Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodovis Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodovis Park
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832968

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 21.03.14 - 31.10.14

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
              9/10 from 86 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 43 to 48                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fibi 1 review from this member

Wow, a fantastic site. We are reasonably new to camping, starting last summer with a borrowed tent and buying a new one for this season which we christened at Woodovis Park for a long weekend break. Only living an hour away we thought this an ideal location to start at this time of the year.

We went with another family, and booked two neighbouring all weather pitches (slightly more expensive than the grass ones but well worth it). Upon arrival at the park we were greeted by friendly staff and show to our pitches even though we arrived on the off chance 2 hours early.

We were able to go straight on as no one was on the pitches the day before which was luck, but brilliant! The pitches were covered in gravel and the campsite provide thick fabric ground sheets to cover this area so your tent is completely protected from the gravel (we have a footprint but had no need to use it). Free electric hook ups were really useful too.

On these particular pitches you will need rock pegs as the standard pegs are not sturdy enough (they sell them in the on-site shop).

Amazingly clean site in every way, exceptional shower block facilities and brilliant swimming pool, the children (2 of 5yrs and 2 of 2yrs) loved it.

Again the children found the small play park a joy as well, ideally suited for their age groups and very safe to play in.

The games room again was useful, though we spent little time there as the weather was wonderful - apart from the morning we left when the heavens opened! It was then a great distraction for the children whilst the men packed away the camps.

Also a small mini golf course which is only 50p to use!

The area around is very scenic, surrounded by farm land and animals of all shapes and sizes.

There is a shop on site which is stocked with all the basic's and you can order bread, croissants etc to be freshly baked the following morning - scrummy. The only criticism I would say here is that the opening hours of the shop / reception are very limited 1hr in the morning and 1hr in the afternoon. However, on several occasions we paged the staff team (using the buzzer bell on the shop), and they came to assist immediately.

All staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful, and we would all certainly visit again, it was a very enjoyable weekend.

I have rated 10 out of 10 for all aspects apart from 9 out of 10 for location (perfect for me would be closer to the beach) and 9 out of 10 for site facilities (again perfect personal preference would be some sort of cafe).

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

I have wanted to try this site for ages now but was put off by the price - £36 for hardstanding, 2 adults and 2 children - it's the most we've paid we've paid for a pitch in this country. Finally decided to take the plunge, as weather forecast looked iffy and swimming pool would therefore be useful! Easy booking through website, and really friendly welcome when we arrived - very impressed!
Spacious pitch (Tamar View section). We didn't pay extra for super pitch and glad we hadn't as water and drainage off pitches easily accessible. Pool, jacuzi and sauna very clean, and long opening hours. We ordered croissants for the morning - nice touch, reminded us of trip to France in the summer.
Tavistock nearby, nice little town. Nice park there, plus cinema and swimming pool (didn't use). We walked up to The Chipshop Inn just after 6pm (open all day on Sat and serving food 6-9 in evenings), but bar not suitable for children (we looked in, no-one there to ask but only people there were drinking, and don't think they did bar food). Restaurant attached, but although tables laid up it was all in darkness, so we walked back and ate in the van. Should have checked with visitor info really (or asked member of staff) before going up there, but pleasant walk anyway.
As far as a return visit goes, not really sure as I'd find it hard to justify the cost.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tigang 11 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site situated just outside Tavistock, making it very handy for a quick shopping trip whether it be to the big supermarket, the inside market, many shops or just to get a takeaway. There is also an excellent pub with restaurant a short walk away.

Facilities are absolutely top notch; very modern and very clean. There are even little vases with flowers in on the wash basins! The staff are constantly fussing around keeping the toiler/shower block spotless, especially when it's rained and people are walking mud in. It's like they have a dirty floor alarm in the office!

There is a good games room, play area, putting green and an excellent pool with hot tub. On selected days a chap comes along to teach archery and to run 'water walking' sessions in the pool; the latter cost around £5 per go.

This site is not cheap by any means, but you can see what they've spent the money on and it's well worth it. The staff could not be more helpful and take things like wasps very seriously; on our trip they even had a nest exterminator out and issued nearby tents with insect spray!

The clientèle respected the tranquillity of the site and at bedtime it was practically silent! One family arrived near to us and there was a bit of a debate with the staff over one of their intended 'units'. An old work van with a makeshift bed rigged up inside! They were politely asked to invest in a tent, which they did from a nearby camping shop.

We met some really nice folks who camped next to us and did a spot of 'post boxing' with them in nearby Dartmoor and then explored Lydford Gorge. If you like exploring then this is an excellent base!

This site is not for those on a tight budget, but is a definite must if you want to guarantee a five-star camping experience.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

A medium sized, five star site with a mixture of statics, tourers and tents. Pitches are very generous and most are hard-standing, with hook-up. There is an upper field close to the facilities and a quiet lower field.
Service facilities are very good and the toilet and shower block is modern and exceptionally clean. Shower cubicles are large with shelves and hooks. Hairdryers are a bit lame. There is a small shop selling basic provisions. Croissant and other fresh items can be ordered.
This site is expensive, £16 per pitch with hook-up, plus an additional £6 per person in the high season. However, there is a games room, outdoor play area and a very pleasant indoor heated swimming pool and sauna. The warden we saw was very jolly and welcoming.

The Chipshop Inn is a ten minute walk along a country road, but that is after the ten minute walk to the end of the site’s drive! We had an extremely good meal there, freshly cooked, on a Sunday evening.

The closest town is Tavistock with its grey stone buildings. The long stay car park is a pleasant five minute walk beside the river into the town. The Pannier Market is surrounded by small shops but most are closed on Monday. We had a very pleasant lunch, al fresco, at Donella’s in Paddons Row.
A visit to Creber’s Delicatessan is essential. Some of the original shop’s fixtures, dating from 1881, remain. The shelves are stacked with groceries; cheese, wine, chocolate and so much more.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: RICHARD.A 9 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site so didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were shown personally to our caravan by a member of staff who was very friendly and helpful as were all of the staff members who we met during the week. We were shown around the caravan and were shown where everything was. We were also shown how to work all the appliances in the caravan.
The caravan itself was clean and tidy and was very comfortable and there was even a small welcome pack with tea, coffee and a bag of fudge. The site was nice and peaceful and the toilet/shower blocks were always clean. There was a small play area and games room for the children and the swimming pool was a decent size with plenty of room for everyone to enjoy it.
There was information left in the caravan about the surrounding area places to eat and visit and the site is situated nicely so that you can get to either the east or west coast line without too much travelling. There is a small shop on site which although small has most things people require and even bakes fresh bread but you have to order the bread the day before. The Chipshop Inn which is near the site serves good food and is a nice place to go of an evening.
The only critism I have about the site is that there is only one toilet / shower block for the whole site and would probably benefit from have another one. Also with most of the pitches for caravans being hard standing there is only a small grassed area for tents which gets very soft and wet if it is raining. These however are my only criticism and the site on the whole is a very peaceful relaxing place to go and we would recommend this site to anyone looking for some where to spend some quiet time. Would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Centauri 1 review from this member

Not a huge amount that I can add to other reviews as they cover the vast majority of points I would like to make. I do however have one point to add concerning the customer service. I have yet to find a site that performs better in this respect. For example I mentioned, in passing, to one of the members of staff that we were having trouble with wasps congregating on the tent; Not only did they have an exterminator out that afternoon trying to locate the nest, they also supplied our neighbours and ourselves with tins of wasp killer at no cost to ourselves.

It is the little touches like this that make this park a cut above the rest.

Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 43 to 48      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4799 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder