Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Silverhill Lane
Teversal
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG17 3JJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 551838

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
              9/10 from 167 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kskerslake 1 review from this member

Just had a great few days at Teversal C+CL site, best site we have visited. Staff were so friendly and helpful at all times of the day. Facilities were excellent the toilets are for us the best in the UK we have visited. Surrounding area is great for walkers, cyclists and dog lovers - although some could make more effort to find the dog loo box! However a really great place to spend a few days. The local pub is excellent, cask ale a favourite with many in our group and the food id first class. Shall certainly visit again well done

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anniem 2 reviews from this member

We have just had a lovely week-end at this site. The shower block/ toilets are one of the best we have used, and no number to use to get into them, which helps when my husband forgets to take his glasses. Our dog Bella loves the walks, straight across the road from the site, plenty of space to run about, she got so mucky that we used the dog shower just inside the site, cold water but made her clean.

All the staff are great and very helpful, site shop is well stocked, we will visit again very soon, shops and pub close by if using a car

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Exdos 3 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite in mid-January for a short break to do some walking whilst the UK was enjoying a period of dry weather. This campsite ticks ALL the right boxes! The staff are friendly and helpful, the site is very well laid out with good space between all the units, and as most of the other reports say, the washing facilities are immaculate and set the standard that ALL campsites should provide. Overnight the outside temperature dropped well below freezing, but the spotless washrooms, with underfloor heating and ample hot water, provided a luxury experience usually only found at home or in hotels.

The site itself, is literally across the road from Silverhill Wood and this joins with a fantastic network of many miles of footpaths/cycle tracks which interconnect providing some excellent routes of relatively level and clean walking/cycling. Be sure to visit the Teversal Visitor Centre when you arrive to obtain a selection of walking/cycling maps and their bacon baps! Hardwick Hall, owned by the National Trust is only a couple of miles away, and the walk there is very enjoyable.

The local environmental authorities must be congratulated for turning a former heavy industrial area into a great leisure attraction which pays respect to its industrial heritage and for the Camping and Caravanning Club for providing excellent facilities for visitors to go and enjoy them!

We'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terryt4 4 reviews from this member

Toilet block amazing.

Staff welcoming and helpful.

Shop small but enough and Co-op just down the road [5 min by car]

Good walks in park opposite and connecting to local trails for longer bike rides.

Dog walks outside the gate 'lit by very good street lighting on dark winter nights'.

Only fault was that the washing up area was outside with no windows just the window spaces where the windows would have been appreciated in December.

Local pub within walking distance just down the road offering reasonable menu.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ct955 17 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Teversal with our folding camper. A great site with super facilities.

A quiet rural location, excellent for walks straight from the site on the Teversal trail.

The local pub does bar food and have a restaurant. The wardens are friendly and helpful, we were given a choice of pitches.

The shop is small but has basics and some nice local BBQ packs.

The Mc arthur Glen shopping outlet is a short drive away. An excellent site for a few days rest and some nice walks.

Will be back next year.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 78 reviews from this member

Magnificent five star toilet and facilities are to be found on this site. Site is conveniently located as stop off point being five miles off the M1 at junction 28 (stop over being subject to the Caravan Club’s minimum 2 day stay rule for caravans and motorhomes over weekend periods !).

Set in six acres of land, but with 128 pitches a bit cramped at busy periods.

Warden’s amazingly friendly offing helpful advice on local attractions, walks and cycle rides. Franchisees have gone the extra mile with this site, benches around site, magazines in laundry, seating and tables on patio by wash-up, plenty on bin areas, water around the site.

Site shop is very well stocked with fresh local baked bread and daily newspapers. Adjoining Silverhill Park provides convenient dog walking and fantastic 360 degree views from top of hill at the ‘Miner Testing For Gas’ statue.

Close by Hardwick Hall (National Trust) and Hardwick Old Hall (English Heritage) set in the centre of Hardwick Hall Country Park are well worth a visit. Other attractions in the area but require car ride (not convenient in a large motorhome !).

Water on site is very hard with distinct chemical taste! Need bottled water for drinks which is available on site at £ 1. 00/bottle.

Overall worth a visit - if only to use the toilet and shower block !

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubz62 1 review from this member

New to the caravanning scene we decided on this site as it wasn't too far from home and had read some very positive reviews.

A very well organised and professional setup. Friendly & helpful staff. Well stocked shop for any provisions that may have been overlooked.

