Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Knock School Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Knock School Caravan Park
Monreith
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 8NJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01988 700414

Facilities:  (Key)
    

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  1m  1m   5m 

Pitches: 19
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
              9/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mferriday 1 review from this member

This is a clean and well maintained site, the owner is very friendly and helpful. We stayed for a couple of nights and it was so peaceful as it is a small site. The beach is a 15min walk down the hill which is suitable for swimming or fishing.

There is a golf course down the hill towards the beach for those who enjoy a round or two. If you are looking for and action packed break this is not for you its for those who enjoy great views and peaceful surrounding

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Astrocamp 1 review from this member

We originally booked for 2 nights but liked the site so much we extended our stay to 5 nights. Although it was the summer school holiday the site was ideal for anyone wanting a peaceful stay. The facilities were clean and soap was provided. There was one shower but as this is a small site we did not have to queue. The only down side was that the washing up point only had cold water and it was not covered as we had good weather this was not a problem. The skies were very dark and although this was a summer stay it was a delight to look at the stars.

There is no shop on site but there are 2 shops at Port William, a short drive away which had everything we needed.

Although we did not use it we were told by fellow campers that the nearby golf clubhouse did reasonably priced meals.

The camp site is on a bus route so it is possible to do linear walks.

If you need to put your ice packs in the freezer the site owner Pauline is more than willing to do this for you.

We would definitely like to return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Papageno 1 review from this member

I love this site. Discovered it last year and must've been back about a dozen times by now. It has become a proper bolthole for us.

It is a special site where you are made to feel like guests in the owners' garden. They could not be more helpful and we always feel welcome.

Facilities although basic are always clean and well maintained and not without their own unique charm - it was a village school in a previous incarnation. Although the site is next to the road it is very quiet - think what roads must have been like 50 years ago and you'll get the idea!

For this reason I would certainly recommend the area if you want to do some cycling on flattish traffic free roads - a cycling paradise! Nearby are a couple of spectacular beaches which are regular attractions when we visit.

If you are a golfer the local course is minutes walk away and looks a cracker (I played when I was younger). At night the skies become alive with stars being in the Galloway dark skies area - it was particularly spectacular during last year's meteor showers!

The peninsula also seems to command its own microclimate so the weather is often a lot better than the mainland.

I have camped in numerous sites in Britain and keep returning to this site which is testament to its charm - all in all a very special place!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SarahES 2 reviews from this member

This is a charming little campsite, very pleasant owners who are keen to keep the site clean & tidy.

Toilet block & showers extremely clean if rather antiquated! Plenty of hot water. Shower great. Dishwashing in open air with no shelter.

Only space for a few tents. Lovely views from the caravan pitches. Great site for looking around that part of Scotland. We went to Whithorn and the North & South Rhins.

No playing area for children, great for little ones and adults.

Proper old-fashioned camping in the style of Enid Blyton. We thought it was fab!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martin Keyes 1 review from this member

We had a really enjoyable and relaxing weekís holiday at Knock School Caravan Park. The site is reasonably priced, pleasantly quiet, dog-friendly, and the facilities are clean and tidy.

The site is located in a very attractive rural landscape which is ideal for easy access to various beaches and other visitor attractions (e. G. St. Ninianís Chapel and Cave, St. Medanís Golf Course, Barsalloch Fort, Wigtown, Port William etc).

Thereís also plenty of wildlife to see in the area (we spotted kestrels, buzzards, oyster catchers and roe deer).

We would have no problem recommending it!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terrynclaire 1 review from this member

Found site on ukcampsite.Co.Uk we booked just for the weekend but decided to stay 10 days. Lovely quiet site, minimal facilities but more that adequate. Electric to all pitches. Only a mile for a quiet coved beach and golf course. Ideal if you want a quiet get away. Brilliant for star gazing having dark sky status in the area. Not all pitches are level but site have blocks to use. Site is very well maintained and has pretty flower beds.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window