Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodovis Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodovis Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832968

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 21.03.14 - 31.10.14

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
              9/10 from 76 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouhag 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second trip to Woodovis and can't recommend it enough! The team are always friendly and on hand and the site is always spotless. The showers (of which there are plenty) are always hot and run from taps so none of this tokens or push button rubbish! The pool was fab and enjoyed by all. Tavistock is the nearest main town and is only a quick jaunt down the road and there are plenty of pubs and restaurants near by. Quiet site with plenty for young families and older couples alike. Would I recommend it? I have!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adrian perrett 8 reviews from this member

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and would not hesitate to stay again. Yes the children's playground is not very good but the children manage to play in either the games room or big field. The site has no club house or disco etc so is very peaceful and after 10pm is a haven for sleepers! Shop could do with opening up longer hours but to be honest if you haven't got it by 10 am you can wait till 4pm to open I'm sure. Site is close to Travistock shops/market. Lovely friendly staff and clean toilet and showers round off this excellent site. We look forward to staying again real soon.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iggles 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic site for couples, families and the elderly! We are a family and we all had a great time. We were met by the friendly staff and shown the facilities and then walked to our pitch.

The site was well set out with plenty of room on each pitch and loads of room around it. The whole site was clean and well kept. The kids were swimming in the indoor pool every day while we relaxed in the lovely quiet location with fantastic views. We will certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fibi 1 review from this member

Wow, a fantastic site. We are reasonably new to camping, starting last summer with a borrowed tent and buying a new one for this season which we christened at Woodovis Park for a long weekend break. Only living an hour away we thought this an ideal location to start at this time of the year.

We went with another family, and booked two neighbouring all weather pitches (slightly more expensive than the grass ones but well worth it). Upon arrival at the park we were greeted by friendly staff and show to our pitches even though we arrived on the off chance 2 hours early.

We were able to go straight on as no one was on the pitches the day before which was luck, but brilliant! The pitches were covered in gravel and the campsite provide thick fabric ground sheets to cover this area so your tent is completely protected from the gravel (we have a footprint but had no need to use it). Free electric hook ups were really useful too.

On these particular pitches you will need rock pegs as the standard pegs are not sturdy enough (they sell them in the on-site shop).

Amazingly clean site in every way, exceptional shower block facilities and brilliant swimming pool, the children (2 of 5yrs and 2 of 2yrs) loved it.

Again the children found the small play park a joy as well, ideally suited for their age groups and very safe to play in.

The games room again was useful, though we spent little time there as the weather was wonderful - apart from the morning we left when the heavens opened! It was then a great distraction for the children whilst the men packed away the camps.

Also a small mini golf course which is only 50p to use!

The area around is very scenic, surrounded by farm land and animals of all shapes and sizes.

There is a shop on site which is stocked with all the basic's and you can order bread, croissants etc to be freshly baked the following morning - scrummy. The only criticism I would say here is that the opening hours of the shop / reception are very limited 1hr in the morning and 1hr in the afternoon. However, on several occasions we paged the staff team (using the buzzer bell on the shop), and they came to assist immediately.

All staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful, and we would all certainly visit again, it was a very enjoyable weekend.

I have rated 10 out of 10 for all aspects apart from 9 out of 10 for location (perfect for me would be closer to the beach) and 9 out of 10 for site facilities (again perfect personal preference would be some sort of cafe).

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

I have wanted to try this site for ages now but was put off by the price - £36 for hardstanding, 2 adults and 2 children - it's the most we've paid we've paid for a pitch in this country. Finally decided to take the plunge, as weather forecast looked iffy and swimming pool would therefore be useful! Easy booking through website, and really friendly welcome when we arrived - very impressed!
Spacious pitch (Tamar View section). We didn't pay extra for super pitch and glad we hadn't as water and drainage off pitches easily accessible. Pool, jacuzi and sauna very clean, and long opening hours. We ordered croissants for the morning - nice touch, reminded us of trip to France in the summer.
Tavistock nearby, nice little town. Nice park there, plus cinema and swimming pool (didn't use). We walked up to The Chipshop Inn just after 6pm (open all day on Sat and serving food 6-9 in evenings), but bar not suitable for children (we looked in, no-one there to ask but only people there were drinking, and don't think they did bar food). Restaurant attached, but although tables laid up it was all in darkness, so we walked back and ate in the van. Should have checked with visitor info really (or asked member of staff) before going up there, but pleasant walk anyway.
As far as a return visit goes, not really sure as I'd find it hard to justify the cost.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tigang 11 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site situated just outside Tavistock, making it very handy for a quick shopping trip whether it be to the big supermarket, the inside market, many shops or just to get a takeaway. There is also an excellent pub with restaurant a short walk away.

Facilities are absolutely top notch; very modern and very clean. There are even little vases with flowers in on the wash basins! The staff are constantly fussing around keeping the toiler/shower block spotless, especially when it's rained and people are walking mud in. It's like they have a dirty floor alarm in the office!

There is a good games room, play area, putting green and an excellent pool with hot tub. On selected days a chap comes along to teach archery and to run 'water walking' sessions in the pool; the latter cost around £5 per go.

This site is not cheap by any means, but you can see what they've spent the money on and it's well worth it. The staff could not be more helpful and take things like wasps very seriously; on our trip they even had a nest exterminator out and issued nearby tents with insect spray!

The clientèle respected the tranquillity of the site and at bedtime it was practically silent! One family arrived near to us and there was a bit of a debate with the staff over one of their intended 'units'. An old work van with a makeshift bed rigged up inside! They were politely asked to invest in a tent, which they did from a nearby camping shop.

We met some really nice folks who camped next to us and did a spot of 'post boxing' with them in nearby Dartmoor and then explored Lydford Gorge. If you like exploring then this is an excellent base!

This site is not for those on a tight budget, but is a definite must if you want to guarantee a five-star camping experience.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391