Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
              8/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazz51 7 reviews from this member

This was my third visit to Breck Farm. I was hoping to camp in the original field of my first visit but there seemed to be work going on there, new loo and a road I think, so I was back in the same place as my second visit, which was rather muddy and the field was very crowded, as everyone was in the narrower field and it was July.

There is also a small area opposite the farmhouse, then two huge fields, the top corner near the amenities for caravans and a space near the bottom for rallys and two great expanses for tents.

The amenities are pretty basic in a huge concrete barn, but there are a lot of loos, not too sure about the showers but that's never an immediate concern for me, but I can't say I liked the look of them much.

This is a very basic site, just how I like them. The family are incredibly friendly, I have chatted to all three generations in their farmhouse kitchen, where they sell eggs, potatoes, logs, etc.

I don't think I have ever had to book; just turn up and try to avoid the hens stalking across the farm track. There are a lot of hens.

The fields are backed by woods with lots of trails which are near the Kelling Heath site I believe but ideal for a quick early morning dog walk.

The surrounding area is fabulous, you can hear the toot of the steam train which is just down the road at Weybourne and comes from Holt to Sheringham, my dog loved travelling on it.

The beaches are great too. West of Cromer is very dog friendly and to the east kept for families.

The towns of Cromer and Holt each have great fish and chip shops and lots of little shops to mooch around in, particularly Holt, and there is a small country park there too.

You can walk along the coast path from Weybourne to Sheringham, another little town packed with shops but a rocky beach and gets very crowded.

Along the coast road there are some fantastic towns to see, bird spotting and a tearoom at Cley, Wells next the Sea, beautiful beaches near Holkham.

Campfires are allowed and, unusually, on the ground. This makes a lot of mess finding somewhere to pitch I guess but there is usually a lot of room.

It is a typically basic campsite I think so I guess you will either love it or hate it. I love it.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SonofBoudica 2 reviews from this member

Breck farm is a legend. We have stayed there many times over the past six years or so. We have seen the site develop from just a couple of toilets and showers to a new purpose built block. We have never had to wait to us them and the water has always been hot enough.

The fires allowed in one field makes the site very atmospheric during glorious summer evenings.

Sometimes other campers can get a bit noisy, but as we don't have children, it has been annoying but has not put us off going back.

For the first time in July this year, it was full! We were bitterly disappointed not to get in as we had not booked. I hope this isn't a sign of the future.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy80b 3 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite for location and the fact it said it had a new toilet block. This was very basic, just bare concrete floors, plenty of toilets but few sinks and one hand dryer.

The washing up facilities were basic too as was the freezer pack refreeze. The large field that allowed camp fires was very busy and noisy at the weekend although the rest of our visit was fairly quiet due to not many there.

You needed a car to go to the local pub (1 mile away) as the lane and busy main road had no pavement and would have been dangerous after dark.

The site was cheap though and like camping used to be before the advent of sites with lots of facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsayli 2 reviews from this member

We are relative novices to camping, or at least camping with children. We (husband, 2 young children and myself) stayed at Breck Farm for 5 nights during May Half Term, which was obviously a peak time to visit.

We found a lovely family atmosphere with an eclectic mix of people. We had a good pitch with electric hook-up relatively near to the toilet and shower block, and really enjoyed the relaxed feel of the site.

Having seen some other comments about the toilets and showers, I have to say I did not queue once for a shower, nor did my husband, but then were always in there before 7am. The showers were adequate and hot, although too hot for 2 and 4-year-olds, but we fully understand the issues surrounding Legionnaire's Disease.

The hot water did seem to run out, however, and we did hear comments from other campers who had problems. This also affected washing up, especially in the evenings. The toilet rolls also ran out in some cubicles by the end of our stay. The bins and recycling facilities were good.

There was some noise in the evening which kept our children awake to some extent, although the site was patrolled later on. People driving around the site did not always stick to the speed limit of 5mph, which was worrying given the number of children and dogs roaming around the place.

