Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Teversal Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Silverhill Lane
Teversal
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG17 3JJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01623 551838

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 162 Reviews
              9/10 from 162 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  162 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 68 reviews from this member

Magnificent five star toilet and facilities are to be found on this site. Site is conveniently located as stop off point being five miles off the M1 at junction 28 (stop over being subject to the Caravan Club’s minimum 2 day stay rule for caravans and motorhomes over weekend periods !).

Set in six acres of land, but with 128 pitches a bit cramped at busy periods.

Warden’s amazingly friendly offing helpful advice on local attractions, walks and cycle rides. Franchisees have gone the extra mile with this site, benches around site, magazines in laundry, seating and tables on patio by wash-up, plenty on bin areas, water around the site.

Site shop is very well stocked with fresh local baked bread and daily newspapers. Adjoining Silverhill Park provides convenient dog walking and fantastic 360 degree views from top of hill at the ‘Miner Testing For Gas’ statue.

Close by Hardwick Hall (National Trust) and Hardwick Old Hall (English Heritage) set in the centre of Hardwick Hall Country Park are well worth a visit. Other attractions in the area but require car ride (not convenient in a large motorhome !).

Water on site is very hard with distinct chemical taste! Need bottled water for drinks which is available on site at £ 1. 00/bottle.

Overall worth a visit - if only to use the toilet and shower block !

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubz62 1 review from this member

New to the caravanning scene we decided on this site as it wasn't too far from home and had read some very positive reviews.

A very well organised and professional setup. Friendly & helpful staff. Well stocked shop for any provisions that may have been overlooked.

Many recycling points, waste and refill areas that were within easy reach regardless of where you were situated on site.

Excellent toilet/shower block which was immaculately clean.

Tidy play area, but at 49 yrs young decided to give it a miss!

Loads to do locally from walking, cycling, visiting attractions or shopping.

All in all our stay at Teversal was fantastic, it was an excellent choice of site for our first trip and most certainly won't be our last - we look forward to returning before too long.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mav4210 3 reviews from this member

This is our second review of this site, we returned to Teversal in our Vermont XL after having our first camping experience here in a borrowed vis-a-vis tent in 2009.

Our first visit impressed us greatly, however we do have to agree with another recent review in regard to the newly Fenced and rather small pitches. As you will see from my profile picture vemont XL last pitch it was tight on the pitch with this tent, clearly a 8X5 pitch size does not allow for even the guy ropes on a 7X5 tent! It is a real shame that this site now seems to have been geared with caravans in mind, I found the practice of Fencing the pitches in completely detracts from the freedom and community feeling usually enjoyed when camping.

That said the site was immaculate and the toilet block clean and the showers very very good. The addition of the Glamping tents behind the shower block again points to the commercial direction being taken by the CCC but these were hidden away and did not detract from the overall site quality.

The canarven pub a short walk away was nice but we only eat there once. The rain came for most of the week and somewhat dulled our holiday but that's uk camping! There is plenty in the area to do and we were busy most days.

The wardens were pleasant but not overly friendly or extra helpful, we were directed to a choice of two or three pitches only.

If we were to return to the area I think we would now choose an alternative site, mainly due to the large gravelling of the site that makes for a noisy evening when campers are walking around ect and the fencing in.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walkerholtby 5 reviews from this member

I am currently at the site for a 2 night stay on the way home to extend a weekend trip. The site is lovely, shower and toilet blocks are amazing, more boutique hotel than camp site.

The site is very clean and well organised. The shop is well stocked with most things you could need (other than wine!)

The wardens are lovely very welcoming and where happy to help me pitch my tent as I'm on my own with my 5 year old son. Help wasn't needed after I actually managed to pitch solo!

It is a great site but sadly I wont be returning. Not even for the showers! The tent pitches are separated by rope and post fencing, which looks lovely but in practice its a physical barrier that 'hems' you in.

As a solo camper with a child I felt quite cut off from other campers. Also the grass pitches are very worn, as there is only a small area to pitch so basically your on bare earth and that is full of dips and bumps and pegs don't hold. I also have a smallish tent that didn't cover where other units had been so it ended up full of soil and dust(and if it rains as predicted then mud!

The kids play area is a hit with my son when he eventually made some friends, but there is no open space for then to just kick a ball or run around. Personally I prefer a site where the pitches are on the edge of a field with open space so the children can have freedom but you can still keep a close eye on them. With the fenced pitches I couldn't just pop up to the area to check on him. Its a walk over gravel around all the fenced pitches.

