Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 


Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
              9/10 from 208 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 6 of clubs 8 reviews from this member

Another lovely trip to this site I thought I would let you all know how nice it is and how friendly the whole family that own and look after the site are.

We had a tent with EHU so booked a while ago and the pitch we had down the side of the field was the best we have had in our 3 visits as we had the hedge behind the tent so a little protection for the wind but still had all the views. The only thing with being down there was the walk to the loos was a bit far if you had had a drink.

The site did get full with mostly tents (non ehu) but to be honest the queues we thought that there would be for the toilets/showers didn't happen so we were pleased about that. The water in the showers does get a bit hot so be careful but hubby said you could adjust the temp which I didn't know.

You also have separate washrooms rather than having to clean your teeth in the toilet block which is good but please people, when you use them can you get the tissue supplied and wipe the water around the sink so its clean for the next person as twice I went in and there was water everywhere (sorry rant over) but its just common sense you wouldn't leave your sink at home like that would you ?

The site has both outside and indoor pot washes both with 3 sinks each which is good and also microwave, kettle, fridge for small items and a freezer to use which is great and also lots of leaflets for the area.

The village of RHB is a walk down the hill either through the fields which most people do or by road with no footpath so a bit dangerous, beware though the walk back up is a killer but you could always get the bus and get off at the stop outside the site. In the village you will find lots of places to eat/drink and lots of little shops for you to look in. There is parking but you would need to get there early as the spaces do fill, not sure how much it is as we didn't use them but it is parking meters.

RHB also has a lovely beach which I think on Sunday everyone in the area was sitting on in the sun which was lovely to see.

All in all this is a wonderful site and we will definitely be back. Keep up the good work you have a gem of a site

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Backpack55 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here on the Cleveland Way and my first time here. Owner was very friendly and said, I could camp on the lawn next to the farmhouse, which was handy. The views of the surrounding area was awesome and very pleasing to the eye.

Showers and toilets were very clean, up-to-date and modern. There is a handy annexe for washing up or using the kettle and microwave for a snack and cuppa.

The site is on a slight slope, but really not a problem. There is a handy footpath across the fields to the shops and pubs and would recommend using this, instead of the main road.

I would stay here again, if I did the Cleveland Way again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hooks House Farm. Having arrived immediately after the Easter weekend we found the site had emptied out and so it was relatively quiet.

The site sits on a hill above Robin Hoods Bay, and offers tremendous views across the bay. We found it nice to be within easy striking distance of bustling Whitby, whilst enjoying the peace of the countryside.

The farmer and his wife were keen to ensure that we were safely settled in. This entailed reversing the caravan up a fairly steep bank and I very much regretted not accepting the farmer's offer to manoeuvre the van into place with his 4x4. I won't be so proud next time around!

The toilet block and washing up facilities were always kept immaculate. There were nice little extras provided, including communal fridge/freezers and a microwave oven.

There is plenty to see in surrounding area and we will be returning to Hooks House Farm before too long.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 22 reviews from this member

Just had one night here on a non electric pitch. What a fantastic friendly little site. Basic but spotless showers and loos and a great little walk into robin hoods bay where there's lots of dog friendly pubs serving nice food. A must is breakfast in the little cafe at the top of the hill. The food is amazing, Candys I think its called. Site is very reasonably priced at 8. 50 per adult and no extra for the dog. Although we only stayed for a night it was long enough to say we will be returning very soon !

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newbton 6 reviews from this member

Having just returned from this spectacularly situated site I cannot recommend it highly enough for the views of Robins Hood Bay and over to Ravenscar. The weather was fantastic and obviously added to the pleasant experience. It is a mixed site with caravans placed generally along the edge of the field and tents generally arranged around the middle of a frankly steeply sloping area!The caravans are placed onto concrete blocks by the owner which is a great help and is very comfortable all round, but if you are in a tent you will have to decide which way up you prefer your head to be. Some of the tents along the bottom edge were pretty level, but it is on the whole a slopy site, as had been stated at length elsewhere on these reviews.

When we arrived we had only booked for 3 nights but because the weather forecast was so good we asked if we could stay an extra 4 nights which they tried to accommodate but could only manage 3 as they were fully booked on the last night we wanted. When we pulled away at the end of our stay the next occupant was waiting to pull on and the site was was chocker. Very popular site. The TV picture was dire and only 3 channels were picked up through a snowstorm. However the area goes digital 12th Sept so it may improve. There is no Wifi as we had been led to believe.

The shower and loo block is teeny weeny for the amount of punters the site can take but I only encountered a queue for both twice. If you can take a shower maybe mid afternoon the place is then deserted. All very clean. The absence of a shop of any kind is a bit of a nuisance as it's a long walk to nip for a pint.

It is an easy stroll to and from Robin Hoods Bay with tons of eateries like cafes and pubs and grockle shops, and buses are regular which drop you back at the site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crainneag 8 reviews from this member

I first came across this great site when our usual site near Whitby stopped taking tents. It was the first year of operation after the Farmer had agreed to let his wife have one field. Then the grass was long and some people had to be towed up the hill as their tyres couldn't grip.

