Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodovis Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodovis Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832968

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 21.03.14 - 31.10.14

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
              9/10 from 78 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

I have wanted to try this site for ages now but was put off by the price - £36 for hardstanding, 2 adults and 2 children - it's the most we've paid we've paid for a pitch in this country. Finally decided to take the plunge, as weather forecast looked iffy and swimming pool would therefore be useful! Easy booking through website, and really friendly welcome when we arrived - very impressed!
Spacious pitch (Tamar View section). We didn't pay extra for super pitch and glad we hadn't as water and drainage off pitches easily accessible. Pool, jacuzi and sauna very clean, and long opening hours. We ordered croissants for the morning - nice touch, reminded us of trip to France in the summer.
Tavistock nearby, nice little town. Nice park there, plus cinema and swimming pool (didn't use). We walked up to The Chipshop Inn just after 6pm (open all day on Sat and serving food 6-9 in evenings), but bar not suitable for children (we looked in, no-one there to ask but only people there were drinking, and don't think they did bar food). Restaurant attached, but although tables laid up it was all in darkness, so we walked back and ate in the van. Should have checked with visitor info really (or asked member of staff) before going up there, but pleasant walk anyway.
As far as a return visit goes, not really sure as I'd find it hard to justify the cost.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tigang 11 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site situated just outside Tavistock, making it very handy for a quick shopping trip whether it be to the big supermarket, the inside market, many shops or just to get a takeaway. There is also an excellent pub with restaurant a short walk away.

Facilities are absolutely top notch; very modern and very clean. There are even little vases with flowers in on the wash basins! The staff are constantly fussing around keeping the toiler/shower block spotless, especially when it's rained and people are walking mud in. It's like they have a dirty floor alarm in the office!

There is a good games room, play area, putting green and an excellent pool with hot tub. On selected days a chap comes along to teach archery and to run 'water walking' sessions in the pool; the latter cost around £5 per go.

This site is not cheap by any means, but you can see what they've spent the money on and it's well worth it. The staff could not be more helpful and take things like wasps very seriously; on our trip they even had a nest exterminator out and issued nearby tents with insect spray!

The clientèle respected the tranquillity of the site and at bedtime it was practically silent! One family arrived near to us and there was a bit of a debate with the staff over one of their intended 'units'. An old work van with a makeshift bed rigged up inside! They were politely asked to invest in a tent, which they did from a nearby camping shop.

We met some really nice folks who camped next to us and did a spot of 'post boxing' with them in nearby Dartmoor and then explored Lydford Gorge. If you like exploring then this is an excellent base!

This site is not for those on a tight budget, but is a definite must if you want to guarantee a five-star camping experience.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 18 reviews from this member

A medium sized, five star site with a mixture of statics, tourers and tents. Pitches are very generous and most are hard-standing, with hook-up. There is an upper field close to the facilities and a quiet lower field.
Service facilities are very good and the toilet and shower block is modern and exceptionally clean. Shower cubicles are large with shelves and hooks. Hairdryers are a bit lame. There is a small shop selling basic provisions. Croissant and other fresh items can be ordered.
This site is expensive, £16 per pitch with hook-up, plus an additional £6 per person in the high season. However, there is a games room, outdoor play area and a very pleasant indoor heated swimming pool and sauna. The warden we saw was very jolly and welcoming.

The Chipshop Inn is a ten minute walk along a country road, but that is after the ten minute walk to the end of the site’s drive! We had an extremely good meal there, freshly cooked, on a Sunday evening.

The closest town is Tavistock with its grey stone buildings. The long stay car park is a pleasant five minute walk beside the river into the town. The Pannier Market is surrounded by small shops but most are closed on Monday. We had a very pleasant lunch, al fresco, at Donella’s in Paddons Row.
A visit to Creber’s Delicatessan is essential. Some of the original shop’s fixtures, dating from 1881, remain. The shelves are stacked with groceries; cheese, wine, chocolate and so much more.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: RICHARD.A 7 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site so didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were shown personally to our caravan by a member of staff who was very friendly and helpful as were all of the staff members who we met during the week. We were shown around the caravan and were shown where everything was. We were also shown how to work all the appliances in the caravan.
The caravan itself was clean and tidy and was very comfortable and there was even a small welcome pack with tea, coffee and a bag of fudge. The site was nice and peaceful and the toilet/shower blocks were always clean. There was a small play area and games room for the children and the swimming pool was a decent size with plenty of room for everyone to enjoy it.
There was information left in the caravan about the surrounding area places to eat and visit and the site is situated nicely so that you can get to either the east or west coast line without too much travelling. There is a small shop on site which although small has most things people require and even bakes fresh bread but you have to order the bread the day before. The Chipshop Inn which is near the site serves good food and is a nice place to go of an evening.
The only critism I have about the site is that there is only one toilet / shower block for the whole site and would probably benefit from have another one. Also with most of the pitches for caravans being hard standing there is only a small grassed area for tents which gets very soft and wet if it is raining. These however are my only criticism and the site on the whole is a very peaceful relaxing place to go and we would recommend this site to anyone looking for some where to spend some quiet time. Would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Centauri 1 review from this member

Not a huge amount that I can add to other reviews as they cover the vast majority of points I would like to make. I do however have one point to add concerning the customer service. I have yet to find a site that performs better in this respect. For example I mentioned, in passing, to one of the members of staff that we were having trouble with wasps congregating on the tent; Not only did they have an exterminator out that afternoon trying to locate the nest, they also supplied our neighbours and ourselves with tins of wasp killer at no cost to ourselves.

It is the little touches like this that make this park a cut above the rest.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pilotbloke 1 review from this member

A great site fully deserving it's stars, actually our kids thought it should have 7 - 2 extras for the approach drive. The site had all the facilities you could need for a simple but comfortable time 'under canvas'. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much bother for them. The atmosphere was really good, everyone had a smile on their faces and never passed by without a greeting, something you don't see on much bigger campsites. The sounds of nature were all around, the owls and nightjars filling in until the dawn chorus began. Our pitcjh on the Tamar View field was very sheltered and well-tended, a nice touch was the blocks to stand your disposable BBQ on to save the grass. As a base for exploring Woodovis is really good with the town of Tavistock and it's leisure facilities, cafes and great shops in easy reach. Dartmoor is another 10 minutes on from Tavi and is superb for walking in Summer. Morwellham Quay is minutes from Woodovis and well worth a visit, also check out Tree Surfers at Gunnislake. We'll be going back next year.

Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469