Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820497

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  10m  10m  5m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 To 04/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
              8/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 37 to 42                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Country boy 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here as part of a rally. Site was spotless. As a camping and caravanning club site you would have expected nothing less. Toilets, showers etc spotless. Site beautifuly kept.

There was a bus stop about 5 mins walk from the site that took you to tavistock and then you could travel on pretty much any where you wanted. There are no shops in the village so you have to travel to get your supplies. The site does supply the basics ie; bread milk etc.

10 mins walk from the site there is a nice village pub that serves very nice food. Its is very expensive but they dont scrimp on there servings.

One gripe was that as stated, we stayed as part of a rally and as such we were sited in a camping field. This was much steeper than it looked and we had to pitch in such a manner as to plan our tow off, hence we were nose down hill. We needed a lot of leveling blocks. I think that in normal situation we would not have been sited here.

On the whole a very nice site in a beautiful part of the world and would have no probs returning.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happybonzo 37 reviews from this member

We, the SBMCC- Self Build Motor Caravanners Club, have just had a small Rally at Lydford.

Wonderful site and well placed if you fancy the walk around Lydford Gorge, the deepest gorge in the South West. The Whitelady waterfall should be on everyone's 'Must see' when in the South West.

Everything on site worked well but then it's a C&CC site so no real surprises there.

Steve and his crew did a very good job and I was very impressed with the help that he gave us. He really went out of his way to make our stay pleasant.

Some of us went shopping in Tavistock: £2 return on the local bus service for an adult and others went to Oakhampton. Everyone was impressed with both places as shopping centres. They are both decent towns and worth a visit.

We used a local pub, the Castle (?), and although it was very nice it was also expensive. Most of us felt that the food was over-priced.

Would we use the site again? Definitely

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grecian Ranger 8 reviews from this member

We’ve stayed here a few times, the most recent being in mid August last year. It had changed from our last visit a few years previously. The big plus is that there is a separate tent area away from the hardstandings in the centre of the site.

It means a short walk to the facilities but you don’t feel hemmed in by a load of caravans and motorhomes which is a real bonus. The toilet block is in need of updating but is up to the usual high standard of cleanliness associated with the CCC. The wardens were also very friendly.

Whenever you decide to visit here always come prepared with warm clothing and adequate bedding, it was chilly in August, and is positively cool in May!

A nice quiet site ideally situated for the moors, the Granite way, a cycle trail and footpath along the disused railway is worth the hike, as are visits to nearby Okehampton and Tavistock.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahscarer 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a stay over the (wet) May bank holiday weekend. We had booked late and had a sloping pitch, but it was quite adequate and has terrific views of the moor.

The facilities are very dated (according to another review an update is planned), but quite clean. When they are closed for cleaning, there is no alternative - so be warned!

A very very friendly site manager and team. We really felt welcome. Local pub was OK, but not as friendly as last time we were there (maybe this was a busier time). Good food shops, particularly at Okehampton (Waitrose), about seven miles away. Very little locally in terms of facilities, although the site has a basic shop and will order papers for you.

Recommended pub is a drive away (on the main road to Okehampton) but worth popping in. The Highwayman is one of the quirkiest pubs we have been in for a long long time. Very friendly, well worth a visit, very bizarre - but in a nice way.

We would return to this site for a short stay anytime.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Surfercrew 7 reviews from this member

We visited on the week before easter. Usual friendly C&CC welcome Steve and his crew really looked after us. The site was very quiet on arrival but filled up towards the Bank Holiday.T he planned update of the toilet and shower block didnot happen over 2006/2007 winter so blocks not that posh but everything works and is kept spotlessly clean. Update is planned before next season. Castle Inn in village serves good food but lacks warm welcome(we be strangers)Fox and Hounds on main road good food and warm welcome. Lots to do in the area.Cycle path from Oakhampton rail station to Lydford good day out including steam trains. Will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights, tidy, plenty of space between pitches. Toilets very clean, bit outdated, but excellent standard. Laundry room, MV service point and usual facilities.
Brilliant dog walk - round perimeter of a field, lovely views at the top of the field, sit and rest on a bench provided by someone in their memory.
Not impressed with the warden, who was not impressed that I had arrived before 12noon, 40 minutes early. I had no problem paying £5.00 early arrival fee, still can't see the problem, when you're on holiday do you clock watch? All in all good site, sell basic groceries and papers can be ordered daily.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 37 to 42      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547