Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan and Motorhome Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Admiral 33 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at The Old Oaks. This is by far our favourite campsite and is the one by which all others are judged (and usually found wanting). The staff are very helpful, without being intrusive and nothing is to much trouble. The standard of the facilities particularly the Middle Oaks block is 5* and would put many a hotel to shame. The pitches are very spacious and well screened from one another so you never feel overlooked.

The added extras this site provides are superb, the cakes and pastries are to die for and we also took advantage of their caravan cleaning service and the Friday night fish and chip run - it's these little thoughtful extras that make all the difference.

We will be returning in Easter next year and plan on making many more trips to this wonderful campsite in the years to come.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrandMrsbucks 3 reviews from this member

Wow wow wow! We absolutely adore this site. It's a beautiful site, so well maintained. Stunning views and beautifully manicured grounds. The pitches are fantastic and the staff really are exceptional, they couldn't have been any more welcoming. Lovely little shop, lots of things to see and do! I can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pebanshaw 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 6 nights at Old Oaks, what a wonderful relaxing break away from it all. The amenities block is second to none, lovely modern wash-up and bathrooms, showers that do not turn off every 20 seconds! We had electric hook-up and free Wi-Fi, which was very good with a strong signal, TV reception is very good too. The landscaping around the park is very well kept and the grass cuttings are even collected! The facilities for dogs is very good, with a fenced in area so 'Fido' can run free, poop bags, hand gel and a heated dog shower! The walks on the website, I printed before we left (there are copies of walks in the games room), are easy to follow and can be completed directly from the site, no need to take the car, we saw kestrels hunting and heard small owls at night. Glastonbury is very nearby not an easy walk (steep hill) but not far. Wells is a beautiful place to visit too, where there is a Waitrose. The information board is an excellent idea for things to do and which days the markets are on and where. It also has the cake of the day, my favourite Lemon Cake my husband liked the Cappucino Cake. I must also recommend 'Knights fish & chips' in Glastonbury, wonderful non-greasy chips!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanjo 11 reviews from this member

Another short stay at this campsite. Excellent as always. A wonderful vibe and great facilities. The washing facilities are second to none, especially the new block. And the washing up area is somewhere you feel you can put your crockery down safely, not something that can be said of all campsites. Always a pleasure. The area is great too, always something to do and see. Magical.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spud01795 1 review from this member

This has to be one of the best sites we have ever visited. This was our second time and we stayed for two weeks. The site is very peaceful, clean and the facilities would put some hotels to shame.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and go out of their way to ensure your stay is as pleasant as it can be.

We have two dogs and the facilities are ideal. The dog shower is very useful as we had need on one occasion to use it, fox poo is not good for anyone.

The shop is well stocked from food to alcohol and the daily fresh bread and home made cakes are superb. They also stock useful camping accessories.

The size and layout of the pitches are well thought out and give excellent privacy.

The shower and toilet block near top oaks are 5* and it is easy to forget that you are on a campsite!

The location of the site means a visit to the Tor and Glastonbury are in walking distance, uphill but at 61 it did not present any problems to me.

We will be returning again in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Libbydowns 1 review from this member

Lovely site, clean very well kept throughout. Booked in April, disappointed with pitch size and site full so no choice. Small units were on large pitches, even one nighters had a bigger pitch than ours. We paid £200+ for 8 nights, not cheap but was high season after all. Not impressed as brochure stated 'large landscaped pitches'. Not true. Some were too close for comfort, approach roads were narrow when manoeuvring onto the pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 34 reviews from this member

Had a fabulous week at The Old Oaks, it’s the best site we have ever visited in five years of caravanning. The trip down from Lancashire was a long one due to M5 traffic but once we left J23 we were soon at the site. I use a Snooper Sat Nav and it took me down the A361 and a left into Wick Lane. You can go the other way. Either way the lane is narrow in parts but passable.

The drive up to the site is very impressive and from the point you go to reception you know the place is something special. The warden leads you to your pitch and we were set up in no time at all.

The shower block is very impressive and all the facilities including dish washing and laundry are spotless 24/7. The dog walk is one of the best on the circuit and even has a shower for the dog!

You can walk around the site and there are plenty of benches to sit on and absorb where you are, at the foot of the Tor.

Reception and the Shop are well run and the daily cake is excellent. They run mini bus trips daily too although we didn’t use them as we had the car and little dog.

The amount of investment that has gone into the site must be staggering but the place was full and so it should be.

228 miles from home but worth the M5 traffic and tiring journey.

The only downside was the A39 was closed going into Wells whilst they did some repairs on a 40 metres stretch of road which meant a de-tour via Shepton Mallet, but that wasn’t the site’s fault just an observation on why councils choose to do these things in peak summer holidays!

Will I go again……………. Too right maybe next year, if not definitely the year after.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hobsyandsue 2 reviews from this member

We checked the reviews before we booked, they were all correct. This is the best site we have ever stayed at and we have already booked for next year. The only issue was a yapping dog, this was about four pitches away and was the only noise. I did complain to the staff and the problem was dealt with. How a dog owner can let their dog yap incessantly is beyond me. There were many dogs on the site that didn't make any noise. That was the only issue. Ticks all the boxes and the mini bus service was great. The only way this site could be improved was if they had a swimming pool and a free bar ! Excellent site, recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scissorbox 3 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site. Best adult only site and also best site in England. Toilets out of this world, reception the same, best wardens and the choice of cakes each day is wonderful. This site is so peaceful. There is nothing to fault this site at all, TEN STARS. Have booked for two weeks in 2015, will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FNot 12 reviews from this member

Absolutely brilliant site. Wonderful set up. Great dog walk. The toilet block is the best we have ever Really like all the things that make a difference - fresh croissants, good shop, home baking, sociable information room which can be utilised for different things. Minibus each day so no need to use car if you don't want to. Large Tv was well used as World Cup final when we there. So nice to see people gathering to watch it. This site has a warm friendly feeling & fully deserves it's 5 star rating. Only negative thing I can say - and it's not the fault of the site- is that despite great dog walk & shower with free doggy bags there were still a number of people who still think it's acceptable not to pick up after their dogs! This site is immaculate & a lot if care goes into keeping it this way. Fellow dog owners please pick up!

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win tickets to the NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1450