Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
              9/10 from 202 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dennisnicoll 8 reviews from this member

We stayed 6 nights at this site and really enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly & helpful, the toilet/shower blocks are clean & well maintained although they can get very busy at peak periods. The shop is small but you can get the essentials from it. Pitches are a decent size but the tent areas without EHUs are a bit of a walk from the toilet blocks. The children's play area is well equipped. There is a railway between the site & the promenade but the trains only run every 2 hours between 6am and 10. 30pm so you are not disturbed in the night. The nearby beach is very nice, ideal for families with children & the walk along the prom into Barmouth is very pleasant. If you like walking, there is a 9. 5 mile walk from Barmouth to Dolgellau along the old railway track.

Only had 2 complaints which were dealt with swiftly by the staff. The first was a group of people who pitched their 2 tents in the wrong field, went out & got drunk and were shouting & swearing until late at night & the following morning, when they continued drinking. They were evicted immediately, spoiling their children's holiday! The second was the 2 piles of dog muck which were not cleaned up by the irresponsible (and criminal) dog owners. The staff cleaned it up immediately after I reported it & would have evicted the dog owners had I been able to spot them which, sadly, I hadn't.

Foul mouthed drunkards & lazy dog owners beware!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaz + Dave 12 reviews from this member

Great site - we really enjoyed our stay. Toilet/shower blocks were very clean. We were welcomed by friendly staff who gave us a pitch which was just what we asked for. The grounds are well tended and the roads are well surfaced. Location wise, it was perfect for us (having 2 dogs) - it was right on the promenade which is a lovely level walk into Barmouth. The beach was also fantastic for them to run around on. The shop was a little basic, but there is a Co-op in Barmouth, which sold everything we needed. Can't wait to go again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debip 5 reviews from this member

Stayed in Hendre Mynach for a couple of nights last month, and it's a great site if a little crowded, we had sent an email earlier in the week and told just to turn up but honestly think that if we'd been later in the day we would have found it difficult to find a spot as it was our pitch was good, it was quite a walk for a 2 year old to get to the loos and I think the electric free campers are a bit of an oversite. Saying that the main site were really crammed in and the pitches seamed really small in that part of the park

The Kiddies park and shower block are all next to the main office and are very good and the beach is great over a train line but the train hoots before coming near to the park even at 6:00am :(

Would use this site again

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowlerfamily 6 reviews from this member

Love love love this site - we have been to this site a few times now & we were actually booked somewhere else but really didn't like the look of it when we arrived - so a quick call to Hendra saved the weekend :-)

Super friendly staff - loos always clean - showers always lovely and warm - little play park for little ones & a lovely walk into Barmouth town - it is a great base to explore the area & we are booking again for August

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theturkey 5 reviews from this member

The weather wasn't on our side when we arrived, but we were supprised to find a well drained site with no sign of mud anywhere. The staff are very friendly (including the very chatty lady in the small shop). The shower/toilet blocks were always clean and smelled of mr sheen. The caravan pitches are all a decent size and most have gravel base so drain well if the heavens open. The camping fields also well maintained and lots of EHUs. Very impressed with the site overall, it has all the things you need and none of the things you don't that end up forcing up pitch prices. The site is very near to the beach but is sheltered from most of the wind by the single track railway line on the beach side and a huge hill at the back of the sight. The steep driveway into the site is no problem as long as your not towing a twin axle caravan with a fiat 500. Will be returning time and time again, well done everyone on the site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Realbusdriver 11 reviews from this member

This has got to rate as one of the best sites we've ever stayed on, easy access, well maintained, 2 x clean, modern toilet /shower blocks, there are hard-standing pitches and grass pitches and as the site also caters for canvas campers, there is ample space for tents too,

The pitches are of generous proportions and (the hard standing ones at least )not only have ehu with tv aerial points, they also benefit from having their own water supply.

A site shop stocked with those little essentials we all need from time to time.

The kids aren't left out either as there's a good sized play / family picnic area, complete with safety matting round the swings etc

Added to all that the beach and sea front are literally just across the road from the site

The on-site staff are friendly and very helpful with-out being too intrusive.

