Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glen78 6 reviews from this member

I stayed at various campsites through July during a 3 week cycle trip. This was the best one I'd been to.

Very good attention to detail. Pitch was good size, I loved the fact each pitch had plants around the borders and it was very well maintained.

I didn't use all the facilities as just there for one night, but it looked good and included things like table tennis tables.

The area also seemed good, quite close to the sea and lovely location.

All in all I was very impressed by this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mafanwi 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Gwithian Farm, it is by far the best campsite we have ever stayed at. The weather was rubbish, wet and windy most of the time but there's lots to do in the local area which kept us entertained. The campsite is very well laid out with lots of natural planted screening. The pitch was good with electric hook up and free wifi. Although the wifi didn't always work, I was impressed that we were able to check the weather forecast from our tent. The site shop is small but sells all the essentials and there are supermarkets down the road in Hayle. The shower/ toilet block was clean and the water was always hot even at busy times. There are washing machines and tumble dryers, good washing up facilities and family bath and shower rooms. Several local food suppliers visit the site throughout the week, an excellent fish and chip van, an ice cream van, a chap selling fresh fish, a bakery van and spanish ladies selling authentic paella cooked on site which was amazing. The campsite owners give their cut of these extras to a local charity which I thought was a nice touch.

The local area is what really sold it for us, the beach at Gwithian is stunning, miles of golden sands and dunes and a great walk along the cliffs. We even saw seals basking on the rocks. I would recommend visits to St Michaels Mount, St Ives town via the park and ride train and Lands End. There are lots of beautiful beaches in the area but if you never leave Gwithian you wont be missing out. We will definitely be going back when the sun is shining!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kchilcott 1 review from this member

Just come back from a week at Gwithian Farm, we loved it so much we stayed extra night. Even though the weather was pretty rubbish we still loved it here and will definitely be coming back next year.

The campsite is right by the beach, beautiful walks & a friendly, relaxed site. We had a great welcome with a map and info about local cafes, bars & beach etc.

The visitors room had a huge amount of information about local attractions and every time we asked the owners / staff for advice everyone was very helpful. Shop small but adequte, shower/toilet block immaculate & the pitches large, divided by plants, very pretty.

Pub opposite worth a visit as are all the beach cafes, particularly Godrevy cafe. We also bought some lovely food from the farm shop 2 miles away. We particularly loved the local businesses who visit the site ie. Fish and chip van, fresh fish van and bakery.

Bus stops right outside the site and takes you into Hayle or St. Ives if you want to get out and about but to be honest we just enjoyed relaxing in Gwithian and Godrevy. Cannot recommend this site enough, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam2801 1 review from this member

A beautiful campsite, with really lovely planting in-between plots and a pretty outlook over fields and a quaint looking church.

The facilities are good with a huge toilet and shower block. I think the showers could be better as it took a long time to rinse my hair as not very powerful. They have a family bathroom with a bath which is great for kids and babies (need a bath mat though) and a family shower room which also is a fantastic idea.

The washing up area is clean and undercover although there was only one light bulb working so I struggled to wash up in the dark with a head torch.

We loved the fact that every day a different food option was available, from a bakery van on a few mornings, a fresh fish van which we bought the most gorgeous huge prawns from, a fish and chip van, paella night and burger van, also the ice cream van came around the site most nights.

The local areas are amazing, beaches fantastic and a short trek over farmers fields to get to the nearest beach.

The owners of the site were very helpful and friendly although there was one particular man working there who was very rude and constantly harassed us about what type of fuel we had on our BBQ and we were slightly worried about the speed he drove the lawn mower around the site when small children are playing.

We had a great holiday and weather was fantastic.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheFishesThree 3 reviews from this member

We endured the worst of the 'Fifty Year Storm' at this site in mid-June. What a great site! The local pub is opposite the front gate as is the bus stop for buses to Hayle and St Ives to the south and all stops to Newquay going north. The return fare for two adults to St Ives (plus dog, free) was 12 which we thought was reasonable given the parking fees everywhere you go.

