Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820497

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  10m  10m  5m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 To 04/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
              8/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Earthbrother 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to this site and hopefully it wont be our last!

The location of the campsite was well signposted from the village of Lydford.

Upon arrival we were greeted in a courteous and helpful manner by competent campsite staff who made the usual pain of booking in quite pleasant.

We were lead to our friends caravan (who had already set up on a hardstanding and had left room for our tent) we had arranged that we could have them together (with the obvious statutory distance apart) previously by phone.

We found the layout of the site was really well planned (as it was springbank holiday we expected to have less room) with plenty of hardstanding for caravans / motorhomes in the smaller entrance part which was nicely set out with high surrounding trees.

There are plenty of power points and also free wi fi for computer laptops etc.

The toilet blocks were spotless and cleaned frequently.The water in the showers was always hot and a very easy to use watersave button ensured good environmental practice without being inconvenient.Also there were a few separate 'private' washing rooms which had shaving points and a mirror (these being in addition to the existing washbasins and showers)

Toilets were clean and also provided a toilet brush with bleach for individuals to keep extra clean after each use ! At night lights came on and went off automatically in the toilet blocks.

The campsites second field was much larger and there was plenty of room for more caravans / motorhomes and tents (this 2nd field was mostly for tents) the view from the top of the field was stunning and overlooking the moors.

Running around the perimeter of the field was a good size dog walk with plenty of disposable bins for pickups and a request to keep dogs on leads.

There were good recycling facilities near to the entrance and at the shop papers could be ordered along with maps for local walks with good information re local attractions -- eg we visited Lydford gorge (stunning walks with lots to see chance for some great photos but a little on the expensive side at £6.50 entrance fee per person.

Also Lydford forest and local walks onto the moors were within 15 minutes walk of the site with some brilliant wildlife --- deer, fox, badger, bats, otters, buzzards and wild ponies.

Local nature reserve near to Tavistock but didn't get time to go.Excellent cycle paths just outside Lydford village along disused railway, tarmac surface with excellent views over moors and links up with local quiet roads to Oakhampton.

The local pub Castle inn which was 10 minutes walk from the site, provided very good food at a reasonable price with friendly service. There is a pleasant garden to the rear of the pub. A quiz night is held on a Wednesday and whilst we were there they held a Caribbean music bbq with some really nice food for £5 per head. Local people were friendly and most helpful.

We didn't go in the Lydford hotel the only reason being we had trouble fitting everything in 7 days. Trips out to Croyd (stunning place), Dartmouth (also excellent) and Clovelly were all within 1.5 hours from Lydford.

Downside to site ---1/ - no nappy changing facilities for babies although when we mentioned this to staff they did say there may be room to use part of disabled unit in future.

N.B If you are tenting have young kiddies and are not prepared to spend time entertaining, inventing and playing games or visiting places with them in BAD weather don't go.

Upside, --- everything else --- excellent site and location

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beerandtools 7 reviews from this member

Having spent the past two weekends at holiday parks near Dawlish Warren, we wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful. We were also meeting up with some relatives who were staying in a holiday barn in Lydford, so this site's location was perfect.

All I can say is wow, with a capital WOW! We could not have found a site that better suited our needs, if we had built it ourselves. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the incredibly helpful Steve & Christine, we felt completely at peace.

This site is only 30 miles from our home, but may as well be a million miles away. The only noise is from the odd vehicle and the plethora of birds.

Steve showed us to our pitch and carefully explained the strict rules of the site, which are totally understandable and make the stay even more pleasant. There is a minimum distance of 6 metres that needs to be maintained between units and this gives you so much space around you that you feel like you're there on your own. The fact that the entry to the park is gated and locked at night makes you feel safe.

The site has a few hardstanding pitches, some fully serviced, but the field at the back of the site is grass. Levelling chocks are essential, but Steve tried to position us in the flattest spot he possibly could. If you end up with too short a hook up lead, fear not they have plenty of extension leads for you to borrow.

SHOP: A basic shop and reception area which sells the bare essentials and some sweets and fabulous local ice cream. Calor gas is available.

BAR: None, but the local pub, The Castle Inn, is only a ten minute stroll away and here you will find a warm and friendly welcome from the new licensees.

PLAYGROUND: None. Great! but there is plenty of space for the little ones to run themselves ragged.

SHOWER / TOILETS: Exceptional. They are clean, warm and user friendly. Whilst they do close them for a period of time in the morning, this maintains their high standards. A mop and bucket are provided for you to wipe around after your shower. There is a separate parent and child shower room which again could be copied by many other sites.

ELSAN DISPOSAL: All part of the shower block and easy to use.

LAUNDRY: Coin operated washing and drying facilities, drying line and iron provided. Brilliant.

LOCAL AREA: Lydford village is very pretty and a walk through it's centre takes you to the Castle which was a prison and courthouse right up until the early 19th century. The local church is loaded with history, including the watchmaker's tomb and usually has a few homemade cakes and jams and the like for sale with an an honesty box payment system. I don't know who makes the cakes, but my waistline now indicates how good they are!

Lydford Gorge is a must visit for anyone who appreciates natural beauty spots. If you intend to do the walk, you need some good footwear, at the very least some training shoes.

Okehampton Town in one direction, Tavistock in the other and the lovely village of Bridestowe a couple of miles away, which has a well stocked Post Office and shop. As well as two ale houses.

Cyclists are spoiled by the lovely Granite Way Track which runs from Lydford to Okehampton along the old railway line.

Would we go back? You betcha! If we are welcomed, which I'm sure we will be then this site will become a regular haunt.

Steve and Christine need to be and have been highly praised for their efforts in making this site among one of the best, anywhere. They obviously have a passion for what they do and their environment and this is reflected by the sheer quality of the site.

