Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 170 Reviews
              8/10 from 170 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P4rk5 7 reviews from this member

We visited breck farm over the whitsun week together with two other couples, on arrival we were shocked at the amount of units there possibly 200+, as mentioned by others there is a policy of camp where you like, after a while we managed to find enough space for 3 units.

The site it self has 4 large fields two with electric hook up, two without. Two of the fields border on to the woods which are great for walks with the dog. Others have mentioned about the camp fires which gave the site a great feeling, the kids enjoyed toasting masrhmallows in the evening.

Now the facilities, we gave the site benefit over the bank holiday weekend with so many people most sites facilities would show the strain but after the weekend things did not improve,

the toilet block looks only a couple of years old, the concrete block walls are only painted which makes them look tatty and there is no floor covering, there are communal wash basins which did not have hot water when we used them,

We are very early risers so showers were not a problem, there are only 4 in the gents and 4 in the ladies (always take 2 tokens with you) but others in our group had to wait up to 45 mins in a morning in long queues, the toilets in the main were clean (floors could have been swept more often)

The pot wash never had hot water in the 7 days we were there and the floor was alway flooded. We tried on a number of occasions to get in to the laundry but it was always out of use,

The outside chemical waste disposal had a wash basin and hand cleaner which is not always at bigger sites - well done.

Our friends needed to drop their grey waste from the motorhome and had to drive down the side of the toilet block and with the help of the warden remove the main drain cover, a motor home service point would be a great addition at little cost to the site.

Overall the site would be lovely outside busy times, nice views over the fields, the farm atmosphere was nice with the sound of chickens in the morning. The fresh eggs were superb.

Would we go back? probably not at that time of the year.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmarsh 2 reviews from this member

We went up for the Easter w/e and the site was very busy. The toilet and shower block looked new, with some of the showers still unfinished but it still struggled with the numbers. The showers are on a meter and you get 4mins for 50p. They were mostly hot but could do with a shower curtain or stool.

You camp in a large field where there are no pitches which makes it great for groups. Considering how busy it was and the large number of groups it was pretty quiet at night. The campfires are a great feature and everything you need can be got from the farm house.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenwagg1 3 reviews from this member

This was the Easter Weekend so very very busy, we pitched up earlier before everyone arrived so we had the pick of the field. Even though the site was very busy and the campfires were in full swing the site quietened down and sleep for us early birds was not disturbed. The new facilities are going to be great when they are completed, but in the meantime they fall a bit short. The main problem is that we had 3 mornings of cold (ice) showers ot of 4. There was someone fixing them each morning but to late for those in first. Once they iron out these niggles it will be great. One big bonus was the freezers for putting in your own ice blocks just asking for a charitable donation (nice touch)

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

Having stayed before at Breck Farm and put reviews on here, we returned again for the Royal wedding long weekend pretty much knowing what to expect of this site. It's large, functional and fairly basic but the fact that we've been back in the last two years says something of the overall positive experiences we've had.

To be honest, this was not nearly as enjoyable a stay as in the past, some of that was outside the control of the owners - it was a very blustery weekend and with large fields and a fair bit of open space, the wind did howl across the tents and awnings and even our van. It made for a difficult time for camping and with kids, more difficult for games. If the weather is windy, this may make you think twice about the site, winds straight off the North sea (the coast being about two miles away) can be bitter and hard.

Though it was busy, we weren't camped wall to wall (or canvas to canvas) as some have suggested in past reviews

Unfortunately, there were some issues this year with the shower / toilet block, there seemed to be a very limited number of showers available for the weekend and those that were out of order appear to be the ones that weren't finished last year; which was disappointing as the remainder were very busy, queued up and not a great experience.

There were also some issues with the toilets, several of those in the gents became blocked, whilst others ran out of toilet paper. I completely accept that this happens on occasion, but, the paper wasn't filled for hours and unlike me, a lot of people didn't take their own, which put more pressure on even fewer toilets. All in all, not a great experience to take the kids into.

The big plus side is that the location for touring North Norfolk is absolutely superb and there are plenty of local pubs and shops, beaches, etc etc to keep most people occupied. Also, when the weather's not so windy, there's loads of space to have the kids run around in, do your own thing and not really risk upsetting the neighbours; and all for a very reasonable price without any attempt to make extra money out of you having an awning or extra kid or dog with you.

Would we camp here again? Yes, probably when it's a bit quieter. The site is great when it's quiet and is in an excellent location, the family who run it are friendly and helpful and sell some local produce, eggs, wood for fires etc. Perhaps, as has been suggested by other reviewers, they need to just concentrate on getting a couple of things right to bring it back up to scratch.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mharris 20 reviews from this member

We had a great stay at Breck Farm this Easter. A group of 4 families which pitched altogether with plenty of room.

