Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
                9/10 from 200 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Norhwesteners 2 reviews from this member

Second time here. Stayed in a camping pod with another family. Lots of space for kids to run round and explore. Pods big enough to fit 2 double air beds and space inside for a few bags. Warm and with this year's poor summer weather, a great alternative to a tent.

Lovely, clean, safe site. Great facilities: Play area, well stocked shop, drying room etc. Shower rooms modern, always clean and well maintained. Lots of hot washing up water.

Close proximity to pubs, all of which we have tried and all serve excellent food. Quiet at night. Listen out for the owls and watch the bats.

Easy access from the site for walks no matter your ability.

Highly recommended for both families and couples. Would definitely return a third time.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

Once again, another lovely stay at Eskdale, such a peaceful site. The managers, Martin, Charlie, Lisa and Adrian, just couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.

The site is maintained to the highest standard, both the excellent facilities and the outside areas. We discovered what lovely breakfasts the Dalegarth Station cafe do, just a short walk from the site; have one after you have walked, as they are huge!

There are lots of lovely walks from the site; along the river from St. Catherine's church, up to Stanley Ghyll Falls, and a new one we found, through How's Wood. Ask at the station or the site shop for details.

The site was busier than we have known it due to a beer festival but still retains that feeling of peace and tranquillity. Magic!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizf68 4 reviews from this member

We were recommended to visit this site by friends and have just visited for the long Jubilee weekend. The site wasn't very busy when we first arrived and it was a gorgeous view of green space surrounded by mountains.

The facilities were very good although the pressure in the showers needs help at peak times as I was stood naked with soapy hair for quite a while waiting on someone turning off their shower so I could finish mine. This was due to the site being full but only happened the one time and did not put a damper on my stay at all. The loos/showers were always very clean and people actually did mop the floors after them, unlike other camps I've stayed at.

The shop seemed to be open all the time and is well stocked. If the light was on, then someone was serving. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area too.

We ended up with some noisy neighbours but the noise level is monitored well into the night.

Location wise it is a good spot for getting out to see sites like the Stanley Ghyll waterfall and a short drive to see the Roman Fort at Hardknott Pass and Wastwater Lake. You can also walk to Eskdale Mill which is one of the oldest water powered corn mills in England, and is now the last remaining working mill in the lake District.

There are very good pubs within a few minutes walking distance, one with a good playground for the kids.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Susietwoshoes 1 review from this member

My Daughter, the dog and I stayed here in a Pod for a couple of days in late May. I cannot recommend this site enough. The staff were very friendly, the whole place spotlessly clean and the facilities top notch, specially the lovely hot showers. Granted it wasn't too busy at the time and I perhaps would personally avoid it during school holidays, but that is only my preference at this time of life. When my children were small it would have been different story.

There are several places to eat nearby, we went to the Woolpack where both the food and the service were brilliant. There was a warm welcome everywhere we went around this area for the dog which is very important for us.

We found the whole area charming and peaceful. This as our first outing to this part of the Lakes and made a complete change from the hustle and bustle of Keswick, Ambleside etc. ,

Do check the map carefully before setting out as we made the 'mistake' of going over Wrynose and Hardknott passes. I say mistake as it was a beautiful if somewhat scarily exhilarating journey over (just don't tell my husband where I took the car please). A much easier way to get there quickly from Scotland is down through Wigton, Workington way.

When doing anything in the Lakes you are dependant on the weather, Lake District weather being notoriously wet at times, it's best to go prepared. There won't be many campsites in the Lakes immune from the ravages of rain. We went for the walking, and were pointed in the direction of a lovely easy walk to Burnmoor Tarn, by another camper. This chap was a regular and knew most of the walks. The campsite shop also has information, sells maps etc. A good information point is also provided with plenty of leaflets, posters, short guides and a selection of magazines which can be borrowed.

I will most definitely be back here as I plan to

Bring my husband down for a trip on the 'Laal Ratty' steam railway. Next trip with Daughter however will be to use this campsite as a base for an expedition up Scafell Pike.

