Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 311 Reviews
                10/10 from 311 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  311 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 29 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend break. Still an excellent site with spotlessly clean amenities and grounds. This site is in a beautiful location with stunning views across the Mendip Hills and beyond. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely country walks. I would suggest that they maybe install a solar light which lights up their sign by the entrance as it is very easy to drive past in the dark.

Would recommend the 15th Century pub The George and Pilgrim in Glastonbury. Excellent food and history.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moonraker40 1 review from this member

The greeting and showing to our pitch was excellent

Even though it rained quite a lot the pitch drained well.

Having a fully serviced pitch was well worth the extra.

Shower and toilet block out of this world so clean and warm.

We went to this park so we could go to the Glastonbury carnival with The Old Oaks arranging a coach and a 2 course meal at a reasonable cost a added bonus.

Lots of walking and things to do in the area.

Good walk to Glastonbury Tor.

Looking forward to next year for another visit maybe longer.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Collectorbilly 1 review from this member

An excellent park, lots of space between your nearest neighbour. The toilet facilities are the best I have ever come across, it is like being in a really expensive hotel in London. Nice grounds and views, a great walk into Glastonbury if you don't mind a bit of a steep walk to start but nice coming back. Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen368 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet park with excellent facilities. Plenty of free space on site and seating areas to just sit and enjoy the view. Lovely dog walking area and even a warm shower just for dogs. Glastonbury worth a visit, exactly and you would expect it to be like, good places to eat and mystical shops. The walk to the tor is a must, the view even at dusk with beautiful.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilly62 1 review from this member

We loved this campsite, the views of the Mendips were lovely from our pitch. We got a lovely welcome from the staff even though we were very early, fortunately our pitch was free. Everyone was so kind and helpful. The toilet/shower block was the best we have ever seen anywhere. We have 2 dogs so needed to be able to walk into Glastonbury. There is a route straight from the campsite that takes you to the entrance of the Tor. You can then go down into the town and do a circular walk from there. The information/tv games room was well equipped. It had lots of information on events in the area from guided walks to bus services etc. , There is also a safe fenced off green area for walking your dog off the lead and also a mile route which unfortunately turned into a longer walk as we missed the turning back to the site. There is even a Fish and Chip Van on a Friday night. The site itself has lots of events throughout the year, eg. Fishing Competitions etc. , We will certainly go back there and take in the Starling Murmurations next year.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 42 reviews from this member

The site has generally very large pitches on a number of enclosed greens off the central facilities so, despite the spaciousness of the site, no-one is really far from the facilities. Views from the site are excellent and there are unlimited walking opportunities. Being in a very rural setting it is indeed tranquil, with no major roads within hearing distance. This does mean there are no pubs or shops less than a hike away, but a minibus service is provided at times for those with no car or bike.

The new amenities block has the latest equipment but sadly some practicalities were not adequately taken into account in the design. However, they get so many top-rate reviews from others that we wonder if we expect too much. For example, the showers splash out into the 'dry' area and only some have a seat which you can put shoes on to stop them getting wet. None are provided with duck-boards.

The chemical disposal hut is very basic, lacking anywhere to stand the cassette when adding water and chemical, except the floor. There are no hand-washing facilities at the point.

The fenced-in off-lead dog run is of good size and well-mown so balls and 'No. 2s' can be easily seen. There is a warm-water dog shower at the exit.

Overall we would rate this campsite as 'very good' but with a little bit of thought in the planning it could have been excellent.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert76 3 reviews from this member

By far the best site we have ever visited, the new toilet block is second to none, the pitches are spacious and well spaced out. The grounds are well maintained and are very attractive.

The site is well placed for Wells and Glastonbury, with several National Trust properties a short drive away, and on a wet day the Fleet Air Arm museum at Yeovilton is a must.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monkey Socks 1 review from this member

Booked this site last minute looking for a peaceful place to rest for a few days. Well we both feel 'we done good'. The site is located just outside of Glastonbury and is virtually at he foot of the Tor. There is good walking in the area and you could if energetic leave the car and walk into Glastonbury. The site well and truly befits its 5 star rating. We booked by telephone and the receptionist was very helpful even pointing out all the offers available, upon arrival the staff were friendly and smiley, making sure we were made aware of everything and then showing us to our pitch, which included telling us where the shortcut to the dog walk was so we didn't have to go the long way round. The dog walk was enclosed and safe to properly exercise the dog. The facilities were spotless, warm and inviting, the block we used had individual ablution rooms and were in my opinion better than some hotels I've been in. Good little shop fairly priced and the ability to order fresh bread and croissants. The location in the heart of the country side made it very peaceful and in some ways old school with the mooing of cattle and cock a doodle do of the cockerel. A very clean open friendly site. We will be calling again.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellabongo 1 review from this member

This was my first stay at Old Oaks and although I am fairly new to camping as soon as I entered the site I knew it was special. The space of the pitch was larger than any other site visited and more private, no looking into neighbours van!

The wardens were friendly and helpful but not intrusive, the showers/washing up block was immaculately clean and luxurious. The shop was well stocked, delicious cakes, had slice of cappucino, very moreish.

This is a very dog friendly site, unlike some sites where they are just tolerated.

Lovely walks nearby, walked into Glastonbury. Climbed the Tor, the view from the top is amazing. Visited Wells. Nether Stowey for Coleridge Cottage, Dunster Castle in Minehead has fantastic views across the Bristol channel to Swansea.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cumbrianexile 3 reviews from this member

One of the best sites I have stayed on. Good sized pitches fully serviced. Facilities like being in high class hotel. Handy for Glastonbury, wells. Clarkes village at street worth a visit too. Well stocked shop, with tasting sessions. Staff excellent. Very quiet, no road noise and sedate lighting at night.

Previous     311 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1406