Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 184 Reviews
                9/10 from 184 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  184 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveandjac 1 review from this member

The site is set in an idyllic setting. Excellent facilities on site. The wardens made us very welcome with a coffee on arrival. Local pub has a good selection of food and drink at reasonable prices, very friendly service. Perfectly placed for walking through exmoor, plus several beaches a short drive away, all dog friendly. With the enchanting dog walk area on site(not just for dogs), I'd have to say this is the best campsite I have been to as a dog owner. Understandably with the mill house, leat and stream it is not a place for children.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aawallet 4 reviews from this member

This is a hidden gem of a site located in the beautiful Exe Valley.

The site is very well maintained with generous pitches, mainly grass but some hard standing which we were on. The toilet block has been completely refurbished this year to an extremely high standard, would put many hotels to shame. There is an on site shop run by the very helpful and friendly wardens

The site has the river Exe on one side, which my dogs loved playing in, and on the other side is the mill stream which was used to power the old mill wheel. If you ask, the owner will show you around the old mill which s very interesting.

The site is set in the heart of Exmoor with all of the attractions that has to offer.

There is a pub within walking distance which does excellent food as well as drink.

This site is highly recommended

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SandV 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Had a stunning 6 night break and decided to extend the trip due to excellent location and stunning weather

This site is tucked away along the A396 which is a little winding and narrow at points on the way. But once you get there its all worthwhile. A great welcome by excellent staff. The site is beautifully located by the river exe one side and the mill stream the other. We stopped on a hard standing pitch which is at the far end of the site on the mill stream side. I bit of a trek to the shower blocks but didn't bother us. The sun was on our pitch from 11am until mid afternoon.

Facilities were fine. Although on arrival seeing only two showers for the male side I expect queues although this was not the case and had plenty of hot water. The new toilet block consists of a urinal and two loo's for the gents. Very swish!

I must say the dog walk at the end was exceptional. My dog has never been so pleased to see a large open grassed with the river running down the side. At the far end was the weir where the water was crystal clear. My dog enjoyed hours of endless dips in the river to cool off. She would say its the best dog walk she's seen ever!

Close to Minehead ( 10 miles) with all amenities and plenty of sights to see in the area.

I would highly recommend the site if you wish to relax and unwind and enjoy the beauty of Somerset and North Devon

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juney18 1 review from this member

Fantastic site lovely and clean. Very peaceful and the sound of the river and the mill stream sends you to sleep quick. The couple who run the place are friendly and very helpful. The toilet facilities and washing up areas are well maintained and kept clean. Lovely walks around the park esp at end of park where the dogs can go in the stream and you can even paddle. Good idea of supplying free tv extension leads and free wifi. Good food in pub opposite love the place mats. Good value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Virgo 1 review from this member

We spent a relaxing week camping on this site and have to say it is perfect for campers unaccompanied by children who want a quiet site, good walks and good facilities.

The setting is lovely; in a valley with the river on one side and a mill stream on the other and a family of running ducks, wooden bridge and flowers everywhere.

The gravel road down the centre of the site ensures no mud when it rains and there are some hard standing areas at the bottom. Plenty of room to pitch, most have electrical hookup available, lots of drinking water stand pipes plus waste water disposal. The pitches are all pretty flat, the ones on the mill stream side have a rise towards the back but with so much space you can position your unit forward to be comfortable.

You can hear a bit of traffic noise from the road but its never really busy and is generally quiet at night. This was not a problem at all.

The wardens were fantastic; a cup of coffee offered on arrival, always on hand to ask questions/give help as well as staffing the shop.

Main shower block is excellent. An older building with one loo and 3 powerful showers for the girls (I think there are 2 for the boys). Lots of hot (free) water. There is a room for pot wash, veg prep and laundry. A washing machine and tumble dryer, microwave, kettle, iron and ironing board are also here. A separate recently fitted out toilet block is also close by and reminded us of airport toilets, very smart indeed. There is a site shop for the basics, a local info shed and a free wifi cabin.

The owners welcome campers to view the mill working within their home on Sunday mornings, unmissable opportunity to meet them and to see this ancient mill actually working for 45 minutes or so.

For campers with dogs, there is a dog walk at the far end of the site running alongside the river to a weir where the mill stream starts. A must for all campers, not just dog owners.

The pub at the end of the road is a typical country pub, log fires, oak beams and a cosy atmosphere. The food was good and reasonably priced. A welcome retreat at the end of a full day.

They have thought of everything, I have never visited a better organised site and would recommend it to everyone.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wunny 2 reviews from this member

Perfect - sums up this site for us.

A warm welcome and a free cuppa on arrival is a nice touch! Thank you very much.

We're tent campers so the flatter side of the site, by the Exe was best suited for us.

Showers are perfectly adequate. Clean, & do the job they are intended to do.

Nice to have a microwave oven available for those who do not have fully equipped kitchens with them.

Not all mobiles have reception, although Orange/ T Mobile does, but free site WiFi and good coverage with BT WiFi also, means that you can stay in touch, one way or another.

