Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 184 Reviews
                9/10 from 184 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  184 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Safari Sue 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit to this site. The first 2 being as campers. The site is lovely and open and well laid out. You are able to set up however you like with no restrictions on the way the caravan faces.

The facilities are nice and kept very clean.

As dog owners we found the site had lots of good features including great dog walking areas and a dog friendly pub in very close proximity.

The wi fi is a little weak but the owners have gone to lengths to rectify this.

The are lots of attractions in the area. However, many of them require some travelling.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappySpaniels 2 reviews from this member

Just back from six nights at this site (my second visit) and it was just as good as the first time.

Nice big, well tended pitches (you can chose where you wish to pitch (out of high season I would guess)). I pitched facing the river where I got the sun (when it shone). There is a good on site dog walk to the weir and nearby a longer walk where the dogs can run off lead. This is a great location for a base for touring Exmoor.

The facilities on the site were very good, clean and beautifully hot & powerful showers. Washing up facilities and freezer for cool packs plus washing machine/tumble drier.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffprinter 10 reviews from this member

Only stayed for 4 nights last September and did a review of the site then. This time we stayed for 8 nights as we enjoyed it so much last time. So this really is just an update. I am pleased to say the site is still just as good as I remembered it, and still the same wardens. I cant praise them enough, so helpful and friendly. Even after the really wet weather that part of the country had over the winter I can report the site is lush green and the pitches are fine. Every thing is still clean and well maintained and the area around the site is stunning. As I say this review is really just an update of my last one which contains more detailed info. So if your looking for an adult only site in Exmoor I can highly recommend this one. (My detailed review is a few posts down)

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CornishMaid63 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 6 nights at this site. This being my second visit. As the first time, we had a lovely level pitch by the river.

It was very nice to have a dog walking area so close and the longer walk opposite (where the dogs could easily access the river!).

I have no complaints about the facilities, only I wished I could have brought the showers back as they are much more powerful than mine at home! Another reviewer has noted that the shower facilities need a bit of a facelift, but in my opinion they are perfectly adequate and always clean - my only gripe, which I realise is purely personal - I don't need the radio playing when I am showering.

The wardens were friendly and the pricing structure sensible.

Its nice to stay on an adults only site which welcomes dogs.

I will return

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Papasteve 1 review from this member

Good to be back at this fabulous adult only site. Have been visiting here for 4 years now and we never tire of the tranquillity.

The park looks very good

Toilets and showers are always spotless.

The wardens are excellent and cannot do enough to take care of their guests.

Dunster and minehead are only a short drive and the wilds of Exmoor are only five minutes away with all of its varied walking and cycling.

Cream Teas can be found in abundance, and don't forget they will sell you one.

Chris and steve (portishead)

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 42 reviews from this member

This adults-only site is set beautifully in an almost level meadow in a deep valley between the River Exe and a mill stream, with a firm gravel drive running down the middle for pitches either side. Pitches on the mill stream side are a little higher and the ground there is firmer. We pitched on grass on the river side, with the rear of our heavy motorhome just a few feet from the water. After 4 days and some dampish weather the ground was getting soft but we got out unaided. The owners have put mesh under some of the riverside grass pitches to make them firmer. There are only a limited number of hard standings available.

All the facilities were very good and well serviced. There are plenty of drinking water outlets. The electric hook-up points include a TV outlet socket (strangely this is said to be analogue only - digital hasn't reached Bridgetown yet) as there is no terrestrial aerial signal available in the valley. We survive without TV/radio. There's even free fishing for those with a rod licence and it's said you can catch salmon and trout, although we didn't see any.

The site management/staff are extremely friendly and helpful and advise / recommend rather than impose umpteen rules and regulations. You can pitch how you want within your pitch provided you leave adequate space - front-in, back-in or parallel to the river.

The on-site shop had basics at this time of the year as they were running stocks down prior to winter closure on 20 Oct. Other shops are a drive away, and bigger supermarkets are only in Minehead or Tiverton.

The Badger's Holt pub about 50 yards from the site entrance is a traditional pub with good beer and a very good menu.

We liked it so much that we're squeezing in another stay in mid-October just before they close.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trigvan 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site in beautiful surroundings. Site is a bit open and some of the hardstanding pitches are sideways on but we liked this because we could have our doors facing out towards the river. There is some road noise but didn't find it too bad. Clean and well kept site and friendly. The facilities block with showers is a bit old fashioned and not great (shower curtains that stick to you and not much space) but was fine and clean. The toilet block was much better and modern fitments. Free wifi in the hut near reception and can pick it up nearby but not around the site.

