Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
              9/10 from 194 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keeleyroh 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weeks stay at this site and I've got to say that this site is the best we have stayed.

We never once queued for showers no matter what time of the day we went, its very clean and extremely well looked after.

I liked that the in site shop was not over priced, but there is a sainsburys 2 mins away by car if you turn left out of the site.

On arrival we were shown a few different pitches as we needed an end one due to the size of our tent and the young lad was very helpful.

The outdoor pool is very popular and it does give you the feeling of being abroad especially when the weather was glorious.

We are returning next year for sure and we cant wait.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pmg1173 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic week at this lovely site :

Toilet block - clean, hot showers which stay on, never found it closed for cleaning but was always clean, separate toilets, family bathroom, key available from reception for a deposit, disabled facilities too.

Only negative of the shower block was not enough hooks to hang up towels / clothes etc, did have a high shelf but difficult to negotiate especially with trying to organise myself and my daughter.

New indoor pool - gorgeous, large changing rooms, 1. 2m across the whole pool, no deep end. Ideal

Cost just over 4 for my husband and daughter to use the pool on a one day pass, you can buy longer passes but not sure of cost for these.

Outdoor Pool - free - great in the hot weather we had - only negative is the deep end is 2m, shallow end 1m so you need to make sure kids don't stray from the shallow end.

Didn't use the bar / restaurant facilities so can't comment, weather was fab so had BBQ's most of the week.

Did use the on site Chippy though which was great and packed out most nights. Highly recommend it though for a lazy day.

10 min walk to the Anchor and Ship Inn at Cockwood, both nice local pubs, Ship is cheaper !

Route we took was via Starcross which has a very narrow section which was a bit dodgy with large delivery vans etc coming in the opposite direction and does get backed up quite regularly apparently so bear this in mind if you are arriving or leaving around peak time.

In general staff were friendly and helpful, were shown to the pitch by one of the staff. We had a hard standing which backed onto the fishing lakes which was lovely but were woken fairly early each morning by the ducks which was fine if you are early risers but not so great if you like a lie in.

Only negative of the overall site is the cost for visitors. Cost us 10. 50 for 2 visitors to sit at the side of our van for a few hours, they charge regardless of your visitors using the facilities or not.

Will definitely return to this site next year for longer, just hope the weather is the same !

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Berko 6 reviews from this member

Farmyard stinking mud bath! This, and the cramped conditions, is why I have rated this site 2/10.

I think anyone who has been at Cofton Park for the past week can't fail to agree. The drainage on the terraced pitches is appalling if not none existant. Looking back through reviews this has been a fairly constant complaint for several years now. The rain showers were heavy during our 5 night stay but certainly not prolonged. The fields just can't cope with any amount of rain.

We were on a relatively flat terraced pitch but still ended up with a muddy stream running through the middle of our tent which smelt suspiciously like farmyard waste - a vile smell! It was gross!

One field had to be closed due to the danger of trying to drive through the mud.

This wasn't 'unprecedented weather' nor was it particularly bad weather - just a typical English summer!

Cofton are fully aware of the poor drainage on their site and still fail to do anything about it, preferring to spend money (millions no doubt) on a fantastic indoor leisure complex that will bring them even more income. Spending money on increasing pitch size (tents are so cramped it's dangerous) and improving drainage is clearly not a money maker so isn't going to happen.

The pitches are small and cramped so when we arrived we had no choice but to pitch directly onto dried mud from the previous occupants. Our tent is not very big (Vango 6 berth) and the pitch was so small that we weren't even able to sit outside our tent without encroaching onto the pitch next to us. Most tents and caravans are pitched to the outer limit of their pitch which results in very cramped conditions with little or no privacy. The terraced aspect of the site adds to the 'housing estate' feel. Despite the camp having a rule of 'no fires', campers near to us still insisted on having a fire evry night which, in my opinion, was extremely dangerous given the cramped nature of this site.

Having said all of the above, the staff on site couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The facilities, both indoor and outdoor, are excellent and the play areas for kids are great. We won't be returning to Cofton or recommending it to anyone until they take fewer bookings or considerably incresse pitch sizes (free of charge!) and do something about the lack of drainage. That said, if you can guarantee dry weather and very few other campers it could be a lovely site!

Not for us. I've just spent all day trying to clean groundsheets and the tent to eliminate the revolting mud and the sickening farmyard smell. I'm not sure our tent will ever be the same again. I really do wonder what is washing through this site - it most definitely is not just rainwater and mud! YUK! :-(

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jill + Alan D 3 reviews from this member

How happy were we to have found this site! Definitely coming back!

Staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. We were shown to our pitch on the grassed terraces of Coombeland field by following a young man on a golf buggy and although we were quite happy to stay where he suggested, he also said that we could have any vacant pitch of our choice if we preferred.

Most pitches were sized for a caravan, awning and one car alongside and on these terraces had lovely views across the valley.

All of the facility blocks were newly built, tastefully tiled and were immaculately clean with lots of attention to detail. Each had piped music in the form of the easy listening Heart radio and showers were free with plenty of hot water. Thought had even been given to individual private washrooms which had a sink, large lit mirror, electric shaver point and a free to use hairdryer.

The site shop was very well stocked and had its own instore bakery. Sainsbury's superstore is also only a mile away on the main road to Dawlish.