The surrounding woods made a great place to hunt for bears and gruffalos! There was, however, a fence on the way back which was meant to deter people from going to use the clubhouse facilities at Kelling Heath. As mentioned by others, the owners were very welcoming and helpful, and the eggs were delicious.

This is a great base from which to explore the North Norfolk coast, and there are plenty of family-friendly things to do nearby. In fact we ended up going to the beach on 3 occasions as we made the most of the great weather.

All in all, we had a lovely time and would love to return one day, although it might have been a less successful stay in bad weather, or if the site had been any busier.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsNoviceCamper 9 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights over the May bank holiday and it was very busy! There is a pitch where you like policy and with a few fields to choose from we opted for the Woodfield. It was rather rougher underfoot than in the other fields, but that's a price we were willing to pay in order that we could have a campfire. The site adjoined some fantastic woodland which was great for the kids to go exploring.

The new shower and toilet block was fine with a good number of toilets and sinks. There were 4 showers (in the ladies and again in the gents) which were good and hot and used tokens which were available from the farm house. They were supposed to last 3 and a half minutes, but it was definitely longer than that. There were sockets in there too, so if you are more of a Glamper than a Camper, you can take your hairdryer. Washing up facilities were also provided in doors and out. There were often queues for the showers and washing up sinks, but there were a lot of campers to accommodate.

You can get fresh free range eggs, firewood, and marshmallows at reasonable prices from the farm house. The door was always open whilst we were there and the family very friendly. There's a wide variety of 'Things to Do' leaflets in the shower block entrance, as well as freezers for your freezer blocks.

In terms of what to do nearby, we got the Poppy Line steam train to Sheringham from Holt, and had a great day at the seaside. There are some fantastic fish and chips and ice cream to be had.

There was a really good atmosphere over the weekend. At about 10pm, the warden made the rounds to check that there wasn't too much noise.

Overall, a great site, and a good time was had by all.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debs398 20 reviews from this member

Had another lovely weekend at Breck Farm. Unfortunately they are not allowed to now use all the space that they previously did so its no longer possible to just turn up at busy periods, however we rang on Friday morning to go Fri/Sat and it was 'no problem'.

Shower and toilet block - basic but clean, 50p token for the showers which lasts 4 minutes, plenty of sinks and toilets, undoubtedly you will have to queue at bank holidays but then you do anywhere!

You pitch where you fancy, the field is surrounded on two sides by trees and if you are -in the non-EHU field you can have campfires, one of the many things we love about this site. They provide old wheel hubs for you to have your fire in and wood can be purchased from the farmhouse for 4.50 a sack

We did think we were going to have problems as there were two rather large groups in the bottom of the field and early evening we could hear their music and singing, they were having great fun, it didn't bother us but we were a little concerned about how late it may go on, however we neednt have worried, the warden was keeping a watchful eye on the whole site and at 9pm (quiet time) him and the owner drove around the site, asking everyone if they were ok and the music went off and from then on it was just people quietly chatting enjoying a few drinks around a campfire throughout the whole site.

I really don't know what it is about this site but it has a lovely laid back 'sensible' approach and everyone just seems to relax and chill out.

We love it here, we did ask when we left if we could book in for bank holiday weekend but unfortunately they were full

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P4rk5 7 reviews from this member

We visited breck farm over the whitsun week together with two other couples, on arrival we were shocked at the amount of units there possibly 200+, as mentioned by others there is a policy of camp where you like, after a while we managed to find enough space for 3 units.

The site it self has 4 large fields two with electric hook up, two without. Two of the fields border on to the woods which are great for walks with the dog. Others have mentioned about the camp fires which gave the site a great feeling, the kids enjoyed toasting masrhmallows in the evening.

