Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Invercoe Highland Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Invercoe Highland Holidays
Invercoe
Glencoe
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4HP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811210

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
              9/10 from 70 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 51 reviews from this member

3rd stay on this site. The views are spectacular. We were on a hardstanding pitch at the waters edge with EHU and water. £20 per night caravan and 2 people, no charge for our dog. There is room for 10 units at the water side and the larger part of the park is on the upper tier, the pitches here are on grass. There are also 2 hobbit units for rent. Children's play park at the exit. Only 2 out of the 4 showers were working. They are push button adjustable showers, not a lot of pressure in them. No queues even thougn the site was nearly full. Site open all year. There is a jetty at end of water pitches for launching boats.Small supermarket 1/2 a mile away in Invercoe village. There is a hotel across the road which is doggie friendly. They start evening meals at 6 pm, snacks before that. There is a pub called the Clachaig about 2 mile down a single track road from the end of the village which serves meals. Its always very busy and very noisy !Morrisons 12 miles away in Fort William. Reception on site open 2 hours in morning and 1 hour at tea time. If its not open pick a pitch and pay later.A road runs along the side of the park but its not a problem, not too busy. Recycling bins at loo block. Barrier to enter the park, exit by another gate at far side of the site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Galdeb69 6 reviews from this member

The site is clean and had fabulous views, but our experience was that if you are a tent wanting EHU, then you will be put on the bit of grass behind a caravan so you can get to the hook ups, not ideal and if that caravan that you are pitched behind put his awning, up well your outdoor space is greatly reduced and all you are looking into is the back end of a awning.

The toilet block while clean up to eye level, when you are in the showers if you look up, all you see is tiles that need a good scrub.

There is a lovely tea room that also sells gifts within a 1/2 mile of the site, that is excellent if you don't want to cook.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 51 reviews from this member

Wonderful site, had a pitch looking over the water. Been here twice before and loved it, clean loos and showers.Push button shower, adjustable but not much pressure.

Hard standing and grass pitches I noticed they've introduced cabins in the shape of a romany caravan. £20.00 per night for caravan and 2 adults hard standing with EHU and water. 15 mile fron Fort William.

Small shop in Invercoe village selling all the basics. Open 8 - 8. Recycle bins at loos. Kids play pork at exit.Covered barbeque area. Site full but very quiet at night.

Beautiful just to sit and chill out and watch the sunset. There is a jetty where you can launch a boat. We pre booked a water side pitch, had to leave a £30.00 deposit of which £27 is refunded.

Friendly staff, a man on a bike met us and showed us our pitch, if you haven,t booked you can choose a pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiep12 1 review from this member

Booked two Tent pitches for a week with electric hook up at Invercoe taking my daughter and boyfriend on their first real camping holiday together and it was excellent. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Arrived late afternoon and once checked in at the 'shop' we were met by the owner and shown to our pitches. Advised in which situ it would be good for the position of our tents and said to just get ourselves set up and pay tomorrow then moved on. This was helpful.

We had a tunnel tent (Icarus 500) with canopy and although the pitches are roomy, it was a tricky bit of positioning to run the two tents together. We got a bench and table in between the pitches eventually which was great and we were quickly enjoying the views of the Loch and having a walk around.

Absolutely stunning scenery and always changing too as the weather changes. The midge was en masse and thankfully we had some head nets with us. Not many nights were spent sitting out at sunset I might add.

Looking out of the tent had us seeing the beautiful, if not eery Pap of Glencoe when the clouds were high enough.

Facilities were good and hot water always available in the shower and dishwashing blocks. There were no real queues for the showers and maybe we were lucky in that we'd tried to avoid peak times, ie 7.30-10am and 7.30-9.30pm. There is one hairdryer in the Ladies and felt that this could've been better if another one installed.

The facilities were cleaned and toilet paper etc re stocked daily and if there's improvements to note it is that the gents toilets could've been cleaner. I think this is more down to the user and not the campsite. My partner and son frequently commented on the mess being left by others and lack of the likely few not tidying up after them in the loos. The cleaning above cubicle height was sparce and the cobwebs and dirty grouting confirmed this and this was both in the gents/ladies.

The dishwashing area was kept really nice and there were plugs provided for each sink and also dish drainers available. Lots of room and with windows in the 'block' it made washing dishes rather pleasurable as you viewed the 'Pap' on one side and Loch Leven on the other!

All staff on site were friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much bother and the shop when open (8-10 and 3-5)was a busy place. I saw campers taking their phone and charger in there to be charged up and at no cost - this is handy to note if we were hillwalking and not taking the full on camping kit plus 'the kitchen sink'. The small things like that really make a difference.

The owner regularly went around the site to check how everyone was and as he was visible this made for a peaceful stay. We never used the washer dryer facilities during out stay but had visited there to look at what coins it took (50p for 10 mins) and there is a series of tourist booklets in there for you to look through.

Loch Leven is tidal and so it's great for kids (and adult kids alike) looking over the rocks for crabs and the like. I wish we'd taken our Kayaks as the Loch was ideal for this - unless the wind was up it was like a mill pond. Using the slipway would be easy even for a boat, plenty of room and not too long.

We left Invercoe site all saying that we need to come back again. Lots to do around here, the Glencoe Hotel was very reasonably priced for a meal, excellent rib eye steak, fish and chips etc if you don't fancy cooking. It was a nice place to have on your doorstep even for popping in for a pint after a climb up the 'Devil's Staircase and walk to Kinlochleven.

Although the site has idyillic views and is in an excellent location, the lack of public transport in the area was frustrating. A visit to the Nevis Range just beyond Fort William is recommended for mountain biking or a trip up the Gondola.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cueball 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 7 nights, 2 adults, 1 dog. We had a great time and would definitely return. The scenery is absolutely fantastic. The campsite is situated on the edge of Loch Leven with views to die for! Facilities were good.

The mensí shower block looks as though itís recently been refurbished. The ladies were a little dated. Showers were hot but not very powerful. We never had to queue for the showers. Plenty of toilets but perhaps could be cleaned more frequently.

Wash up area was adequate & undercover. Owners were very friendly & helpful. The campsite did get quite busy over the weekend and felt a little cramped. We returned one evening to find a tent pitched just 3 feet from ours.

Thereís a small shop on site which sold the main essentials. Thereís a shop in the village within walking distance and also a Co-op at Kinlochleven, 7 miles away. Glencoe Hotel in the village is dog friendly.

Location is ideal with plenty to see and do in the area. Tourist Information is approx 2 miles away. Fort William was only 15 miles away. We also visited Ben Nevis range. Be warned - the midges are fierce and will eat you alive! But don't let that put you off.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 35 reviews from this member

We arrived after an amazing drive through the valley and was told to choose our own pitch. The views over the loch and the sunset over the mountains were stunning.

The site looks well maintained and the showers and toilets were always clean if a little dated. Good shop on site selling th basics and the staff very friendly. Enjoyed a walk around the village and the local area. Had dinner in the local hotel which was good but the staff were miserable looking.

Great site made better by it's location

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth £124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469