breathtaking rain or shine - we had both, and the location so close to Robin Hoods Bay is fantastic. We just loved not having to take the car, and being able to cycle and walk to the shops.

We went to Thorpe Stores in Fylingdale - friendly and well stocked, open 7 days a week - a short walk down the hill. Yes the site slopes but people coped and was the price of the fantastic view. We were given chocs in case we needed help levelling our trailer tent.

The friendly and relaxed welcome all helped to make our stay one of the best I can recall for some time.

We really felt like we were away from it all, even though an A road ran behind the site, it didn't bother us. Sheep in the next field, and the birdsong from 4.45am in the morning all contributed to my ideal camping experience.

Robin Hoods Bay and Runswick Bay reminded me of some of the little Cornish fishing villages we have visited recently - quaint, unspoilt, intriging. Something for everyone, sand, sea, chocolate box imagery ( no slot machines, or kiss me quick hats here thank god.)

Try the Cliffemount Hotel at the top of Runswick bay. Free parking if you use their bar, and the evening menu looked scrummy even though I didn't eat there.

Generally a picturesque site full of family groups, and serious campers, so the site stayed relatively peaceful and laid back.

I agree with previous reviews that the site gets a lot of wind, everyone pitched facing the bay, to take in the breathtaking view, with the wind blowing offshore, so it didn't really bother us.

Washing and toilet facilities were kept fastidiously & spotlessly clean. ( a nice touch was airfreshener in the ladies and gents loos ) with soap dispensed from the wall. Never ran out of loo roll !

Obviously well cared for, although you need to be prepared to queue as there were only two showers per sex. Individual washrooms were very much appreciated - modern and clean. Kitchen with microwave & kettle, and loads of pot washing both indoor and outdoor.

No clothes washing facilities which was a bit dissappointing especially after having to commit to 7 days, but I asked them to consider at least installing a spin dryer.

No children's playground, although for me this is not essential as the big field in which we were pitched at the top offered plenty of run around & ball game space, and is good for kite flying ( remember the prevailing wind.) Go to a shop called Rainbow Gems in Whitby - across the bridge to the right towards the main pier, up an alley way. Sells fantastic kites for 2 and didn't have a clue how good they were !

Slight moan, even though the dogs on this site were well behaved, I'm not a big fan, & was disappointed that dog walkers chose to exercise their dogs, (and hence a doggy poo stop) in the children's play field. Granted they did pick the stuff up, but all the same the two should not mix.

Overall I would give this site 8/10. ( extra shower, clothes washing facility, and dogs rerouted making it near perfect). I would definitely go back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

We drove over to Robin Hoods Bay on Friday afternoon to ensue we got a good pitch as bookings were only taken for electric pitches and longer stays. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted very warmly by one of the owners in the reception by the entrance.

The site stayed pretty empty with only the outer pitches being used by caravanners at the top and proper campers at the bottom!

We pitched up at the bottom of the field which had a great view of the bay and the surrounding hills but at the price of being furthest away from the toilet block! Most of the pitches were on a slope so it took a while to get levelish but the owners offered us ramps so are aware.

The toilets / showers were always clean and tidy along with an al fresco washing up area.

Robin Hoods Bay is a short walk down the fields of about 15 minutes where there are plenty of pubs, cafes and the fish and chip shop. Be prepared for the hill on the way back up though!

Please note there are no cash machines in robin hoods bay and that if you need any fuel get it before you set off as the prices sky rocket once your past York

We paid 15 for two adults per night

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulcher1 2 reviews from this member

We have Just arrived back from a long weekend break at Hooks farm. Me the Wife, 2 kids and Jet the dog.

Well first the negative point, we wish we could have stayed longer! With that out of the way I would like to say what an awesome view awaits anyone who drives onto this site. The views are absolutely stunning looking out over the bay. To match this the owners cant do enough to help.

At reception we were made to feel most welcome, then they hooked our van to their vehicle and after towing it to the pitch, set the whole thing up for us. Ok the pitch was on a incline and I would have struggled but they sorted the whole thing out without issues.

The facilities were spotless throughout the stay. The Showers and the washing cubicles always had hot water and were kept clean. No kiddies park here but plenty of space to entertain yourselves with outdoor games and stuff.

A 10 minute stroll over a little moor and some wonderful scenery (all down hill) then your in Robin Hoods Bay an absolute gem of a place (just explore you will love it).

There is also a small general store here, little pubs and shops and places to eat. Don't forget the walk can be challenging (back up the hill) to the site but turn around again at the top and there is that view again, it will all be worth it.

Hooks farm is a must for those who want a quiet relaxing break and friendly environment. We will be back as soon as we can so leave us a space !

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 20 reviews from this member

We booked for one night over the phone with the site and on arrival they found us a pitch and some extra chocks as its quite sloping.

The owners were very nice people and we set up and walked down the field to explore Robin Hood Bay. The first pub we came to was the Victoria so we went in for a pint. The first thing to hit us was the smell of fish as someone had been eating a meal. The atmosphere in here was drab/dead as was the pub itself and it needs updating and a good clean.

Then we went further down into Robin Hoods Bay to see what the village was like. Personally we found it disappointing and not worth the effort when you consider how lovely the villages of the Northumberland coast are, we were disappointed in Robin Hood Bay as a whole. I think this place is overrated and a bit shabby.

The Camp Site was fine but it was too near the passing road and we could hear the local boy-racers flashing down the country lane until late.

So, if you book here its worth getting a pitch at the bottom of the field for less noise but not a bad site with lovely owners.

Previous     185 Review in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


316 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0527