Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged120 4 reviews from this member

We were lucky enough to find a space due to a cancellation at Gwithian Farm Campsite last summer during the school holidays. It was our first trip with the new caravan; it had been several years since I last had one! We were very pleasantly surprised to find the pitch in a really nice spot, but most other serviced pitches were really good also.

The owners really made the stay for us; whilst it was busy, they still had time for us and helped with our trip planning with a disabled person in mind. They were really helpful, enthusiastic and lovely people. We had a great time and will be visiting again sometime, maybe even this summer if we can get in!

The location of the site allows a short walk through some sand dunes to a beautiful beaches. To the left is a section for dogs that is lovely but a difficult decent down a steep stepped path to gain access. To the right is an easier to get to beach for families without dogs.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: B Wegg 2 reviews from this member

I used this site as a base to explore the coast path as one of a group of three, using a large tent and a small pop up tent, with no electrical hookup.

The site is easy to find. All the pitches were well spaced, flat and some had hard standings. The planting and fences ensured privacy. We did not use an electrical hookup but it was offered. Parking was by the tent and our pitch had plenty of space for both tents and the car.

The toilet block and showers were clean and tidy. The only small gripe was that there was no shower curtain so keeping clothes dry was a challenge. There were plenty of fresh water taps and bins. Although I didn’t use them, the usual caravan or motorhome filling and disposal facilities were present and accessible.

Despite the fact that there were plenty of other people using the site, the facilities were kept clean and the peace and quiet was generally maintained.

The shop was open for enough of the day and adequately stocked. There is a nice pub just across the road. The real gems of this site were the nearby beach, proximity to a wonderful stretch of the coast path and the little touches such as bakery and fish and chip vans visiting on some days.

In summary: a very functional site, well maintained, by helpful people, in a beautiful part of the country.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helenb1 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here during August 2012 on our first visit to Cornwall with our 2 boys aged 3 and 6. We had read the reviews of this campsite prior to booking and had high hopes. Unfortunately we did not find it as good as most people seem to. There were many positives though. The site owners were very helpful and friendly. We had some dreadful weather and many tents were ruined. The owners did their best to find people accommodation and help them out as much as possible, even ringing people who were out to tell them to get back as their tent was being damaged by the wind. I also heard them offering one family their barn to sleep in as all the B&B's were booked up due to the weather.

The web site says that the beach is a 10 minute walk away. It is a lovely walk but as other people have commented it is more like 20-25 minutes especially with children in tow. It may be 10 minutes to the beach car park but then there is a long walk and some steps down to the life guarded area on the beach. Once there the beach is amazing with a beautiful view of St Ives Bay.

The camp site has nice, large private pitches and there is a lot of large shrubbery on the site making the pitches quite private. This however, also makes it quite dangerous for children who cannot be seen by the cars on site in many areas. There is a very narrow area near the facilities and reception where only one car can pass and pedestrians have to stop if a car is passing. This is very dangerous as all the traffic has to go through this area and most of the people on the campsite have to pass through here too in order to get to the showers and reception. This area really does need changing especially as the children's area (a sand pit and table tennis table) is next to it.

The on site shop is good, as is the visiting fish and chip van and the bakery van in the morning 3 days a week. There are 7 showers in each of the mens and ladies plus a family shower room and a bathroom with a bath for under 5's which was nice. There were queues at the end of the day but later in the evening it was fine. There were 7 washing up sinks which really is not enough for a campsite of this size in August.

The site is a great base for exploring Cornwall and the breakfast at the Godrevy National Trust Cafe just up the road is a must. So overall, there were many good points about this site but there were also some reasons (mainly it being dangerous for our children due to the large shrubbery and the narrow area near the reception, showers and children's area) which for us which meant we shall not be returning. For some people though, this site will be perfect and the owners are great.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familyo5 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights in August. It is a very big site and as such felt very impersonal.

There is a well stocked shop on the site and the toilet and showering facilities were immaculate. Despite it being the peak season they were kept clean and we never had to queue for a shower.

It is an extremely busy site with lots of children running about and on scooters and bikes. We have three children ourselves, so not anti children, but there was a lot of activity into the evenings and as it is a busy site, it is not a 'get away from it all' location.

The site was very good for visiting the beaches and surrounding areas, not being too far away from St Ives etc. There is a Lidl and a retail park only a short drive away with a Costa and M&S if you wanted to get provisions.

On the whole, a well maintained site, but far too busy for us!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Summertime64 3 reviews from this member

This is one of best sites we have ever visited in every way. It is in a stunning location, with the best beaches in Cornwall.

You are made to feel welcome immediately, nothing is too much trouble,

pitches are well sized some better than others but none of them small.

The owners go out of their way to lay on everything you could want from the visiting baker and fish man to the food nights, paella, hog roast, fish and chips.

There is a great dog friendly pub across the road which does pretty good food for a pub. The site was full and we were unsure whether it would be a bit crowded but because of the atmosphere it was fine.

I don't know why there were not big queues at the showers and toilets as there is only one block which seems inadequate maybe we just timed it right.

They don't even try to rip you off in the shop with cans of coke very competitively priced and gas canisters cheaper than where we usually buy them from.

A really beautiful site, as a local I just wish it was open for a longer season as the dunes in the winter are great.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petra8315 20 reviews from this member

Just got back from a week at this site and must agree with the other reviews, the site is very good with close access to beach ( about 10 minute walk and about 15 minutes to dog friendly beach).

