Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gillgoggs 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. We spent 4 nights here and we didn't want to leave. We had EHU and pitched at side of river; this was wonderful. Shower facilities were very clean with lots of hot water. There is also a lovely new toilet block that has 3 additional toilet cubicles, one of which has a sink in it for greater privacy (I like to brush my teeth in private and this was an excellent facility!) Great base for walkers and cyclists. We toured all around the coastline so was ideal for this. So many pretty places to visit in this area. Wash up area excellent. It has a washing machine and tumble drier and also a microwave. Very dog friendly too. Great walk beside the river up to the weir. I could go on and on about this site it was so good. We can't wait to return, loved it so much.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SAS59 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 might stay at the Exe Valley Caravan Site.

We first went two years ago and since then the toilet and shower block have been updated and are very nice.

This site is immaculate and very beautiful with a river along one side and a mill stream the other.

If you have dogs there is an excellent dog run down to the weir which have many birds flying around.

The local information provided is good with details of walks and drives.

The local pub provides very good meals.

The wardens are extremely helpful as is the owner.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveandjac 1 review from this member

The site is set in an idyllic setting. Excellent facilities on site. The wardens made us very welcome with a coffee on arrival. Local pub has a good selection of food and drink at reasonable prices, very friendly service. Perfectly placed for walking through exmoor, plus several beaches a short drive away, all dog friendly. With the enchanting dog walk area on site(not just for dogs), I'd have to say this is the best campsite I have been to as a dog owner. Understandably with the mill house, leat and stream it is not a place for children.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aawallet 4 reviews from this member

This is a hidden gem of a site located in the beautiful Exe Valley.

The site is very well maintained with generous pitches, mainly grass but some hard standing which we were on. The toilet block has been completely refurbished this year to an extremely high standard, would put many hotels to shame. There is an on site shop run by the very helpful and friendly wardens

The site has the river Exe on one side, which my dogs loved playing in, and on the other side is the mill stream which was used to power the old mill wheel. If you ask, the owner will show you around the old mill which s very interesting.

The site is set in the heart of Exmoor with all of the attractions that has to offer.

There is a pub within walking distance which does excellent food as well as drink.

This site is highly recommended

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SandV 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Had a stunning 6 night break and decided to extend the trip due to excellent location and stunning weather

This site is tucked away along the A396 which is a little winding and narrow at points on the way. But once you get there its all worthwhile. A great welcome by excellent staff. The site is beautifully located by the river exe one side and the mill stream the other. We stopped on a hard standing pitch which is at the far end of the site on the mill stream side. I bit of a trek to the shower blocks but didn't bother us. The sun was on our pitch from 11am until mid afternoon.

Facilities were fine. Although on arrival seeing only two showers for the male side I expect queues although this was not the case and had plenty of hot water. The new toilet block consists of a urinal and two loo's for the gents. Very swish!

I must say the dog walk at the end was exceptional. My dog has never been so pleased to see a large open grassed with the river running down the side. At the far end was the weir where the water was crystal clear. My dog enjoyed hours of endless dips in the river to cool off. She would say its the best dog walk she's seen ever!

Close to Minehead ( 10 miles) with all amenities and plenty of sights to see in the area.

I would highly recommend the site if you wish to relax and unwind and enjoy the beauty of Somerset and North Devon

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juney18 1 review from this member

Fantastic site lovely and clean. Very peaceful and the sound of the river and the mill stream sends you to sleep quick. The couple who run the place are friendly and very helpful. The toilet facilities and washing up areas are well maintained and kept clean. Lovely walks around the park esp at end of park where the dogs can go in the stream and you can even paddle. Good idea of supplying free tv extension leads and free wifi. Good food in pub opposite love the place mats. Good value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Virgo 1 review from this member

We spent a relaxing week camping on this site and have to say it is perfect for campers unaccompanied by children who want a quiet site, good walks and good facilities.

The setting is lovely; in a valley with the river on one side and a mill stream on the other and a family of running ducks, wooden bridge and flowers everywhere.

The gravel road down the centre of the site ensures no mud when it rains and there are some hard standing areas at the bottom. Plenty of room to pitch, most have electrical hookup available, lots of drinking water stand pipes plus waste water disposal. The pitches are all pretty flat, the ones on the mill stream side have a rise towards the back but with so much space you can position your unit forward to be comfortable.