As for location, it couldn't be placed better, you can park up your vehicle of choice and take a short walk along the prom beside the beach ( just across the road from the site) into Barmouth where you'll find a veritable plethora of shops, supermarkets, cafe's, restaurants and pubs and on certain days there's an out door market too.

However for all Barmouth has to offer it still doesn't feel over commercialised and retains an olde worlde feel to it

My own favourite pub in Barmouth, was the 'Last Inn', which offer's an excellent range of beers, real ale's etc as well as a reasonably priced menu.

If you want to go a little further afield attractions such as Portmeirion, Harlech castle and mount Snowdon are only a short drive away.

You could even take a short ferry journey across Barmouth bay to take a ride on the fairbourne miniature steam railway.

I make no apologies for the length of this review, as it is a measure of how impressed we are with this site and one we will definitely be visiting again

One word of warning though, don't trust your sat nav, as you approach Barmouth some sat nav's direct you down the promenade road, unfortunately the site cannot be accessed by road from there, as it was our first time here we made that mistake and had some fun and games trying to turn our out-fit round

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Funkyfeline 1 review from this member

Just had a great weekend here. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely site, toilets spotless. Playground ok, would be good to have a few more things on there. All touring pitches nice, some are quite private with hedges in between each pitch. Camping fields look great too! Ideal for the beach, and not far to walk into Barmouth. There is a great Cafe on the promenade nearby which serves good food and the owners are very friendly too, they make you feel very welcome.

It is a little pricey, but I suppose you get what you pay for.

Would definitely visit again, but would prefer sunny weather next time!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 55 reviews from this member

Barmouth revisited! Loved it the first time, still love it. It has everything close at hand: beach, town, great prom to walk along, trains and only a short drive into the hills. This time we were on a hard standing in the area to the left of the reception. Very smartly laid out; pitches are defined by hedges or fences. The showers are great although of the push button sort. Not a problem really. Lots of hot water. The wardens are very friendly as is the lady who runs the site shop where you can order your daily paper. We will definitely come back again! Love it.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BuddingTraveller83 10 reviews from this member

My wife and I and our greyhound have just returned after four nights at Hendre Mynach. We truly enjoyed ourselves and the site is really established with a relaxed family atmosphere.

The campsite was nearly full but it was not noisy. Wardens are around during the day and at night it is completely silent by 10pm.

We had electric so was in the middle section, a few minutes walk from the reception, toilets and showers. If you are in a tent without electric you will be in the far field so it is a little further. Site is really nice and flat. The toilet block was always clean whether it be first thing in the morning, afternoon or late in the evening.

The shop stocks the essentials, is fairly expensive but this is to be expected. The lady in the shop was really friendly, gave lots of advice about the local area and was always happy to help.

Barmouth is not far away and we, like many of the campers walked along the promenade to get there. The beach has lots of dog friendly parts and is literally at the back of the site.

The only things to consider is, the water pressure in the showers is not always great and sometimes not that hot. The wifi is expensive and does not work anymore than 30 metres away from reception. There is a train track behind the site and there is a train that passes every 30minutes. It's not a bad thing but the last train passes, with a long and loud horn at 22. 35 if you have young children. It didn't bother us though.

We are hoping to go back in the summer, it's a wonderful site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jokeruk 2 reviews from this member

After only getting our new van a few days before the bank holiday weekend, we knew that it would be near impossible to book anywhere - and not for the one night we wanted to start off with.

We had been here before in a tent and on the Sunday decided to give it a go and drove the 100 miles or so to get there.

We pulled up (after coming down the steep slope into the site) and asked about any possible spare pitches. As it happens, we were in luck - although they didn't have any with EHU. This didn't bother us so we readily agreed.

We were advised as to where we could look to choose a pitch, and we went up to the left (as you come in) of the site which does have a decent view of the sea.

The site itself is immaculate and only a short walk from the town centre (along the beach). Yes, there is a railway next to it, but we only noticed 1 train go past!

Would I recommend? Most definitely.

Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5436 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1016
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window