Now the facilities, we gave the site benefit over the bank holiday weekend with so many people most sites facilities would show the strain but after the weekend things did not improve,

the toilet block looks only a couple of years old, the concrete block walls are only painted which makes them look tatty and there is no floor covering, there are communal wash basins which did not have hot water when we used them,

We are very early risers so showers were not a problem, there are only 4 in the gents and 4 in the ladies (always take 2 tokens with you) but others in our group had to wait up to 45 mins in a morning in long queues, the toilets in the main were clean (floors could have been swept more often)

The pot wash never had hot water in the 7 days we were there and the floor was alway flooded. We tried on a number of occasions to get in to the laundry but it was always out of use,

The outside chemical waste disposal had a wash basin and hand cleaner which is not always at bigger sites - well done.

Our friends needed to drop their grey waste from the motorhome and had to drive down the side of the toilet block and with the help of the warden remove the main drain cover, a motor home service point would be a great addition at little cost to the site.

Overall the site would be lovely outside busy times, nice views over the fields, the farm atmosphere was nice with the sound of chickens in the morning. The fresh eggs were superb.

Would we go back? probably not at that time of the year.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmarsh 2 reviews from this member

We went up for the Easter w/e and the site was very busy. The toilet and shower block looked new, with some of the showers still unfinished but it still struggled with the numbers. The showers are on a meter and you get 4mins for 50p. They were mostly hot but could do with a shower curtain or stool.

You camp in a large field where there are no pitches which makes it great for groups. Considering how busy it was and the large number of groups it was pretty quiet at night. The campfires are a great feature and everything you need can be got from the farm house.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenwagg1 3 reviews from this member

This was the Easter Weekend so very very busy, we pitched up earlier before everyone arrived so we had the pick of the field. Even though the site was very busy and the campfires were in full swing the site quietened down and sleep for us early birds was not disturbed. The new facilities are going to be great when they are completed, but in the meantime they fall a bit short. The main problem is that we had 3 mornings of cold (ice) showers ot of 4. There was someone fixing them each morning but to late for those in first. Once they iron out these niggles it will be great. One big bonus was the freezers for putting in your own ice blocks just asking for a charitable donation (nice touch)

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

Having stayed before at Breck Farm and put reviews on here, we returned again for the Royal wedding long weekend pretty much knowing what to expect of this site. It's large, functional and fairly basic but the fact that we've been back in the last two years says something of the overall positive experiences we've had.

To be honest, this was not nearly as enjoyable a stay as in the past, some of that was outside the control of the owners - it was a very blustery weekend and with large fields and a fair bit of open space, the wind did howl across the tents and awnings and even our van. It made for a difficult time for camping and with kids, more difficult for games. If the weather is windy, this may make you think twice about the site, winds straight off the North sea (the coast being about two miles away) can be bitter and hard.

Though it was busy, we weren't camped wall to wall (or canvas to canvas) as some have suggested in past reviews

Unfortunately, there were some issues this year with the shower / toilet block, there seemed to be a very limited number of showers available for the weekend and those that were out of order appear to be the ones that weren't finished last year; which was disappointing as the remainder were very busy, queued up and not a great experience.

There were also some issues with the toilets, several of those in the gents became blocked, whilst others ran out of toilet paper. I completely accept that this happens on occasion, but, the paper wasn't filled for hours and unlike me, a lot of people didn't take their own, which put more pressure on even fewer toilets. All in all, not a great experience to take the kids into.

The big plus side is that the location for touring North Norfolk is absolutely superb and there are plenty of local pubs and shops, beaches, etc etc to keep most people occupied. Also, when the weather's not so windy, there's loads of space to have the kids run around in, do your own thing and not really risk upsetting the neighbours; and all for a very reasonable price without any attempt to make extra money out of you having an awning or extra kid or dog with you.

Would we camp here again? Yes, probably when it's a bit quieter. The site is great when it's quiet and is in an excellent location, the family who run it are friendly and helpful and sell some local produce, eggs, wood for fires etc. Perhaps, as has been suggested by other reviewers, they need to just concentrate on getting a couple of things right to bring it back up to scratch.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7875 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0977