You can hear a bit of traffic noise from the road but its never really busy and is generally quiet at night. This was not a problem at all.

The wardens were fantastic; a cup of coffee offered on arrival, always on hand to ask questions/give help as well as staffing the shop.

Main shower block is excellent. An older building with one loo and 3 powerful showers for the girls (I think there are 2 for the boys). Lots of hot (free) water. There is a room for pot wash, veg prep and laundry. A washing machine and tumble dryer, microwave, kettle, iron and ironing board are also here. A separate recently fitted out toilet block is also close by and reminded us of airport toilets, very smart indeed. There is a site shop for the basics, a local info shed and a free wifi cabin.

The owners welcome campers to view the mill working within their home on Sunday mornings, unmissable opportunity to meet them and to see this ancient mill actually working for 45 minutes or so.

For campers with dogs, there is a dog walk at the far end of the site running alongside the river to a weir where the mill stream starts. A must for all campers, not just dog owners.

The pub at the end of the road is a typical country pub, log fires, oak beams and a cosy atmosphere. The food was good and reasonably priced. A welcome retreat at the end of a full day.

They have thought of everything, I have never visited a better organised site and would recommend it to everyone.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wunny 2 reviews from this member

Perfect - sums up this site for us.

A warm welcome and a free cuppa on arrival is a nice touch! Thank you very much.

We're tent campers so the flatter side of the site, by the Exe was best suited for us.

Showers are perfectly adequate. Clean, & do the job they are intended to do.

Nice to have a microwave oven available for those who do not have fully equipped kitchens with them.

Not all mobiles have reception, although Orange/ T Mobile does, but free site WiFi and good coverage with BT WiFi also, means that you can stay in touch, one way or another.

It has a nice walk up to the Mill Stream weir and as it is also the dog walk, you get to meet people.

On Sunday mornings, the Mill House is open for a free guided tour. Very interesting!

The Badgers Holt, just a hundred yards or so up the road, serves good food and beer, so well worth a visit. Check the opening times though, to avoid disappointment.

And best of all - No children! So no balls, or out of control bicycles bouncing off your unit.

With 7 children and 11 grand children, we really do appreciate the peace and relative quite of this site. It's never quiet in the country though, as the dawn chorus is ever present.

Bliss!

We've booked again ;o))

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slapheadgeoff 8 reviews from this member

Peace and quiet are the first things that hit you at this easily found, beautiful site set in the deep Exe valley with the river running down one side of the large pitches and a mill leat down the other.

A warm welcome and a cup of tea are offered by the friendly camp wardens and they bent over backwards to be helpful. The whole campsite is very flat with very little levelling needed.

The showers and toilets were exceptional and the chemical disposal site even had soap and towels which was a nice touch.

I use an Orange mobile phone and had good reception, although some mobiles can't get any reception at all.

We are dog walkers and found many routes in the excellent information hut ( a small donation tin helps to pay for this handy stuff), but beware, some of the walks are for mountaineers !The walks use quite a lot of farmland and at this time of year we had to keep the dogs on a short lead because the sheep with lambs panic and run like crazy and the cows with calves seem very defensive and quite happy to confront the dogs, even when we were on the other side of a fence! So you must remember that you are in their environment.

We walked on Dunster beach as well and found this large with plenty of sand at low tide.

The Bagers Holt pub is a very short walk from the site with a friendly welcome and some good beers. We also went the couple of miles to Winsford and the Royal Oak where dogs are also welcome and the food was top quality.

Television is on a communal aerial and only analogue but it gives you the four main channels and is enough to keep you in touch with the world if you need to !

A five star site, and I will certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daisyted 4 reviews from this member

We booked to stay two nights after being recommended the site, we turned up all excited for our short break away, I was disappointed with the first impressions of the site. Two rows of pitches with no segregation everyone pitched just how they wanted to. We opted for pitch number fourteen that backed on to the Mill stream, but it was not the babbling of the stream we could hear but the noise of the passing traffic. In the morning we both showered and again not happy very small showers with shared drainage! We decided not to stay for the second night that we had paid for and moved on. We would not return to this site, but I am sure it fits the bill for some.

Management response: Very disappointed to have a dissatisfied camper. This is in contrast to the other reviews, and the compliments we receive daily.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938