The licensed bar served meals and most evenings had light entertainment. The on site chip shop was great for a take-away.

The outdoor heated swimming pool was large and the new indoor swimming pool and gym facilities look to be very impressive when completed in a few weeks time.

There were two separate children's play areas plus a woodland adventure playground with a commando slide. Lots of woodland walks and footpaths.

The complete site was beautifully kept and very highly maintained.

If walking or cycling - about half a mile down the lane past the church is Cockwood harbour (The Anchor Inn does lovely home cooked food). From there to the right is the road to Dawlish Warren (1. 5 miles) which for most of the way has a safe cycling/pedestrian greenway path. From Cockwood to the left is Starcross ( mile) where you can catch the passenger ferry across to Exmouth.

Dawlish Warren, and Teignmouth and Exmouth seafronts are great for family fun activities.

For the adults, Sidmouth is a small but lovely sea town with quaint shops, Cockington Village (Torquay) is pretty with its thatched cottages and tea rooms. The Barbican in Plymouth is a bustling harbour area, and here you can get a pleasant 10 mile round boat trip across The Sound and past the Naval Warships (adult 6. 50 July 2012).

Only one very, very small criticism about the site and that was the grassed roadways on the terraces would have been better tarmacked because they were a bit sludgy in places BUT lets face it, we had just had the wettest April - June on record!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rover two 2 reviews from this member

On our way to the campsite our Landrover freelander brokedown at Bristol. The RAC said that they would take us to our destination and then take the car to an RAC garage for repair whilst we was on holiday. When we arrived at Cofton, the RAC recovery driver would not take the caravan past reception, so unhitched the caravan there.

The staff at Cofton could not have been more helpful as they towed the caravan to the pitch and pitched it whilst we dealt with the RAC. Then all the gear that we had carried in the car, the Cofton staff took to our pitch making several trips with a beach buggy and then came back to take the wife and I to the pitch. This probably is all very boring, but it does show what the staff at Cofton are prepared to do to help the guests.

Now to the site, it is very clean and spotless, the toilets are imaculate and the site is well located with bus stops(which we needed)just outside the entrance to get to Exeter, Dawlish, Teinmouth, Torquay and Paignton, all that and a great bar on the site.

Well done Cofton staff, we shall come again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tafffy68 1 review from this member

We stayed for 5 nights over the jubilee weekend. The site was very busy despite the unseasonal weather, but we never felt crammed in or overcrowded.

I can only repeat what other reviewers have said. Toilet blocks were outstanding, always clean, plentiful hot water and no queues.

Staff were pleasant and helpful and was nice to see wardens patrolling during the evenings.

There's plenty for the kids to do, playgrounds and pools and evening entertainment if you want it.

Kids are already nagging to go back next year.

It's not the cheapest around but worth paying the extra for such a lovely site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vengabus 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely week at Cofton, this was our first visit to the site and we will definitely be returning. The staff were friendly and helpful, the site was well run, the toilets and showers were spotless. The shop is very reasonably priced and well stocked.

Our 10 year old son loved the outdoor pool (bit cold for us. ) and three playgrounds, plenty of open space for him to run around and ride his scooter.

Lovely woodland walk into Dawlish Warren takes about 40 minutes, then can walk into Dawlish town from there about an hour. If too much walking bus stop right outside park only costing 11. 00 return for two adults and two children.

They are currently building an indoor complex will be going back next year to test that out.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 34 reviews from this member

Oh dear. Second year and standards slipped. All focus seems to be on new indoor leisure complex and less on existing facilities. Showers and toilets still very clean but locks missing from doors and hooks to hang clothes also missing so limited choice.

Site was busier than 2011 but everyone was squashed on to 2 fields while 2/3 other fields remained empty - why? For price they charge we could at least have been allowed to spread out.

Also grass around pitches had not been cut for a while so with the rain you ended up with wet jeans every time we went out Advertised the football being shown in bar area so we went - one TV and no chance of seeing it. We asked if large upstairs room ( with large screen tv) could be opened and were told manager did not want to so we left - poor customer service.

Best thing about this visit was Anchor and Ship pubs 1/2 mile down round

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Themogs 12 reviews from this member

If you want a peaceful, relaxing time with your motorhome. Forget this place !

The grass pitches only had to smell rain, and they became an instant bog. Whilst my wife and I were there we were up to our ankles in mud right outside our door. Not ideal

The alcho campers were there in abundance, and some were not adverse to encroaching on your pitch with their guide lines and awnings.

The toilets and showers were spotless.

The staff at reception were helpful and polite, but a little green around the ears.

Will not be going to this noisy, unsupervised site again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 6337gary 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night break at this fab site.

We stayed with the Devon DA, and were put in one of the far fields which would normally mean long walks to the toilet blocks and poor pitching conditions. Not in this case, this site is fab in a major way,

It has just been awarded premier status, cant think why, could it be that the toilet blocks are the best I've ever used,

The staff are very friendly, the park has everything you could ask for.

Great for kids. They can play very safe and there's loads for them to do.

Would we return oh yes. Keep up the good work Cofton

Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Weekend Tickets to the UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Karsten Inflatable Tent Display 27/02 to 01/03
View the Karsten tent models and various Awning Combinations near the Hertfordshire / Cambridgeshire border

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3951 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1230