It has a nice walk up to the Mill Stream weir and as it is also the dog walk, you get to meet people.

On Sunday mornings, the Mill House is open for a free guided tour. Very interesting!

The Badgers Holt, just a hundred yards or so up the road, serves good food and beer, so well worth a visit. Check the opening times though, to avoid disappointment.

And best of all - No children! So no balls, or out of control bicycles bouncing off your unit.

With 7 children and 11 grand children, we really do appreciate the peace and relative quite of this site. It's never quiet in the country though, as the dawn chorus is ever present.

Bliss!

We've booked again ;o))

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slapheadgeoff 8 reviews from this member

Peace and quiet are the first things that hit you at this easily found, beautiful site set in the deep Exe valley with the river running down one side of the large pitches and a mill leat down the other.

A warm welcome and a cup of tea are offered by the friendly camp wardens and they bent over backwards to be helpful. The whole campsite is very flat with very little levelling needed.

The showers and toilets were exceptional and the chemical disposal site even had soap and towels which was a nice touch.

I use an Orange mobile phone and had good reception, although some mobiles can't get any reception at all.

We are dog walkers and found many routes in the excellent information hut ( a small donation tin helps to pay for this handy stuff), but beware, some of the walks are for mountaineers !The walks use quite a lot of farmland and at this time of year we had to keep the dogs on a short lead because the sheep with lambs panic and run like crazy and the cows with calves seem very defensive and quite happy to confront the dogs, even when we were on the other side of a fence! So you must remember that you are in their environment.

We walked on Dunster beach as well and found this large with plenty of sand at low tide.

The Bagers Holt pub is a very short walk from the site with a friendly welcome and some good beers. We also went the couple of miles to Winsford and the Royal Oak where dogs are also welcome and the food was top quality.

Television is on a communal aerial and only analogue but it gives you the four main channels and is enough to keep you in touch with the world if you need to !

A five star site, and I will certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daisyted 4 reviews from this member

We booked to stay two nights after being recommended the site, we turned up all excited for our short break away, I was disappointed with the first impressions of the site. Two rows of pitches with no segregation everyone pitched just how they wanted to. We opted for pitch number fourteen that backed on to the Mill stream, but it was not the babbling of the stream we could hear but the noise of the passing traffic. In the morning we both showered and again not happy very small showers with shared drainage! We decided not to stay for the second night that we had paid for and moved on. We would not return to this site, but I am sure it fits the bill for some.

Management response: Very disappointed to have a dissatisfied camper. This is in contrast to the other reviews, and the compliments we receive daily.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RusstheWelshman 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site! It was great to wake up next to the River Exe bubbling its way through the site. Very friendly and helpful wardens. Site is between the river and a mill stream. The pitches adjacent to the river seem to be more level. Great dog walk at the bottom of the site, very picturesque. On site shop stocks the basics that you'll need. They will lend you an aerial to connect your TV to the communal antenna as there is no digital reception here. No phone signal either! Don't forget that payment is by cheque or cash only. They cleaned me out! Fortunately the local pub, the Badgers Holt, will accept credit & debit cards. Welcoming landlord, good Exmoor beer and good choice of pub food. They also allow dogs into the bar.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshirekaren 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Exe Valley and so wish it had been longer.

Where to start with this fantastic site.

The pitches were of a very good size we have a large tent 3. 5m x 5m plus a porch extension, it fit with ease and with good soft ground, well drained. We went river side.

The shower and toilet block were spotless well positioned at one end of the site. The showers in the women's rival the power shower at home with plenty of free hot water. Separate toilet block where modern and nice. Never had to queue for either.

Laundry was great with washer and a separate dryer - Cheap. (one full washing load cost us 1 and to dry 50p)

Dish washing area as above with very hot water, washing bowls provided too. A freezer for campers to freeze freezer blocks this was also free (thank you)

Site shop had all we required and more. I would also praise the fact that in the shop you paid no more than you would in a supermarket very rare for a site shop.

Info shed what a fab idea. Area leaflets and local events, folders for walks from site, local menus, fishing and lots more. (a donation in tin)

Other touches - a herb garden to help your self if required for cooking, flags flying of the different nationalities there. The resident ducks (could have watched them all day) An offer of a cuppa on arrival!

Dog walking field, more like a playground. With the river exe, the weir, clean, poo bin and trees and shrubs. Totally safe as no escape routes. I can see why most other people there had dogs as really dog friendly.

Others campers/caravanners where all friendly and on a very windy day (we had gone out and was oblivious)people kept an eye on the tent removed a blown down wind break and was prepared to tighten ropes and hammer down pegs.

Central to explore Exmoor national park. We used the The pathfinder walkers books for Exmoor the site was spot on for the walks although with several walks straight from the site we where never stuck.

I seriously can not praise this site enough - and the wardens - Thank you for such a relaxed, pleasant, clean and friendly site! We will be returning!

Previous     184 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1250