Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenandrob 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in June.

On arrival, the staff were really friendly and we were shown to our pitch. The pitch sizes are okay, but not great, you will be next door to someone. The pitches were nicely manicured though.

The showerblocks were clean and men's toilet facitilies were clean. There are only 3 men's showers for the whole campsite but since we weren't showering until about 10.30am we didn't have a problem.

The campsite is on a hill so if you're in somewhat okay shape you won't have any problem walking down to the beach or to the village.

Two great pubs in the village - the Queen's Arms and Tower Inn. Both were great when we were there!

Also be sure to drive down to Start Point, nice walks to the lighthouse and coastal paths. But be aware, the roads are pretty much single lane throughout the area - which adds a charm if you're a passenger.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scubakeefy 7 reviews from this member

We arrived on 6th June, just as the south east was getting a downpour the like of which hadn't been seen for ages. First time with a new awning too and as we fought and battled in the rain and wind to put it up, as we drove the last peg in, glorious sunshine ensued from then on!

Wonderful site, truly peaceful and relaxing which is what we needed.

The wardens on arrival were extremely friendly and welcoming, even though just as I put my card in the machine to pay there was a 'bang' and a semi major fuse had blown somewhere resulting in the electricity board having to be called! some pitches left with no power but this was not the sites fault and they sorted it extremely quickly.

The site has the most excellent toilet facilities, clean, warm and in extremely good order. The water was piping hot and after a day out were so welcome.

Ideally situated 5 minutes walk to the village of Slapton with two local pubs. Local beer such as Otter etc is georgous so if you are a beer, bitter or even lager drinker, you will love Otter or other local brews. We didn't sample the food at the Queens Arms, but from what we saw at other tables it looked superb.

Weather didn't permit beach activity as such but its a lovely walk in the early evening as the shingle beach goes on for ages and yields lots of driftwood to collect for kids etc. Very clean too with only a little deritus from shipping compared to a lot of beaches. Very historic, as this area was taken over by the military in the war to practise the 'D Day' landings.

One highlight mentioned by others is the fish and chip van, Tuesdays at 7.30pm. Stunning is all I can say. If there are two of you, one £1.60 portion of chips to go with the delicious pieces of cod will feed both of you, don't get family size unless you do have at least three generations with you as you wont finish it! the fish, caught local of course was sublime and as you queue, its a great way to chat to others too.

One warning however. Unless you are a racing snake, tour de France regular or a masochist, this is not an area for relaxing cycling. We did about 26 miles in one day around the area including Kingsbridge and I have never worked so hard in my life! Beautiful scenery, quiet roads and lovely villages and sea fronts yes, but hills! I'm not talking short inclines here. Think Snowdon or base camp at Everest and your there! Ok, maybe a slight exaggeration but they were steep, hard and as it was drizzle all day, not the most pleasant day we spent lol. But, after completing a tour of the area on bike, you deserve your fish and chips, beer or wine and a you sleep like a baby too, so it was worth it I suppose.

Buses run frequently to Dartmouth and surrounding areas which we also utilised and made for nice days out.

Overall, an extremely pleasant and well run, friendly and calming site which I will hope to revisit and would recommend to anyone, including families as there is plenty to do for kids without the neon lights and arcades. If you want to start your kids of right with a respect for the country and beaches etc, this is a great place to go.

Go there, enjoy and have some chips!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha 28 reviews from this member

So impressed with the site and people who run it that we joined the C&CC!

Still very clean at the end of the season, woken at night once or twice either by the owls or the badgers visiting the site. If you have a bike it's a great ride along the coast road to Torcross for a beer and fish & chips.

Took the local bus to Dartmouth £4.20 return, cheaper than diesel & parking charges!

Quiet with sea views - superb!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denniseagle 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a weekend break, the site is really nice and just past the small, pretty, windy-bendy lanes of Slapton - if you drive this way make sure you can drive as well backwards as you can forwards (having been the unfortunate followers of drivers unable to do this!)

The site is very friendly, the staff are lovely and the toilet blocks what you would expect from C&CC - although mirroring the previous posts, with only 3 showers be prepared to queue, or did what I did the following day and get in there early!

The play area is central and ideal for the children. Being the bank holiday weekend the site was very busy and probably up to capacity. We stayed in a fairly sheltered area with electric hook up.

There is a sloping walk down to the beach which is pleasant and you are central on the coast with Dartmouth and Kingsbridge fairly equal distances in each direction.

This site is somewhere we would definitely return to and if you are lucky enough (we weren't) you can have a pitch with a lovely sea view.

For a weekends break this was a lovely little site with everything needed.

If only you could order the weather.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wollastonwonder 2 reviews from this member

Considering we camped in quite extreme weather conditions rain and gales we still managed to have a good time. This was helped by the two lovely pubs in Slapton village, the Queens Arms is more pubby and the Tower is more restauranty. I would recommend booking a table if you want to eat, only a 5 minute walk from the site.
Toilet block well kept, but 3 showers in the ladies did mean a queue most mornings. Dont worry about taking your own ice blocks as you have to use theirs at 45p a block, which I think is a bit steep.
I recommend a visit to Start Bay Lighthouse which was only £3 to park the car all day and then £2.50 for adults for the guided tour takes approx 1 hour - really interesting, only children above 1m are allowed up the light house.

Fish & Chip van comes on site on a Tuesday night at 7:30 which must be the best I have EVER tasted. Would recommend you start to queue at 7'ish though as we joined the queue at 8:00 and didnt get served till 9:30!

Site has great sea views too which is always pleasant to look at whilst having your bacon & eggs! Overall a great site and well positioned, we will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Davie G 3 reviews from this member

Spent a week here during the summer. A really lovely countryside type site next to the lovely village of slapton overlooking fields and sea views.
Site was really clean and well run with the site staff being friendly yet firm when they had to be. Toilet blocks were immaculate if not over generous in the number of showers available. Would not hesitate to visit again.
The area is beautiful and has a close association with the training of servicemen in readyness for the D-day landings during WW2. The 2 village pubs are really friendly and a walk around the freshwater Ley is a must especially for birdwatching enthusiasts.
A few pointers though. Be careful if using Satnav to get there as depending on which direction you are going, and also if towing, this could get you in deep trouble as it did us! The beach at Slapton is shingle and is not everyones cup of tea. Also the 'famous' Blackpool Sands, although it really does look idylic from the high coastal road turns out to be shingle also. We didn't realise until we had descended, queued in the traffic and paid the £6 parking fee by which time it was too late.
Nearest supermarket is about 6-8 miles away at either Dartford or Kingsbridge the other way. Small stores in village & surrounding villages and camp shop seemed well stocked. Fish & chip van visits once a week but make sure you get in the queue early. We waited well over 2 hours for our supper which wasn't great especially with 4 hungry kiddies to attend to! Small playground but kids generally all got on well together in what was a really friendly and aggro free atmosphere.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5201 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547