Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ASTOCKY 1 review from this member

Extremely well run site. Staff couldn't be more helpful.

All the facilities are kept clean and tidy.

Pitches are a very good size, nicely segregated from others so you don't feel encroached upon by neighbours like some other sites.

5 min walk to the Towans ( dunes ) which is dog heaven, if yours like ours loves chasing rabbits! A couple of miles of these abut the beach and oh, what a beach. Acres of sand when the tide is out, still plenty when it's in.

Dog friendly area basically to south of the site and daytime dog restricted to the north.

Very good food available 20 mins walk north along the beach at the NT car park. Also at the pub just across from the site entrance ( need to book for evenings ).

Excellent walks along coastal path with a two hourly bus service to drop you off at various start points along the paths route. Or pick you up if you don't quite make it!

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meads 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the 2nd week in June and were really impressed with the layout of the site. The owners have divided the pitches up with plants and tall grasses which also act as a windbreak. The pitches are very spacious.

We had a pitch at the top of the central field which was great for the kids to play on with the tents pitched around the edge of the field. The toilets, showers, etc are clean with plenty of hot water.

There is also a family shower room and a room with a bath in for children. The shop has all the usual supplies and weren't that overly priced. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The site is very peaceful and is only a 10 minute drive from the A30 which gives you good access to other parts of the area. There is a pub in the village which has good ale and food.

The beach is a 10 minute walk out of the back of the campsite. Will hopefully be back next year if I can stand the 8 hour drive again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raylotsyb 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site and all amenities are exceptional. One word of warning though, in its ad it states dog friendly beaches, unfortunately the beach immediately over the dunes is most definitely not and you have to walk some way along the dunes to reach a strip of beach that is dog friendly, a small point but one to consider. Saying that I would still recommend this site. I have been to this site on three occasions and look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garethhorton 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the June monsoon of 2012 and it blew 50mph on one evening! The site is immaculate, thoughtfully laid out and beautifully kept.

The pitches are generous with small fenced and horticultural windbreaks. Most are flat and upon leaving each one mowed short again so as to maintain its condition. A nice touch is that the middle area of around 100mx100m is left clear so that children can play away from tents, and those who'd rather avoid them.

The showers are top class, warm, powerful and spotless. I nice touch are the children's baths and family shower room.

The shop sells everything you need to tide you over, and the daily baker delivering fresh bread, croissants and pastries at great value (50p a croissant) means that breakfast can be a straightforward continental affair when the prospect of another fry up is too much!

The pub opposite sells great local beer and delicious food - it has a beer garden outside and a hog roast once a week.

Anyone unaware of the location should know that Gwithian Towans is (in my opinion) the finest beach in Europe - great surf, interesting rock pools and three miles of unbroken sand. Wonderful!

The staff are wonderful. I mentioned that the week we stayed was miserable weather, in fact our tent blew away - 50mph winds take no prisoners. The staff saved our gear, brought us restorative tea and coffee and found us a place to stay warm and dry for the night.

Its the best beach I know, and the finest campsite I could envisage!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

We stayed here for what was going to be just 1 night, but quickly extended that to 2 nights when we saw the place. Quite possibly the nicest campsite we have ever stayed at!

The plots have been 'lovingly' put together with nice planters in between. They are also good size plots. We went out of holidays, but could imagine it being a nice location even in holidays, due to the plots being split up you wouldn't feel like kids are everywhere.

The beach is probably about a 10 min walk off the site, but it is a really nice walk across a field and then onto the sand-dunes. There are loads of rabbits in the field, which make it even nicer to walk across. Facilities are second to none. There is a huge new building split into male/female areas with plenty of toilets/showers. They are included in price too. Reception is really nice, selling basic products too. A fish van comes on site once a week, selling fresh fish. You need to drive into St Ives (bus is 12 return for 2 people and takes approx 30mins each way). Bus stop is right by the pub just opposite the camp site. St Ives is really nice and got some great eateries and views. If you are staying around St Ives, you must stay at this campsite - you wont be disappointed! (not much on site for kids other than small play area and location to beach)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BillBeech005 7 reviews from this member

A top of the range site, we have just had three consecutive long weekends there and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,

The beach is within easy walking distance so you can park the car, and apart from shopping for supplies or visiting the many local attractions, you can leave it there.