In conclusion, spotless site, well run and great facilities but Teversal is not for me, as a base its fine and for caravans and motor homes, older couples and families who like to keep themselves to themselves.

For me, a field and rotating pitches so your on grass not compacted mud, space for the children to play beats here any day. Even with the lovely facilities I wont be back. Maybe I just like the 'old fashioned' informal kind of camping rather being regimented!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlie1986 2 reviews from this member

We went here for 3 nights. Being just 14 miles from home the campsite was ideal. It was very easy to find from M1 junction 28, although I wouldn't recommend coming in with the campsite entrance on your right as the road was very narrow!

On arrival we booked in at reception, given a choice of pitches and were shown to our pitch by the warden.

Our pitch was marked out by a fence on 3 sides and conifers on the other side with hardstanding to park the car on. There was plenty of room for our icarus 500 but had we wanted to put the extension on the front this would not have been possible due to the where the car was parked.

The toilet block was lovely, I liked having everything in one place when I had a shower and the cubicles where bigger than my bathroom at home! I also never had to queue and didn't feel rushed to hurry because of people waiting.

The pot washing area had plenty of sinks and we never saw another person in there, there was also plenty of bins and recycling points.

On our last night we had to fetch our dog as the people looking after him had an emergency. This wasn't a problem and he was welcomed on site (his first time camping) and enjoyed the country park over the road.

We will be booking again for the end of August.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline1311 4 reviews from this member

First time at Teversal and it won't be the last! Just joined C & CC and wow! Everybody was so friendly.

We took our dog and across the road are the Teversal trails - miles of fab walking, ideal for dog owners.

Lovely quiet site, loads of kids playing and having fun, relaxed people enjoying their weekend - just what a campsite should be like.

Fantastic facilities, the showers have to be seen to be believed!

We visited Newstead abbey - home of Lord Byron and it was lovely. Great gardens, lovely area, bit restricted as to where to go and what to do this weekend with a dog and potty training a toddler!

Will be back as there is lots more to see and do in this area

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loch Morlich 13 reviews from this member

If you choose a caravan site by its toilets this is the site for you. The toilets were FAB! Easily the best toilets on a caravan park we have ever seen, and indeed are probably better than most toilets in the public areas of a 4 star hotel.

We only stayed for a night, but the staff/owners were very helpful, getting us onto the pitch and then directing us to 'Malfoy' Manor or Hardwick Hall to give it is proper name which is only 2 miles away.

The site is exceptionally neat, each pitch seemed to have a table and chairs, and there was also a small playpark. Across the road was a large country park with many miles of cycle parks which we did not use.

It is a great place to stop in an area which many people could quite easily drive past on the M1.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne42 1 review from this member

1st time camping for years

This camp site is amazing lovely site, plenty of space fab location and friendly staff.

On site shop, info hut, even bike and dog shower! pot washing facilities etc.

When your in a tent the main priority is the toilet block and WOW never seen one like theirs is so posh and spotless!

Hair dryer, hand wash with separate individual wash rooms with a sink and mirror.

At least 5 large shower rooms with their own toilet sink and mirror really nice worth the extra money you pay compared to other sub standard sites.

Will definitely be back

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 27 reviews from this member

Our third visit to this lovely site which is beautifully kept by the owners and has the best shower block we have ever come across here or abroad and we have visited an awful lot of sites over the past 25 years.

Although we were in our tent we had an all weather pitch which we found was very good. We used a couple of extra groundsheets under our zipped in groundsheet on the tent and are finding we now prefer the hardstanding to grass.

Staff were very friendly. The local pub 300 yards away is really very good and does excellent food. Nice easy walks from the site and excellent for dogs.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Claire1965 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 nights at this lovely Club Site.We took our bikes and peddled for miles starting just over the road from the site.

Teversal information centre will provide you with all the info you need for walks and cycle paths.The reception also has local maps and things to do as well as stocking essential items and newspapers.They also sell some funny cartoon caravan and camping birthday cards well worth a look.

Apart from repeating all of the good points once more We rate this site as one of the best for walkers and cyclists. The site wardens are very helpful and the toilets/showers WOW!

The pub at the end of the road and within walking distance has a very good reputation,you will need to book at weekends we tried to get in but there was never any tables left (this was Bank Holiday Weekend).

We will return.

Previous     162 Review in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0801