There are cheaper sites within a few miles, but don't waste your time. This is the perfect site to pitch up and do nothing for the whole of your stay. Equally it is ideally placed for anyone wanting to explore some of the most fantastic countryside the West Country has to offer.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EribaTaffy 21 reviews from this member

This site is located on the outskirts of Lydford village and is privately owned but affiliated to the Caravan Club. It is open March to November. Earliest arrival time is 12 noon and departures also 12 noon. The site has had a David Bellamy Gold Award for environmental touring-park excellence.

The wardens are very welcoming and are a mine of information about the area particularly for walking and cycling routes.

There are 80 touring pitches with a mixture of grass and hardstandings. Some pitches are part sloping so you may need levelling blocks. There is also a separate camping area.

Access to the site is controlled by a vehicle barrier which is locked between 11pm and 7am. Up to 2 visitors are allowed.

There is a single heated toilet block with showers, WCs and privacy cubicles. Also a parent / toddler room and disabled bathroom, washing up / vegetable preparation area and laundry facilities. The showers are free and are pre-set at a reasonable temperature and operated with a push button. The facilities are kept very clean and you are ‘encouraged’ to keep them that way.

Service points around the site for water and rubbish disposal. Also chemical disposal facilities. If you drop your toilet cap down the drain they will retrieve it for you for a fee. Recycling facilities around the site except for plastic.

Dog walk on site and if you plan to take Fido on Dartmoor you are encouraged to treat against sheep ticks.

No children’s play area on site.

TV reception is good although you need to be aware that Devon has gone digital. The warden is very helpful if you cannot retune your television yourself. Mobile phone reception was good. Free Wi-fi available.

Shopping facilities for basic provisions in the site shop or there are supermarkets in Okehampton (about 9 miles) or Tavistock (about 9 miles).

There are a couple of pubs within walking distance including the Castle Inn and Lydford Country House with an Italian restaurant.

We paid £13.10 per night for two adults in a caravan with awning on a standard hardstanding pitch with electrical hook-up.

Local attractions include:

• Lydford Gorge National Trust is about ½ mile from the site and has some stunning scenery although you need to be reasonably fit and agile.

• Lydford Castle managed by English Heritage and access is free.

• Dartmoor National Park is on your doorstep and seems one of the most welcoming national parks we have visited.

• Granite Way cycleway is close to the site

• Brentor Church is perched on a rocky outcrop and again you need to be reasonably fit and agile to climb up for a viewing.

This is a quiet rural site ideally situated if you want to walk or cycle on Dartmoor. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and intend to return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AlanEag 10 reviews from this member

From the moment we drove through the gate we made very welcome by the enthusiastic manager and his wife.

The site is immaculately cared for and not at all 'tired' at the end of a very busy season. All the pitches (mostly hardstanding) are well spaced and with an open area of grass in the centre gives it a very open feel.

Toilets and showers were very clean and well kept as were the other communal areas.

Views of Dartmoor from the top of the site are very good.

If you want peace and quiet in an area of really outstanding beauty this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tomriddle 7 reviews from this member

The hardstanding pitches near the reception and toilet block are a bit crowded together. Luckily, by the time we arrived, the ground had dried sufficiently for us to pitch in the next field and this was a lovely spot with plenty of room. A disadvantage was that the grass had just been mown and all of the clippings were left which was a bit of a nuisance as it was difficult not to tread them everywhere.

The site is very well situated. The Granite Way makes a very pleasant walk or cycle and part of the journey into or out of Okehampton can be made on the local railway.

We only went for the weekend and ate out. There are two very good eating houses within walking distance of the site. Go to the village and turn left and there is a very nice Italian restaurant that is part of a hotel complex. The food was excellent and they made us and our dogs most welcome. Go to the village and turn right and there is the local pub. Contrary to other reviews, we found the locals very friendly. They were mainly a rustic crowd and very affable on a Friday night. There was a good choice of Real Ales and a good basic pub menu. Dogs welcome here as well. There seemed to be many other places to eat in the surrounding area.

A very pleasant and peaceful place to stay.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Creativewriter1985 21 reviews from this member

Have never been to this area before so was quite excited to visit. First experience of the staff was fantastic - we'd misplaced our instructions for finding the campsite (which had been emailed to me on booking) so had to ring up for directions. The lady was lovely and patiently explained while I wrote it all down.

On arrival we were greeted and even escorted to the field where we had to pitch. As it's in a National Park, caravans are hidden lower down and tents are up in the top field, which is up a little hill. This does mean you're further away from the toilet blocks - but boy, is it worth it. The views from the field are absolutely stunning, to the extent that the caravanners kept coming up to have a look! I can imagine it's pretty grim in that field in a tent if it's bad weather, but we were incredibly lucky. We had gorgeous weather and awe-inspiring views.

The facilities couldn't be faulted. The washing up facilities were great, and the showers. Well! I didn't want to get out! Lovely hot water and plenty of room. Even a mop and bucket with a friendly sign for you to clean up after yourself, which is great, meaning it's left nice and clean all day long. There are also cubicles where you can go and have a strip wash and clean your teeth etc, meaning you don't have to do it in front of anyone!

There's tourist information available on the local area, which is great. The site is situated within easy walking distance of the village. It's a quiet little village with a pub, castle and church - and also a hill fort.
Thought the pub was very much a 'locals' pub as we were completely ignored at the bar to the extent we were about to walk out. You have Lydford Gorge within walking distance - but you might want to take the car, as once you've walked round there you might not have enough energy to walk back to the site! It's National Trust owned, and very beautiful - definitely worth a visit.

In summary, an excellent campsite. Staff and facilities fantastic. The area is gorgeous and I'll definitely be going back, but this time for longer and in order to explore Dartmoor!

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3721 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1100