Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petra8315 22 reviews from this member

Just got back from a week at this site and must agree with the other reviews, the site is very good with close access to beach ( about 10 minute walk and about 15 minutes to dog friendly beach).

Showers and toilet block is excellent and very clean, pitches are spacious and most are segregated by bushes and shrubs. We took a trip to st ives on the bus bus stop outside pub across road and it was £12 for two adults and dog return.

The pub is literally across the road and has a good selection of real ales and meals but we didn't eat there as it was allways full and rather cramped I think you have to book the day before to get a meal and we felt like we were allways in peoples way so ended up going outside.

It is only 10 mins from the a30 so is great for touring around the local area's.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a fabulous week in Cornwall staying at Gwithian Farm in July. It was our first visit to Cornwall and also therefore Gwithian.

The site was everything we could have asked for. Spacious pitches, perfect location for accessing the excellent beach (10 mins walk), plentiful free clean shower block and a shop on site selling both groceries and camping essentials. The shop is priced very competitively for both camping supplies and kids beach items.

The pitches are mostly marked out with planted borders and large enough for a large tent and car. There is a space in the centre of the site kept clear for kids ball games which is a good idea.

Locally, there are a number of places lovely to visit including Gwithian beach (10 min walk), St Ives (go by train from Lelant Saltings) where you can get a family ticket for £10 return. We also visited St Michael’s Mount (20 min drive), Lizard (40 mins), Minach Theatre (40 mins) and Lands End (40 mins). So all are accessible for a great day out.

The weather was fantastic all week for us (25 deg every day), so we had no problems with any drainage on site .

A nice touch is the Fish & Chip van which comes to site twice a week, as well as the hog roast night and Spanish Paella night. Literally you could visit this site and not need to cook!

Only minor niggle was the Wi-Fi which was intermittent at best, but it was nice go get away from work emails and facebook for a week!

Fantastic site and we hope to return next year, despite the 11hr drive from the North East!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Highguyuk 4 reviews from this member

We arrived at Gwithian Farm early evening, before the advertised deadline but when we arrived the reception had already closed and we needed to check-in at the 2nd office attached to the owners house. Check-in was easy enough although there was a little confusion as to which pitch we should settle on and a little time spent organising a Wi-Fi access code.

Initially we settled on grass pitch 10 which was a corner plot in the first half of the site, which was on a slight uphill slope to access. This was no issue on the first night, but we visited during the July 2012 wet week and after coming back to the pitch on the 2nd night it didn’t take much to start cutting up the grass and we moved to a hard standing pitch for the other 2 nights.

Having looked purely at the pictures and the map, we thought it would be a 10 minute brisk walk to get to the seafront. It isn’t, it’s a heavy going 15-20 minute to get to the top of the beach cliffs and from where we ended up we couldn’t see the way down to the beach – although I presume it is possible.

There is good access to plenty of other places from the site though include St Ives, Hayle etc. Use Lelant Saltings Park and Ride to get into St Aves if in a van/motorhome which is sign posted off the B3301. There is an Aldi/Lidl about 3/4 minutes away from the site back towards Hayle and a shop on site too, although the opening hours are minimal.

It is a large, busy site and you can tell that especially in the morning. I was lucky in arriving for the males showers just in the time to get the last one on both occasions, but my partner had to wait – although only a short amount of time. It is a site you would need to book in advance for rather than hoping to turn up on site, in the summer months anyway.

The Wi-Fi was great, one of the main reasons we wanted to stay on site. Occasionally, it took a bit of “jigging” so that the login screen would work but the speed was easily enough for emails/web surfing etc.

A mention also for Dover Service Station Garage on Turnpike Road nearby. They were recommended to use by the campsite, as on the way to the site we had an issue. Although they weren’t able to rectify the problem for us, purely because the part would have taken 3-4 days to order, but they were very helpful in identifying the issue.

We paid £20 a night in Early July, which was a fair price for all the facilities and quality of site. We would return if in the area again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mtooth 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second trip to Gwithian Farm. What an amazing holiday we had. We just love this site so much it felt like coming home as we approached it this year.

The site has this wonderful feel to it, I think there are about 130 pitches but because of the way the owners have designed the site with plants and pampas grass you can sit outside your tent and feel like you are in a much smaller site.

The fact that they have also allowed a large playing area right in the centre of the site for the children to play is fantastic and prevents lots of children playing around the tents.

The site is within walking distance of the most amazing beach and with the three cafes close by and the wonderful Red River pub you almost don't have to go anywhere, in fact our car hardly moved the whole two weeks we were there.

Last year we had the fish and chip van coming twice a year and the fresh fish van but this year they have added fresh danish and croissants three times a week, paella twice a week and they even had a pig roast one night so if you don't fancy cooking there are lots of alternatives.

The showers and toilets are immaculate and even in peak season I only every had to wait for a few minutes for a shower but most of the time there wasn't any queue, you just need to avoid the popular time of around 6pm.

I think one of my favourite sounds was laying in bed at night and hearing the waves crashing against the beach - very relaxing.

