Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Machrihanish Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Machrihanish Caravan And Camping Park
East Trodigal
Machrihanish
Campbeltown
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA28 6PT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01586 810366

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m 

Pitches: 50 pitches and Wigwams for Hire from £10 per night
Open: Feb Till Oct And Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
              9/10 from 47 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelouise 4 reviews from this member

This is the best campsite in scotland!
 
We stayed here for 3 nights in august 2006 before travelling onto Islay. The owners, Steve and Jaqui were the most friendly people we have ever met, and we have already booked our spot for next year!
 
The facilities cater for every sort of family, and although basic, they are perfect! The wee shop here is also well stocked, with the owners providing this as a service, and not just a way to get extra money out of the campers (all prices are VERY reasonable!)
 
What I also loved about this campsite were the disabled facilities, not many campsites seem to provide these. Looking forward to going back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Steve douglas 1 review from this member

We have just spent our third yearly holiday at this very pleasant site and have returned to London rested and relaxed. The owners, Steve and Jaquie, are the best hosts I have ever found on a campsite and I have been camping for forty years or so. Our eight year old daughter is so in love with the whole area that she has told us we have to move there straight away!
.This is the perfect site for a family holiday and has access to golfing, beautiful beaches, fishing, forest walks and much more including a whole lot of good old fashioned relaxation.
I would recommend it to all of those people out there who are looking for some serenity in their lives and want to go home feeling that they have had a holiday. I will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobsky 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic 10 day stay with Jaquie and Steve.  The site was spotless and the hosts ensured our every need was met.  The local area is outstanding and there are so many places to visit.  The beaches are fantastic and the hidden ones such as Saddel (on the road to Carradale, entrance opposite the abbey) are brilliant. We were lucky enough to see Dolphins from here!  If you like seafood please visit the castle at Skipness where you will find the excellent seafood cabin. You can take the main road or the scenic route through Peninver & Carradale.  We took the twenty minute ferry to Gigha as foot passengers (no need for a car) and had a great time. The Boat cabin and Hotel are great for food & drink and the gardens are a mile and a half walk away and well worth the visit.  This campsite is a great base to explore Kintyre from and you will not be disappointed.enjoy!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: HairyMcLary 2 reviews from this member

The weather was a bit cold and windy, but the facilities for campers were wonderful! You have no idea how much we appreciated the static caravan containing fridge, freezer, microwave, kettle and plug! Facilities were immaculate and staff were very friendly. A very nice experience!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Balmenach 1 review from this member

ust returned from 10 days at this peaceful, relaxed family run site overlooks the famous links golf course with views of the glorious Atlantic, Islay and Jura. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time, the owners were very friendly and helpful. The site (was an old coal mine in years gone by) has approximately 50 pitches there are also three Wigwams for Hire and the site is open March Until October. The pitches are of a good size and flat. The Electric hookup cost us £2.00 per night. There is a Campers room with micro wave and kettle coffee making facilities and a small library. The toilet blocks consist of a ladies block which has one shower, two toilets with washhand basins in the cubicle and two sinks in the main part. The Gents a similar set up then there is a disable facility/family room with shower and wash basin and wc also included in this room is a babies bath. In the same block is the dishwashing and laundry room. All of these are kept scrupulously clean. The washing machine is on trust that you pay £1.50 per load. The hot water is plentiful and free. Further over on the site is another shower room and toilet. The bins were emptied regularly and we were there during the busiest week, and it was HOT weather. There is a dog walk and that is kept clean too. If you want to eat out a walking distance away is the Beachcomber Bar, and that is very good and reasonable too. For Surfers there is plenty of surf at Westport Beach just a short distance away. the beach near the camp is sandy for children. For Bird watchers you just have to go a short distance to the Gauldrons for a Sea Bird Observatory. Capbletown is just about 6 miles away where there are Teco and Co-op for shopping you also have Davaar Island as a place to visit. Suggest you book early

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: PP-G+T 6 reviews from this member

We found the site to be very pleasant. The site owners, Steve and Jacquie were both friendly and welcoming. The site is family friendly and the nature of the site seems to attract the right visitors who look out for each other.

The on site facilities were kept spotless and the small site shop provides basic supplies and the prices are very reasonable. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area of the Kintyre peninsular. The local beaches were sandy and empty. The sea was not as cold as you would expect although there are warnngs of strong under currents.

The only minor downside was the amount of wind but this was compensated for by spectacular sunsets.

Well worth a visit even though it took us quite a journey to get there. We will be going back.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430