Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Virgo 1 review from this member

We spent a relaxing week camping on this site and have to say it is perfect for campers unaccompanied by children who want a quiet site, good walks and good facilities.

The setting is lovely; in a valley with the river on one side and a mill stream on the other and a family of running ducks, wooden bridge and flowers everywhere.

The gravel road down the centre of the site ensures no mud when it rains and there are some hard standing areas at the bottom. Plenty of room to pitch, most have electrical hookup available, lots of drinking water stand pipes plus waste water disposal. The pitches are all pretty flat, the ones on the mill stream side have a rise towards the back but with so much space you can position your unit forward to be comfortable.

You can hear a bit of traffic noise from the road but its never really busy and is generally quiet at night. This was not a problem at all.

The wardens were fantastic; a cup of coffee offered on arrival, always on hand to ask questions/give help as well as staffing the shop.

Main shower block is excellent. An older building with one loo and 3 powerful showers for the girls (I think there are 2 for the boys). Lots of hot (free) water. There is a room for pot wash, veg prep and laundry. A washing machine and tumble dryer, microwave, kettle, iron and ironing board are also here. A separate recently fitted out toilet block is also close by and reminded us of airport toilets, very smart indeed. There is a site shop for the basics, a local info shed and a free wifi cabin.

The owners welcome campers to view the mill working within their home on Sunday mornings, unmissable opportunity to meet them and to see this ancient mill actually working for 45 minutes or so.

For campers with dogs, there is a dog walk at the far end of the site running alongside the river to a weir where the mill stream starts. A must for all campers, not just dog owners.

The pub at the end of the road is a typical country pub, log fires, oak beams and a cosy atmosphere. The food was good and reasonably priced. A welcome retreat at the end of a full day.

They have thought of everything, I have never visited a better organised site and would recommend it to everyone.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wunny 2 reviews from this member

Perfect - sums up this site for us.

A warm welcome and a free cuppa on arrival is a nice touch! Thank you very much.

We're tent campers so the flatter side of the site, by the Exe was best suited for us.

Showers are perfectly adequate. Clean, & do the job they are intended to do.

Nice to have a microwave oven available for those who do not have fully equipped kitchens with them.

Not all mobiles have reception, although Orange/ T Mobile does, but free site WiFi and good coverage with BT WiFi also, means that you can stay in touch, one way or another.

It has a nice walk up to the Mill Stream weir and as it is also the dog walk, you get to meet people.

On Sunday mornings, the Mill House is open for a free guided tour. Very interesting!

The Badgers Holt, just a hundred yards or so up the road, serves good food and beer, so well worth a visit. Check the opening times though, to avoid disappointment.

And best of all - No children! So no balls, or out of control bicycles bouncing off your unit.

With 7 children and 11 grand children, we really do appreciate the peace and relative quite of this site. It's never quiet in the country though, as the dawn chorus is ever present.

Bliss!

We've booked again ;o))

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slapheadgeoff 8 reviews from this member

Peace and quiet are the first things that hit you at this easily found, beautiful site set in the deep Exe valley with the river running down one side of the large pitches and a mill leat down the other.

A warm welcome and a cup of tea are offered by the friendly camp wardens and they bent over backwards to be helpful. The whole campsite is very flat with very little levelling needed.

The showers and toilets were exceptional and the chemical disposal site even had soap and towels which was a nice touch.

I use an Orange mobile phone and had good reception, although some mobiles can't get any reception at all.

We are dog walkers and found many routes in the excellent information hut ( a small donation tin helps to pay for this handy stuff), but beware, some of the walks are for mountaineers !The walks use quite a lot of farmland and at this time of year we had to keep the dogs on a short lead because the sheep with lambs panic and run like crazy and the cows with calves seem very defensive and quite happy to confront the dogs, even when we were on the other side of a fence! So you must remember that you are in their environment.

We walked on Dunster beach as well and found this large with plenty of sand at low tide.

The Bagers Holt pub is a very short walk from the site with a friendly welcome and some good beers. We also went the couple of miles to Winsford and the Royal Oak where dogs are also welcome and the food was top quality.

Television is on a communal aerial and only analogue but it gives you the four main channels and is enough to keep you in touch with the world if you need to !

A five star site, and I will certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daisyted 4 reviews from this member

We booked to stay two nights after being recommended the site, we turned up all excited for our short break away, I was disappointed with the first impressions of the site. Two rows of pitches with no segregation everyone pitched just how they wanted to. We opted for pitch number fourteen that backed on to the Mill stream, but it was not the babbling of the stream we could hear but the noise of the passing traffic. In the morning we both showered and again not happy very small showers with shared drainage! We decided not to stay for the second night that we had paid for and moved on. We would not return to this site, but I am sure it fits the bill for some.

Management response: Very disappointed to have a dissatisfied camper. This is in contrast to the other reviews, and the compliments we receive daily.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RusstheWelshman 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site! It was great to wake up next to the River Exe bubbling its way through the site. Very friendly and helpful wardens. Site is between the river and a mill stream. The pitches adjacent to the river seem to be more level. Great dog walk at the bottom of the site, very picturesque. On site shop stocks the basics that you'll need. They will lend you an aerial to connect your TV to the communal antenna as there is no digital reception here. No phone signal either! Don't forget that payment is by cheque or cash only. They cleaned me out! Fortunately the local pub, the Badgers Holt, will accept credit & debit cards. Welcoming landlord, good Exmoor beer and good choice of pub food. They also allow dogs into the bar.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshirekaren 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Exe Valley and so wish it had been longer.

