Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01980 620304

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m 10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 110 Reviews
              8/10 from 110 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

We returned to this site after an enjoyable visit at Easter last year (my review of April 2011 is still valid) this time we stayed for 5 nights and had some rough weather over the Jubilee weekend.

On arrival, the site was full and unfortunately, we’d had to change from our Campervan to our tent and this could have caused difficulty. It didn’t, the owners were very accommodating and we were set up well in a plot near to the toilet / shower block and shop. Both of these are most adequate for your needs, the shop carries all sorts of essentials and nick-nacks that you might find useful. The shower block was clean and there was plenty of hot water, though even with the best of efforts, in the atrocious weather the floors did become a little grubby at times.

There were some infrequent problems with EHU on site over the bank holiday, but the owners were out at all hours doing their very best to ensure that everyone had power – and I mean ALL hours, up to and past midnight. They could not have done more to try to keep everyone happy and despite the fact that we had power most of the time, they insisted on refunding the full cost of EHU to us for the full five nights.

Our children had a great time at this site and you know that they’re safe, there’s a small play area for them and they loved exploring. The location is quite sheltered and very quiet, with no passing traffic; nights are generally undisturbed (though one late night session of army manoeuvres across the nearby plain did wake me with the sound of Chinooks and machine gun fire).

The site is undoubtedly popular with both tourers and tents, we saw vans from Switzerland, Belgium, The Netherlands and Germany, as well as an American couple who were in a British hired tourer. Tents from various locations in the UK, as well as The Netherlands were also in place across most of the week.

Having explored to the south of the site last year, we went west this time. Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge are both worth a visit, whilst the coast along near Weston-Super-Mare offers good views. As a quiet site to base yourself out of for exploring, this site is brilliant, unpretentious, does what it says on the tin and is a bit of a hidden gem in many ways.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondial 9 reviews from this member

Arrived just before dark and greeted by the owners who showed us to our pitch and explained where all the facilities hook ups etc.

Very quite site set in lovely countryside but quite a distance from shops pubs etc.

Toilet block very clean lots of hot water and as there were only three on site plenty of room no waiting for a shower. Laundry room very welcome as this was our fifth day away, good value.

Should we ever be in the Salisbury area again we would certainly camp here again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo Smith 1 review from this member

A group of us had a weekend stay here in September 2011. The park was lovely and clean with helpful staff. The pitches are generous and we were able to stay together as a group.

The shop on site is small but stocks plenty. The shower and toilet block is a little dated but clean and the showers are free with no timer. Also there is a hairdryer free to use.

There is also a selection of books to borrow which is nice. We stayed there to visit Stonehenge and Avebury. If staying here it's best to have a car as it is tucked away in country lanes.

We didn't use any local pubs but The Red Lion in Avebury is a good pub that serves nice food.


A good satnav or map is needed to find site especially if arriving in the dark. There is a small play area for children.

Very pretty site on the whole.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PaulineK 11 reviews from this member

Having been let down by another site, we phoned this site on chance. I am so glad we did! We arrived at about 6. 00 pm on the Tuesday evening after Bank Holiday and were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our pitch and couldn't do enough for us.

The pitch was level, the facilities were excellent and the shop (which provided all the basics, not to mention a good selection of wine which the owner was happy to chill for us) was open until at least 10.00 pm.

On top of all of this, we paid less than we would have on the site that let us down.

We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CKcamper 6 reviews from this member

Location: Excellent; A great site, very peaceful just off a picturesque village and one of the very few in England where there really is no road noise at all.

In fact the only noise we had in the evening turned out to be us not realising quite how our voices were carrying, something that was gently pointed out to us in line with the camps noise rules – something we quite appreciated.

The only downside was that it did feel a little cramped and it is an hour walk to Stonehenge.

Facilities: Good; The facilities are what you expect from a campsite, there was everything you need, plentiful hot water and was clean enough, could do with more than 2 showers for the gents however.

Value: Excellent; A well priced site and a particularly good point was the on-site shop which stocked handy hardware, fresh produce and a range of drink all at prices you expect to find in a supermarket not a small campsite shop.

Service: Excellent; Top marks as the owner was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. When we foolishly forgot to pack the air bed he even generously offered to lend us one (fortunately Tesco wasn’t that far of a drive away so we managed to buy our own).

Overall: Excellent; I will definitely use this site again. The long drive from home is worth it for the peace and quiet alone!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alien8472 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week to see the sights, and were very impressed. We had a warm welcome, and were very happy with the facilities.

There are three toilets and two showers in the female block, and the showers were nice and hot. Taps don't stay on very long! There is also a hairdryer provided.

There is a little shop that is very reasonable and stocks useful items. There is also a hot water washing up area with two sinks and drainers, and a handy laundry room which we didn't need to make use of.

Pubs are not within walking distance, but we had a lovely steak at the Red Dragon in Avesbury, the most haunted pub in Wiltshire! The sights within driving distance are amazing.

I would recommend getting a 2 day ticket online for Longleat, as this is cheaper than a day ticket if you just turn up and buy it. Stonehenge is 5 mins away, and Cheddar gorge and caves worth a day trip (50 min drive).

Would recommend this campsite for the facilities and hospitality of the owners, and for the bacon rolls and tea you can order for breakfast!

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4327 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec