Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonbott 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a glorious weekend here, lovely site, excellent showers, clean and tidy site

Very close to Gwithian beach and the dunes, which the dogs loved

Friendly owners, close to the local pub, nearest shop is Hayle about 10mins away or you could stroll across the beach for a scenic walk

Local bus passes the end of the campsite which takes you to StIves, which is a good idea as it gets busy there in Summer and parking is a issue!

We will be back!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 5 reviews from this member

Our first break of the season was to Gwithian Farm Campsite are reading reviews here.

First impressions were very good. Lovely landscaping and a warm welcome from the owners. We had booked for 4 nights but were only going to stay for 3 but wanted to leave late on the last day. The owner said that as they weren't full and as we weren't staying overnight, she would only charge us for 3 nights an we could leave as late as we liked.

We were offered a choice of pitches and chose a huge plot on the right hand side. This was behind a hedge which helped with the wind.

The site is immaculate with a shower/toilet block that was huge and looked like new.

There is a well stocked shop, small playground and washing up facilities too.

The site is situated right in the village, literally opposite the village pub. There was a beer festival on over Easter which was great if you wanted to attend but perhaps not so good, if you were pitched in the lower part of the campsite as it was a little noisy.

The campsite is great for dogs with endless walks directly from the site. You can walk to the beach in 10 minutes.

We really liked it here and we will return, hopefully when the weather is a bit warmer. It is a great spot for touring the West of Cornwall and is just minutes off of the A30.

The only reason it didn't get full marks is because the shower block isn't heated and it was a cold Easter - brrr.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 2pateys 3 reviews from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The site was large but divided into sections making it feel friendly. Owners extremely friendly and helpful. The toilet block was large and very clean. Plenty of hot water and never crowded even though the site was quite busy. Pub across the road was amazing. Needs to be booked though and dogs are made welcome. Bus stop at the gate making it easy to get to St Ives, Hayle etc. The dunes and the beach were heaven to our dog. Would come back any time.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Sunday in late September to find the site heaving. We hadn't booked but was told a week earlier that we would have no problems getting in but we were very surprised to see how busy it was. Owner said they had a surge on late bookings because of the lovely sunny weather.

Site easy to find, rather a sharp left hand turn into the campsite. We found it difficult to park outside reception in our motorhome as there were about 4-5 cars randomly parked there (with no owners or caravans) so space was a bit tight. Booked in and given a choice of pitches, only a few grass pitches remained. We found a lovely pitch surrounded by shrubs and quite sheltered - probably one of the best things about this site is the thought gone into the pitches and planting as you are not pitched in boring rows and some pitches do give a great deal of privacy.

A lot of the grass pitches at the top of the site are a long walk from the shower block, luckily our walk wasn't too bad but I would have hated being up the top. There is a slight slope up to these pitches.

Showers/loos - ample space in both shower cubicles and toilet cubicles. Shower block is modern with free hairdryers, they were not the cleanest I have ever been in (there was a dirt ring around a sink tap that remained there for the duration of our stay) but were adequate. The most annoying thing with the showers was there was no shower curtain and the gap between the shower & the drying area in the cubicle was quite wide so everything in the drying area got soaking wet (husband found this also a problem) Also the shower head was quite high and only the outer spouts of the shower head were producing water so I was stood under the shower head with no water coming out the middle of it and all the water spraying around, really frustrating.

We didn't try the pub opposite but it looked popular with campers and really handy as only a very short walk. Chip shop van called and they were delicious. You must try Philps pasties in Hayle.

Motorhome owners - be careful of parking down at the Godrevy lighthouse car park, the National Trust wanted £7 to park our van (which we refused). Plenty of other free car parks around on the Portreath road if you want access to the coastal path.

To sum up - nice little site and we can see why it is so popular. This site is much better than the CC site down the road, handy for the pub & beach and for visiting St Ives, Penzance and most of West Cornwall. We would return if shower curtains installed!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 159 reviews from this member

A return trip to Gwithian Farm for us and just as good as the last time.

Nice, friendly booking in, and even though we arrived before noon we were allowed to pitch up. Nice, tidy hardstanding pitch separated by small hedging and plants.

Central toilet and shower block with plenty of everything (I just wish some campers would look after things like they would at home and not expect the next person to clear up after them!). Washing up sinks (6 sinks but only 2 plugs - who would pinch them?!) to the rear of the building. Dustbins and recycling at the rear of the shop. Good supplies in the shop too, nothing overpriced and daily papers always available. Water points dotted around the site but only one chemical disposal point near the reception so it can get busy! Good information room with plenty of ideas of places to visit and eat, etc. free Wi-Fi too and doggie friendly.

The site is situated in the centre of the village right opposite the Red River Inn - doggie friendly, great food and plenty of real ales and ciders on offer. We suggest you book if you want to eat here, it was heaving - even on a week night in the middle of September! They now also have a village shop housed in the pub courtyard!

There are fantastic walks from the site over the dunes to the golden sandy beaches and up along the coastal path to Godrevy lighthouse. Take the coastal path a bit further around to see the seals in the cove too - well worth the walk!

We had lunch in the Sandsifter at Gwithian Towans (short walk, near to the National Trust cafe) and it was lovely! Recommended.

You have to be off your pitch at 10am but we asked for a short extension (as our next site wasn't too far away!) and it wasn't a problem even though the site was pretty full.