There are lovely walks direct from the site and leaflets you can take with you detailing them. A nice pub is a short stroll away and dog friendly. Small shop for basics. The walk into Winsford is lovely and the village is really pretty. Lovely cream teas and the pub is nice.

The off lead dog exercise area is brilliant. River one side and mill stream the other. It is not entirely secure as there was no gate at the entrance into it but you can walk far enough in for this not to be a problem and it is so lovely for people and dogs that no dog would want to run out of it.

Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffprinter 10 reviews from this member

When I go camping I have a little list in my head of things I would like the site to have. Adults only, nice large grass pitches, at least 10amp hook up, friendly helpful wardens, free hot showers, freezer for our ice blocks, clean toilets, chemical waste point and probably most of all a nice looking camp site. Anything else is really just a nice surprise. So when I booked to go here and was given the price which compared to some of the other sites we have visited was really well priced, I wasn't really expecting much more than my basic wish list. How wrong was I. Not only did I get my wish list it surpassed everything I hoped for. The wardens were so friendly and helpful I cant praise them enough. The site looks wonderfull with the River running down one side and the mill stream down the other and when you stand back and take in the back drop I just loved it. The site is next to the road but you wouldn't know it apart from the odd bit of traffic. Being near the road did make it handy for the local pub about 150 yards away which we thought served really nice food. I have noticed a couple of less than positive comments on here about the landlords which really is nothing to do with the camp site and should have no bearing on the reviews of the campsite. We chatted with the landlord anyway, he seemed ok to me. Anyway we were only interested in the quality of the food anyway. So back to the site. As I have said there were many little bonuses for me. FREE WI/FI. 5 channels of tv (extension leads supplied by the site) This was a really nice little FREE extra we have never had anywhere else. Its an analogue signal they get somehow (Don't ask me how but it does work). New washing m/c arrived while we were there also a tumble dryer. Which according to my wife were very reasonably priced (so that's good enough for me). A microwave oven, iron and indoor washing up facilities. Again I agree with others the shower block will need updating but I'm sure the owners are on it as they have have put in 2 nice new toilets and wash basins in a separate block. But don't be put off by the dated showers they still work fine and are clean, which is the main thing. All in all a really lovely site and one I can guarantee we will be visiting again. Just a quick thank you to the owner for starting up the mill wheel especially for us and showing us the workings which he normally does on a Sunday but we had to leave Thursday.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glamper Wendy 2 reviews from this member

We realy enjoyed our stay at this site despite the awfull weather. We loved the big pitches and thought the owners and warden were very friendly. We were greeted with a nice cup of tea. Hubby had coffe, which went down very well after our long journey. The showers were nice and hot but I think they could do with updating. Evertime someone opened the door to the shower rooms the curtain round the shower clung to you so maybe glass doors would improve that. They were as clean as they could be concidering the awfull weather. Not sure if there was heating in there though as didn't feel that warm but once you were in the shower it was'nt too bad. So dryed off in the shower rather than just outside where the stool was.

I thought the actuall site was realy lovely. A beautiful river running through it and the Mill stream on the other side. There is a little information shed to get ideas of where to go ect. And the shop had most basic things you would need. The utility room had a nice new washing machine and also a tumble dryer that only cost 50p for 20 mins drying time which I thought was very good and it dryed my clothes in that 20 mins so didn't have to top up. Think the washer was 1. 50 but cant remember now.

We ate in the pub opposite a couple of times. The food was reasonably priced and what we had was lovely. So was very convienient for us. Will definitely go back there again as still lots to see and do. There are plenty of places easy to get to from this site. Would reccomend Tarr Steps and Lynmouth and Linton, had lovely days out there.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Broadnorfolk 1 review from this member

Lovely to be greeted with a choice of tea or coffee on arrival by very helpful & friendly wardens. Very tidy & clean site, grass cut short & cleared up so it does not end up in your caravan etc. Excellent dog walk by the stream. Also plenty of dog walks on footpaths But watch out for ticks or dog got 6 in the week. Showers good and hot at the different times of day that we used them. But the shower cubicles could do with an overhaul, and the cleaners could do with getting the cobwebs down from the ceilings. Did not try the local pub as planned, do to other campers saying how rude the landlady was, We will be back hopefully next year.

Previous     184 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3418 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938