Now the site has been running for a few years and it is even better, the spectacular view is still there as is the gentle slope, everything else has been improved to a higher standard than many other independent sites. The staff were very friendly.

There is a gravel road running down the edge of the site and tracks across the grass between the pitches. The slope is noticeable but not excessive and flattens out near the bottom fence. The facilities are very good, male and female toilets are in Portable cabin style buildings, there is a separate room with individual washrooms in it for those who wish to have individual space and privacy. The dishwashing area was good sized and also housed two 'fridges, a freezer, microwave oven and various leaflets and magazines.

An adjacent field was available for children to play in, no equipment was supplied.

Whitby is 4 miles north and Scarborough 17 miles south, Robin Hood's Bay is a fairly short walk from the site.

I thoroughly recommend visiting this site.

GPS coordinates: N54 26' 19. 5" W0 32' 35. 0" / N54 43875 W0 54306

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane May 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful campsite! Very welcoming lady on reception, who explained the impressively organised layout.

Pitched at the top of the campsite, for the fabulous views, but to be honest, you can see the bay from even the lowest pitches.

Site was fairly hilly and breezy but we were prepared for this from other reviews and neither issue bothered us in the least.

Loos and showers were absolutely immaculate and never busy, despite the campsite being about 2/3 full.

Peaceful evening and quiet morning. Reasonable at 9 per adult. We will return!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy b 2 reviews from this member

A great site and in a fantastic location. The owners are really helpful and friendly. Great for kids and pets. Toilets and showers extremely clean. Fantastic views and very close to robin hoods bay.

Brilliant for dog walking. I will definitely visit this site again. Had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend it.

The bus service also runs past the site every hour so its brilliant if your too tired to walk up the hill!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Styve100 13 reviews from this member

Decided to go here on recommendations of friends, who we went with, it was to be my annual holiday with the kids.

I had no other ideas for this year, so thought I would give it a try.

First off, its a lovely area with loads of places to walk around and visit, but you need your mountain goat shoes.

Also at the end of the week, the kids announced they had had a good holiday.

But, it was hard work.

This site is very slopey. The warden and his team are excellent at helping and will generally unhitch your van and site it for you.

Personally, I didn't want this as I have been siting my van for 20 years, and that's just me being stubborn, but I had 4 wheel drive as well so didn't see the point of towing for 150 miles to be not able to do the last 10 yards.

They have breeze blocks etc to help get your van level, I think I got 2 turns on the back steadies.

You better get one of those tables with adjustable legs for this site, other than that, everything has a piece of wood under it to level stuff up, other wise everything just keep shooting off tables outside in the awning.

Robin hoods bay is a lovely place, and village, but its no real beach for kids or anyone if you like paddling, body boarding etc, its too rocky, not very sandy and on one particular day the whole beach was covered in 2 feet of seaweed.

Whitby is not far away, loads of buses too.

We ended up doing a search for a good beach and the best in the area is brunswick bay, 25 mins away, north of whitby, a clean sheltered sandy bay, but again at the bottom of a seriously steep road.

We once took the car down to the slipway in RHB to off loads kids and stuff. Not recommended.

Not many pubs doing food about and we struggled to get a table on the thursday night of our stay, the one large pub nearby in Fylingdale doesn't allow bookings!

Also when its windy, its windy on this site, very exposed.

Facilities are excellent, very clean, loads of free hot water, good wash up facilities too, fridges and freezers to use but no washer.

Kite flying field next door, which is actually sheltered more than the site from the wind due to some trees down by the church!

All in all a good week, pros, good quality site, looked after, interesting area, near whitby, views you wont get anywhere else.

Cons, sloping, windy, beach not so good, difficult walk down for small kids. No playground.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sadgem 1 review from this member

I have stayed at Hooks House farm over the last 5 years and would agree with most other reviews. The view alone is worth putting up with the slight slope of the site.

As a single parent I have always found the owners very helpful and when my son was younger they even offered to help pitch the tent and placed us near the farm house and facilities.

Its great that there is a little kitchen with a kettle (to make the hot water bottle at bed time) and freezer for ice blocks.

There is a play field for kids but we found the grass was a little long to play football and the cut area was small for the amount of children on the site.

Unusually the first night was very noisy (up until midnight with noisy neighbours) but the following night all was settled.

One thing to watch out for (and its the first time I've had this at this site) is at peak times it is possible that as a single parent you will be charged for 2 adults. I paid 17 a night without electric hook up.

We had Sunday lunch at Fylingdales inn and thought the meal was amazing and the staff really friendly. Popped into the Grovesner for a drink and found the barmaid quite rude, tables dirty etc so didn't stay for food.

This site is definitely worth a stay, we will stick to out of season visits from now on though.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder