Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coxfamily6 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Slapton Sands. Here's my (re)view.

The area is very beautiful, local towns of Dartmouth & Kingsbridge are lovely and the trip on the car ferry with steam railway are exciting for all. Beaches are lovely as well, our favourite was Blackpool Sands-10 minutes away.

The site itself just wasn't for us (sorry to say!). Far too regimented, told exactly where to put our tent and car. Main reason for this is that it was so so busy. They had crammed in so many tents.

When you tried to drive off the site and you had to navigate past other tents, at points we were inches from guy ropes. Also, play area was small for the site. Not all the site had sea views, only field furthest from reception so ask to be pitched on that part, we couldn't as it was full.

Toiler/shower block were spotless and had lots of hot water which was good. Laundry was expensive though but had 2 areas to hang out towels etc. They need to put in more showers as sometimes there were queues of 4 or more people. Also, areas to empty chemical toilets needed to be clearly defined as I saw someone empty it into drain by drinking water!

Anyway, maybe I'm just being fussy! Plus points were area & beaches for us, loved them.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hallamfamily 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this part of devon and what a shock I had when driving the tiny 6' 6' roads luckily I was only towing a small trailer, anything else may have been a major problem, please do not follow your sat nav.

The site itself is great fantastic sea views and good size pitches, this site can get rather windy so try to get a pitch along the side where the hedges are.Toilet blokes were lovely and clean and also the washing up area, only slight problem is that there is only 3 showers so at busy times you may be queuing. All the staff were very friendly and would help if they could.

The village of slapton is very Quaint, with 2 great pubs the queens arms does great home cooked food at a very reasonable price.

We have a dog and did find it hard finding dog friendly walks that we could let him of the lead and were not to far from the site. Slapton beach is all stone so not good for the children and we found when in the sea that there was sudden drops in depth.

Overall this is a lovely area to visit and a first class site to stay on.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coulston 5 reviews from this member

Wow, the site was clean, well spaced out,good pubs near by, not far from a shingle beach, shop open most of the time, cleaning times changed from late morning to early afternoon to suit guests, however the toilets and shower facilitates were always spotless.

Allowed extra hour to leave site. The most friendly hosts, all 4 took time to be friendly, nothing to much trouble. Pretty village, though the road is very narrow, dogs welcome at both local pubs. Feeding the birds at the ley is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazzy7004 4 reviews from this member

Our first time camping as a family, with 2 children and the dog during half term! Very impressed with the site! I wouldn't like to tow a caravan or take a motorhome there - the roads are so narrow.

We had lovely views of the sea and plenty of space. The toilets were always clean, never ran out of loo paper. Showers also great with plenty of hot water and not the 'push' type - although could of done with more showers as was only 3 and had to queue. Pot washing facilities also great.

The shop on site sold bare essentials but there is a small shop in Slapton or we went to Morrisons at Kingsbridge which is only a short drive. A little walk into the pretty village of Slapton to the Queens Arms pub (dog friendly) and the food is outstanding but reasonably priced.

We also walked to Torcross and had a really nice meal at The Start Bay Inn. I took the children to Blackpool Sands (smaller pebbles!) one afternoon, very nice but you can't take the dog there and it was so crowded!

Overall a fantastic site, clean and tidy and would thoroughly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudge59 21 reviews from this member

Beautiful location with lots of sea views. The wardens were friendly and helpful, and happy to let us choose from the available pitches. There's only one toilet / shower block, so could get a bit busy, but we never had to wait.

Good walks from the site along the beach and SW Coast Path, though steep in parts if you're not used to walking.

The roads in the area are pretty narrow, so we left the car on the site and took the bus. Most buses stop at the main road, but two in the morning (sometime after 0915) come up to Slapton village, close to the site. There is a day ticket available (Devon Explorer?) but be aware that this is only valid on First buses - the Kingsbridge - Salcombe route is run by another company.

There are a couple of pubs in the village which both do food, it might be worth booking at weekends. The Tower just looks great, worth having a pint in the garden.

My only gripe about the site is about C&CC sites in general - you have to hire their freezer packs rather than use your own (though they will freeze them for you on your final night). As the opening hours aren't too long, it can be a bit restrictive.

Would definitely go back there, though!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keyfamily 6 reviews from this member

Really fantastic Site, lovely views, great staff - friendly & helpful, spotless facilities (although there are only three showers in each block & could do with more), loads of hot water (didn't matter what time of day)!

Queued a couple of times for showers, but that was the only negative with our stay.

Slapton is lovely, two good pubs & so to is Torcross, great afternoon tea & fish & chips! You can walk to both. Beach pebbley though so we went further afield for a sandy beach.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508