Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glamper Wendy 2 reviews from this member

We realy enjoyed our stay at this site despite the awfull weather. We loved the big pitches and thought the owners and warden were very friendly. We were greeted with a nice cup of tea. Hubby had coffe, which went down very well after our long journey. The showers were nice and hot but I think they could do with updating. Evertime someone opened the door to the shower rooms the curtain round the shower clung to you so maybe glass doors would improve that. They were as clean as they could be concidering the awfull weather. Not sure if there was heating in there though as didn't feel that warm but once you were in the shower it was'nt too bad. So dryed off in the shower rather than just outside where the stool was.

I thought the actuall site was realy lovely. A beautiful river running through it and the Mill stream on the other side. There is a little information shed to get ideas of where to go ect. And the shop had most basic things you would need. The utility room had a nice new washing machine and also a tumble dryer that only cost 50p for 20 mins drying time which I thought was very good and it dryed my clothes in that 20 mins so didn't have to top up. Think the washer was 1. 50 but cant remember now.

We ate in the pub opposite a couple of times. The food was reasonably priced and what we had was lovely. So was very convienient for us. Will definitely go back there again as still lots to see and do. There are plenty of places easy to get to from this site. Would reccomend Tarr Steps and Lynmouth and Linton, had lovely days out there.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Broadnorfolk 1 review from this member

Lovely to be greeted with a choice of tea or coffee on arrival by very helpful & friendly wardens. Very tidy & clean site, grass cut short & cleared up so it does not end up in your caravan etc. Excellent dog walk by the stream. Also plenty of dog walks on footpaths But watch out for ticks or dog got 6 in the week. Showers good and hot at the different times of day that we used them. But the shower cubicles could do with an overhaul, and the cleaners could do with getting the cobwebs down from the ceilings. Did not try the local pub as planned, do to other campers saying how rude the landlady was, We will be back hopefully next year.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Goaler 1 review from this member

Well what can I say that has not already been said, the wardens were very helpful, they keep the site immaculate, the dog walking area was great as dogs could go in the water, what a lovely site, the toilets could do with a good clean as cobwebs everywhere. The showers are ok but could do with updating as tiles dirty and mould around the window. Tried the local pub on our first night at the site as had friends staying at the site as well. And thought we would use the local pub a few times, But once was enough. As the owners were not that welcoming and gave one the impression of what are you doing here. Will most definitely return to the site again, well done.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TEENAR 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely experience. This is a lovely campsite. Great location. The river one side, which has sun in the morning and the mill stream on the other which gets the sun until later in the evening. The wardens were great, very welcoming. They gave us a choice of tea or coffee on arrival. They told us where everything was. The pitches are marked out but there isn't a strict rule of how you pitch, as long as you respect your neighbours space. There is free WIFI but is is very very slow. The toilet/shower blocks were clean and tidy. A free hair drier in the ladies. There is also a new toilet block which is lovely, very modern.

If you walk to the end of the field, which is the dog walking field, there is a weir and a bench to sit on. The fields are very well manicured.

There is lots of information in the cabin, ie walks, drives, photos of the site in the snow. There are lots of books and magazines.

On Sundays they open up the Mill and you can have a tour with the couple that live there. It's very interesting. The chap takes you round the Mill and explains how it used to work and what things are, then you go upstairs into their house and his wife gives more of the history about it. It's lovely that they do that I thought and to let us campers into their beautiful home.

The weather was fabulous. We did one of the walks, the Heritage walk which is the shortest and we saw some lovely sights.

All in all a great break. We would definitely recommend it!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 37 reviews from this member

Third time here all for one reason, because its great !

I wish I could say many nasty things to keep people away so it stays nice and quiet but I can't, sadly.

Kath and Paul the wardens are lovely kind helpful people and run the place so well, this always makes it warm and welcoming.

If Carlsberg made Dog walks, this would be the one, dog swimming etc at its best, pure joy for Dogs and there owners.

My only wish is that wifi could be site wide not just in or near the wifi shed, but that's all.