The only downside for me this year and its very minor, is that the wifi wasn't really working unless you were at reception. It wasn't a big deal but would have been handy to have.

Mike and Clair have done a fantastic job with the site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glen78 6 reviews from this member

I stayed at various campsites through July during a 3 week cycle trip. This was the best one I'd been to.

Very good attention to detail. Pitch was good size, I loved the fact each pitch had plants around the borders and it was very well maintained.

I didn't use all the facilities as just there for one night, but it looked good and included things like table tennis tables.

The area also seemed good, quite close to the sea and lovely location.

All in all I was very impressed by this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mafanwi 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Gwithian Farm, it is by far the best campsite we have ever stayed at. The weather was rubbish, wet and windy most of the time but there's lots to do in the local area which kept us entertained. The campsite is very well laid out with lots of natural planted screening. The pitch was good with electric hook up and free wifi. Although the wifi didn't always work, I was impressed that we were able to check the weather forecast from our tent. The site shop is small but sells all the essentials and there are supermarkets down the road in Hayle. The shower/ toilet block was clean and the water was always hot even at busy times. There are washing machines and tumble dryers, good washing up facilities and family bath and shower rooms. Several local food suppliers visit the site throughout the week, an excellent fish and chip van, an ice cream van, a chap selling fresh fish, a bakery van and spanish ladies selling authentic paella cooked on site which was amazing. The campsite owners give their cut of these extras to a local charity which I thought was a nice touch.

The local area is what really sold it for us, the beach at Gwithian is stunning, miles of golden sands and dunes and a great walk along the cliffs. We even saw seals basking on the rocks. I would recommend visits to St Michaels Mount, St Ives town via the park and ride train and Lands End. There are lots of beautiful beaches in the area but if you never leave Gwithian you wont be missing out. We will definitely be going back when the sun is shining!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kchilcott 1 review from this member

Just come back from a week at Gwithian Farm, we loved it so much we stayed extra night. Even though the weather was pretty rubbish we still loved it here and will definitely be coming back next year.

The campsite is right by the beach, beautiful walks & a friendly, relaxed site. We had a great welcome with a map and info about local cafes, bars & beach etc.

The visitors room had a huge amount of information about local attractions and every time we asked the owners / staff for advice everyone was very helpful. Shop small but adequte, shower/toilet block immaculate & the pitches large, divided by plants, very pretty.

Pub opposite worth a visit as are all the beach cafes, particularly Godrevy cafe. We also bought some lovely food from the farm shop 2 miles away. We particularly loved the local businesses who visit the site ie. Fish and chip van, fresh fish van and bakery.

Bus stops right outside the site and takes you into Hayle or St. Ives if you want to get out and about but to be honest we just enjoyed relaxing in Gwithian and Godrevy. Cannot recommend this site enough, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam2801 1 review from this member

A beautiful campsite, with really lovely planting in-between plots and a pretty outlook over fields and a quaint looking church.

The facilities are good with a huge toilet and shower block. I think the showers could be better as it took a long time to rinse my hair as not very powerful. They have a family bathroom with a bath which is great for kids and babies (need a bath mat though) and a family shower room which also is a fantastic idea.

The washing up area is clean and undercover although there was only one light bulb working so I struggled to wash up in the dark with a head torch.

We loved the fact that every day a different food option was available, from a bakery van on a few mornings, a fresh fish van which we bought the most gorgeous huge prawns from, a fish and chip van, paella night and burger van, also the ice cream van came around the site most nights.

The local areas are amazing, beaches fantastic and a short trek over farmers fields to get to the nearest beach.

The owners of the site were very helpful and friendly although there was one particular man working there who was very rude and constantly harassed us about what type of fuel we had on our BBQ and we were slightly worried about the speed he drove the lawn mower around the site when small children are playing.

We had a great holiday and weather was fantastic.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheFishesThree 3 reviews from this member

We endured the worst of the 'Fifty Year Storm' at this site in mid-June. What a great site! The local pub is opposite the front gate as is the bus stop for buses to Hayle and St Ives to the south and all stops to Newquay going north. The return fare for two adults to St Ives (plus dog, free) was £12 which we thought was reasonable given the parking fees everywhere you go.

The dunes and beaches are a short walk away and we loved the Sunset Cafe and surf shop. Local shops are a short drive away.

Not all pitches are segregated but the ones that are have planters that will mature nicely to act as windbreaks and give a little extra privacy. While we were there the grass was cut every day.

We found the staff very friendly and all the facilities were kept clean and smart, and having the food vans of various types visit the site was great. The only thing we can mark it down on is the lack of children's facilities, but as we don't have kids that's not a problem for us. Other than that the only other negative was inconsiderate dog owners. We'll definitely be going back, however our poor tent won't be!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rawdealad 2 reviews from this member

Superb site that catered for our every need.

Fantastic location for early morning surfing trips, just a short walk over the dunes reveals a stunning bay with a safe swimming conditions

Facilities were good and kept clean. Never a problem with accessibility which is pleasant.

Pubs and stylish beach font eateries within walking distance complete the package.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at a great site.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1504