Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
              9/10 from 202 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane May 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful campsite! Very welcoming lady on reception, who explained the impressively organised layout.

Pitched at the top of the campsite, for the fabulous views, but to be honest, you can see the bay from even the lowest pitches.

Site was fairly hilly and breezy but we were prepared for this from other reviews and neither issue bothered us in the least.

Loos and showers were absolutely immaculate and never busy, despite the campsite being about 2/3 full.

Peaceful evening and quiet morning. Reasonable at 9 per adult. We will return!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy b 2 reviews from this member

A great site and in a fantastic location. The owners are really helpful and friendly. Great for kids and pets. Toilets and showers extremely clean. Fantastic views and very close to robin hoods bay.

Brilliant for dog walking. I will definitely visit this site again. Had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend it.

The bus service also runs past the site every hour so its brilliant if your too tired to walk up the hill!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Styve100 13 reviews from this member

Decided to go here on recommendations of friends, who we went with, it was to be my annual holiday with the kids.

I had no other ideas for this year, so thought I would give it a try.

First off, its a lovely area with loads of places to walk around and visit, but you need your mountain goat shoes.

Also at the end of the week, the kids announced they had had a good holiday.

But, it was hard work.

This site is very slopey. The warden and his team are excellent at helping and will generally unhitch your van and site it for you.

Personally, I didn't want this as I have been siting my van for 20 years, and that's just me being stubborn, but I had 4 wheel drive as well so didn't see the point of towing for 150 miles to be not able to do the last 10 yards.

They have breeze blocks etc to help get your van level, I think I got 2 turns on the back steadies.

You better get one of those tables with adjustable legs for this site, other than that, everything has a piece of wood under it to level stuff up, other wise everything just keep shooting off tables outside in the awning.

Robin hoods bay is a lovely place, and village, but its no real beach for kids or anyone if you like paddling, body boarding etc, its too rocky, not very sandy and on one particular day the whole beach was covered in 2 feet of seaweed.

Whitby is not far away, loads of buses too.

We ended up doing a search for a good beach and the best in the area is brunswick bay, 25 mins away, north of whitby, a clean sheltered sandy bay, but again at the bottom of a seriously steep road.

We once took the car down to the slipway in RHB to off loads kids and stuff. Not recommended.

Not many pubs doing food about and we struggled to get a table on the thursday night of our stay, the one large pub nearby in Fylingdale doesn't allow bookings!

Also when its windy, its windy on this site, very exposed.

Facilities are excellent, very clean, loads of free hot water, good wash up facilities too, fridges and freezers to use but no washer.

Kite flying field next door, which is actually sheltered more than the site from the wind due to some trees down by the church!

All in all a good week, pros, good quality site, looked after, interesting area, near whitby, views you wont get anywhere else.

Cons, sloping, windy, beach not so good, difficult walk down for small kids. No playground.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sadgem 1 review from this member

I have stayed at Hooks House farm over the last 5 years and would agree with most other reviews. The view alone is worth putting up with the slight slope of the site.

As a single parent I have always found the owners very helpful and when my son was younger they even offered to help pitch the tent and placed us near the farm house and facilities.

Its great that there is a little kitchen with a kettle (to make the hot water bottle at bed time) and freezer for ice blocks.

There is a play field for kids but we found the grass was a little long to play football and the cut area was small for the amount of children on the site.

Unusually the first night was very noisy (up until midnight with noisy neighbours) but the following night all was settled.

One thing to watch out for (and its the first time I've had this at this site) is at peak times it is possible that as a single parent you will be charged for 2 adults. I paid 17 a night without electric hook up.

We had Sunday lunch at Fylingdales inn and thought the meal was amazing and the staff really friendly. Popped into the Grovesner for a drink and found the barmaid quite rude, tables dirty etc so didn't stay for food.

This site is definitely worth a stay, we will stick to out of season visits from now on though.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mockney4 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a lovely few days on this fantastic campsite. We received a really warm welcome from the owners and nothing was too much trouble. They just set out our pitch and even helped set up our electric hook up. I had forgotten my hairdryer and they lent me theirs.

The pitch sites were really generous and no matter where you were on the site you could see the sea, even washing up!

The facilities were very clean and well looked after.

There was even a field for the children to play in.

The beach and bay were only a ten min walk away and there is so much to do in the area.

We did try and go swimming in scarbrough but it was closed for school swimming lessons. They suggested trying one of the holiday camps, which we did ( it was not school holidays) and had the pool to ourselves. Fosse falls is worth a visit especially the tea rooms! Also worth a visit is sandsend, it has a lovely beach and nice teashops.

We only just touched the surface on things to do.

I look forward to returning there in the future!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarieRuth 1 review from this member

Just come back from a lovely one night's stay at Hooks House Farm. There are lots of great things about this site which mean we will definitely return:

- The view is spectacular over the bay

- It's a short 10 min walk through the fields to the pubs & only another 10 mins the beach

- The toilets & showers were lovely & clean with fresh flowers - lovely touch

- It was a bargain at only 7 per person & our dog went free

- Good waste recycling & bad weather shelter

- Not too big or crowded

Overall a great campsite!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joncombe 6 reviews from this member

I stayed here for a couple of nights to walk along the coastal path (The Cleveland Way). It's a beautiful site with wonderful views right around the bay.

The facilities are excellent, especially the showers which were spotless, always hot and had plenty of space in the cubicles to keep clothes dry, being split into two parts separated by a folding door. There is also a kettle, fridge, freezer and microwave (included in the price, too).

It's a short walk into Robin Hoods Bay (but uphill all the way back!) along a footpath through the fields at the bottom of the site which is a lovely spot. Buses stop outside the site on the main road and run regularly between Whitby and Scarborough.

The pitches offer a lot of space between them even when the site is full so you don't feel at all crowded. I had called a few weeks prior to arriving and told it wasn't possible to book but the site was unlikely to be full at this time of year. However after travelling a long way to the site the weather was wonderful but I was concerned at being turned away for it being full as a result, so telephoned again and was assured they'd find a space - which the owners did.

The site was generally quiet at night with the exception of someones car alarm going off twice in the middle of the first night (although this is obviously not a fault of the site). If in the area again would certainly come back, it's a lovely site.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KarenSuperFlower 4 reviews from this member

On arrival we received a warm welcome and when we discovered that our electric hook up cable was too short to reach the power point (we only had a 10 metre cable) the owner was happy to reshuffle the plans to accommodate us closer to the plug.

The toilets are very clean and well stocked and the showers were lovely and hot with plenty of room to change.

The location offers a fantastic view over Robin Hoods Bay. It's about a 20 minute walk to the bottom of the bay but only about 10 minutes to the nearest shop and pub (Victoria Hotel).

The campsite is quite exposed and we camped on a very windy weekend, so unfortunately my husband had to take down the awning at 5 a. M. In the rain - he didn't want me to get under his feet during a stressful half hour so I stayed in the van! :)

The bus stop to Whitby and Scarborough are right outside the campsite and run every half hour, but be aware that the last one back from Whitby is at 6. 30 p. M. Most days. However, it only cost us 9 for a taxi back from Whitby.

There are no special facilities for children on the site but there were children making the most of the weather and flying kites.

Robin Hoods Bay is lovely and we will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eknowles 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time this weekend. The weather was pretty bad but weren't too bothered.

Arrived on a Friday pm and were met and greeted, shown to our pitch and before we knew it the owner had levelled our caravan for us.

It's great to come somewhere where the owners can't do enough for you, the facilities are clean, well cared for and the view across the Bay to die for.

Apart from this, all weekend we felt stitched up paying over the odds for beer and food in Robin Hoods Bay. 8.15 for 2 pints and a bag on Pork Scratchings! See the Laurel Inn.

Luckily though, the owners of Hooks House Farm site haven't got on the band wagon of ripping of tourist and the site offers superb value for money, the most amazing views in the area and true customer service.

Take your own beer, wine, food and soak up the wonderful walks and avoid the pubs!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Just do it 7 reviews from this member

Endorse everything said in the last review, lovely site with the most amazing view of the Bay. Site is on slope but that's why everyone gets a nice view and with the site chap offering to tow your van to the pitch and level it up for you there is nothing to worry about.

The facilities were a little basic guess but this is a farm not a holiday park and everything was always clean.

Robin Hoods Bay is a delightful place but beware if you walk it's a steep hill coming back up! We also really enjoyed Whitby and you can catch a bus roughly about every 40 minutes from the road outside the site, think it was about 3. 70ish one-way. As there was 6 of us we caught a cab recommended by the site for 15.

Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful and we will definitely return.

Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game & Country Fair 25/04 to 26/04
Masses of fun and displays at the The Norfolk Showground - day tickets or you can camp over for the weekend.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8958 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0664