The children will love the beach, with its miles of sand and the large rock pools. The pub across the road is excellent and we have had fine meals in there.

There is a bus service outside the gates and two very good supermarkets (Lidl being the nearest and represents excellent food at a great price).

The facilities are beyond reproach and are part of what gives this site such a high AA rating.

As for the owners and staff, Mike and Clair are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and are ably supported by the cheerful staff.

The pitches are generous and are all within easy reach of the immaculate toilet block.

This site just gets better and better each year, we cannot recommend it highly enough, for families, couples, surfers etc. Its all here.

We will be back soon with the kites, kayaks and fishing tackle!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazandkim 1 review from this member

We returned from a 10 day trip to Cornwall and stayed at this site after reviewing many other sites. For us this was by far the best. When we checked in they gave us a map of the site and the beach along with three different places on the beach you could walk to for food and drink.

The owners and staff are kind and helpful. The toilet blocks were spotless and hot water was a plenty. There are hair dryers for free. We stayed over Easter and never had to wait for a shower. There is a separate bathroom with a tub for parents with small children. Laundry on site and very clean dish washing area.

While we were there the fish and chips van came twice a week and we even saw an ice cream van come by a few times.

In the office there are basic supplies and the prices are not over inflated as some sites are. You can get fresh eggs from their chickens and lovely bacon too.

Free wifi was great cell service not so much however texts could be sent and received. They also charged your phone or iPad. There is a room for ice packs and a place to wash your wet suit.

The pub across from the site was great and dogs were more then welcome. There was a beer festival on and we had a great time.

As other people mentioned there is a slight slope on many pitches, enough to drain water but not enough to complain about. While we were there in rained and rained and we never flooded. There are wind barriers between the pitches and when full grown will ever be better.

Someone mentioned security and even though there wasn't a security gate we felt more then safe.

We don't have children so can't comment on the child friendliness

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vickisters72 3 reviews from this member

Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The site is beautifully laid out with neat hedges separating each pitch.

When we stayed there was a small matter of a storm on the Easter Monday. Our tent was slightly damaged, however the staff were extremely helpful and provided us with spare poles etc to mend our tent.

The toilets and showers are very clean and the water is nice and hot.

The shop was equipped with everything you need and more.

The walk to the beach is lovely and the beach is very clean. The walk past Godrevy point to see the seals is worth it.

The site is nice and clean and to hear the waves crashing when you wake up in the morning is very relaxing.

A very pleasant stay and we plan to return.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

Originally booked for one night but decided to stay for two. It was a lovely site. Showers were hot and kept clean. There are quite a few, I suspect during summer it would be quite busy, but in sept it was nice.

The one thing that struck me was how many hooks you got in the toilet/shower block they were everywhere, something which is over looked normally, as you don't have enough to hang clothes and towels, but here that wasn't a problem

The site accepts dogs, and there is a part of the beach that dogs are allowed, however in the evening, after 7pm dogs are allowed on the whole beach I believe

There is free wifi which is good.

On certain nights they had a fish and chip van which was good. We went to the pub which accepted dogs,

The shop even out of season was stocked and even at the end of the season the site was well kept. The pitch was a decent size and the owners were very helpful.

Would I stay again, yes, definitely.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Routemaster 2 reviews from this member

A brilliant Park, beautifully laid out with natual screening between pitches.

We stayed with two other motorhomes and they allowed us to utilise 2 large pitches for the three of us so that we could be together.

There was plenty of room and meant we were close to the facilities. These were more than adequate for our stay, I can imagine they get very busy when the site is full.

There was a relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were friendly.

A short walk over the dunes reveals an amazing beach.

I'm sure we will revisit in the future.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6239 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1377