I have no doubts we will be back again and again. Gwithian Farm is a lovely place to stay and not too far from home for us (bonus!).

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged120 4 reviews from this member

We were lucky enough to find a space due to a cancellation at Gwithian Farm Campsite last summer during the school holidays. It was our first trip with the new caravan; it had been several years since I last had one! We were very pleasantly surprised to find the pitch in a really nice spot, but most other serviced pitches were really good also.

The owners really made the stay for us; whilst it was busy, they still had time for us and helped with our trip planning with a disabled person in mind. They were really helpful, enthusiastic and lovely people. We had a great time and will be visiting again sometime, maybe even this summer if we can get in!

The location of the site allows a short walk through some sand dunes to a beautiful beaches. To the left is a section for dogs that is lovely but a difficult decent down a steep stepped path to gain access. To the right is an easier to get to beach for families without dogs.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: B Wegg 2 reviews from this member

I used this site as a base to explore the coast path as one of a group of three, using a large tent and a small pop up tent, with no electrical hookup.

The site is easy to find. All the pitches were well spaced, flat and some had hard standings. The planting and fences ensured privacy. We did not use an electrical hookup but it was offered. Parking was by the tent and our pitch had plenty of space for both tents and the car.

The toilet block and showers were clean and tidy. The only small gripe was that there was no shower curtain so keeping clothes dry was a challenge. There were plenty of fresh water taps and bins. Although I didnít use them, the usual caravan or motorhome filling and disposal facilities were present and accessible.

Despite the fact that there were plenty of other people using the site, the facilities were kept clean and the peace and quiet was generally maintained.

The shop was open for enough of the day and adequately stocked. There is a nice pub just across the road. The real gems of this site were the nearby beach, proximity to a wonderful stretch of the coast path and the little touches such as bakery and fish and chip vans visiting on some days.

In summary: a very functional site, well maintained, by helpful people, in a beautiful part of the country.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helenb1 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here during August 2012 on our first visit to Cornwall with our 2 boys aged 3 and 6. We had read the reviews of this campsite prior to booking and had high hopes. Unfortunately we did not find it as good as most people seem to. There were many positives though. The site owners were very helpful and friendly. We had some dreadful weather and many tents were ruined. The owners did their best to find people accommodation and help them out as much as possible, even ringing people who were out to tell them to get back as their tent was being damaged by the wind. I also heard them offering one family their barn to sleep in as all the B&B's were booked up due to the weather.

The web site says that the beach is a 10 minute walk away. It is a lovely walk but as other people have commented it is more like 20-25 minutes especially with children in tow. It may be 10 minutes to the beach car park but then there is a long walk and some steps down to the life guarded area on the beach. Once there the beach is amazing with a beautiful view of St Ives Bay.

The camp site has nice, large private pitches and there is a lot of large shrubbery on the site making the pitches quite private. This however, also makes it quite dangerous for children who cannot be seen by the cars on site in many areas. There is a very narrow area near the facilities and reception where only one car can pass and pedestrians have to stop if a car is passing. This is very dangerous as all the traffic has to go through this area and most of the people on the campsite have to pass through here too in order to get to the showers and reception. This area really does need changing especially as the children's area (a sand pit and table tennis table) is next to it.

The on site shop is good, as is the visiting fish and chip van and the bakery van in the morning 3 days a week. There are 7 showers in each of the mens and ladies plus a family shower room and a bathroom with a bath for under 5's which was nice. There were queues at the end of the day but later in the evening it was fine. There were 7 washing up sinks which really is not enough for a campsite of this size in August.

The site is a great base for exploring Cornwall and the breakfast at the Godrevy National Trust Cafe just up the road is a must. So overall, there were many good points about this site but there were also some reasons (mainly it being dangerous for our children due to the large shrubbery and the narrow area near the reception, showers and children's area) which for us which meant we shall not be returning. For some people though, this site will be perfect and the owners are great.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familyo5 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights in August. It is a very big site and as such felt very impersonal.

There is a well stocked shop on the site and the toilet and showering facilities were immaculate. Despite it being the peak season they were kept clean and we never had to queue for a shower.

It is an extremely busy site with lots of children running about and on scooters and bikes. We have three children ourselves, so not anti children, but there was a lot of activity into the evenings and as it is a busy site, it is not a 'get away from it all' location.

The site was very good for visiting the beaches and surrounding areas, not being too far away from St Ives etc. There is a Lidl and a retail park only a short drive away with a Costa and M&S if you wanted to get provisions.

On the whole, a well maintained site, but far too busy for us!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Summertime64 3 reviews from this member

This is one of best sites we have ever visited in every way. It is in a stunning location, with the best beaches in Cornwall.

You are made to feel welcome immediately, nothing is too much trouble,

pitches are well sized some better than others but none of them small.

The owners go out of their way to lay on everything you could want from the visiting baker and fish man to the food nights, paella, hog roast, fish and chips.

There is a great dog friendly pub across the road which does pretty good food for a pub. The site was full and we were unsure whether it would be a bit crowded but because of the atmosphere it was fine.

I don't know why there were not big queues at the showers and toilets as there is only one block which seems inadequate maybe we just timed it right.

They don't even try to rip you off in the shop with cans of coke very competitively priced and gas canisters cheaper than where we usually buy them from.

A really beautiful site, as a local I just wish it was open for a longer season as the dunes in the winter are great.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1445
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec