Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kenbongo 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site after a couple of friends with campervans had raved about it. I know exactly why they did, it truly lives up to the name.

The owners are really nice, friendly and helpful. We are big fans of small, tranquil sites and having heard there was a bar on site, we wondered what it would be like.

The bar is a converted barn with some of the nicest old touches, and a fantastic open fire. They serve local brewed beer which is very nice, the whole place is quiet and relaxing.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best but we could still see that on clear days the views would be fantastic.

The owners really care about the environment and are regularly planting new trees and doing all the can for the wildlife etc in the area.

The shower and toilet facilities are spotless, and so are the washing up areas, also a nice touch particularly after a long day walking is the bathrooms (with yes. A bath!).

Will return without a shadow of a doubt, thoroughly recommended!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: THERESA KERR 10 reviews from this member

This site is situated approximately seven miles from Junction 40 off the M6. You then turn off onto a narrow road which has a few passing places and the site is located high up with fantastic views of Ullswater.

The site has a small shop/reception which is well stocked.

The toilets are new and modern and I have to say that they are the best showers/toilets I have used and even better than the Caravan Club standard, which is saying something!

The owners have converted one of the farm buildings into a rather cosy pub, which houses a pool table, children's play area. When we were there, the log fire was on in the evening which just added to the ambience. They do not do food but there is a Hotel at the bottom of the road as you turn in and we sampled their food which is very good. This hotel has a really good atmosphere and was very busy when we were there.

The owners on site are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The drive in and some of the pitches are quite steep which gave us a bit of a challenge as we tow a smart car on a trailer. The owner was passing and offered to assist.

Should mention the other service they provide is a fridge/freezer and kettle under an enclosed farm building which was used by the campers on site.

All in all a great site which we would highly recommend and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Erri 2 reviews from this member

There was nothing about this site that justified or explained the extortionate fees. We stayed for a Sunday and Monday night and were charged 30. 00 per night.

The toilets were clean but only as clean as most over sites. Same with the showers. The site wasn't full but the toilets and showers still felt very busy.

We will not return to The Quiet Site site as there are plenty of other friendlier, more realistically priced sites in the area with better views then this one.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Upsydaisy 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site, facilities good, pub lovely and well needed on a snowy cold night having a glass of red sat by a real fire.

10 amp not enough but was told this is due to be upgraded.

There were 2 bathrooms with baths which was fantastic when you have kids. Leave them in the warm bath whilst you get dressed then sort the kids out.

Loads of walks but you need a car for supplies.

Wardens friendly. Great for dogs. Kids playground probably needs some swings or something more for younger kids.

Electric kept tripping whilst we were there

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gina1972 5 reviews from this member

My partner, I and our dog have just returned from this site, having stayed there for the weekend. We arrived to a nice welcome and were shown where our pitch was immediately and all of the facilities. We were a bit concerned that the tourers seemed to be close together and that we wouldn't get our awning put up and because of the graveled pitch, but when we got settled, there was plenty of room and we decided not to put up the awning anyway as the weather was nice.

We were given a hand drawn sheet of A4, detailing four walks from the site, ranging from 2 to 8 miles. However, we didn't do any of them as we ventured further afield over the weekend.

The showers etc are immaculate and free and there's a bath on site! Which my partner enjoyed, he said the water was nice and hot but that the bath wasn't that large (and he isn't a tall man).

There's a nice washing up area and free use of iron/ironing board. A washing machine and dryer are available also.

The pub is fabulous with its huge log fire and we enjoy a game of pool, but the cue was in need of replacing and there's a querky roof beam which hovers directly over the centre of the table - so watch your heads if you play!

There's a big park for kids to enjoy and plenty of space for little ones to run around and a small dog walking area. There's also a play room for children (and adults) to use near the pub.

Views from the top of the site are stunning on a clear day, looking over beautiful Ullswater. Tent pitches are at the top of the site and we couldn't see any hookups for campers, but I think this is planned and in progress. There are also holiday cottages, but we can't comment as didn't stay in one. There's a lovely area where the camping pods are situated and I think we counted 12 or 13 pods. But they having nothing inside, so it would be a case of taking everything but your tent! I have stayed on sites over the years where pods or wooden wigwams have had tv's, microwaves, fridges, seating/beds but there is a freezer/microwave available near reception.

Our electricity tripped but the owners were quick to come and return the supply to us and advising us not to use to many electricals at once!

The site was quiet on an evening and there were quite a few families etc staying at the time, we didn't hear any noise at all during our stay.

We came from the north to the site and took the right turn after The Brackenrigg Inn and the road is narrow, our tourer is only 17 foot long. We wouldn't advise towing anything bigger and agree with the site info of taking the next right turn - it is a long way round but would be better for larger units.

We are definitely returning and have left our tourer behind for a fortnight, utilising their storage service.

I wish we could add photos to Uk Campsite reviews as we have quite a few of the site and views from the site.

We can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Wolfykaz123 1 review from this member

Just stayed at the quiet site for 2 nights. We stayed in a camping pod which was very clean and comfortable. With it being February, the wind was strong and it came into the pod so was quite cold at night. That was the only fault we found -although only to be expected. The facilities were very good, the shower and toilet blocks were very clean. The shop on site was well stocked and the owner was very helpful and friendly. The location was good and quite easy to find. Plenty to do around the area, local villages of Pooley Bridge and Glenridding provided good food. The playground on site was very good for the children. It kept the kids busy so that left us adults some free time. The bar on site was really nice - an olf converted barn with traditional beamed ceilings, and very cosy. It had a games room for the kids and a pool table for the adults. The bar was also well stocked up with drinks and alcahol. I would definitely reccommend the quiet site.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Brackstones 1 review from this member

The Quiet Site is perfectly located near Ullswater. A perfect site for visiting Pooley Bridge and Glenridding. The on site pub is fantastic and was a perfect end to our day of walking in the surrounding area. The shower blocks were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. The pitches at the top of the site had the best views. We were told to select any pitch we liked but the choice of pitch was narrowed down due to the incline of the pitch site from the road running around the site.

We would return to this site although we couldn't understand why there was a 12 price difference between a normal stay on a Wednesday in February to the Wednesday in the February half term. We felt that this was an unneccesary price hike to take advantage of school holidays. Especially as we agree with other people's comments about the water taps, so for 28 a night you were not receiving full facilities.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Basherbish 5 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from 13 nights at the Quiet Site, Dec 22nd to Jan 4th 2012.

We found the site easily from instructions given and were shown to our pitch, one of several terraces which gave a glimpse of Ullswater through the trees. The higher terraces give better views but you are further from facilities. Our Motorhome was too long to fit across the pitch, with steadies down, so the site owner told us to park parallel to the road, and were we grateful! This position put our van end-on to the gale that blew for 2 days and must have rocked several caravans that were side-on.

Facilities etc were explained fully and we found our way round the site. The toilet block was 'as new ', clean whenever we used them, plenty of hot water for showers ( remember to press every 20secs ), but hey that's not rocket science. Washingup sinks, washing machines and a lovely Family Bathroom provided all your personnel needs. Then there`s the freezer/microwave, free to use just like at home.

You just have to use the Clubroom, wonderful atmosphere, lovely open log fires but beer a bit pricey.

Site Owner couldn`t be more helpful, found that we had left potatoes behind, so brought 5k back for us, also a loaf during the second week and changed an 13k gas cyl. Off site as he didn`t have this size available, what more could you ask?

Dog walking area was good but you always get one owner too proud to 'Pick UP', just 5secs with your hand in a doggy bag!

Childrens Play area looked very good with adventure type structures for them to stretch themselves and perhaps scratch their knees without someone shouting ' COMPO'.

Apart from the gales, which I`m told that the site cannot control, (Joke), we really enjoyed our stay and didn`t find it noisy at all, considering it was Xmas and New Year.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susie69 12 reviews from this member

We tried to book online for two nights but sadly at busy periods such as new year there is a 5 day minimum booking.

My partner phoned them to enquire, there was no problem at all us booking in just for the two nights.

Very easy to find, very clean spacious site, lovely hot free showers, small shop, good play area, fabulous walks directly from the site.

My only gripe was it was a bit far to walk for water (apparently they switch some off during winter in case of frozen pipes (understandable) and the electric did keep shorting - I assume because of the time of year people were whacking on heaters, despite being told that electric heaters were not permitted.

So top tip, take a gas heater with you.

The on site pub is delightful particularly in the winter with its log fire.

Will definitely visit again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Allan7072 2 reviews from this member

We arrived here mid-evening having booked last minute on the way past with a smoking hot VW Bay campervan and 3 hungry kids en-route to Scotland. Not too far off the main road but lovely setting.

They let us have a hard pitch for one night with hookup. Nice play area for kids (bit muddy but it had rained a lot). Loo block was absolutely fine (previous comment about 'scent' true! A bit of ventilation would work!) and very clean. No issues there.

Pub down the road great, but wouldn't recommend for little kids. Great food but a bit too gastro for quick family nosh. Nice pint though. Pub on site, however, although not doing food, is a great place for a pint and for the kids to play (all ages. Table tennis etc). Great beer and nice quiet atmosphere. Cash only bar though.

The site IS a fairly quiet, but not to the exclusion of families etc. It's just nicely out of the way.

Would we go there again? Yes. Great stop if on way through the Lakes or starting out a tour. Very clean, shop on site, great little atmospheric country pub on site (no food) and Penrith 10 mins drive for anything else you need. Including a garage to fix an ailing T2 (ullswater road garage. Very helpful), castle, play park and lovely town.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328