Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
              9/10 from 189 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J Ward 1 review from this member

Lovely site, we visited in August 2011, and apart from mixed weather had a good holiday.

The tents were a little more packed together than sites we had previously visited, but the facilities were very good.

The toilets and shower block were very clean and I never once had to wait for a shower. The playgrounds were excellent too as there was a small park and a bit of an adventure playground in a small wooded area with a zip wire.

The first night we ate at the pub on site and had a very good value meal, there was also entertainment above the pub which we used once to see a group that too was good.

The shop was well stocked and the staff very good and helpful. It was a couple of miles away from Dawlish and a very nice pub/restaurant called the Smugglers Inn also within a couple of minutes drive.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Onthevergeof 5 reviews from this member

Me, my partner and our four children spent a week here. Great field layout and well maintained pitches. Close to toilet block which were plentiful and clean.

Washing up facilities excellent. Pool was used by the kids although not always heated! Site shop was reasonable priced. Woodland walks in Dawlish and scenery is fantastic.

BBQ next to pool somedays and clubhouse (which was quite loud in evenings - not for us I'm afraid).

Staff in buggies directed us to our pitch. Chip shop on site as well as laundry facilities. Little arcade room for kids. Very busy - no sooner had someone left, someone else pulled on.

Babbacombe Model Village well worth a visit and had many trips to Teignmouth pier (2p machines!)

Would visit again and recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harryandnel 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful campsite, very clean and well maintained!

This was our third visit to Cofton and each time it gets better, really is the best place we've camped by far.

Kids kept entertained in day with gloriously clean swimming pool and choice of play parks and at night by a good variety of child centred entertainment.

Toilets and showers are plentiful and cleaned regularly.

Can't fault the location, the site or the facilities. Don't hesitate to go especially with children, you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jellybrain 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great week at Cofton. The site is huge, but very well organised. Only had to wait for about 10 mins to check-in, and once done so, a member of the 'ground staff' show you some pitches to choose from and take you there to show you, which is a great service, and the guy who we had was very helpful and asked us whether we wanted to be nearer the pool/playground or in a quieter spot. You're given a sticker for your car windscreen (to ensure there are no 'unauthorised' cars entering the site, which is good for security.

Facilities: There are ample shower/toilet facilities which are free which is a bonus, and the hot water never runs out. Same goes for the washing pots facilities - again plenty of sinks (never had to queue). The shop stocks everything and more that you'd need on a campsite, however also there is a Sainsbury's 2 minutes drive away. The Chippy takeaway is great, although we had to queue for over 30 mins on the Sat. Night, so be mindful of busy times. The swimming pool is nice and big, with a lifeguard always on duty. They do a great job of keeping it clean. We didn't use the pub as that's not our thing with 2 young children, however it did seem small for the number of people on site.

Dawlish (the closest town/beach) is lovely, with lots of little shops, an amusement arcade, and a beach.

Overall, we would return, as we had a great time.

Only improvement we would suggest is to make the 2 little lanes just by the main playground one way (ie. Only go up the left lane and only come down the right lane). With the amount of kids on scooters and bikes whizzing around, it's difficult to watch for them and oncoming cars too.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cinzano_chick 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from our first time at Cofton, brilliant site with so much to do, staff very friendly and helpful (especially when an hour after arriving our little 19 month old decided to go walkabout, was found in someone else's car, all staff were alerted and on the lookout)Everything was always clean and tidy.

Camped on the ten acre field and newly refurbished shower block opened on the day we arrived. Will be even better once the family bathroom is finished (although not far to walk to the current family bathroom)

All the pitches were level and really good size, even for our large footprint Sahara6.

We didn't try the Swan Pub as I had tonsillitis, but the entertainment sounded brilliant and all went quiet at 11pm!

My boys (4 and 19 months) loved the playground and the donkeys. I could even let them go to the park by themselves as we could see perfectly from our tent. The weather was so hot the pool was packed everyday but still plenty of room for everyone.

Chippy on site was brilliant and even did Jacket Potatoes.

My only criticism/suggestion would be to put some benches next to the football field as the teenagers took to sitting on the bank (right next to our tent)

Would highly recommend to anyone, will definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nursecrystaltip 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends with children. This is a lovely site and I would highly recommend it. We stayed on site for the whole weekend.

The swimming pool is lovely and clean. The children's play area in the woods was a real hit with the children.

Tip: If you want to stay on your pitch they only charge £6 to allow you to stay till 6pm (great if you're just staying for a weekend or want to miss the traffic). Alternatively, you can park up after you've packed up and use the facilities till late :-)

Great park in a great location.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gsullivan 5 reviews from this member

Have visited this site since the 1970's as a young child, and still do so with my own children.

Just gets better and better.

In my opinion, probably the best site around.

Excellent in all areas, accommodation, pitches, pub, pool, shop, take-away, fishing lakes, walks etc, etc, etc.

Lovely walk to Cockwood Harbour, pubs to visit along the way.

Very well located for local areas of interest and attractions.

Ferry to Exmouth at nearby Starcross is a great day out, and Dawlish is a lovely place to visit.

Dawlish Warren and its beach / amusements are close to.

You won't be disappointed with this excellent, first-class site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NMGIBBS 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to Cofton and we were not disappointed. The site is very big and quite busy, but we were able to choose where we wanted to park.

The site is very clean and tidy and was not noisy at all. Well maybe from my nearly two year old shouting 'hello' to everyone that walked past!

The toilets/shower block was also very clean.

Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble.

The take away was great and very popular.

Great location, not too far from Torquay or Paignton. Trago Mills in Newton Abbott is a must as you can find so many bargains!

We will definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Familyivory 2 reviews from this member

We use this place at least once most years and have done so for the last 10 or 11.

Quite simply this is our favourite place to holiday and we will continue to do so as long as we camp.

Good large pitches which are easily accessed. Superb facilities - showers and toilets are excellent and kept scrupulously clean - certainly during the busy seasons. The staff are never anything but friendly be it on the phone or in person.

There is a new Sainsbury's nearby which is most useful although the on site shop is well stocked with groceries as well as books, papers etc.

The pool is the best and it was nice to see this year an improved wash facility in one of the fields as well as a much improved children's park area.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper/glenn1975 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at cofton for 4 nights in June and would say this is the best campsite we have stayed at, the staff are all friendly and will do anything to help you, it is a very clean and tidy site and the shower and toilet blocks are spotless there is also Radio Devon being played in the shower/toilet blocks which we all thought was a great idea. The entertainment was good something every night from bands to theme nights, kids loved the play areas, donkeys, swimming pool, fishing lakes and the bouncy castle assault course they were never board!

The cofton chippy was good value and served lovely food. The on site shop was reasonably priced and well stocked. It was always quiet after 11:00pm and I did notice security patrols at night. We walked to Dawlish Warren though the woodland walk, this is a lovely place to go, we went to dawlish town and loved teigmouth pier and town. Cant wait to return someday.

Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547