Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
              8/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pammosley 4 reviews from this member

We had a very enjoyable couple of nights at Gibraltar Farm. We arrived & found ourselves a pitch as instructed by the owner as she would not be around.

We set camp in what looks like a tent only field. Plenty of space to pitch Facilities are excellent. Local shop up the road in case you`ve forgotten anything. Lots of families there & kids enjoyed running around playing in the woods. The site settled down as night came.

12 for a 5 berth tent per night, good value.

The area is fantastic for walkers & wildlife. I can recommend the coast path up to Arnside & the walk back over Arnside Knott & the woods back to Silverdale, Great walks the other direction to Leighton Moss salt marsh hides.

We look forward to returning one day.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skjm 1 review from this member

This campsite is lovely, me and my family always come here. We've been coming to this campsite for around 6/7 years now and we loved it before the toilets had been renovated. Although they were quite dirty and uncomfortable to use the people who worked here made it worth while coming back they are all lovely! Now with the toilets all done up its a bonus. We stayed in November and were the only tents there and the man who owns the campsite offered us to come up to his tent/caravan and get some warm food as it was freezing, can't wait to go back in may!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dizzycamper 3 reviews from this member

Visited site for last 7 years and at last a new toilet block, lovely and big but nowhere to hang towels/shampoos in showers. Site is kept clean and it has the most helpful warden in situ.

We were shocked at how many static pitches have been installed, not really a touring site anymore!

We always enjoyed sitting out round our chimenea at night but these have now been stopped and you get the feeling you need to be in your caravan for 11pm.

I believe it is under new management, bringing new rates - 20 per night for caravan plus now pay for dog.

Used to be great atmosphere but last weekend site in darkness at 11 pm, We always looked forward to visiting but last weekend we were glad to be home

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campmc 1 review from this member

First visit to Gibraltar Farm and we absolutely loved it. The entrance is, as someone else has commented, a bit unsightly but once past this the site is very nicely laid out and the facilities are brilliant. The one and only gripe I have is the hand dryers in the shower/toilet facilities are very weak and two dryers are not enough.

The woods are a brilliant play area for older children and the tree mound in the middle of the tent field is a lovely playing/meeting area for younger ones (6+). We never saw our children as they made so many friends they never once uttered those dreaded words 'I'm bored'.

We would say to avoid the bottom end of the field towards the woods for pitching as, if it does rain, it all puddles there (as we found out) and it does seem to stay in the shade for most of the day.

We've all agreed it's been the best camp site we've been to yet!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jipph1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at gibraltar farm many times one of the best sites in the area very reasonably priced always kept clean and well looked after

There has been a new toilet block built this year absolutely immaculate must have cost a bomb pity they didn't spend a couple of quid designing it.

In the showers no were to hang your clothes or your shower gel. When you have used the loo you need to walk round about 30 feet to the nearest sink to wash your hands.

To get to the washing up area you need to walk right next to the chemical waste disposal, not pleasant.

Just teething probs, otherwise a fantastic site

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleygsl 1 review from this member

Niggles- No sign to secluded beach (found by walking passed toilet block & through pretty wood)

No local information leaflets available.

Warden seldom on site - visible contact number required.

Large waste bins full to the brim.

Laundry room permanently locked

Credit/Debit card not taken

Soap dispensers in Toilet block not refilled or waste emptied.

POSITIVES

Lovely well maintained site (apart from niggles) overlooking Morecambe Bay.

Friendly staff, when around.

Good sized modern toilet block, hot free showers. Family cubicles available.

Choice of open field or under trees pitches, many with electric hook up.

Don't worry about the state of the drive down into the site, just take it easy!

OFF SITE

Wolf House Gallery & Tea House opposite entrance, Lovely cakes!

RSPB Leighton Moss 5/10 mins drive from site well worth a visit. Serving delicious food.

Plenty of wooded and beach walks in glorious countryside.

Definitely recommend this site. It was lovely & quite whilst we were there, but then the schools were open!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan nan 1 review from this member

Gibraltar farm is a lovely caravan site, it now has a new shower/toilet block got plenty of showers, sinks and toilets. The views over the bay are amazing, also the walks through the woods, it is a working farm and its really nice to see the animals, there are even chickens wondering around the camp site. The owners and stewards are so friendly and helpful. However I was surprised that the price had gone up to 17 a night, plus you now have to pay for an awning at 3 a night, then 1 a night per dog, thought this was a bit steep. They do an over 55's rate Sunday to Thursday excluding school holidays at 11 per night.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobsbabes 15 reviews from this member

Gibraltar Farm has fantastic views and a lovely clean toilet block. The beach is stony with no sand but the children enjoyed it lots of rock climbing for the adventurous

Grey waste can be emptied against the wall not sure whether it was just in the one spot or all along the wall !

The route in and out is awful full of pot holes a 180 degree turn followed by a 90 degree turn on a steep incline (even our 2. 3 ton rear wheel drive car wheel spun on the way up) which with a 42ft unit was a tad dicey !

Its a working farm and smells like a working farm !

Would we go here again No soley due to the entrance

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bwfcdave1 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a one night stay at Gibraltar Farm. Chose it as a good first try with our new (well it is to me even if it was built in 1990!) van.

Been here before camping and in terms of location and management it's always been first class. The one thing it did fall down on previously was facilities and these have now been massively improved with a big new toilet and shower block (being completed the day we arrived)which is great.

Lots of work still being done on a couple of the adjacent fields so looks like it may get bigger as well.

And still only 12 a unit a night - but will this last with the new facilities?, if it does then this has got to be the best value in the North West!

Excellent

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

Site with excellent views to the west over Morecambe Bay.

The entrance through a car park of a kiosk selling home made ice cream can be congested and care needs to be taken with a caravan on the final steep winding downhill approach.

The approach would benefit from having the potholes filled in.

1) The site has a large open area for tents etc. Without the requirements of electricity. The tent campsite, at weekends/school holidays, is full of families with excitable children who play ballgames anywhere and tend to scream and shout a good deal.

2) About 25 seasonal caravan pitches which after the school holidays seemed mostly empty.

3) About 10 touring pitches with electric hookup and good see view, beware good view also means awnings will be vulnerable to high winds

The 2&3 above are generally in a separate field to the tents.

The toilet block is old but kept very clean. The owners said that the toilet block was to be rebuilt this winter so as to have twice the facilities.

We suffered several days of gale force winds and watched a number of awnings/tents flattened. After two nights we took our all year awning down as it was becoming difficult to keep the pegs secure in what's is essentially a very sandy soil covered by a layer of crushed stone.

Our storm pegs 30cm * 1cm diameter were only just holding on the storm straps and on the windward side. During this period all but one tent camper packed up and left.

With improvements in the toilet block the site in reasonable weather is an excellent site for all families. I would imagine that during strong winds tent camping may be less desirable.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977