Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
              8/10 from 98 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 6 of clubs 8 reviews from this member

After staying here during Easter weekend we thought we should write a review. As said below the road noise is very noticeable and especially if you have to pitch beside it as it was always busy.

We were given pitch no 54 which is underneath a few trees just off the lock, but when we asked the warden if we could pitch on the front next to the lock, we were told no as they keep those pitches for vans.

The site itself was clean and the toilet blocks and showers also, but I would suggest some heating in the ladies please.

The village is just a little walk away but to be honest there isn't a lot there and we could not spend a full day.

We asked to hire 10 ice blocks off the site at the cost of 50p each and 1 deposit for each block which I thought was really expensive. Even though they only had a few and the freezer was nearly empty, when we asked if we could keep a bag of ice we had in there until the next day we were told No again.

Overall it is a nice site but we wont be returning as the wardens were too over the top and we felt like they preferred vans.

Also there wasn't enough in the village itself, not even a local public house so you needed to drive everywhere.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spike_uk 9 reviews from this member

I spent 2 nights here in the first week of September. At first I was told it was fully booked, I thought we would have no problem getting on as the schools were back so be warned, I will book next time. Luckily someone cancelled as we were leaving so we got a pitch.

This site is fantastic, the only downside was the view from the pitch was obscured by trees but hey, move 5 yards and wow. All facilities were clean and tidy.

This was the most expensive site I stayed at during my tour of Scotland so I'm a bit miffed as to why I joined the C&CC.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindadf 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this site. Its location is ideal from exploring the wonderful lochs and glens of the highlands, which regardless of the weather are breathtaking.

The campsite it self is really quite special. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we were shown to our pitch which really was on the shores of the loch - the views were amazing. At first the pitch looked a bit on the small size, but there was room for the caravan and a full sized awning on the hardstanding. Pitches varied, some more sheltered than others, ours was a sheltered pitch. Possibly one criticism was the closeness of the pitch to the trees.

The facilities were all one would expect from a site, warm, clean and accessible. The showers were extremely powerful and hot- on the face of it the number of showers seemed small but we never had to wait for one to be available.

The campsite is very quiet and peaceful. The A82 does run very close by and this is a constantly busy road, whilst at times you could here the traffic it was not troublesome at all. Pitches closer to the road possibly would experience more road noise.

I am only sorry that we only discovered this site so late in the season, so it will unfortunately be next year before we can return, but we definitely will be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lornab 4 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 nights here with friends spending their first weekend camping in their tent. Very relaxing and quiet site.

Staff were excellent and managed to get us pitched beside each other. Site is spacious, grass pitches are fairly flat, toilet blocks are spotless, showers warm and very powerful. Small playpark for the kids and access to a pebbly beach on the loch which was great. Ducks and rabbits on site too, and even a friendly robin in the trees!

Shop was basic but Luss only 5 minutes walk along a path.

There was some road noise but that did not bother us and we will definitely be back again.

P.S. Take the most northerly access into Luss - the campsite entrance is immediately on the left. SATNAV tries to take you into the first entrance into Luss off the A82 but ignore it and take the second one instead.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy + Brian 5 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this campsite and we only stayed one night on our way home from Fort William, but would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

The staff were very helpful and the site was very clean, the showers/toilets where spotless an the fresh flowers were a nice touch, they are some of the cleanest toilets and showers we have encountered on our travels.

Our dog thought that all rabbits were there in and around the dog walk just for her benefit. The site is set in a lovely location beside the loch and a short walk from the village.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angelamckay 11 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this fantastic site on our way upto Skye. Very friendly greeting by wardens on our arrival. We stayed on pitch number 30 which was on hardstanding and had fantastic views of loch lomond. Toilets were always clean and never had to wait and the showers were very powerful!

The walk along the shoreline was lovely - lots of people were kayaking in loch and a couple of brave people were actually swimming in it. Lots of nice walks locally for our two dogs and the village of Luss itself is very pretty.

An ice-cream van visited on the Saturday but make sure you have plenty of money if you want one (3.20 each). All in all this was a fantastic site and would definitely like to return but will make sure we take a kayak next time - hubby is already looking on ebay to buy one!

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5998 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0586