Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 211 Reviews
              9/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mamaduck 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic 8 day stay here. The owner and family are so friendly and helpful. They will pitch towed units for you as site sloping, but worth it for the view alone.

We last visited 4 years ago and like the improvements to the showers (folding doors). Facilities always kept clean despite site being full (shower at off peak times to ensure hot water when it's busy as at many other sites). We had very mixed weather going from sun cream to thermals but found lots to do in the area. Kids (7 & 5) enjoyed flying their kites in the 'play field' although there isn't room to play near own unit.

The walk down to Robin Hood's Bay is easy if you're fairly able-bodied. Whitby Abbey is worth a visit - English Heritage so well geared up for children. Try The Quayside in Whitby for fantastic fish & chips, and explore the narrow lanes across the swing bridge for lots of little interesting shops etc. Walk up to Pannett Park to explore the dinosaur walk and refurbished playground if you have little ones. We will be going back, and won't leave it four years this time.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentbunny50 2 reviews from this member

This idyllic little campsite is situated in close proximity to the historic fishing village of Robin Hood's Bay and is only four miles from the bustling town of Whitby. The area is quiet and rural.

From the campsite can be clearly seen the haunting cliffs overlooking the bay and the sea can sometimes be heard in the distance.

The campsite is fairly basic, but is immaculately clean. Male and female washrooms comprise of a few small showers, toilets and private washing cubicles. There is a small utility room, consisting of a refrigerator, freezer, electric kettle, microwave and washing up sink. There is an outdoor laundry area, too.

Overall, I found the site to be warm and inviting. The owners couldn't be more helpful and I found them friendly, but unobtrusive. I will definitely use this campsite again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jomchorbury 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2night stay at this site and would definitely return.

On arrival we explained that although my husband, son and I wanted to stay for two nights my daughter & boyfriend were following and only wanted to sty one night, the lady on reception was very accommodating and suggested if we could take one 'pitch' they would not charge us the minimum 2 nights. This was easily attainable as although we have a 6 birth family tent and my daughter a small done tent, the pitches are easily generous enough to accommodate this.

The toilet / shower facilities are spotless, housed in potakabin's, I couldn't fault them, and free! We have stayed in numerous campsites and always paid for much inferior showers.

Washing up, fridge, freezer & microwave facilities, all spotless.

The camping field is very well kept with 'road tracks' mown into the field.

The walk into the Bay takes a bit longer than 10 -15 minutes, approx 20 -30 at a decent pace and is over fairly rough footpath and a little steep coming back uphill. That said, that is what we like and I got some fab photos of gorgeous lambs who were obviously used to folk walking through their field.

The main selling point for this site is the view over Robin Hoods Bay towards Ravenscar, tremendous. , and watching the moon coming out & illuminating the bay was very special indeed.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 6 of clubs 8 reviews from this member

Another lovely trip to this site I thought I would let you all know how nice it is and how friendly the whole family that own and look after the site are.

We had a tent with EHU so booked a while ago and the pitch we had down the side of the field was the best we have had in our 3 visits as we had the hedge behind the tent so a little protection for the wind but still had all the views. The only thing with being down there was the walk to the loos was a bit far if you had had a drink.

The site did get full with mostly tents (non ehu) but to be honest the queues we thought that there would be for the toilets/showers didn't happen so we were pleased about that. The water in the showers does get a bit hot so be careful but hubby said you could adjust the temp which I didn't know.

You also have separate washrooms rather than having to clean your teeth in the toilet block which is good but please people, when you use them can you get the tissue supplied and wipe the water around the sink so its clean for the next person as twice I went in and there was water everywhere (sorry rant over) but its just common sense you wouldn't leave your sink at home like that would you ?

The site has both outside and indoor pot washes both with 3 sinks each which is good and also microwave, kettle, fridge for small items and a freezer to use which is great and also lots of leaflets for the area.

The village of RHB is a walk down the hill either through the fields which most people do or by road with no footpath so a bit dangerous, beware though the walk back up is a killer but you could always get the bus and get off at the stop outside the site. In the village you will find lots of places to eat/drink and lots of little shops for you to look in. There is parking but you would need to get there early as the spaces do fill, not sure how much it is as we didn't use them but it is parking meters.

RHB also has a lovely beach which I think on Sunday everyone in the area was sitting on in the sun which was lovely to see.

All in all this is a wonderful site and we will definitely be back. Keep up the good work you have a gem of a site

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Backpack55 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here on the Cleveland Way and my first time here. Owner was very friendly and said, I could camp on the lawn next to the farmhouse, which was handy. The views of the surrounding area was awesome and very pleasing to the eye.

