Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Bolberry
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 561230

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
              8/10 from 67 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SarahBrixton 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site in a beautiful setting. We stayed 4 nights in a Mazda Bongo and can heartily recommend it if, like us, you a prefer small sites without clubhouses and all the trappings of the large holiday parks. The owners are really nice and welcoming and we enjoyed our stay very much. It's not cheap (25 per night for a camper, 2 people and electric) but you get what you pay for and the site is definitely worth it.

They have created a series of levelled terraces with hegdes which means that you aren't stuck on a slope and you have a fair degree of privacy - so much nicer than wide open-plan fields that so many other sites are. If you don't need an electric hookup, there are a couple of totally secluded little nooks amongst the hedging which would be lovely to camp in.

The facilities are good and always spotlessly clean. Yes you do need lots of 20ps for the showers but you can turn off the hot water during your shower so 20p really is enough for a wash. You will need 40p if you want to wash your hair. It is a little bit of a walk to the facilities but it's a campsite and you wouldn't want the loo on your doorstep after all!

I did think it was a bit much that you also needed 20p for the hot water in the pot washing area but I soon got over that because it's only 20p and you get enough for 2 full washing up bowls of hot water.

The campsite shop is very well stocked with staples (good bacon, eggs, pasta, cheese, biscuits, a few bits of veg, frozen burgers and sausages, beer and wine etc.) and they also have a good menu of hot food to takeaway from their own kitchen. We had a steak pie and some lamb stew on our first night and it was excellent. If you want to cook anything more exciting yourself, do remember to do a supermarket shop on the way if you don't have a car to take off site because there are no better shops within walking distance. There is a small shop in Hope Cove but it has less than the site shop and closes at 5pm (the site shop is open until 8pm). We're also pretty hopeless at getting to the local pubs for meals between 12-2pm or after 7pm but you may be better!

The area is fantastic for walking. There are amazing clifftop walks within 15 mins walk of the site. We walked to Salcombe one day which is six miles along the cliffs and was absolutely stunning. Hope Cove is a 20 min walk from the site and has a very nice pub which is open all day (but only for drinks!).

All in all, one of the best sites we've been to and highly recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkkie 11 reviews from this member

Karrageen Camping Park was in an ideal area of South Devon (we have visited Devon several times but this was our first visit to this part of Devon and we thought it was one of the best locations we have been to). It was close to the coast at Hope Cove and spectacular cliff walks. The site was in a quiet lane with few surrounding buildings and few passing cars so it was very quiet.

The site had a well stocked shop with food, fresh vegetables and bread which you ordered, wines, beers and camping gear. For the nearest supermarket Kingsbridge was quite near or Marlborough which was nearer had a smaller supermarket.

The terraced site had hedges between terraces so pitches were quite flat. The terraces made the site have a private atmosphere so you are not really on top of other campers. We had EHU but I think some pitches were without EHU.

There was a takeaway food service which we found was excellent with a good choice and reasonably priced.

Showers and toilets were clean, a laundry was available, 20p for showers (40p for a decent length shower).

Phil was the owner and checked his camping guests were ok on a daily basis. This was a welcome change from many sites who can be noticeable by their absence apart from your initial contact. The owners offered a good level of service.

Nearby at Thurlestone was a good pub, The Village Inn which was attached to the Thurlestone Hotel. The food and beer were good and staff and service were also very good. We tried the New Inn at Moreleigh which was recommended for steaks. Whilst the steak was good the staff were abrupt so I would not recommend this place because of this.

I would go back to Karrageen campsite in the future and can recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graemebotham 1 review from this member

What a gem we found. If you want laid back, easy going, beautiful scenery, close to marvellous beaches and really friendly and helpful owners, then look no further.

When we arrived we were met by Phil the owner who was really helpful and made us feel very welcome. By the end of our two week stay we left feeling we had made a new friend.

The toilet and shower block was always clean.The showers you have to pay an extra 20p for.I didn't mind this as the water was always hot and I never had to cue. As a well seasoned camper and caravanner in my experience when you don't have to pay for hot water people abuse it. Is it not better to pay for hot water, which guarantees you get it, then queue for it to find it has all been used.

We loved the site and the area so much we booked early to come again this year.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SBCamper 7 reviews from this member

Just back from a great week at Karrageen. Lovely spot - peace and quiet but not too far from local shop in Malborough if the camp shop doesn't have what you need. Very helpful owners and as we went outside of school holidays lots of space (nice even pitch) and great views. Fantastic part of Devon if you like walking and secluded beaches.The weather definitely helped.

Remember your 20ps for the showers and you get very good at washing quickly! Toilet block always clean and stocked and I didn't have to queue for a shower despite only being 4 for entire site. The provision of freezers for ice blocks was much appreciated as meant less frequent trips to the shop for provisions.

