Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan and Motorhome Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 20 reviews from this member

Had this site recommended because of the Adult only & very dog friendly so went for 4 nights over easter this year. The site outdid all of the good things we were told. The newer facilities block has to be seen to be believe but even the other block was of a standard a lot of sites would do well to match. The dog shower and exercise was excellent and the surrounding countryside was made for walking. Visiting the Tor is a must if you can make the top and Glastonbury is worth visiting! We heartily recommend the 100 Monkeys for a morning coffee & cake, very dog friendly. Loved the selection in the shop especially the local cider (a must)cakes & cheeses. All in all looking forward to our next trip in July

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma simpson 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for four nights over Easter weekend and have to say that this is the best campsite I have stayed on. Good location for glastonbury and the tors which can be accessed from site. Walk however not suitable for those with walking/mobility problems. Toilet block is luxurious 5 star facilities. Information room has a pool table in it, along with lots of other local information. There are laminated cards that can be borrowed if people wanting to use them to go on different walks. Site itself is absolutely immaculate with plants dotted all over the site. Brilliant recycling facilities and bin areas kept immaculate. This site is adults only and is very tranquil. Really good facilities if you have a dog. Massive dog exercise area which is fenced off so dogs are safe to be let off lead here. Poo bags available in the field. Impressed by the hot/cold dog shower for muddy paws. Shop sells a range of local produce, along with bakery items and newspapers that can be ordered for the following day. Staff very helpful and friendly. Recommend this site to couples 18+.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 67 reviews from this member

Another visit to our favourite site. What can I add to what has already been said? This site shows others how it should be done! It's not just the facilities, or the lovely wide pitches, or the wonderful views it is also the ethos & wonderful service from the staff. I emailed about a cake & sure enough there it was ready for me on Easter Monday for my husbands birthday. The staff are always smiling and you can just tell they are as proud of the park as anyone could be. Yes the fee is a little more than most but I don't mind paying it as every time we visit something else had been added. This year it was a whole new barrier entry & exit system with number plate recognition. There is so much to see & do around the area, from the beautiful sights of Wells to wandering through Glastonbury with it's last vestige of hippie culture to lovely little shops, the Abbey, Chalice Well and of the course the walk up the Tor. The Tor is easily reached from the pathway from the site. We availed ourselves of the fish 7 chip delivery service on Friday night too. If you want a peaceful, beautifully cared for and friendly place to stay go to The Old Oaks you won't want to leave. We never do.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowsy 1 review from this member

What a fantastic little site! Our first visit here and we took advantage of the first night free for new customers which is a great way of getting people to visit and see what they think. Well we weren't disappointed. Fish and chips delivered on the first night, a great off lead dog walking area, lovely clean warm facilities and smashing staff. We went home with a smile on our face, a dozen fresh farm eggs and an intention to return.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 149 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Old Oaks (adults only), but we'd not been since 2008! All I can say is that if it was 5* before then it's 10* now. Stunning. Everything about it was brilliant. From the online booking system (and out of season offers) to the welcome on arrival. Lovely friendly staff and owners explained everything.

We were tucked away in Lower Oaks on an all service pitch (free upgrade in March!), not far from the new, beautiful toilet/shower block which housed individual wet rooms (shower, toilet, sink), ladies and gents showers and toilets, laundry and washing up area. I'm not sure any other facilities will ever compare to it!

Plenty of bins all with recycling and water points for those that didn't have water on their individual pitch.

Great little shop with everything you could need. Daily papers can be ordered (no delivery charge) and collected from the shop the next day. Daily home-made cakes were on offer too. I managed to resist but OH couldn't resist the jar of local pickled eggs! The site also has take-away deliveries twice a week (fish & chips and now Indian this year) that you have to pre-order. Sadly we were there on the wrong days!

Nice walk directly from the site, either along a small lane or across fields on a public footpath, up to Glastonbury Tor (it's a trek but well worth it). Further on is Glastonbury town. Worth a visit but we bussed into Clarks Village, Street from the town (3 return each adult).

Thank you for 2 great nights Old Oaks (although next time we stay if you could cancel the gale force winds please!). I have no doubts we'll be back and we would have no hesitation in recommending you stunning site to one and all.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

Well what can we say.

I found this campsite on line And it was saying they run a bus to the Glastonbury carnival (November 21st) for a small charge of 4. 75. I read all the reviews and they were excellent.

Well we couldn't believe what we saw. Yes everything was excellent. The shower block was excellent. In the same building was the laundry and washing up area.

The staff were excellent. It is an adult only site which made a change.

We booked to go back in November, Just one problem couldn't stay for one night only as it is a minimum of 2 nights nov 21st. Oh dear what a shame we have to stay an extra night. HA HA HA

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChasConnal 1 review from this member

Excellent offers, excellent site, excellent helpful and friendly staff, have been before and will go again. We are experienced Motorhomers enjoying 70+ nights away every year and The Old Oaks have really got it right. Our compliments to them, long may it remain. The proximity to good towns and attractions is also good.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peter + Chris 1 review from this member

One of the best sites we have used since we started touring in 2004. Very thoughtful planning of the site providing attractive landscaped areas with excellent shower & other facilities.

The location is lovely with stunning views of the surrounding Somerset countryside. Welcoming reception and very good shop stocked with all the essentials plus enticing cakes and other foods. Fish & chip delivery on Frdays plus soon to be introduced Indian takeaway delivery.

Excellent dog walking area with warm shower. So helpful for muddy dogs!

Lovely walks around the site although not for the faint-hearted. Great walk into Glastonbury past the Tor, which is well worth ascending for the stunning views. 1. 5 - 2 miles to the center of the town with steep incline to start. Glastonbury Abbey is lovely & dog-friendly. Lunch in the Who'd Have Thought It pub was great &, again, dog friendly

Lots to do in the area so will return with a car to see more of it.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 28 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend break. Still an excellent site with spotlessly clean amenities and grounds. This site is in a beautiful location with stunning views across the Mendip Hills and beyond. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely country walks. I would suggest that they maybe install a solar light which lights up their sign by the entrance as it is very easy to drive past in the dark.

Would recommend the 15th Century pub The George and Pilgrim in Glastonbury. Excellent food and history.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moonraker40 1 review from this member

The greeting and showing to our pitch was excellent

Even though it rained quite a lot the pitch drained well.

Having a fully serviced pitch was well worth the extra.

Shower and toilet block out of this world so clean and warm.

We went to this park so we could go to the Glastonbury carnival with The Old Oaks arranging a coach and a 2 course meal at a reasonable cost a added bonus.

Lots of walking and things to do in the area.

Good walk to Glastonbury Tor.

Looking forward to next year for another visit maybe longer.

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win tickets to the NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2852 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1270