Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
              9/10 from 50 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Oldgazza 25 reviews from this member

Excellent site in great location, sea views, 10 mins to Beach, 5 minutes to village, 2 good pubs. Queens Arms great meal, dog friendly, good real ales. Slapton Ley nature reserve on doorstep if your a wildlife watcher.

Friendly attentive site staff, excellent washroom facilities, spotless.

We visited at a quiet time and I think this site gets very busy at peak periods and that is not surprising.

I would recommend this site without hesitation.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allison29 1 review from this member

Great site, friendly staff, very clean toilet / shower block. The views are very nice and the children's play area was ideal for the site,

Short walking distance to Torcross and Slapton village, there are 3 great pubs serving lovely food and staff are really polite. The site can be really windy on a night that is the only down side.

Will go back for a longer holiday and when the weather is a little warmer on a night as it can be really cold

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 124 reviews from this member

Nice campsite for those that like peace,the only sound I heard at night was the crashing waves in the distance and the noisy Tawny owls,very friendly and efficient with good toilet block.
Good for walking although being hilly cycling a little restricted except for the coast road to Torcross. Two pubs within walking distance we ate at The GBG listed Queens Arms-good pub grub and excellent Otter ales.
For wildlife lovers The Slapton Ley N.R.Is nearby and Cetti's Warbler presents no problem. Bus stop is also nearby offering buses to Dartmouth or Kingsbridge.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Erskinmajor 5 reviews from this member

Two-night quickie as only 50 miles from home, with a friendly welcome from the manager.

Great site, neat, tidy, very clean and well maintained. Nice easily accessible flat pitches with decent ground for pegging etc. Club site, quite busy, be prepared for neighbours.

The village is very ĎDevoní with tiny streets and quaint houses. Disappointed with the Tower Inn, I went there 18 years ago when it was a pub with six real ales, now it a restaurant with three. Slapton Ley is well worth a visit and a walk around (0.3 miles) as is Blackpool Sands (2 miles)

One criticism I would have, and itís not the sites fault per say, but if your towing a van the route in from Kingsbridge is not for a novice or the faint hearted. Try it and youíll see what I mean.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acoleman 3 reviews from this member

Great campsite, friendly managers.

Well kept lawns, they were out cutting within minutes of people leaving.

The location is great. The coastline along this part of devon is fantastic.

Only concern is that there aren't that many showers (3 in the ladies) and I am not sure how busy they would get in the summer holidays. However saying that there are lots of changing rooms with sinks, lots of toilets and they are all kept nicely clean.

Would be great if you could pre book your pitch.

The site was very quiet early in the evening when we stayed so I don't think this would be a good site for groups of people.

Was lovely to see the wild bunny rabbits running around once it started to get dark.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenandrob 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in June.

On arrival, the staff were really friendly and we were shown to our pitch. The pitch sizes are okay, but not great, you will be next door to someone. The pitches were nicely manicured though.

The showerblocks were clean and men's toilet facitilies were clean. There are only 3 men's showers for the whole campsite but since we weren't showering until about 10.30am we didn't have a problem.

The campsite is on a hill so if you're in somewhat okay shape you won't have any problem walking down to the beach or to the village.

Two great pubs in the village - the Queen's Arms and Tower Inn. Both were great when we were there!

Also be sure to drive down to Start Point, nice walks to the lighthouse and coastal paths. But be aware, the roads are pretty much single lane throughout the area - which adds a charm if you're a passenger.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4280 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0410