Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
              9/10 from 54 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 129 reviews from this member

Nice campsite for those that like peace,the only sound I heard at night was the crashing waves in the distance and the noisy Tawny owls,very friendly and efficient with good toilet block.
Good for walking although being hilly cycling a little restricted except for the coast road to Torcross. Two pubs within walking distance we ate at The GBG listed Queens Arms-good pub grub and excellent Otter ales.
For wildlife lovers The Slapton Ley N.R.Is nearby and Cetti's Warbler presents no problem. Bus stop is also nearby offering buses to Dartmouth or Kingsbridge.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Erskinmajor 5 reviews from this member

Two-night quickie as only 50 miles from home, with a friendly welcome from the manager.

Great site, neat, tidy, very clean and well maintained. Nice easily accessible flat pitches with decent ground for pegging etc. Club site, quite busy, be prepared for neighbours.

The village is very ‘Devon’ with tiny streets and quaint houses. Disappointed with the Tower Inn, I went there 18 years ago when it was a pub with six real ales, now it a restaurant with three. Slapton Ley is well worth a visit and a walk around (0.3 miles) as is Blackpool Sands (2 miles)

One criticism I would have, and it’s not the sites fault per say, but if your towing a van the route in from Kingsbridge is not for a novice or the faint hearted. Try it and you’ll see what I mean.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acoleman 3 reviews from this member

Great campsite, friendly managers.

Well kept lawns, they were out cutting within minutes of people leaving.

The location is great. The coastline along this part of devon is fantastic.

Only concern is that there aren't that many showers (3 in the ladies) and I am not sure how busy they would get in the summer holidays. However saying that there are lots of changing rooms with sinks, lots of toilets and they are all kept nicely clean.

Would be great if you could pre book your pitch.

The site was very quiet early in the evening when we stayed so I don't think this would be a good site for groups of people.

Was lovely to see the wild bunny rabbits running around once it started to get dark.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenandrob 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in June.

On arrival, the staff were really friendly and we were shown to our pitch. The pitch sizes are okay, but not great, you will be next door to someone. The pitches were nicely manicured though.

The showerblocks were clean and men's toilet facitilies were clean. There are only 3 men's showers for the whole campsite but since we weren't showering until about 10.30am we didn't have a problem.

The campsite is on a hill so if you're in somewhat okay shape you won't have any problem walking down to the beach or to the village.

Two great pubs in the village - the Queen's Arms and Tower Inn. Both were great when we were there!

Also be sure to drive down to Start Point, nice walks to the lighthouse and coastal paths. But be aware, the roads are pretty much single lane throughout the area - which adds a charm if you're a passenger.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scubakeefy 7 reviews from this member

We arrived on 6th June, just as the south east was getting a downpour the like of which hadn't been seen for ages. First time with a new awning too and as we fought and battled in the rain and wind to put it up, as we drove the last peg in, glorious sunshine ensued from then on!

Wonderful site, truly peaceful and relaxing which is what we needed.

The wardens on arrival were extremely friendly and welcoming, even though just as I put my card in the machine to pay there was a 'bang' and a semi major fuse had blown somewhere resulting in the electricity board having to be called! some pitches left with no power but this was not the sites fault and they sorted it extremely quickly.

The site has the most excellent toilet facilities, clean, warm and in extremely good order. The water was piping hot and after a day out were so welcome.

Ideally situated 5 minutes walk to the village of Slapton with two local pubs. Local beer such as Otter etc is georgous so if you are a beer, bitter or even lager drinker, you will love Otter or other local brews. We didn't sample the food at the Queens Arms, but from what we saw at other tables it looked superb.

Weather didn't permit beach activity as such but its a lovely walk in the early evening as the shingle beach goes on for ages and yields lots of driftwood to collect for kids etc. Very clean too with only a little deritus from shipping compared to a lot of beaches. Very historic, as this area was taken over by the military in the war to practise the 'D Day' landings.

One highlight mentioned by others is the fish and chip van, Tuesdays at 7.30pm. Stunning is all I can say. If there are two of you, one £1.60 portion of chips to go with the delicious pieces of cod will feed both of you, don't get family size unless you do have at least three generations with you as you wont finish it! the fish, caught local of course was sublime and as you queue, its a great way to chat to others too.

One warning however. Unless you are a racing snake, tour de France regular or a masochist, this is not an area for relaxing cycling. We did about 26 miles in one day around the area including Kingsbridge and I have never worked so hard in my life! Beautiful scenery, quiet roads and lovely villages and sea fronts yes, but hills! I'm not talking short inclines here. Think Snowdon or base camp at Everest and your there! Ok, maybe a slight exaggeration but they were steep, hard and as it was drizzle all day, not the most pleasant day we spent lol. But, after completing a tour of the area on bike, you deserve your fish and chips, beer or wine and a you sleep like a baby too, so it was worth it I suppose.

Buses run frequently to Dartmouth and surrounding areas which we also utilised and made for nice days out.

Overall, an extremely pleasant and well run, friendly and calming site which I will hope to revisit and would recommend to anyone, including families as there is plenty to do for kids without the neon lights and arcades. If you want to start your kids of right with a respect for the country and beaches etc, this is a great place to go.

Go there, enjoy and have some chips!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha 30 reviews from this member

So impressed with the site and people who run it that we joined the C&CC!

Still very clean at the end of the season, woken at night once or twice either by the owls or the badgers visiting the site. If you have a bike it's a great ride along the coast road to Torcross for a beer and fish & chips.

Took the local bus to Dartmouth £4.20 return, cheaper than diesel & parking charges!

Quiet with sea views - superb!

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3481 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0938