We had no problem with the showers or toilets apart from queueing for a few minutes for the showers. Yes they were 50p but both times I used them I had hot water and they seemed to last for ages. Some of the showers were out of order as they were waiting for parts to repair them but all in all I don't think this caused too many problems. Washing up facilities are adequate with some sinks inside and some outside.

There is no clubhouse but if you take a short walk through to Kelling Heath you can use their clubhouse. There is plenty of space for kids to ride bikes and we had 6 people flying kites in one of the fields one day.

We bought the local eggs every morning which went down very well at breakfast and we also took some home too.

Breck Farm is in easy reach of all the local beach towns with Weybourne just a five minute drive away.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Koda the dog 1 review from this member

WOW! What a super campsite. We arrived about mid day to check in (the owners were lovely)and went and set up our pitch. The area was lovely in the afternoon we went down to the beach and had a lovely walk.

Then in the evening we set up our BBQ and campfire and had hot dogs! The toilets were Ok, didn't have a shower (50p for 5 mins) but heard they were cold!

Toilets were clean but could have been better but every thing else was wonderful. Great woodland next door to collect wood to burn and walk the dog. Overall 99 out of 100.

Would recommend you go there, thanks (also lots of farm animals there, if you like them! )

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveyh2000 6 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our fourth and, probably, last visit to Breck Farm. A site that could be brilliant but suffers from a number of faults, especially when very busy.

The location is excellent,10 minutes drive from the coast, the North Norfolk railway and Sheringham with lovely country walks from the doorstep. The site is a working farm surrounded on two sides with woodland.

There is no 'clubhouse', no play area, you pitch where you want and campfires are allowed. The farmhouse sells eggs, potatoes, marshmallows and logs.

Sounds great, but.

The large toilet block completed in 2010 looks great but is woefully inadequate due to only a very limited number of showers working for each sex and your 50p buys you four minutes of, at best, tepid water.

The farmer allowed so many campers in, we were packed guyrope to guyrope. We expected the site to be very busy (it was) but we also expected all the facilities to be working properly to cater for those campers needs. They weren't.

Clearly there has been very considerable investment in the new facilities block. Such investment is a waste of money if those facilities cannot cope with the number of campers.

A small additional investment to iron out the faults would return this site to the premier division.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Undercover Joe 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site and it has to rate as one of my favourites in Norfolk. The site occupies a large field surrounded by woodland but has amazing facilities, with a clean modern shower block in the middle of the site, and then immaculate wooden garden sheds with fully functioning toilets dotted around the edge of the field.

Once you've pitched your tent the whole site takes on the feel of a festival field, with vast amounts of space for the kids to run around, people flying kites, and after dark the opportunity to sit around a real open fire. You have to buy the wood from the farm on site as pilfering from the surrounding woods is not permitted (to protect the woods, which is fair enough).

The site is a great location with miles of woodland walks, and the opportunity to see steam trains on the 'Poppy Line' which runs along the edge of site. There are great pubs and shops in nearby Weybourne, half an hours walking distance from the site, and the beach can be reached within an hour on foot. The nearby Kelling Heath site alson offers a great bar and fast food outlet, and a swimming pool for a small fee.

Nearby Sheringham has a great array of local shops, restaurants (try Daves fish and chips for the best fish, and they sell beer on tap too!), and miles of sandy beach for the kids.

I've been to this site three times now and have always come back thinking I've spent a few days in paradise, Check it out, I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saracen 15 reviews from this member

Well it was a cold and rainy night we were at Breck Farm, which probably didn't help, but we weren't that impressed. It turned out that the new (I think) utilities block was locked and out of use, so we had to use the facilities in the farm yard - just cold water in the sinks here; additionally there was no lighting at all making it difficult to even find these facilities the first time. For washing up there were outside sinks with again just cold water. We felt that we should have been told about the utilities block being out of use when we arrived

On a summer day with all facilities on line this is probably a gorgeous place to stay - it's a lovely setting - but it didn't make the best impression on us on this visit.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshwiggle 2 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Breck Farm and as always we had a fantastic time. The facilities are basic but adequate and the relaxed attitude towards pitching makes for a very informal and laid back atmosphere. The fact that camp fires are allowed makes this site very special. There can be some noise at night but it's generally low level and should be expected given that the huge fields allow for large groups of families or friends to pitch together.

The owner and warden patrol quite often to ensure that people are being sensible with fires etc. Firewood, kindling, marshmallows and eggs are available for very reasonable prices from the farmhouse.

The surrounding area is lovely and the site is within easy reach of several coastal towns and beaches. There are beautiful walks to be had in the woods surrounding the site.

If you are looking for a 'no frills' site which allows real camp fires and want to pitch with family or friends then look no further.

Please note that the site no longer allows 'sky lanterns' to be launched - apparently there have been some close calls with tents from lanterns which have not been launched correctly. There is a small notice by the shower block but it's easily missed!

Previous     170 Review in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5267 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.1016