Showers and toilet block is excellent and very clean, pitches are spacious and most are segregated by bushes and shrubs. We took a trip to st ives on the bus bus stop outside pub across road and it was £12 for two adults and dog return.

The pub is literally across the road and has a good selection of real ales and meals but we didn't eat there as it was allways full and rather cramped I think you have to book the day before to get a meal and we felt like we were allways in peoples way so ended up going outside.

It is only 10 mins from the a30 so is great for touring around the local area's.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 19 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a fabulous week in Cornwall staying at Gwithian Farm in July. It was our first visit to Cornwall and also therefore Gwithian.

The site was everything we could have asked for. Spacious pitches, perfect location for accessing the excellent beach (10 mins walk), plentiful free clean shower block and a shop on site selling both groceries and camping essentials. The shop is priced very competitively for both camping supplies and kids beach items.

The pitches are mostly marked out with planted borders and large enough for a large tent and car. There is a space in the centre of the site kept clear for kids ball games which is a good idea.

Locally, there are a number of places lovely to visit including Gwithian beach (10 min walk), St Ives (go by train from Lelant Saltings) where you can get a family ticket for £10 return. We also visited St Michael’s Mount (20 min drive), Lizard (40 mins), Minach Theatre (40 mins) and Lands End (40 mins). So all are accessible for a great day out.

The weather was fantastic all week for us (25 deg every day), so we had no problems with any drainage on site .

A nice touch is the Fish & Chip van which comes to site twice a week, as well as the hog roast night and Spanish Paella night. Literally you could visit this site and not need to cook!

Only minor niggle was the Wi-Fi which was intermittent at best, but it was nice go get away from work emails and facebook for a week!

Fantastic site and we hope to return next year, despite the 11hr drive from the North East!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Highguyuk 4 reviews from this member

We arrived at Gwithian Farm early evening, before the advertised deadline but when we arrived the reception had already closed and we needed to check-in at the 2nd office attached to the owners house. Check-in was easy enough although there was a little confusion as to which pitch we should settle on and a little time spent organising a Wi-Fi access code.

Initially we settled on grass pitch 10 which was a corner plot in the first half of the site, which was on a slight uphill slope to access. This was no issue on the first night, but we visited during the July 2012 wet week and after coming back to the pitch on the 2nd night it didn’t take much to start cutting up the grass and we moved to a hard standing pitch for the other 2 nights.

Having looked purely at the pictures and the map, we thought it would be a 10 minute brisk walk to get to the seafront. It isn’t, it’s a heavy going 15-20 minute to get to the top of the beach cliffs and from where we ended up we couldn’t see the way down to the beach – although I presume it is possible.

There is good access to plenty of other places from the site though include St Ives, Hayle etc. Use Lelant Saltings Park and Ride to get into St Aves if in a van/motorhome which is sign posted off the B3301. There is an Aldi/Lidl about 3/4 minutes away from the site back towards Hayle and a shop on site too, although the opening hours are minimal.

It is a large, busy site and you can tell that especially in the morning. I was lucky in arriving for the males showers just in the time to get the last one on both occasions, but my partner had to wait – although only a short amount of time. It is a site you would need to book in advance for rather than hoping to turn up on site, in the summer months anyway.

The Wi-Fi was great, one of the main reasons we wanted to stay on site. Occasionally, it took a bit of “jigging” so that the login screen would work but the speed was easily enough for emails/web surfing etc.

A mention also for Dover Service Station Garage on Turnpike Road nearby. They were recommended to use by the campsite, as on the way to the site we had an issue. Although they weren’t able to rectify the problem for us, purely because the part would have taken 3-4 days to order, but they were very helpful in identifying the issue.

We paid £20 a night in Early July, which was a fair price for all the facilities and quality of site. We would return if in the area again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mtooth 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second trip to Gwithian Farm. What an amazing holiday we had. We just love this site so much it felt like coming home as we approached it this year.

The site has this wonderful feel to it, I think there are about 130 pitches but because of the way the owners have designed the site with plants and pampas grass you can sit outside your tent and feel like you are in a much smaller site.

The fact that they have also allowed a large playing area right in the centre of the site for the children to play is fantastic and prevents lots of children playing around the tents.

The site is within walking distance of the most amazing beach and with the three cafes close by and the wonderful Red River pub you almost don't have to go anywhere, in fact our car hardly moved the whole two weeks we were there.

Last year we had the fish and chip van coming twice a year and the fresh fish van but this year they have added fresh danish and croissants three times a week, paella twice a week and they even had a pig roast one night so if you don't fancy cooking there are lots of alternatives.

The showers and toilets are immaculate and even in peak season I only every had to wait for a few minutes for a shower but most of the time there wasn't any queue, you just need to avoid the popular time of around 6pm.

I think one of my favourite sounds was laying in bed at night and hearing the waves crashing against the beach - very relaxing.

The only downside for me this year and its very minor, is that the wifi wasn't really working unless you were at reception. It wasn't a big deal but would have been handy to have.

Mike and Clair have done a fantastic job with the site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glen78 6 reviews from this member

I stayed at various campsites through July during a 3 week cycle trip. This was the best one I'd been to.

Very good attention to detail. Pitch was good size, I loved the fact each pitch had plants around the borders and it was very well maintained.

I didn't use all the facilities as just there for one night, but it looked good and included things like table tennis tables.

The area also seemed good, quite close to the sea and lovely location.

All in all I was very impressed by this site.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.3218