Please read this and keep stum, tell no one :O)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jean17 2 reviews from this member

Spent our anniversary here last August a lovely site very peaceful, the shower block could do with an upgrade as the showers were very cramped, generous space for the pitches.

Lovely villages nearby.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful good stocked shop.

There is a wonderful pub just up from the site which is in walking distance the food was very good.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 102 reviews from this member

We had a two night stay over a busy weekend in August and had a really good relaxing time.

We picked the site based on the reviews and the fact it is adults only, which was a real plus for us. The site is very well maintained but keeps a rural charm. The facilities were good and kept clean; there is a new toilet block that really is hotel standard.

The setting is very nice with the mill stream and river on each side. For us it is the little things on a site that make the difference, the information hut was excellent, with numerous walks that could be done directly from the site and lots of driving routes too. We followed one of the walks for a nice 6 mile walk on the Saturday and on the Sunday as we left, took one of the driving routes; we enjoyed both and thought they were a nice touch.

The shop is site is well stocked with the essentials. There is also free Wi-Fi, which is a bit intermittent, but there if you need it.

The pub is close by and welcomes dogs. We ate in the pub on the Saturday evening and found the food to be average really, but the ale went down well. If you have a dog, it is worth booking as there are limited tables in the bar where they are allowed.

The site is definitely one to which we'll return and probably makes its way in to my top 5 favourite sites.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stoldol 12 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site. The wardens are very friendly and work hard to keep it extremely tidy.

The toilets and showers were spotless and even though it was busy you never had to wait.

There is a lovely space down by the weir to exercise the dog or just sit and watch the water. There are plenty of walks and maps available, but be warned the hills are very steep. It may just of been the time of year but there were a lot and I mean a lot of scruffy looking Pheasants around, so if your dog likes to chase your best to keep it on a lead. Our working Cocker isn't much use on a shoot so we didn't have a problem.

There is a nice pub in the town and the village of Winsford is worth a visit.

With it being adults only and having a 10 year old it would be difficult to return, but it was such a lovely site it would be worth the effort to try.

I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LynnGT 4 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite for a short weekend break, arriving on Thursday evening and leaving on Sunday morning.

The site was well signposted and easy to find, set in the beautiful Exe Valley, beside the river. We were welcomed with a cup of coffee and loads of information about the site.

We'd paid an extra 3 for a larger pitch - well worth it as the pitches are huge and the overall nighly charge for peak season is very reasonable. Our pitch was beside the millstream so there was a bit of a slope, but it was fairly easy to find somewhere level to pitch the tent.

The showers, loos and other facilities are excellent. We were about halfway down the site, so a fair walk to them, but by no means the farthest we've had to do.

The site itself is in a beautiful setting and very peaceful. There is some noise from the adjacent road, but so little traffic that this isn't a problem.

What I liked about this site was all the little extras - the information cabin contains printed drives or walks you can do from the site and there's a little herb garden from which you are welcome to take for cooking.

I would say is that this is a place for dog lovers. Whilst we were there, there were quite a lot staying. However, there was very little barking, people stuck to the rule to keep them on leads on the site (there's a lovely dog walk and exercise area at the bottom of the site) and we saw no dog mess at all. I can imagine that if you don't like dogs, just the number present might be a problem for you though.

All in all, we loved this site and will definitely be back to recharge our batteries in the near future!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heysey 9 reviews from this member

I sit here doing this review in my tent on the last day of my 5 days at Axe valley and what a week my wife and I have had

The pitch we had was number 28 nice easy ground to put pegs into and a good size we use a vango icarus 500 with horning and there is ample room to park the car next to the tent.

The showers and toilets are very clean just like the rest of the site, this a site for adults only and the only sound you hear is the sounds of the country, there's a little shop on site and the local meat pie's are to die for. The local pub is 100 yards or so down the road they do very good food if you don't fancy cooking.

There is an information board on site with lots of good local info and this is a great site to use as a base if you wish to get out and about around Exmoor. Well worth a visit.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5527 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1133