Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
              8/10 from 109 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Busymale 3 reviews from this member

A good campsite on the banks of the picturesque Loch Lomond.

Toilets were clean and the welcome was very friendly. They don't cram people in and the gates are closed to avoid the potential for pirate campers.

Right next to the shore it does suffer badly from midges but otherwise child friendly, scenic and worth a return visit.

There is also Luss Village within easy walking distance and a cycle track running parallel with the campsite. Although right on the A82 the traffic didn't seem too bad and I got a good nights sleep.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 26 reviews from this member

Good things:

Luss and the people there were great. Nice walking with a good leaflet provided at the site. The loch was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ducks and swans with youngsters on the site -sweet!

Bad things:

Showers tatty with stupid press button control and no temperature control. Ladies showers (all 4 of them) dirty when we arrived - asst warden cleaned them immediately but when I'd showered I went to mop round and the water in the bucket was much dirtier than I'd made the shower - ugh. Tried to fill our water tank up but failed as only a little trickle of water coming out of the tap! Also trees over the tap made it v. Difficult to get the van close enough. Road noise a problem.

OK the weather and road noise couldn't be helped but the CCC could have done something about the other problems.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon55 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights at Luss in early June. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lochside pitch and had nice views across the loch; the whole site seemed to be quite level and well kept.

Our pitch looked as if it had been used quite a lot, there was a patch in the middle with very sparse grass, where tents etc have been sited. We were not troubled by any traffic noise, although we were probably about 70 to 100 yards from the roadside edge of the site.

Our EHU cable is about 15m long and was not long enough to reach the service pillar - the staff offered us the loan of an extension cable, which solved the problem. Site was almost full when we stayed (half term holiday and we were there over the diamond jubilee weekend) and there seemed to be a higher proportion of tents on the site compared to other club sites we have stayed on - tent campers rely on 'the facilities' more than people in wheeled units; we felt that there were not enough toilets/showers to cope with the numbers. I would expect that at other times the faculties are more than adequate.

Luss is very close and well worth a visit. We took a very nice boat trip to the village of Balmaha, where there are some nice walks and a nice (and very busy) pub. The scenery is fantastic. There were a lot of biting midges around, and despite using DEET and Avon's skin so soft we got quite a lot of bites.

The site is in a great spot and the friendliness and cleanliness are both really good. So in spite of the midges we will be sure to be returning to Luss in the future

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Searchlighters 15 reviews from this member

Nice site right on the banks of Loch Lomond and within walking distance of the picturesque village of Luss. Good facilities and helpful wardens but fairly small pitches.

Good access from main road.

On the downside - midges, midges and more midges! Made our one night stay very uncomfortable indeed - a real shame.

Would we stay again?? Yes but in Spring or Autumn when there are no midges!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GPDJP 13 reviews from this member

A beautiful location right on the banks of Loch Lomond and just a short stroll into the village of Luss.

The staff were very friendly and made our one week stay very pleasant unlike the midges who seemed to be about most of the still air days.

The facilities are a bit limited for the number of campers and there is only one chemical disposal point which can be quite an arm stretching exercise if you are at the far end of the site.

The A82 runs just outside the site and this is quite noisy during the day. We were hoping to cycle along the cycleway which follows the lakeshore but it also stays close to the A82 and the noise put us off cycling.

Luss village is very pretty and there are some easy recommended walks. However, there is not a lot to see and do locally and we were glad that we had a car to explore further afield.

Lovely, friendly site with beautiful views of the Loch.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: York54 2 reviews from this member

I'm afraid this site did not meet our expectations. After booking it 3 months in advance, when we arrived we were told that we had booked a 'narrow hard stand'! I had put length and width on the site website when I booked, like I always do.

We were taken to a pitch that was for motorhomes really, we were told. It was so tight - said no thanks. We were then offered a grass pitch miles from the facilities - hubby took 10 mins to walk to toilet emptying point!

We had no TV reception as we were so far away from civilisation, we felt like poor relations! Sorry Luss no return for us!

Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder