Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
                9/10 from 200 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snaprails 13 reviews from this member

What a splendid site! An excellent location at the upper end of Eskdale, 5 minutes walk from Boot village and Dalegarth station on the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway.

The site is spread across 3 'fields', the middle one being predominantly level and the others gently sloping in parts. We had plenty of 'lake making weather' during our stay and parts of the site were soggy but the excellent site managers obviously knew where to avoid and allocated pitches to avoid the worst bits.

Even by C&CC standards the facilities here are posh. Good showers (not too low!) and scrupulously cleaned. With 3 showers & 3 WCs (in the Gents) I do wonder if capacity might be stretched in high season though? Site shop is well stocked and the managers are helpful and knowledgeable. I can confirm there is no mobile signal on Vodafone, T-mobile, or Orange. There's a payphone on site. Local pubs offer Wi-Fi.

There are 3 pubs within walking distance. I don't know what the other 2 are like but I can heartily recommend the Boot Inn. Proper friendly pub, good beer - quality and range, & interesting local characters. Food is great too. Most importantly they allow dogs inside. Actually let me re-phrase that, I quote Sean the landlord, 'we don't allow dogs in, we adore having dogs in'.

A point to note about the site location: If you are intending to make trips out to the rest of the Lake District, particularly Coniston, Windemere, etc.

You either have to drive around the long way, west then south or north, or turn left out of the site gate & go over Hardknott & Wrynose passes. These are entertaining / challenging / scary depending on your disposition but more importantly really only for light vehicles & no trailers.

Also in the mornings it can take quite some time as the road gets busy & is only single track. The views from the tops however are brilliant! Unless you're a nervous driver you HAVE to do it at least the once.

A great place to stay and one to which we'd be glad to return.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dr Del 1 review from this member

Brilliant time was had by me and my wife, we arrived on last night of local beer festival - bonus, if a bit noisy on Saturday night!

The site is easily the best site I have ever stayed at in 18 years of being a member of CCC. The campsite staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful; not too many dos and don'ts like some CCC sites either!

The location is fantastic, beautiful scenery and 3 great pubs close by; The Boot was my favourite, it also has free WiFi; food there was good as well, everything cooked from fresh at reasonable prices. As a real ale fan I pleased to find that I never drank the same beer twice in the six days I was there!

Climbed Scafell Pike, hard work but worth it for the views! Also cycled the Eskdale trail; note that if you plan to cycle it there is a very steep hill which may be difficult for children (and some adults), coming back you can put bikes on narrow gauge steam train back from Ravenglass if you pre-book.

It rained some days (Lake District), we stayed last night in a Pod as rain was forecast for next day and we didn't want to put tent away wet! Pod was nice but very dark at night (there are battery lights inside but would recommend a lamp as well).

Muncaster Castle is also worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewd39 6 reviews from this member

Have just spent 3 nights here. What can we say, it was superb. Site owners very friendly and helpful, facilities were clean and tidy. Lots to do for children, including the trampoline ! The re-freeze of cool blocks was very helpful. Shop well stocked. Leave your mobile at home - not a bad thing.

Fantastic views, in what is a quieter part of the lakes. 5 mins walk to the Ravenglass railway, Wastwater nearby for canoeing and the trip home over Hardknott pass. Cannot fault it. We will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rodsfaria 4 reviews from this member

I have just spent 7 lovely nights in this place with my wife. Apart from the weather everything was perfect. The owners are lovely and friendly and the location is gorgeous. Showers facilities are absolutely brilliant and spotless. I will definitely be going back there and will strongly advise anyone who enjoy camping to stay there.

Eskdale is one of the best areas in the lake to go. No network signal, no Internet but electricity for all your tent appliances. We can't get better than that if you want to get away from the daily routine. They do have a pay phone if you are desperate to call someone. Ask for the walking route maps from the campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for the Royal Wedding weekend having been turned away from a couple of others nearby, despite arriving early on Thursday afternoon.

We were lucky. Despite being run ragged they squeezed us in (and to be honest, it wasn't a squeeze where we were - over the stream - it was just idyllic). We signed up for CCC membership there and then and almost saved the annual fees on the one stay.

The main fields are spacious and appear flat. We were on a slightly uneven and sloping area, but grateful for it none the less.

Childrens play area (though the nearby woods and streams look much more fun), immaculate toilets and showers, adequate water points, plenty of fire stations and electric hook-ups available. Good little shop to cover the basics and provide a get-out-of-jail card for forgotten items etc. Indoor and outdoor washing-up stations, and a laundrette.

Lovely village nearby, and a choice of pubs and good grub a short walk away.

Perfect location for walking with some stunning mountains to conquer from the site. It was blowing a hooley for all our stay so we did a few lower walks and barely escaped with out lives when the steam train (I imagine) set fire to the woods with the wind sweeping it our way. A huge stretch of woodland and fellside was devastated, and very impressive it was too - once we were on the other side of the river on the valley floor!

Only one minor criticism. The showers were sometimes a bit busy as there were only 3 each M/F (plus a lovely family wash room with double shower). Facilities are a bit sparse therefore when the site is full, but then we were grateful for being on there anyway.

Fees are high but reflect the quality. Join CCC and it's a steal!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

We intended to stay here three nights, but stayed an extra two we liked it so much. Just got back after staying there over Easter, easily the busiest time of the year given the great weather we've had. Very impressive.

Booked in and sorted out quickly, staff very friendly and helpful. They never seemed to stop either - constantly cleaning, tidying, helping campers etc and the site is immaculate - showers and toilets spotless and I agree with other reviews referring to staff cleaning at all hours - we saw this ourselves.

Only minor grumble is that showers got a bit 'trickly' when very busy, but the water was hot and we could put up with this. Washing area and laundry good.

Shop is well-stocked and prices reasonable for locally-sourced foods. Site is an excellent base for a beautiful area of the Lake district - excellent walking, especially Scafell, but also other walks for those who want something not so intense (and tiring).

Boot village is enchanting and just a short walk down the road. The Boot Inn is excellent, lovely food, about your average price for a bar meal. The Landlord is very friendly as well. We loved the working watermill, worth a visit.

Eskdale site is pet-friendly and although we didn't have children with us, from our view we could see it's also good for children, a play area including a huge trampoline which children seemed to love! We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

First time we have used this site but not the last! Very well-run, clean, friendly site in a lovely area, superb for keen walkers or anyone just wanting a rest! A well-stocked shop on the site, closed for part of the day but a telephone on the wall outside the shop will get the owners if you need anything urgently.

The washing and washing-up facilities are excellent, the showers and toilets cleaned every day and are spotless. Our only gripe is the lack of hairdryers in the ladies showers-there was only one and it had broken-and the fact that because the shower cubicles don't have walls down to the floor, the water from other people's showers run into yours.

There are four good pubs for eating very close by so a good excuse to spoil yourself and not cook! Although we don't have children with us now, the facilities for them look good, well-kept and safe play area. The owner limits the number and size of motorhomes and caravans aren't allowed as far as we could see; it seems to be mainly tents and pods, which are booked up year to year, according to one returning pod-user I spoke to. Reasonable price for the standard of facilities; we can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krisbooth99 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic setting, customer service and campsite! much recommended if your up that neck of the woods! clean and updated bathrooms wash room and a shop that has everything you might well need!

Great location for climbing Scafell well within walking distance to the start of the walk, nice pub 100 metres down the lane that serves good, reasonably priced home cooked food!

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ttwff 11 reviews from this member

Got to this campsite on a cold raining winter night. I was the only one there at the time and the on site shop was closed the next day.

The people who run the site are very friendly.

There are showers, Toilets, Sinks, Drinking water, No kitchen. There washing sinks.

Think at 8 a night in the winter its a bit pricey if your a backpacker when you can camp in the lakes for free. Still if you need a shower has to be done.

It is a nice site I use again if in the area and need a shower.

There was no WIFI or internet accesses but think there was mobile phone signal on some the networks.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Keegan 1 review from this member

Stayed in a camping pod October hols and back end of December. Excellent toilets / showers. 'Top notch' Site owners extremely helpful. Pods were lovely and warm.

We were given a gas heater with an extra gas canister if needed. We will definitely be back soon.

Best pub we ate at was the Boot inn. Excellent food and we were made extremely welcome.

The area is to die for! Walkers paradise.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016