Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
              8/10 from 99 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GPDJP 13 reviews from this member

A beautiful location right on the banks of Loch Lomond and just a short stroll into the village of Luss.

The staff were very friendly and made our one week stay very pleasant unlike the midges who seemed to be about most of the still air days.

The facilities are a bit limited for the number of campers and there is only one chemical disposal point which can be quite an arm stretching exercise if you are at the far end of the site.

The A82 runs just outside the site and this is quite noisy during the day. We were hoping to cycle along the cycleway which follows the lakeshore but it also stays close to the A82 and the noise put us off cycling.

Luss village is very pretty and there are some easy recommended walks. However, there is not a lot to see and do locally and we were glad that we had a car to explore further afield.

Lovely, friendly site with beautiful views of the Loch.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: York54 2 reviews from this member

I'm afraid this site did not meet our expectations. After booking it 3 months in advance, when we arrived we were told that we had booked a 'narrow hard stand'! I had put length and width on the site website when I booked, like I always do.

We were taken to a pitch that was for motorhomes really, we were told. It was so tight - said no thanks. We were then offered a grass pitch miles from the facilities - hubby took 10 mins to walk to toilet emptying point!

We had no TV reception as we were so far away from civilisation, we felt like poor relations! Sorry Luss no return for us!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Epa611 1 review from this member

One of our favourite sites as it is only 25 mins from our house!

Typical C&CC site with clean facilities and level pitches.

Only problem was loads of midges as usual - don't forget your Avon Skin so Soft or Smidge.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Seagill 23 reviews from this member

Super location, on the edge of loch lomond.

Only stayed for 1 night but had a pitch with a good view of the loch; most of the pitches are a good size and close to the facilities.

The toilet/shower facilities were really clean but you have to pay for the hair dryer.

Wifi connection is a good price and worked well.

Didn't do anything in the area as it was just a stop on the way up to the top of Scotland.

Staff were very helpful. I cannot wait to come back here again and stay for more nights.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 18 reviews from this member

An excellent site for a stopover as it is just off the A82. Literally, the road can be noisy from anywhere on site. Mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, be careful if it has rained or is forecast to, when I was there they'd had a lot of rain and it was like a mudbath, even some of the hardstandings were under water. The first pitch I was shown to had about 3inches of standing water, but they were happy for me to move to another drier one, in fact offered to help. I know the site is alongside Loch Lomond, but it is very thickly treed, which makes getting a good view of the Loch difficult. Having said all that I like the site, and it was a short walk into Luss, which is a lovely village with a well stocked shop, and lots of little coffee shops and eateries. Also boat trips run from the jetty.

The Wardens, if only all wardens were like these, they couldn't have done more, including nipping out quickly to raise the barrier as they knew I was on my own.

Dog walk - a nice little walk on site, over a bridge and plenty of leg-lifting trees, also walk along lochside and into Luss. The info office had a guide to walks around Luss, up to a couple of miles, just what a dog needs.

Washrooms - 2, the one that is furthest away from the entrance looks a little tired from outside, but not once you get in, even fresh flowers in each of the cubicles. Spotlessly clean despite the mud. The showers were adequately sized, fixed but with a swivel head, and they are power showers, really invigorating, I loved them. Only criticism, could do with a separate handbasin for toilet use, if all cubicles being used.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 278 reviews from this member

Although the site is just off the A82 we didn't find the road noise too intrusive. Its just a short walk into Luss village which is a conservation village and very beautiful. Two coffee shops and a couple of tourist shops and there is also a small supermarket that sells everything you could think of including fresh breads and cakes.

There is a water taxi from Luss which takes you over to the other side of the loch or you can do day excursions. Cycle path runs past the site to Balloch (about 8 miles ) or Tarbert (8 miles)nice and fairly flat ride to Balloch where there are shops, cafes and plenty of loch activities going on.

Site itself is well kept and toilets / showers are clean at all times. The showers are a little old and tired looking and could do with a revamp - having said that water was hot and good pressure. Wardens were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived.

When we arrived very few on site but were still shown to a pitch away from the shore - others came in and were given shore pitches - not sure how it works with C&CC as cant see why you cant choose a pitch yourself if its free?

One thing to note if you aren't a C&CC member whilst you can join here you cant then stay for 24 hours after you join.

This is a good site on the site of Loch Lomond - reasonably priced compared to some in the area so we would use again.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547