Showers and toilets were very clean, up-to-date and modern. There is a handy annexe for washing up or using the kettle and microwave for a snack and cuppa.

The site is on a slight slope, but really not a problem. There is a handy footpath across the fields to the shops and pubs and would recommend using this, instead of the main road.

I would stay here again, if I did the Cleveland Way again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hooks House Farm. Having arrived immediately after the Easter weekend we found the site had emptied out and so it was relatively quiet.

The site sits on a hill above Robin Hoods Bay, and offers tremendous views across the bay. We found it nice to be within easy striking distance of bustling Whitby, whilst enjoying the peace of the countryside.

The farmer and his wife were keen to ensure that we were safely settled in. This entailed reversing the caravan up a fairly steep bank and I very much regretted not accepting the farmer's offer to manoeuvre the van into place with his 4x4. I won't be so proud next time around!

The toilet block and washing up facilities were always kept immaculate. There were nice little extras provided, including communal fridge/freezers and a microwave oven.

There is plenty to see in surrounding area and we will be returning to Hooks House Farm before too long.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 22 reviews from this member

Just had one night here on a non electric pitch. What a fantastic friendly little site. Basic but spotless showers and loos and a great little walk into robin hoods bay where there's lots of dog friendly pubs serving nice food. A must is breakfast in the little cafe at the top of the hill. The food is amazing, Candys I think its called. Site is very reasonably priced at £8. 50 per adult and no extra for the dog. Although we only stayed for a night it was long enough to say we will be returning very soon !

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newbton 6 reviews from this member

Having just returned from this spectacularly situated site I cannot recommend it highly enough for the views of Robins Hood Bay and over to Ravenscar. The weather was fantastic and obviously added to the pleasant experience. It is a mixed site with caravans placed generally along the edge of the field and tents generally arranged around the middle of a frankly steeply sloping area!The caravans are placed onto concrete blocks by the owner which is a great help and is very comfortable all round, but if you are in a tent you will have to decide which way up you prefer your head to be. Some of the tents along the bottom edge were pretty level, but it is on the whole a slopy site, as had been stated at length elsewhere on these reviews.

When we arrived we had only booked for 3 nights but because the weather forecast was so good we asked if we could stay an extra 4 nights which they tried to accommodate but could only manage 3 as they were fully booked on the last night we wanted. When we pulled away at the end of our stay the next occupant was waiting to pull on and the site was was chocker. Very popular site. The TV picture was dire and only 3 channels were picked up through a snowstorm. However the area goes digital 12th Sept so it may improve. There is no Wifi as we had been led to believe.

The shower and loo block is teeny weeny for the amount of punters the site can take but I only encountered a queue for both twice. If you can take a shower maybe mid afternoon the place is then deserted. All very clean. The absence of a shop of any kind is a bit of a nuisance as it's a long walk to nip for a pint.

It is an easy stroll to and from Robin Hoods Bay with tons of eateries like cafes and pubs and grockle shops, and buses are regular which drop you back at the site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crainneag 8 reviews from this member

I first came across this great site when our usual site near Whitby stopped taking tents. It was the first year of operation after the Farmer had agreed to let his wife have one field. Then the grass was long and some people had to be towed up the hill as their tyres couldn't grip.

Now the site has been running for a few years and it is even better, the spectacular view is still there as is the gentle slope, everything else has been improved to a higher standard than many other independent sites. The staff were very friendly.

There is a gravel road running down the edge of the site and tracks across the grass between the pitches. The slope is noticeable but not excessive and flattens out near the bottom fence. The facilities are very good, male and female toilets are in Portable cabin style buildings, there is a separate room with individual washrooms in it for those who wish to have individual space and privacy. The dishwashing area was good sized and also housed two 'fridges, a freezer, microwave oven and various leaflets and magazines.

An adjacent field was available for children to play in, no equipment was supplied.

Whitby is 4 miles north and Scarborough 17 miles south, Robin Hood's Bay is a fairly short walk from the site.

I thoroughly recommend visiting this site.

GPS coordinates: N54° 26' 19. 5" W0° 32' 35. 0" / N54· 43875 W0· 54306

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane May 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful campsite! Very welcoming lady on reception, who explained the impressively organised layout.

Pitched at the top of the campsite, for the fabulous views, but to be honest, you can see the bay from even the lowest pitches.

Site was fairly hilly and breezy but we were prepared for this from other reviews and neither issue bothered us in the least.

Loos and showers were absolutely immaculate and never busy, despite the campsite being about 2/3 full.

Peaceful evening and quiet morning. Reasonable at £9 per adult. We will return!

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1328