Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
              9/10 from 194 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eknowles 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time this weekend. The weather was pretty bad but weren't too bothered.

Arrived on a Friday pm and were met and greeted, shown to our pitch and before we knew it the owner had levelled our caravan for us.

It's great to come somewhere where the owners can't do enough for you, the facilities are clean, well cared for and the view across the Bay to die for.

Apart from this, all weekend we felt stitched up paying over the odds for beer and food in Robin Hoods Bay. £8.15 for 2 pints and a bag on Pork Scratchings! See the Laurel Inn.

Luckily though, the owners of Hooks House Farm site haven't got on the band wagon of ripping of tourist and the site offers superb value for money, the most amazing views in the area and true customer service.

Take your own beer, wine, food and soak up the wonderful walks and avoid the pubs!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Just do it 7 reviews from this member

Endorse everything said in the last review, lovely site with the most amazing view of the Bay. Site is on slope but that's why everyone gets a nice view and with the site chap offering to tow your van to the pitch and level it up for you there is nothing to worry about.

The facilities were a little basic guess but this is a farm not a holiday park and everything was always clean.

Robin Hoods Bay is a delightful place but beware if you walk it's a steep hill coming back up! We also really enjoyed Whitby and you can catch a bus roughly about every 40 minutes from the road outside the site, think it was about £3. 70ish one-way. As there was 6 of us we caught a cab recommended by the site for £15.

Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bambi13 10 reviews from this member

A lovely site, very good views of the bay. A short walk to the village. You can walk to the village via the footpath or down the road both, take about 10 mins. The village has a variety of shops and pubs.

The site is clean and tidy and they even supply blocks as they are on uneven ground. The Ladies shower block was a bit better than the mens but both are more than adequate. Both where clean and tidy.

There are walks not far from the site, we walked in to Whitby along the shore line.

We would most certainly go back to this site. We found it friendly, helpful and very welcoming.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thesupertruth 2 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant, delightful campsite! Go go go! Just wait to go ‘Ooooh!’ when you see the view! We phoned in advance and then when we arrived and a lovely lady and her doggy were sat in a little homely reception and sorted out everything we needed; directions, toilet info, etc.

We could pitch wherever there was a space (we were two small tents & 1 car), so went down the bottom because it’s a little away from the arrival cars etc, but really anywhere on the site is great. Field is on a slope, but you get helpy-brick things if you have a caravan and sleeping-wise, it was no problem at all. Comfy ground / easy to push the pegs in.

Toilets super-clean, hot water, wash basins, bigger wash basins for body washes in a different room and showers which were lovely and hot. A little queue for ladies’ showers at weekend, but who cares?

There’s a fridge for essentials and a kettle – genius! Also, loads of leaflets and plugs, so suppose could get a bit of a phone charge if needed.

A little windy obviously at times, but not necessarily off the sea, so can still pitch tent looking over sea. The village is beautiful and there are 5 / 6 pubs all walking distance from site.

Didn’t like The Victoria much, over-cooked food and not a great range of beers. Also, very hot inside. But by no means awful. Quite busy with locals and walkers; enthusiastic manager / owner. Best 2 pubs personally; Bay Hotel & The Dolphin.

Whitby and Scarborough not far in the car. Preferred Whitby – dig around for perfect café (real butter, real butter!) and antique/vintage shop up one particular back street selling gorgeous old, cool things.

The whole stay was ace and tents are only £8 per person, which is so so reasonable for a campsite that has made a proper effort and clearly cares about its customers, general impression of whom were an assortment of nice people young and old who had come to enjoy a chilled out giggle of a camp as opposed to a noisy, litter-strewn annoyance.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ShedWoman 8 reviews from this member

We haven't been here for 2 or 3 years, and on visiting last week, all I could think was 'Why not?'

Everything about this site is perfect (except the lack of flat pitches, which is totally outweighed by everything else).

The main things to like about this site are:

* The owners of this site are just simply the best. Jill and her family are there whenever you need them and still manage to be totally unobtrusive. They are kind, friendly and helpful and you always feel that they want you to return.

* When it's full, it's full. The owners have a very healthy respect for their campers' personal space, and you will never feel cramped or invaded.

* The facilities are excellent. Clean, serviceable and I have never yet had to queue for a shower (partly due to the lack of 'pack-em-in' tactics, and partly because there are simply enough there. The toilets are spotless, clean and hygienic and the wash up area is too. There is a freezer for icepacks, a fridge for your commestibles and a microwave for your ready meals!

* The views from the site are spectacular. The view is Robin Hood's Bay, need I say more.

* Peace and quiet! The site asks for quiet after eleven at night, and is rewarded with silence from around ten thirty. I have neverbeen woken up on this site in the middle of the night, but this time some campers did rise at 7, and didn't care that perhaps we didn't want to. However, since we'd been asleep since ten thirty, it didn't really matter.

* The pricing too, has no edge and no hidden agenda. You pay per person. Thats it. They don't ask how big your footprint is, whether you have dogs, a trailer, an extra vehicle, none of that. You pay a flat rate per person and that is that. £8. 50 per adult and £3. 00 per child.

