Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
              9/10 from 32 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 114 reviews from this member

Stayed one night as part of a long west coast trip. Were put on what looked like a former car park, a large area of hardstanding. Excellent toilet block / facilities. Fabulous views looking up to the peaks, but low level views enclosed by forestry and hills. Voracious midges, as we'd expected (the price we pay for the scenery)- but we use Avon Skin So Soft moisturiser spray like the SAS and the Forestry people: re-apply every hour. Good dog walk in the hills surrounding the site.

The next-door visitor centre is worth a visit - there's more to Glencoe than the Massacre, but that sad history gives the place its unique atmosphere, we feel. The building architecture is interesting, and replaces an earlier building on a much more visible site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon 8 reviews from this member

Well what can we say, a brilliant site in the middle of nowhere, but just a mile or two down the down you will find shops etc, the site is very clean. Must be one of the best shower blocks I have seen in years. The managers are very helpful. The site seemed a little boggy in places, the road around site very smooth, close by a main road but you cannot hear it or see it at all, and a visitor centre just outside the gate. We were on a hardstanding which did't bother us, when it rains here it rains, when its misty its bad, but when the sun shines its fantastic. We had a bit of everything rain, mist and sun, but when the site is as pretty as this who cares what the weather is like. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 265 reviews from this member

This is a great site set within amazing mountain scenery. The site is large and very well maintained - the facilities are spotless and plentiful. The staff on site are helpful and run the site in a dedicated and efficient manner. A few basics are sold at reception, but for a better range, the nearest shop is the Spar (along with a garage, post office and restaurant) a mile down the road, or via the pleasant walk through the forest. Further afield is Fort Wiliam, but apart from this, the area is quite isolated, but perfectly suited for walkers and nature lovers. Ben Nevis, The Highland Way and The Three Sisters are all easily accessible from the site and wildlife, namely deer, are in abundance in the local forest land.
 
There is a visitor centre right beside the site with exhibitions, a cafe and a gift and book shop. There is excellent advice available from staff in the shop for cycle/hiking routes to suit your needs!
 
This is a really impressive site. You will struggle to find better facilities in such a stunning location.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scooby 64 3 reviews from this member

Wow what more can I say beautiful site . Stayed here for 10 days and for those ten days it rained morning and night but we didn't let this bother us. The views are to die for everything was breathtaking if ever you visit this site do take a drive to glen etive you will be so glad you did. The site was very well run by 2 lovely couples, and the facilities were immaculate .Plenty of pitch room was given we had the van the porch awning and then the car.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TekkieAnne 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for four days during our tour of Scotland and without a doubt the scenery at the site is beautiful. The mountains change perspective as the weather changes and most people walk around the site with their heads lifted to watch the clouds and sunlight transform the appearance of the mountains. The managers were friendly and helpful and appreciated their beautiful surroundings as much as we did. Our first impression of the site was that it was fairly small and intimate but this is because the site is divided into sections. The area we were in had eight pitches. Our opinion of the site may vary slightly from others as we were allocated a very narrow pitch and told to keep off the grass. I can quite understand why we were asked to keep off the grass as it was quite boggy and the grass is not of the hardiest type. Unfortunately, we could not quite fit our caravan and porch awning on the pitch and the car was parked partially on the road. Even the immaculate facilities didn’t make up for this and believe me, the facilities are immaculate. You could eat your dinner off the floor. All caravan and motorhome pitches are on hard standings but whereas some pitches are made up of continuous hard standing with no grass at the sides, there are some which aren’t. Although the Camping and Caravanning Club make it clear that there is no TV reception at this site – not surprising as there are mountains surrounding the site – we were able to get a slightly fuzzy BBC reception. The local garage sells “Mozzie jackets” for £15, which cover the wearer’s head and face as well as arms and body. If you haven’t yet found an insect repellent that works, the jacket might be a good investment! The area surrounding Glencoe is outstandingly beautiful and for this reason the trip was worth while. However, if I was to stay at this site again, I would request a larger pitch on the continuous hard standing.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loukell 4 reviews from this member

WOW what more can I say, up to now the best well kept site I have ever visited. We never used our own toilet or showers mainly because we enjoyed their well kept facilities. The managment were very helpful and friendly in every way. The views were out of this world and the wild life unbelivable.
Will definatley be top of our list next year.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8082 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469