Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodovis Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodovis Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832968

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 21.03.14 - 31.10.14

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
              9/10 from 76 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 18 reviews from this member

A medium sized, five star site with a mixture of statics, tourers and tents. Pitches are very generous and most are hard-standing, with hook-up. There is an upper field close to the facilities and a quiet lower field.
Service facilities are very good and the toilet and shower block is modern and exceptionally clean. Shower cubicles are large with shelves and hooks. Hairdryers are a bit lame. There is a small shop selling basic provisions. Croissant and other fresh items can be ordered.
This site is expensive, £16 per pitch with hook-up, plus an additional £6 per person in the high season. However, there is a games room, outdoor play area and a very pleasant indoor heated swimming pool and sauna. The warden we saw was very jolly and welcoming.

The Chipshop Inn is a ten minute walk along a country road, but that is after the ten minute walk to the end of the site’s drive! We had an extremely good meal there, freshly cooked, on a Sunday evening.

The closest town is Tavistock with its grey stone buildings. The long stay car park is a pleasant five minute walk beside the river into the town. The Pannier Market is surrounded by small shops but most are closed on Monday. We had a very pleasant lunch, al fresco, at Donella’s in Paddons Row.
A visit to Creber’s Delicatessan is essential. Some of the original shop’s fixtures, dating from 1881, remain. The shelves are stacked with groceries; cheese, wine, chocolate and so much more.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: RICHARD.A 7 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site so didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were shown personally to our caravan by a member of staff who was very friendly and helpful as were all of the staff members who we met during the week. We were shown around the caravan and were shown where everything was. We were also shown how to work all the appliances in the caravan.
The caravan itself was clean and tidy and was very comfortable and there was even a small welcome pack with tea, coffee and a bag of fudge. The site was nice and peaceful and the toilet/shower blocks were always clean. There was a small play area and games room for the children and the swimming pool was a decent size with plenty of room for everyone to enjoy it.
There was information left in the caravan about the surrounding area places to eat and visit and the site is situated nicely so that you can get to either the east or west coast line without too much travelling. There is a small shop on site which although small has most things people require and even bakes fresh bread but you have to order the bread the day before. The Chipshop Inn which is near the site serves good food and is a nice place to go of an evening.
The only critism I have about the site is that there is only one toilet / shower block for the whole site and would probably benefit from have another one. Also with most of the pitches for caravans being hard standing there is only a small grassed area for tents which gets very soft and wet if it is raining. These however are my only criticism and the site on the whole is a very peaceful relaxing place to go and we would recommend this site to anyone looking for some where to spend some quiet time. Would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Centauri 1 review from this member

Not a huge amount that I can add to other reviews as they cover the vast majority of points I would like to make. I do however have one point to add concerning the customer service. I have yet to find a site that performs better in this respect. For example I mentioned, in passing, to one of the members of staff that we were having trouble with wasps congregating on the tent; Not only did they have an exterminator out that afternoon trying to locate the nest, they also supplied our neighbours and ourselves with tins of wasp killer at no cost to ourselves.

It is the little touches like this that make this park a cut above the rest.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pilotbloke 1 review from this member

A great site fully deserving it's stars, actually our kids thought it should have 7 - 2 extras for the approach drive. The site had all the facilities you could need for a simple but comfortable time 'under canvas'. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much bother for them. The atmosphere was really good, everyone had a smile on their faces and never passed by without a greeting, something you don't see on much bigger campsites. The sounds of nature were all around, the owls and nightjars filling in until the dawn chorus began. Our pitcjh on the Tamar View field was very sheltered and well-tended, a nice touch was the blocks to stand your disposable BBQ on to save the grass. As a base for exploring Woodovis is really good with the town of Tavistock and it's leisure facilities, cafes and great shops in easy reach. Dartmoor is another 10 minutes on from Tavi and is superb for walking in Summer. Morwellham Quay is minutes from Woodovis and well worth a visit, also check out Tree Surfers at Gunnislake. We'll be going back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Di Beer 1 review from this member

It's the extra little things that make Woodovis special.

You turn into a lovely, well kept, tree lined avenue, and there is a big 'Welcome' sign - written in various languages. Dogs are made welcome, and there in no excuse for anyone leaving their dog's waste lying around as there are ample 'poo bins' to be found.

This lovely site is so clean and tidy - the staff are so friendly and helpful.

When you arrive you are greeted with a friendly smile, and you are taken to your pitch and any questions that you may have are answered.

The toilet block is immaculate with amazing hand driers (wicked!). Little touches make it feel special - flowers in the toilet blocks, 'squeegies' in each individual shower so you can leave it as you would like to find it, nicely scented bags for sanitary waste (not the boring old plain bags hung on the back of a door). There are polite notices asking you to be as 'green' as possible - eg switching off the light if you are the last one to leave etc.

The play area blends into the rural setting, with a wooden climbing frame / activity centre, a wooden play house and . (the best bit!). The tractor!

There is also an ample playroom which also provides plenty of up to date info on local events / activities.

The shop / reception area stocks all the essentials and you can get freshly baked bread each morning - mmmmm. The smell. Delicious!

The indoor pool is spotlessly clean and great fun - you can sit and watch if you want as there are tables and chairs available. You can relax in the hot tub or sweat it out in the sauna - lovely!

The pitches are very well maintained and the layout is excellent. Water supplies are close at hand. Dish washing facilities are ample and, again, spotlessly clean.

The market town of Tavistock is only a short drive away - and what a lovely town it is - loads of character, some lovely little shops, and a great market.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Woodovis - there is a real personal feel about the place.

We love it so much, that we've just been for the third time in 12 months - I think that says it all!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrwats2003 2 reviews from this member

Hi just returned from a fantastic 10 days at woodovis park. The toilets are kept of an excellent standard cleaned very well by the wardens.

There is a grass area which contains a mini golf for the kids they have on sundays water walking at the pool and on tuesdays they have archery on the field at 6.30 cost £7.50.

A local pub called the Chipshop inn is quater of a mile from the the site entrance and does excellent home made food at a good price ,the home made steak and kidney pie is fab.

All in all a very well kept park pitches are level and are well drained and very spacious they also allow dogs and the pool contains a sauna and jaccuzi.

Well worth the visit we certainly will be returning in 2010

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469