The dunes and beaches are a short walk away and we loved the Sunset Cafe and surf shop. Local shops are a short drive away.

Not all pitches are segregated but the ones that are have planters that will mature nicely to act as windbreaks and give a little extra privacy. While we were there the grass was cut every day.

We found the staff very friendly and all the facilities were kept clean and smart, and having the food vans of various types visit the site was great. The only thing we can mark it down on is the lack of children's facilities, but as we don't have kids that's not a problem for us. Other than that the only other negative was inconsiderate dog owners. We'll definitely be going back, however our poor tent won't be!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rawdealad 2 reviews from this member

Superb site that catered for our every need.

Fantastic location for early morning surfing trips, just a short walk over the dunes reveals a stunning bay with a safe swimming conditions

Facilities were good and kept clean. Never a problem with accessibility which is pleasant.

Pubs and stylish beach font eateries within walking distance complete the package.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at a great site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ASTOCKY 1 review from this member

Extremely well run site. Staff couldn't be more helpful.

All the facilities are kept clean and tidy.

Pitches are a very good size, nicely segregated from others so you don't feel encroached upon by neighbours like some other sites.

5 min walk to the Towans ( dunes ) which is dog heaven, if yours like ours loves chasing rabbits! A couple of miles of these abut the beach and oh, what a beach. Acres of sand when the tide is out, still plenty when it's in.

Dog friendly area basically to south of the site and daytime dog restricted to the north.

Very good food available 20 mins walk north along the beach at the NT car park. Also at the pub just across from the site entrance ( need to book for evenings ).

Excellent walks along coastal path with a two hourly bus service to drop you off at various start points along the paths route. Or pick you up if you don't quite make it!

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meads 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the 2nd week in June and were really impressed with the layout of the site. The owners have divided the pitches up with plants and tall grasses which also act as a windbreak. The pitches are very spacious.

We had a pitch at the top of the central field which was great for the kids to play on with the tents pitched around the edge of the field. The toilets, showers, etc are clean with plenty of hot water.

There is also a family shower room and a room with a bath in for children. The shop has all the usual supplies and weren't that overly priced. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The site is very peaceful and is only a 10 minute drive from the A30 which gives you good access to other parts of the area. There is a pub in the village which has good ale and food.

The beach is a 10 minute walk out of the back of the campsite. Will hopefully be back next year if I can stand the 8 hour drive again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raylotsyb 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site and all amenities are exceptional. One word of warning though, in its ad it states dog friendly beaches, unfortunately the beach immediately over the dunes is most definitely not and you have to walk some way along the dunes to reach a strip of beach that is dog friendly, a small point but one to consider. Saying that I would still recommend this site. I have been to this site on three occasions and look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garethhorton 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the June monsoon of 2012 and it blew 50mph on one evening! The site is immaculate, thoughtfully laid out and beautifully kept.

The pitches are generous with small fenced and horticultural windbreaks. Most are flat and upon leaving each one mowed short again so as to maintain its condition. A nice touch is that the middle area of around 100mx100m is left clear so that children can play away from tents, and those who'd rather avoid them.

The showers are top class, warm, powerful and spotless. I nice touch are the children's baths and family shower room.

The shop sells everything you need to tide you over, and the daily baker delivering fresh bread, croissants and pastries at great value (50p a croissant) means that breakfast can be a straightforward continental affair when the prospect of another fry up is too much!

The pub opposite sells great local beer and delicious food - it has a beer garden outside and a hog roast once a week.

Anyone unaware of the location should know that Gwithian Towans is (in my opinion) the finest beach in Europe - great surf, interesting rock pools and three miles of unbroken sand. Wonderful!

The staff are wonderful. I mentioned that the week we stayed was miserable weather, in fact our tent blew away - 50mph winds take no prisoners. The staff saved our gear, brought us restorative tea and coffee and found us a place to stay warm and dry for the night.

Its the best beach I know, and the finest campsite I could envisage!

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7772 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055