Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH   See Map
Tel: 01980 620304
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 111 Reviews
                8/10 from 111 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chet_thunder 5 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite. Very friendly staff, who aren't intrusive, but happy to help.

The site is a good size and spotlessly clean. There is a well stocked shop and all amenities are in good order.

The site also has free wifi ( many charge high rates ) The sites tariff are very reasonable, with minimal 'bolt on charges'.

I highly recommend Stonehenge Touring Park, and we are really looking forward to staying there again

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

We returned to this site after an enjoyable visit at Easter last year (my review of April 2011 is still valid) this time we stayed for 5 nights and had some rough weather over the Jubilee weekend.

On arrival, the site was full and unfortunately, we’d had to change from our Campervan to our tent and this could have caused difficulty. It didn’t, the owners were very accommodating and we were set up well in a plot near to the toilet / shower block and shop. Both of these are most adequate for your needs, the shop carries all sorts of essentials and nick-nacks that you might find useful. The shower block was clean and there was plenty of hot water, though even with the best of efforts, in the atrocious weather the floors did become a little grubby at times.

There were some infrequent problems with EHU on site over the bank holiday, but the owners were out at all hours doing their very best to ensure that everyone had power – and I mean ALL hours, up to and past midnight. They could not have done more to try to keep everyone happy and despite the fact that we had power most of the time, they insisted on refunding the full cost of EHU to us for the full five nights.

Our children had a great time at this site and you know that they’re safe, there’s a small play area for them and they loved exploring. The location is quite sheltered and very quiet, with no passing traffic; nights are generally undisturbed (though one late night session of army manoeuvres across the nearby plain did wake me with the sound of Chinooks and machine gun fire).

The site is undoubtedly popular with both tourers and tents, we saw vans from Switzerland, Belgium, The Netherlands and Germany, as well as an American couple who were in a British hired tourer. Tents from various locations in the UK, as well as The Netherlands were also in place across most of the week.

Having explored to the south of the site last year, we went west this time. Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge are both worth a visit, whilst the coast along near Weston-Super-Mare offers good views. As a quiet site to base yourself out of for exploring, this site is brilliant, unpretentious, does what it says on the tin and is a bit of a hidden gem in many ways.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondial 9 reviews from this member

Arrived just before dark and greeted by the owners who showed us to our pitch and explained where all the facilities hook ups etc.

Very quite site set in lovely countryside but quite a distance from shops pubs etc.

Toilet block very clean lots of hot water and as there were only three on site plenty of room no waiting for a shower. Laundry room very welcome as this was our fifth day away, good value.

Should we ever be in the Salisbury area again we would certainly camp here again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo Smith 1 review from this member

A group of us had a weekend stay here in September 2011. The park was lovely and clean with helpful staff. The pitches are generous and we were able to stay together as a group.

The shop on site is small but stocks plenty. The shower and toilet block is a little dated but clean and the showers are free with no timer. Also there is a hairdryer free to use.

There is also a selection of books to borrow which is nice. We stayed there to visit Stonehenge and Avebury. If staying here it's best to have a car as it is tucked away in country lanes.

We didn't use any local pubs but The Red Lion in Avebury is a good pub that serves nice food.


A good satnav or map is needed to find site especially if arriving in the dark. There is a small play area for children.

Very pretty site on the whole.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PaulineK 11 reviews from this member

Having been let down by another site, we phoned this site on chance. I am so glad we did! We arrived at about 6. 00 pm on the Tuesday evening after Bank Holiday and were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our pitch and couldn't do enough for us.

The pitch was level, the facilities were excellent and the shop (which provided all the basics, not to mention a good selection of wine which the owner was happy to chill for us) was open until at least 10.00 pm.

On top of all of this, we paid less than we would have on the site that let us down.

We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CKcamper 6 reviews from this member

Location: Excellent; A great site, very peaceful just off a picturesque village and one of the very few in England where there really is no road noise at all.

In fact the only noise we had in the evening turned out to be us not realising quite how our voices were carrying, something that was gently pointed out to us in line with the camps noise rules – something we quite appreciated.

The only downside was that it did feel a little cramped and it is an hour walk to Stonehenge.

Facilities: Good; The facilities are what you expect from a campsite, there was everything you need, plentiful hot water and was clean enough, could do with more than 2 showers for the gents however.

Value: Excellent; A well priced site and a particularly good point was the on-site shop which stocked handy hardware, fresh produce and a range of drink all at prices you expect to find in a supermarket not a small campsite shop.

Service: Excellent; Top marks as the owner was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. When we foolishly forgot to pack the air bed he even generously offered to lend us one (fortunately Tesco wasn’t that far of a drive away so we managed to buy our own).

Overall: Excellent; I will definitely use this site again. The long drive from home is worth it for the peace and quiet alone!

Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3966 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938