Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glencoe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Glencoe
Ballachulish
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811397

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
              8/10 from 37 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (14)

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 25 to 30                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

We stayed on this gem of a site over the Easter weekend and were very impressed by the location and the breathtaking views from the site.

The toilet block and dish washing facilities were kept exceptionally clean at all times and the pitches which are hard standing were nice and level. The site wardens were very helpful and friendly and we would have no hesitation on recommending this site

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 126 reviews from this member

Early enough to beat the midges on this visit. Can't beat this site for tremendous views of the surrounding peaks. Super toilet block - clean and modern. Our minor quibble before was that it was like camping in a car park as there's no grass between the motorhome /caravan pitches. However, this is being rectified by the raised planters (?) subdividing some of the expanses of gravel.
The large flat area of grass for tents has covered picnic tables - can be useful in wet Argyllshire weather. Good dog walks off site, but bring a tick hook during the summer and check your human companion too.
Next door to the National Trust for Scotland visitor centre, worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site and love it. The views are stunning all around the camp site.

Toilet and shower's are spotless and large. Staff were helpful and friendly.

10 min's away from Glencoe Village and 2 min's walk to the visitor centre.

You will need rock pegs as some parts of the ground is very hard. Pitches are large and site is quiet (apart from the traffic on the road which is quite close - at night it is very quiet). Great views of the Milky Way on a clear night - fantastic.

Beware - MIDGES! lol.

If you want somewhere clean, tidy, close to ferries and Glencoe - this place is PERFECT.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spodgey 7 reviews from this member

Mediocre campsite.

We paid £26 for a four-person motorhome + electric. The site is very basic and unappealing.

The showers, however, are FANTASTIC. Code needed for the door for security but they are of 4* hotel standard.

Though this campsite was fine, personally I would stop at a campsite nearby, which was better organised, with better views, instead.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper15 9 reviews from this member

This site is a gem,that not a lot of people seam to use. We just came back August Bank holiday, spent 5 days there. The space between pitches not less than 6 meters, with loads of space for tents the facilities are great really clean, shops is good, the local shops a bit expensive, the cheapest is the co-op in Ballachulish village, the dog walks are great, site close to the Glencoe visitors. The Views are just breathtaking. We will be going back even the midges didn't put us off and there were load of them.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 126 reviews from this member

Stayed one night as part of a long west coast trip. Were put on what looked like a former car park, a large area of hardstanding. Excellent toilet block / facilities. Fabulous views looking up to the peaks, but low level views enclosed by forestry and hills. Voracious midges, as we'd expected (the price we pay for the scenery)- but we use Avon Skin So Soft moisturiser spray like the SAS and the Forestry people: re-apply every hour. Good dog walk in the hills surrounding the site.

The next-door visitor centre is worth a visit - there's more to Glencoe than the Massacre, but that sad history gives the place its unique atmosphere, we feel. The building architecture is interesting, and replaces an earlier building on a much more visible site.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 25 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4264 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0498