* Although there's no actual playground for kids, they are afforded a huge field to run and play in to their heart's content. They do sleep after that

* If you don't mind a walk down the hill and BACK UP AGAIN (phew) there is a fantastic pint waiting for you at the Bay Hotel, and the fish and chips at the Mariondale are first class!

The bad points. Apart from the sloping pitches, there arent any.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sorenlorensen 7 reviews from this member

The view from this site is incredible. There is not much better than sitting outside your tent of an evening and gazing at the stunning view!

The owners are really friendly and could not do enough to help (we watched them whenever a new campervan arrived and they helped everyone to get their van level).

The loos and showers were immaculately clean. Even though the site was full, I only had to queue once (and only for a couple of minutes) and I think that was down to poor timing on my part!

When we arrived, there was plenty of space and, even when the owners hung out the 'site full' sign, there was still plenty of space and it was refreshing that they kept it that way rather than packing in more people (even though they could have). We chose a pitch nearer to the top of the field as we thought it had the best view and, although the site is slopey, it isn't a problem (and is why pretty much every pitch has a beautiful view). The site was quiet and really friendly and relaxed.

Robin Hoods Bay is a short walk down the hill and is a cute little town. Bit of a tough push back up the hill with the double-buggy but my other half did that so not a problem for me :)

Can't really rate any of the pubs/restaurants in the area as, with small kids, it is easier to eat in the tent but we did pop down to RHB for fish and chips one night and they were the best we've had in a long time (even if we did have to queue for ages. )

Despite the weather (5 thunderstorms over a couple of days!), we had a fantastic stay here and can't wait to come back. This is a place we'll visit again and again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pgaskell 1 review from this member

We have just returned form a five day stay at this campsite. This was our first outing with our caravan and we could not have picked a better location.

On arrival at reception they hooked our caravan onto their 4x4 and took it to the pitch. They also levelled it up for us. The view is outstanding and location superb. We walked down to the village and ate at the Grosvenor Hotel which was good value for money.

The bus stop is outside the gate. We went by bus to Whitby which was a fab day out. The campsite was full but still very quiet. The facilities were immaculate and staff were so helpful.

The only fault was having to queue for the showers but this was only a 10 minute wait and seems really insignificant. I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MARC1974 6 reviews from this member

This site has amazing views of Robin Hoods Bay.

The toilet facilities are basic but are always kept clean with hot running water.

The site is on a slope but we requested a flat pitch which the owners reserved for us.

There is a bus stop outside the site where you can get the bus to Whitby. When you get on the bus ask for a day saver or the bus driver will charge you double to get into Whitby.

Avoid the fylindales pub the food is of poor quality.

Robin Hoods bay is a very nice place but is one massive slope. The campsite is 10 mins walk into the bay.

Would stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thomasshop 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to this site but certainly wont be our last.

From the second we got there the owners could not have been more helpful - even hooking our caravan up to their own 4x4 in the entrance / reception area and transporting it to out pitch, siting and levelling it within minutes - a massive help on a site which is on rather a steep hill.

The washing, showering and food prep areas were immaculately clean and the owners are always active showing great pride in this great site.

The location and view are suburb and a bus stop is very close to the site to access Whitby and Scarborough with ease if you don't want to take your car.

Robin Hoods Bay is about 750 yards down the main road where pubs, restaurant and general dealers (inc Post Office) can be used although a really nice route can be taken through countryside to get down into the main Bay - this takes approx 10 mins - bringing you out near one of the best fish and chip shops in the country as well as great views and fine ales from the traditional pubs.

All in all this is what caravanning is all about and sites like this just make the whole experience even more enjoyable - first class!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mummyofboys 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second visit here in as many weeks and are already counting down until we can go again. The site is family-run and the owners are so helpful and welcoming.

As the site does slope a bit they will tow your outfit onto your pitch for you, making sure it is all level and have plenty of levelling blocks too.

As mentioned in previous reviews the toilet and shower blocks are well maintained with plenty of hot water.

The site itself has the most perfect view down to the bay and over to Ravenscar and you really do just find yourself just sat gazing at it for hours. There was plenty of grass area for our boys to play on and we actually welcome the lack of children's playground as it tends to lessen the number of trips to A&E.

Robin Hood's Bay is about as close as you can get to a Cornish village without having to drive eight hours. It is very picturesque, some pretty shops, interesting local museum and lovely hidden away cottages that make you want to move until you realise you wouldn't even be able to afford a shed. The bay is ideal for rock pooling and nearby Ravenscar offers a great scramble down to the beach which is littered with fossils.

We ate out at the Victoria Hotel and can highly recommend it. Children can only go in the Family Room which is lovely and is in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Food is delicious - try the Thai Seafood curry if it's on the special's board.

We had some good weather and headed to Sandsend to body board. Excellent waves and can park on the road that runs along the top of the beach. We went outside of school holidays and there was no lifeguards and there is a strong rip tide so be aware.

There are plenty of campsites in this part of Yorkshire, however, you would be hard-pushed to find one as perfect as Hooks House Farm.

Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469