Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BarbaraSp 1 review from this member

Excellent site for adults only. Immaculate in every area from shower block to grounds to food shop. Well done the owners and wardens. We were recommended this site from someone in southport so we looked it up and after 7 weeks touring fromscotland to Devon we found a little bit of paradise at the old oaks. The staff were all so friendly

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bobandjoy 7 reviews from this member

Returned for a second visit in our folding camper, pitch good size for camper, awning and car side by side plus grassed area to sit on - as before friendly and helpful wardens. The facilities are excellent, the cleaners do a very good job in keeping both toilet blocks, laundries and dish washing areas very clean despite the site being full. We took our own bird feeder this time and just bought the seed (you can borrow one from the site) and had a lovely week enjoying all the birds (chaffinch, blue tit, robin, blackbird etc) visiting our pitch, also had visit from a squirrel.

Fishing was enjoyable. Also joined in with Indian night (enjoyed mine, husband not so keen but that might have been meal choice) and the fish and chip evening (very nice). Did not use the mini bus but it is a good idea. Hope the ladies we met do end up with a folding camper (wish we had exchanged emails so we could find out)

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alumchinegirl 3 reviews from this member

This Site was recommended and it really lived up to it in every way. Very well laid out, with a good Reception Area and welcoming Staff. Large pitches, well kept grass and hedges and lovely Flower beds. 2 Toilet /shower blocks, 1 excellent with a seating area and the other very good but a little dated, both very clean and warm. The shop was very well stocked and had a different homemade cake every day, a lovely treat but rather expensive. They also had Fish and chips delivered to the Site once a week from a local Shop.

The area has lots to see and you can walk to the TOR from the sight. Glastonbury has many good varied places to eat and unusual shops, we were there when there was a Fairy Fair on so lots to see. We also found 2 of the vey best Reclamation yards we have ever seen.

We hope to return soon

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maxxi 5 reviews from this member

Well what can we say, what a gem of a site. First class facilities, better than some 5 start hotels. Well cared for grounds with large pitches, we stopped on a super with water and drainage which was great. Dog walk area perfect with dog shower and poo bags and hand gel. Shop sells basic items but more than enough for your daily essentials. Staff first class, really helpful and polite. Yes this is an expensive site but you pay for what you get and you get a lot. We would stop again without doubt. You won't find many sites on a par with this. Well done to the owners and staff of the old oaks.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sampage 1 review from this member

Fantastic site (it is adult only). Have just spent a great 5 days here. Everyone very friendly and helpful. Site immaculate and beautifully laid out. Can walk into Glastonbury (2 miles) and easy access to many attractions in surrounding area. Lots of trips organised from the site. They offer a minibus service to get you out and about. Plus they organised food boxes, takeaways, fresh bread daily, homemade cakes. All sorts of yummy things.

For us one of the most amazing things, as campers, was the fantastic shower/toilet/washing up block, clean, very warm, plenty of hot water. WOW it was brilliant.

Also great facilities for our dog and brilliant walking directly from the site.

Will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 14 reviews from this member

This site was recommended to us by friends and having read most of the reviews on this site we were looking forward to our first visit to The Old Oaks Touring Park, we were not disappointed in ANY way. This is an amazing site with spotlessly clean facilities and friendly caring staff. The new amenity block is 5 star and above, whilst the other block although older was always clean and warm. There are plenty of walks in the area and while we were there a woodland walk was under construction close to the fishing lake which was producing some very nice catches. Reception was also home to a well stocked shop and fresh bread was also to be had as were newspapers. A great site which we have just booked a second visit to.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhickers 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights in April. This was our first trip with our new (to us) Pennine Folding Camper. The reviews were really good so we hoped the site would live up to expectations! Well, it not only lived up to them – it surpassed them!

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were due to arrive at about 4. 30pm on Friday but got held up by traffic. I phoned the site to ask if they would take an order for the fish and chips over the phone – which they did – and what great fish and chips they were! When we arrived just after 5pm, we received a very friendly welcome and were given the opportunity to order bread and/or croissants for the following morning (we had the croissants & pain au chocolat and they were yummy!). Every time I went to the shop there was a friendly face to greet me.

Our pitch was a great size (we were in Walnut Terrace) and the views were lovely. We were right under the tor and could see people walking up to the top but couldn’t see St Michaels tower itself. All the pitches seemed quite private and beautifully landscaped. The whole site was very well cared for.

The facilities were amazing! Under floor heating, spotless washing up sinks and fantastic cubicles – we didn’t want to come home! The only slight issue was when in the showers in the gents section my husband said the direction of the shower could be better as the water sprayed out under the curtain and got everything wet. The older facilities block was good too – far better than some other sites we’ve stayed on. I must admit, one of the best things about both blocks was no push buttons! It’s great to be trusted NOT to flood the building!

Security at the site was good too. We liked the barrier system which meant the site was peaceful at night. When the sky is clear at night, you can see so many stars, many more than in a town.

This may have been our first visit but it definitely won’t be our last!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 20 reviews from this member

Had this site recommended because of the Adult only & very dog friendly so went for 4 nights over easter this year. The site outdid all of the good things we were told. The newer facilities block has to be seen to be believe but even the other block was of a standard a lot of sites would do well to match. The dog shower and exercise was excellent and the surrounding countryside was made for walking. Visiting the Tor is a must if you can make the top and Glastonbury is worth visiting! We heartily recommend the 100 Monkeys for a morning coffee & cake, very dog friendly. Loved the selection in the shop especially the local cider (a must)cakes & cheeses. All in all looking forward to our next trip in July

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma simpson 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for four nights over Easter weekend and have to say that this is the best campsite I have stayed on. Good location for glastonbury and the tors which can be accessed from site. Walk however not suitable for those with walking/mobility problems. Toilet block is luxurious 5 star facilities. Information room has a pool table in it, along with lots of other local information. There are laminated cards that can be borrowed if people wanting to use them to go on different walks. Site itself is absolutely immaculate with plants dotted all over the site. Brilliant recycling facilities and bin areas kept immaculate. This site is adults only and is very tranquil. Really good facilities if you have a dog. Massive dog exercise area which is fenced off so dogs are safe to be let off lead here. Poo bags available in the field. Impressed by the hot/cold dog shower for muddy paws. Shop sells a range of local produce, along with bakery items and newspapers that can be ordered for the following day. Staff very helpful and friendly. Recommend this site to couples 18+.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 75 reviews from this member

Another visit to our favourite site. What can I add to what has already been said? This site shows others how it should be done! It's not just the facilities, or the lovely wide pitches, or the wonderful views it is also the ethos & wonderful service from the staff. I emailed about a cake & sure enough there it was ready for me on Easter Monday for my husbands birthday. The staff are always smiling and you can just tell they are as proud of the park as anyone could be. Yes the fee is a little more than most but I don't mind paying it as every time we visit something else had been added. This year it was a whole new barrier entry & exit system with number plate recognition. There is so much to see & do around the area, from the beautiful sights of Wells to wandering through Glastonbury with it's last vestige of hippie culture to lovely little shops, the Abbey, Chalice Well and of the course the walk up the Tor. The Tor is easily reached from the pathway from the site. We availed ourselves of the fish 7 chip delivery service on Friday night too. If you want a peaceful, beautifully cared for and friendly place to stay go to The Old Oaks you won't want to leave. We never do.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484