Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Caravan & Camping Park
Gallanachmore Farm
Gallanach Road
Oban
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA34 4QH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +44 01631 562425

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  1m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: April 1st To October 10th

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 92 Reviews
              7/10 from 92 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (14)

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ourwilma 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for a few nights in August in the motorhome.

The site, for us, is in a great location, comfortable walk in to Oban and the views are fantastic. We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and friendly. The grass etc is well kept on the site.

The big downside is the facilities ie showers, toilets etc. They are wholly inadequate in terms of numbers, and are in major need of updating. The staff are great in my opinion, but you can only work with what you've got, and these facilities are in desperate need of attention.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kateclark 3 reviews from this member

Touring the western highlands we chose Oban campsite as it was next to the water (we planned to do some canoeing) and had a play area for our 2 young children.

On arrival we found reception was closed between 11am-4pm, unusual in peak season. We picked a pitch in accordance with instructions on the reception door and set up camp.

After an hour we where told to move our tent as we were in the wrong area, despite the map stating that area was jetty camping (ideal for canoeists). We did as requested with no fuss (except from the children) and set up on another pitch. I have to say we found the staff very unhelpful and quite rude. We had planned to stay longer but did not feel welcome.

The facilities are somewhat lacking for a large campsite. I had to queue for 30 minutes in the morning with my young daughter for a shower and the queue for the toilets went out of the shower block and almost around the side.

The children did enjoy the swings and it is a beautiful location. I do not however feel I could recommend this campsite to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: THE WALKRS 3 reviews from this member

Lovely looking site let down by the facilities, showers and toilets need seriously upgrading thought site was expensive and will not be returning.

We stayed three nights at the end of our holiday, we probably would not have stayed that long had we not paid up front and also that we wanted to spend a day wandering around Oban, which was very worthwhile.

The site could do with having a few rules regarding pitching distances as we ended up with a tent pitched less than 10 feet from our tent on our last night, even though listening to a large family trying to pitch a brand new out of the bag tent was very amusing.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jsmay1 1 review from this member

Just back from a 4 night stay at this site. What can I say. Location, facilities, staff, etc, etc all 1st class. First visit to this site and will return and recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to go in the area.

Yes, there was grass in toilet areas and yes, there was lack of hot water but it still did the job and toilets were cleaned at least twice a day.

Enjoyed the fact of not accepting big all sex groups as the campsite was very peaceful at night.

Views were spectacular.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ladyfidi 13 reviews from this member

2nd visit to the site. Last visit 6 years ago and nothing we could see has been changed. We stayed for 4 nights which was 3 too many but we paid upfront.

Positives – Location is stunning with open views, grass is well kept, location to Oban. And that's about it.

Negatives – Staff are rude and unhelpful the majority of the time. Prices aren't very reasonable for the standard of facitlities. Regular staff patrols round the park in noisy diesel engine cars including one at 11pm. Grass is cut regardless of weather and cut grass is a permanent feature in all the toilet blocks regardless of time of visit. Never encountered any cleaning being undertaken in any of the facilities. Dish washing area is only partly covered by roof and water is warm to tepid.

This site is not one we will be going back to as I would rather give my hard earned cash to someone who actually cares if you have an enjoyable stay. Not this lot of money grabbers! :-(

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PHIL+CHRIS007 4 reviews from this member

My husband and I are just back from a 2 night stay here with our 3 children and dog while on our tour of the east coast

We got a great pitch on the sea front which I was amazed with the view of the islands, which we were to visit. I think we were lucky with the weather as it did not rain while we were there

The facilities was good, the reception and shop were open all day and the toilets and showers were kept clean, I found the staff very friendly. Overall it is a great site and we liked it very much

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3964 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430