Where to start with this fantastic site.

The pitches were of a very good size we have a large tent 3. 5m x 5m plus a porch extension, it fit with ease and with good soft ground, well drained. We went river side.

The shower and toilet block were spotless well positioned at one end of the site. The showers in the women's rival the power shower at home with plenty of free hot water. Separate toilet block where modern and nice. Never had to queue for either.

Laundry was great with washer and a separate dryer - Cheap. (one full washing load cost us 1 and to dry 50p)

Dish washing area as above with very hot water, washing bowls provided too. A freezer for campers to freeze freezer blocks this was also free (thank you)

Site shop had all we required and more. I would also praise the fact that in the shop you paid no more than you would in a supermarket very rare for a site shop.

Info shed what a fab idea. Area leaflets and local events, folders for walks from site, local menus, fishing and lots more. (a donation in tin)

Other touches - a herb garden to help your self if required for cooking, flags flying of the different nationalities there. The resident ducks (could have watched them all day) An offer of a cuppa on arrival!

Dog walking field, more like a playground. With the river exe, the weir, clean, poo bin and trees and shrubs. Totally safe as no escape routes. I can see why most other people there had dogs as really dog friendly.

Others campers/caravanners where all friendly and on a very windy day (we had gone out and was oblivious)people kept an eye on the tent removed a blown down wind break and was prepared to tighten ropes and hammer down pegs.

Central to explore Exmoor national park. We used the The pathfinder walkers books for Exmoor the site was spot on for the walks although with several walks straight from the site we where never stuck.

I seriously can not praise this site enough - and the wardens - Thank you for such a relaxed, pleasant, clean and friendly site! We will be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Patroy 1 review from this member

This was our very first adventure in our motorhome. We found the site after only one slight detour at the Black Cat. The Wardens were very helpful and welcoming and greeted us with a cup of tea and then recommended where to park up. We had a pitch right next to the River Exe with electric and tv hookup, great to watch the trout swimming upstream. The showers and toilets were immaculate with lots of hot water. There is a good bus service to Tiverton, Dulverton, Dunster and Minehead. If I had a criticism it would be that there is only one block of showers and if you are parked at the bottom end it is quite a walk. All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and the help we received.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stubbsy 3 reviews from this member

I cant speak highly enough of this site. 'van parked on the riverbank, with the gentle sound of water trickling by is fantastic. The loos are REALLY good, better than a lot of Hotels I have stayed in. Great walks from here, or just a stroll around the site alongside the river and back down the road to the pub is a pleasant experience. Very good tour of the Mill on Sunday mornings. Well placed for a visit to Dunster or Dulverton, and a walk up to Winsford is good. This was our third visit here, and I cant wait to go back. My only problem is that it could get too popular!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BJefferson 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site - quiet and welcoming. Loos etc. Clean and well appointed. Pitches are fairly level, with EHU (10 amps) and TV point (5 analogue stations via the village feed). We stayed for two night and wished we could stay longer. We have two collies and the site is ideal in this respect - the dog walk area is more than adequate and there are many walks of varying lengths directly from the site.

The pub down the road (The Badgers' Holt) is friendly but quite basic. The Royal Oak in Winsford is excellent, good ale and food. Both pubs welcome dogs.

The owners live in a restored water mill. If you are there on a Sunday they open it up to visitors and give lots of fascinating information about its history.

We are new hands at this life style, but this is certainly the best place we have stayed so far. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LiamAshby 1 review from this member

We stayed here in a motorhome during a bitterly cold Easter 2013 and loved it. We will definitely be returning.

The wardens were excellent; friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The setting is picturesque, in a steep sided valley with the sparkling River Exe running along one side of the site and the mill stream running along the other into the large mill (complete with water wheel).

Pitches are arranged in two long rows either side of a central track running the length of the site meaning that not only are they wide but there is plenty of room in front (especially nearer the reception end). Pitches are well maintained and fairly level, slightly sloping towards the river. Most have ehu and TV arial giving access to the 5 terrestrial channels (wardens gave us a long arial to use)

The heated shower and toilet block was very clean and showers were hot (and free). A hairdryer was available for the women. The new, separate, toilet block was 5* hotel standard. You won't find better on any campsite.

Other facilities we saw (but didn't need ourselves) were laundry room, microwave, washing up area - all looked clean, well maintained and of a high standard.

Mobile phone reception was non-existent. I'm on Vodafone, my wife is on Three and we couldn't get a signal anywhere in the area, not just in the valley. Luckily there is a payphone on site and free wi-fi. The router is located in a hut by reception so you can take your laptop and sit in there but it is accessible (on your phone or iPad for example) anywhere near the reception. My wife found this very handy as she could 'facetime' the kids. The payphone is located in its own hut which is choc full of useful information about the surrounding area.

There is a little shop on site, in the reception hut, for all your essentials which was handy as the next nearest shop was in Winsford, about 3 miles away.

Less than 100yds from the entrance to the site is The Badgers Holt pub where you're sure of a warm welcome and a good pint and they offered a varied menu of very good food at very reasonable prices. We're not generally pub goers but we were there almost every night, and not just because of the toasty fireside sofa!

The site is adults only because of the danger of the river so there are no facilities for children but that suited us, a perfect, quiet place to get away from it all.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938