Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 111 reviews from this member

We had a two night stay over a busy weekend in August and had a really good relaxing time.

We picked the site based on the reviews and the fact it is adults only, which was a real plus for us. The site is very well maintained but keeps a rural charm. The facilities were good and kept clean; there is a new toilet block that really is hotel standard.

The setting is very nice with the mill stream and river on each side. For us it is the little things on a site that make the difference, the information hut was excellent, with numerous walks that could be done directly from the site and lots of driving routes too. We followed one of the walks for a nice 6 mile walk on the Saturday and on the Sunday as we left, took one of the driving routes; we enjoyed both and thought they were a nice touch.

The shop is site is well stocked with the essentials. There is also free Wi-Fi, which is a bit intermittent, but there if you need it.

The pub is close by and welcomes dogs. We ate in the pub on the Saturday evening and found the food to be average really, but the ale went down well. If you have a dog, it is worth booking as there are limited tables in the bar where they are allowed.

The site is definitely one to which we'll return and probably makes its way in to my top 5 favourite sites.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stoldol 12 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site. The wardens are very friendly and work hard to keep it extremely tidy.

The toilets and showers were spotless and even though it was busy you never had to wait.

There is a lovely space down by the weir to exercise the dog or just sit and watch the water. There are plenty of walks and maps available, but be warned the hills are very steep. It may just of been the time of year but there were a lot and I mean a lot of scruffy looking Pheasants around, so if your dog likes to chase your best to keep it on a lead. Our working Cocker isn't much use on a shoot so we didn't have a problem.

There is a nice pub in the town and the village of Winsford is worth a visit.

With it being adults only and having a 10 year old it would be difficult to return, but it was such a lovely site it would be worth the effort to try.

I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LynnGT 4 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite for a short weekend break, arriving on Thursday evening and leaving on Sunday morning.

The site was well signposted and easy to find, set in the beautiful Exe Valley, beside the river. We were welcomed with a cup of coffee and loads of information about the site.

We'd paid an extra 3 for a larger pitch - well worth it as the pitches are huge and the overall nighly charge for peak season is very reasonable. Our pitch was beside the millstream so there was a bit of a slope, but it was fairly easy to find somewhere level to pitch the tent.

The showers, loos and other facilities are excellent. We were about halfway down the site, so a fair walk to them, but by no means the farthest we've had to do.

The site itself is in a beautiful setting and very peaceful. There is some noise from the adjacent road, but so little traffic that this isn't a problem.

What I liked about this site was all the little extras - the information cabin contains printed drives or walks you can do from the site and there's a little herb garden from which you are welcome to take for cooking.

I would say is that this is a place for dog lovers. Whilst we were there, there were quite a lot staying. However, there was very little barking, people stuck to the rule to keep them on leads on the site (there's a lovely dog walk and exercise area at the bottom of the site) and we saw no dog mess at all. I can imagine that if you don't like dogs, just the number present might be a problem for you though.

All in all, we loved this site and will definitely be back to recharge our batteries in the near future!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heysey 9 reviews from this member

I sit here doing this review in my tent on the last day of my 5 days at Axe valley and what a week my wife and I have had

The pitch we had was number 28 nice easy ground to put pegs into and a good size we use a vango icarus 500 with horning and there is ample room to park the car next to the tent.

The showers and toilets are very clean just like the rest of the site, this a site for adults only and the only sound you hear is the sounds of the country, there's a little shop on site and the local meat pie's are to die for. The local pub is 100 yards or so down the road they do very good food if you don't fancy cooking.

There is an information board on site with lots of good local info and this is a great site to use as a base if you wish to get out and about around Exmoor. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gillgoggs 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. We spent 4 nights here and we didn't want to leave. We had EHU and pitched at side of river; this was wonderful. Shower facilities were very clean with lots of hot water. There is also a lovely new toilet block that has 3 additional toilet cubicles, one of which has a sink in it for greater privacy (I like to brush my teeth in private and this was an excellent facility!) Great base for walkers and cyclists. We toured all around the coastline so was ideal for this. So many pretty places to visit in this area. Wash up area excellent. It has a washing machine and tumble drier and also a microwave. Very dog friendly too. Great walk beside the river up to the weir. I could go on and on about this site it was so good. We can't wait to return, loved it so much.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SAS59 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 might stay at the Exe Valley Caravan Site.

We first went two years ago and since then the toilet and shower block have been updated and are very nice.

This site is immaculate and very beautiful with a river along one side and a mill stream the other.

If you have dogs there is an excellent dog run down to the weir which have many birds flying around.

The local information provided is good with details of walks and drives.

The local pub provides very good meals.

The wardens are extremely helpful as is the owner.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveandjac 1 review from this member

The site is set in an idyllic setting. Excellent facilities on site. The wardens made us very welcome with a coffee on arrival. Local pub has a good selection of food and drink at reasonable prices, very friendly service. Perfectly placed for walking through exmoor, plus several beaches a short drive away, all dog friendly. With the enchanting dog walk area on site(not just for dogs), I'd have to say this is the best campsite I have been to as a dog owner. Understandably with the mill house, leat and stream it is not a place for children.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aawallet 4 reviews from this member

This is a hidden gem of a site located in the beautiful Exe Valley.

The site is very well maintained with generous pitches, mainly grass but some hard standing which we were on. The toilet block has been completely refurbished this year to an extremely high standard, would put many hotels to shame. There is an on site shop run by the very helpful and friendly wardens

The site has the river Exe on one side, which my dogs loved playing in, and on the other side is the mill stream which was used to power the old mill wheel. If you ask, the owner will show you around the old mill which s very interesting.

The site is set in the heart of Exmoor with all of the attractions that has to offer.

There is a pub within walking distance which does excellent food as well as drink.

This site is highly recommended

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SandV 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Had a stunning 6 night break and decided to extend the trip due to excellent location and stunning weather

This site is tucked away along the A396 which is a little winding and narrow at points on the way. But once you get there its all worthwhile. A great welcome by excellent staff. The site is beautifully located by the river exe one side and the mill stream the other. We stopped on a hard standing pitch which is at the far end of the site on the mill stream side. I bit of a trek to the shower blocks but didn't bother us. The sun was on our pitch from 11am until mid afternoon.

Facilities were fine. Although on arrival seeing only two showers for the male side I expect queues although this was not the case and had plenty of hot water. The new toilet block consists of a urinal and two loo's for the gents. Very swish!

I must say the dog walk at the end was exceptional. My dog has never been so pleased to see a large open grassed with the river running down the side. At the far end was the weir where the water was crystal clear. My dog enjoyed hours of endless dips in the river to cool off. She would say its the best dog walk she's seen ever!

Close to Minehead ( 10 miles) with all amenities and plenty of sights to see in the area.

I would highly recommend the site if you wish to relax and unwind and enjoy the beauty of Somerset and North Devon

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juney18 1 review from this member

Fantastic site lovely and clean. Very peaceful and the sound of the river and the mill stream sends you to sleep quick. The couple who run the place are friendly and very helpful. The toilet facilities and washing up areas are well maintained and kept clean. Lovely walks around the park esp at end of park where the dogs can go in the stream and you can even paddle. Good idea of supplying free tv extension leads and free wifi. Good food in pub opposite love the place mats. Good value for money.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4705 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0981
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window