Thank you to the wardens for a lovely stay. I can't rate for child friendliness as had no children but would give 10 out of 10 for dog friendliness. I only rated down on the facilities because I feel that when extremely busy there may not be quite enough.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

This was our second time at one of the best campsites we have ever visited, well away from the usual popular areas of the Lake District. Ours is a fairly small unit as they don't accept large motorhomes or caravans, mainly tents, although they do have pods for hire, wooden structures with just electricity connected set alongside a little stream which runs through the site.

The campsite is set in the most idyllic spot; we don't move off at all as there are some lovely walks of all types from the site, an excellent pub just 100m along the road and the cafe at the station of the little steam train a few minutes walk away serves drinks and food during the day. However, do try to get to Drigg, long, quiet beach, always open to dogs and a nice little gift and coffee shop, a must-see.

The site itself has a well-stocked shop, open mornings and afternoons for a couple of hours but a telephone on the wall of the reception building allows you to get in touch with the managers at any time. The facilities are excellent, cleaned thoroughly every day, hot showers with free hairdryer, laundry, washing-up area, payphone-no signal for mobiles-and plenty of info on weather, walks, etc. , plus a play area for children.

The managers are delightful people, cheerful, friendly and eager to help. The only downside-it's apparently very popular during school holidays, bank holidays and weekends, so you do need to book then and I'm not sure if there are enough showers, etc. , to cope when very busy but always has a lovely peaceful and friendly atmosphere.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janwills100 30 reviews from this member

First visit to this area and oh what a pleasant surprise. It definitely is off the beaten track and 7 miles from the main road down lanes ( we were in a large motorhome) but worth it when you arrive. The site is 5***** all the way - the facilities are excellent, good shop, great owners and 3 great pubs in walking distance with very friendly staff. Great area for walking and if you want rural then this is the place - I would think its very busy in the summer. There is no signal for mobile or tv so be prepared to use pay phone and as previous people have said do not trust your sat nav stick to the main roads and use your map. Great place will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NCityFC 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. Lovely welcome from owners, gave us the choice of pitches to suit our means.

Great views, lovely clean facilities although the camp could hardly be faulted for a burst main pipe the day after we got there. The management coped tremendously well with the situation.

Boot is a bit isolated from the main towns so take lot of provisions, but for us that's what made it more special.

Lovely walks, 3 nice pubs in walking distance, the Woolpack and The Boot to us were the most comfortable, especially welcoming our Dogs.

Would def return again, one point though, don't trust your Sat Navs, ours kept pointing us to Hardknott which we ignored but still end end up going over Birker Pass to get to the site, I for one was not impressed. Stick to the main roads.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AJ66 4 reviews from this member

Despite the wonderful scenery right outside your tent, I was disappointed with this site.

The showers/loos/washing up facilities were very good, clean with plenty of hot water etc, and the shop was well-stocked, however the site was very crowded (we had booked 2 pitches but ended up squashed onto what felt like one)

The site also flooded badly during heavy rains, and several people had to pack up and go after their tents were left in 6 inches of water. The large puddles did not drain away so for the rest of the week, various parts were cordoned off.

We won't be staying there again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minnie77 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here with two small children for a long weekend. This is lovely site with beautiful surrounding scenery.

The facilities were clean and well kept. Great site shop selling local meats and sausages and good selection of local beers.

The playground is small but more than sufficient to keep the kids entertained (it includes a trampoline).

It's a short walk to the village with a good choice of pubs. We also walked to the Ravenglass Railway which was a great family day excursion.

All in all a great site and we would definitely come back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amandamogan 5 reviews from this member

Eskdale ccc site is a fantastic site, the area is beautiful. The showers, toilets, drying room are all 5 star, I fear no other site will live upto these standards. All the staff so very helpful.

We (2 teenage boys my husband and I)arrived on the last Friday in July and stayed until Tuesday the weather was also fantastic.

We did not cross the pass (too scared).

The campsite was quiet after 11pm and all campers well behaved at all times.

Many walks straight from the campsite which was a bonus.

We ate at the Boot Inn the food was great and reasonably priced and the staff were nice.

Do take a trip to Ravenglass on the little steam railway, Ravenglass not very exciting but the steam train lovely.

Muncaster castle worth a trip stayed all day and had a picnic however, if the weather was bad Muncaster would not be much fun.

The on site shop supplied all the basics, so take plenty with you and only open for 4 hours a day this could do with extending slightly more so in the evening.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4799 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016