Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
              9/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6         Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 259 reviews from this member

This is a great site set within amazing mountain scenery. The site is large and very well maintained - the facilities are spotless and plentiful. The staff on site are helpful and run the site in a dedicated and efficient manner. A few basics are sold at reception, but for a better range, the nearest shop is the Spar (along with a garage, post office and restaurant) a mile down the road, or via the pleasant walk through the forest. Further afield is Fort Wiliam, but apart from this, the area is quite isolated, but perfectly suited for walkers and nature lovers. Ben Nevis, The Highland Way and The Three Sisters are all easily accessible from the site and wildlife, namely deer, are in abundance in the local forest land.
 
There is a visitor centre right beside the site with exhibitions, a cafe and a gift and book shop. There is excellent advice available from staff in the shop for cycle/hiking routes to suit your needs!
 
This is a really impressive site. You will struggle to find better facilities in such a stunning location.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scooby 64 3 reviews from this member

Wow what more can I say beautiful site . Stayed here for 10 days and for those ten days it rained morning and night but we didn't let this bother us. The views are to die for everything was breathtaking if ever you visit this site do take a drive to glen etive you will be so glad you did. The site was very well run by 2 lovely couples, and the facilities were immaculate .Plenty of pitch room was given we had the van the porch awning and then the car.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TekkieAnne 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for four days during our tour of Scotland and without a doubt the scenery at the site is beautiful. The mountains change perspective as the weather changes and most people walk around the site with their heads lifted to watch the clouds and sunlight transform the appearance of the mountains. The managers were friendly and helpful and appreciated their beautiful surroundings as much as we did. Our first impression of the site was that it was fairly small and intimate but this is because the site is divided into sections. The area we were in had eight pitches. Our opinion of the site may vary slightly from others as we were allocated a very narrow pitch and told to keep off the grass. I can quite understand why we were asked to keep off the grass as it was quite boggy and the grass is not of the hardiest type. Unfortunately, we could not quite fit our caravan and porch awning on the pitch and the car was parked partially on the road. Even the immaculate facilities didn’t make up for this and believe me, the facilities are immaculate. You could eat your dinner off the floor. All caravan and motorhome pitches are on hard standings but whereas some pitches are made up of continuous hard standing with no grass at the sides, there are some which aren’t. Although the Camping and Caravanning Club make it clear that there is no TV reception at this site – not surprising as there are mountains surrounding the site – we were able to get a slightly fuzzy BBC reception. The local garage sells “Mozzie jackets” for £15, which cover the wearer’s head and face as well as arms and body. If you haven’t yet found an insect repellent that works, the jacket might be a good investment! The area surrounding Glencoe is outstandingly beautiful and for this reason the trip was worth while. However, if I was to stay at this site again, I would request a larger pitch on the continuous hard standing.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loukell 4 reviews from this member

WOW what more can I say, up to now the best well kept site I have ever visited. We never used our own toilet or showers mainly because we enjoyed their well kept facilities. The managment were very helpful and friendly in every way. The views were out of this world and the wild life unbelivable.
Will definatley be top of our list next year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juegreg 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic site. The view is breathtaking. Clean and well kept toilet blocks. The staff very friendly. We loved it so much went back 3 times. Within 6 weeks. Hook ups where in plenty. There is a small village just a mile down the road which if you decide to walk you must go through the woods in the middle of it is a lovely little waterfall. Fort William is only 20 minutes down the road and it is lovely scenery.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daviddaw 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from four nights at this location. The site has 150 pitches and most are hardstandings for the caravans, with tents being located in a small field some way away from the loos and showers. The tent field is not the most level, but one is left to select one's own pitch, which is a rarity on CCC sites. The ground is peaty and cars have to be left on the roadway because they'll sink otherwise. This means a little bit of a walk if you have a lot of equipment to set up. The site is geared up for use by serious walkers and climbers, and is not what one might call a pretty site for a relaxing holiday. There's no landscaping to speak of, but then the mountain views are superb. All facilities are immaculately clean and newly refurbished. There's a launderette, drying lockers for wet walking gear, a family bathroom and the usual dishwashing room. In the centre of the tent field is an open sided shelter where some of the bins are kept, but some of the lightweight campers were grateful to have meals there, as it is dry and well-lit throughout the night. You can also hang towels there, if your tent is small.

There is a well-stocked Spar shop in the village, which is about a mile and a half away. Next to the site is a visitors' centre where one can get hot meals, drinks, etc.

The staff are very friendly and cheerful. Nothing seems too much trouble for them.

Do remember to take copious quantities of insect repellent, because the midges are fierce and there are hordes of the beggars.

Previous     30 Review in total, now showing 25 to 30     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


706 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0625