Be warned that the walk back up the hill from the local pub is a killer after a large meal!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joshuajdog 1 review from this member

Our stay at Karrageen was pretty much a baptism by fire -- our first camping trip with our boys of 4 and 6 and the tail end of Hurricane Bill whipped through in the middle of the week. What it highlighted was the efficiency of the tree and bush-lined terraces at keeping the worst of the weather off. I felt for the folk at the top of the hill who may have been smugly sitting within easy reach of the toilet block at the start of the week, but who were piling the wreckage of destroyed gazebos and wind-breaks into the bins at the end of it. In other words: it doesn't pay necessarily to ask for a pitch nearer the facilities.

We asked for an extra large pitch (for a tent with pods) and an electric hook-up. It was more expensive than other campsites, but we looked at it as a fair price to pay for a peak-season holiday in Devon within 10 minutes of a beach -- an essential facet of the holiday as far as the boys were concerned. We were impressed at the efficiency and friendliness of our welcome. It was a busy week in August, and they managed to engineer it so friends of ours who were only coming for 3 nights could have an adjoining pitch.

A glance at the website shows a terrifying list of rules and regulations, but the end result was a tightly run site which was genuinely child-friendly -- very little noise after 10pm. We left on the bank holiday weekend and realised that perhaps it wasn't always as peaceful.

The facilities were basic but sound. We were camping novices, and didn't feel too cheated by the 20p for-hot-water charge. At home we also draw water from a spring and understand the necessity for economy when using it. Also, we were on holiday, so we did very little washing-up: we used the excellent take-away service run on the site. Good home-cooked food in decent portions. And we also used the take-aways in Kingsbridge. Pizza Planet does a very good pizza indeed and delivers to the site. For us, cooking a meal for four, on two small rings, is not an essential part of the camping experience!

The toilet block was a bit tired, but it was cleaned everyday.

The beach at Hope Cove is fantastic for children, but not so great when the tide is in as it covers a multitude of sharp submerged rocks. The beach is otherwise clean and picturesque. We used the shop in Hope Cove for pasties at lunch-time.

We chose to leave on a very busy day indeed (the Saturday before the August Bank Holiday), and pitches were at a premium. The owner didn't explicitly pressure us too much to leave our pitch by the designated 11.30am time-slot, but did walk past a few times to see how we were getting on. As with most of the experience, there was a nice personal touch as he shook our hands and thanked us for using his site.

I've noticed a few reviewers have grumbled about access and narrow lanes. We are regular West Country holiday-makers and didn't find that the lanes were too much of an issue. Admittedly we weren't towing anything. There were plenty of passing places and the lanes are completely typical of the area.

Our feelings are generally positive about the site, but we have nothing to compare it to yet. We are likely to return, and we would recommend it to others.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bekki68 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site overlooking beautiful Devon countryside and Hope Cove. Due to it being located in an idyllic place, it is reached via single track roads with high hedges and passing places.

Site is of medium size and slopes quite steeply, however, is laid out in terraces separated by high hedges, with built up, level pitches. Only one line of pitches per terrace leaves loads of space for playing ball games or sitting and admiring the view right in front of your tent.

On arrival we were met by efficient owners who showed us to our pitch quickly. Our pitch was small, only just managing to accommodate our 7.6 x 4m trailer tent and even then there was little room between our neighbours who obviously had the same issue with their large tents. Also our cable didn't reach the electric point so the owner offered to hire one to us for 2/day; a bit cheeky as, on odd occasions this has happened, other sites have always provided us one for free. We went out and bought another one with a longer lead.

The main thing which we feel let the site down is the dated and tired amenities block which is also not particularly clean. However, I never had to wait for a shower.

The additional charge for hot water was not obvious on the website and not mentioned by the staff on arrival. One 20p was supposedly for four mins of hot water although I was caught short within a couple of mins on occasions so not sure how reliable this timing is! We paid 27/night for a large tent and electrics so to pay extra for hot water I felt was a bit much! I don't object to paying for hot water if the pitch fee is reasonable. Just make sure you have a stock of 20p's!

The washing machines cost 3-5, and dryer 1 for 30 mins. There is also a rotary washing line and iron.

The nearest supermarket is Morrisons, in Kingsbridge, but there is a nearer well-stocked Coop at the filling station in Malborough. However, the site shop stocks essential food items and alcohol which opens from 7.30-9.30am and again 5.30-8.30pm. The site also offers an extensive homemade takeaway menu although we didn't use either.

This area is stunning with plenty to see and do. Salcombe and Dartmouth are worth a visit. Hope Cove, a short 20 min walk down the track and across fields , is beautiful. Bantham and Thursleston beaches are a short drive away.

This site is lovely but, with a bit of work on the amenities block, could be superb.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1055