Many recycling points, waste and refill areas that were within easy reach regardless of where you were situated on site.

Excellent toilet/shower block which was immaculately clean.

Tidy play area, but at 49 yrs young decided to give it a miss!

Loads to do locally from walking, cycling, visiting attractions or shopping.

All in all our stay at Teversal was fantastic, it was an excellent choice of site for our first trip and most certainly won't be our last - we look forward to returning before too long.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mav4210 3 reviews from this member

This is our second review of this site, we returned to Teversal in our Vermont XL after having our first camping experience here in a borrowed vis-a-vis tent in 2009.

Our first visit impressed us greatly, however we do have to agree with another recent review in regard to the newly Fenced and rather small pitches. As you will see from my profile picture vemont XL last pitch it was tight on the pitch with this tent, clearly a 8X5 pitch size does not allow for even the guy ropes on a 7X5 tent! It is a real shame that this site now seems to have been geared with caravans in mind, I found the practice of Fencing the pitches in completely detracts from the freedom and community feeling usually enjoyed when camping.

That said the site was immaculate and the toilet block clean and the showers very very good. The addition of the Glamping tents behind the shower block again points to the commercial direction being taken by the CCC but these were hidden away and did not detract from the overall site quality.

The canarven pub a short walk away was nice but we only eat there once. The rain came for most of the week and somewhat dulled our holiday but that's uk camping! There is plenty in the area to do and we were busy most days.

The wardens were pleasant but not overly friendly or extra helpful, we were directed to a choice of two or three pitches only.

If we were to return to the area I think we would now choose an alternative site, mainly due to the large gravelling of the site that makes for a noisy evening when campers are walking around ect and the fencing in.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walkerholtby 5 reviews from this member

I am currently at the site for a 2 night stay on the way home to extend a weekend trip. The site is lovely, shower and toilet blocks are amazing, more boutique hotel than camp site.

The site is very clean and well organised. The shop is well stocked with most things you could need (other than wine!)

The wardens are lovely very welcoming and where happy to help me pitch my tent as I'm on my own with my 5 year old son. Help wasn't needed after I actually managed to pitch solo!

It is a great site but sadly I wont be returning. Not even for the showers! The tent pitches are separated by rope and post fencing, which looks lovely but in practice its a physical barrier that 'hems' you in.

As a solo camper with a child I felt quite cut off from other campers. Also the grass pitches are very worn, as there is only a small area to pitch so basically your on bare earth and that is full of dips and bumps and pegs don't hold. I also have a smallish tent that didn't cover where other units had been so it ended up full of soil and dust(and if it rains as predicted then mud!

The kids play area is a hit with my son when he eventually made some friends, but there is no open space for then to just kick a ball or run around. Personally I prefer a site where the pitches are on the edge of a field with open space so the children can have freedom but you can still keep a close eye on them. With the fenced pitches I couldn't just pop up to the area to check on him. Its a walk over gravel around all the fenced pitches.

In conclusion, spotless site, well run and great facilities but Teversal is not for me, as a base its fine and for caravans and motor homes, older couples and families who like to keep themselves to themselves.

For me, a field and rotating pitches so your on grass not compacted mud, space for the children to play beats here any day. Even with the lovely facilities I wont be back. Maybe I just like the 'old fashioned' informal kind of camping rather being regimented!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlie1986 2 reviews from this member

We went here for 3 nights. Being just 14 miles from home the campsite was ideal. It was very easy to find from M1 junction 28, although I wouldn't recommend coming in with the campsite entrance on your right as the road was very narrow!

On arrival we booked in at reception, given a choice of pitches and were shown to our pitch by the warden.

Our pitch was marked out by a fence on 3 sides and conifers on the other side with hardstanding to park the car on. There was plenty of room for our icarus 500 but had we wanted to put the extension on the front this would not have been possible due to the where the car was parked.

The toilet block was lovely, I liked having everything in one place when I had a shower and the cubicles where bigger than my bathroom at home! I also never had to queue and didn't feel rushed to hurry because of people waiting.

The pot washing area had plenty of sinks and we never saw another person in there, there was also plenty of bins and recycling points.

On our last night we had to fetch our dog as the people looking after him had an emergency. This wasn't a problem and he was welcomed on site (his first time camping) and enjoyed the country park over the road.

We will be booking again for the end of August.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1016