Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
              8/10 from 207 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smile2day 2 reviews from this member

This omce Beautiful site that was full of magic has disappeared.

We have visited this site for 25 years.

What has happened - now all you view are commercial pegs, gone are the true camping days of the past. There was a time when vans were not allowed on the hill to the right of the descending road, and the view was free and breath-taking, but now there are vans with hard standing all over the site - up the hills - in the woods,

There seem to be more permanent sited vans than ever, think they originally had permission for about ten, but there's way more than that now.

I'm sorry Gibraltar farm has had its heart ripped out of it, trees have been felled, grass has been replaced by hard standing

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deers 4 reviews from this member

Just unpacked from a brilliant weekend at Gibraltar farm, this is only our second time camping and with 3 small young children we were a bit apprehensive but went on personal recommendation.

The campsite was off the beaten track and when we did find it we were not disappointed. The site itself is a perfect adventure playground an our girls loved playing on the rocks in the centre of the field and being free to explore.

The site was full but the noise level was not high and everyone seemed to respect the other campers in keeping it down later on at night. We found queues quite a few times for the facilities but it was a busy park and later on in the day the showers became free, the toilet block was very clean and the showers nice and warm.

We took a short walk(15-20 minutes) into the nearby village of Silverdale for some supplies not much there but a few shops and pubs but a lovely walk and stopped off at the shore on the way back.

A very relaxing time was had by all and we will be going back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrabblelovers 1 review from this member

Really happy with the campsite, toilet and shower block basic but very clean (and I'm very fussy!) Mr said gents were the same. But could do with a couple more showers.

Wasn't busy when we were there but could see it getting croweded when busy.

Will definitely be going again but this time without a gazebo, note of warning it can get very windy on the camping field so make sure everything is battened down, we came away minus the gazebo.

Owners easily contactable if the steward is not around. A site that we would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FranG72 1 review from this member

Just had our first visit to Gibraltar Farm, and can offer nothing but praise for such a fantastic site, location could not be better, situated 5 minutes walk from the beach/rocks (accessed via the field next to the site), the rocks made a great location for a fire to watch the sun go down, 15 minutes leisurely walk into the village, where you can find a very reasonably priced CO-OP (12 bottles of Budweiser 7. 50. bargain!), newsagents, pub etc.

The site itself does not have an actual play area for children, BUT the centre of the site plays host to a rather fetching large mound with rocks (we named this, 'Monkey Island') which kids of all ages congregate to, also a popular spot for the kids are the woods (next door), so fear not, there is plenty to keep the 'monkeys' happy. And make sure you have some change spare, there is a nice little Ice Cream shop at the top of the site. ;)

Facilities, are basic, but well maintained and always clean, time your visit right and you will have no problem getting a shower etc.

I can confidently predict, it will not be long before we return. Just hope the sun joins us like it did for our last visit, that was the icing on the cake.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickoteen 1 review from this member

Great site for camping, never saw the kids they were off playing in the woods. Staff on site very helpful and always happy to help with any problems.

The camping field can get very wet and is also exposed to the elements, but it never stopped our enjoyment of site.

Toilets very clean and tidy and I understand there is a new shower/toilet block being built for 2012, so here's hoping they are up to standard as I'm sure they will be.

Lots to do in the Silverdale area, We found the stock car racing at Warton a great day out, and there are plenty of walks from the site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babyjones 1 review from this member

Just had a great fun weekend at this campsite. No play area for kids but they didn't need one as they all played on the rocks in centre of site (ages11-4yrs).

Shower/loo block clean and tidy.1 shower gents and ladies.But hey, your camping.

Flat ground for tents and help and info from steward if needed.

We stayed up till 1.30 other campers stayed up till 3.30 but didn't make too much noise. Lots of dogs on site but all were under control at all times. No dog mess seen on site at all.

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from Gibralter Farm and it was a great little break. Went with 4 kids and 4 adults for 3 nights.

11 a night for each tent is superb value.Only 1 shower(free) and 2 dishwash sinks is the only problem so we washed ours in our own bowl and showered at tea time. Awesome ice creams on site,

only a 10 minute walk to silverdale for a co-op and pub (3.10 a pint) but a cracking pint.

Only saw our kids at tea time as they went playing on the rocks and woods(safe). Our kids are 6 and 8 and was gutted to have to leave.

Can get very windy, but you're on the coast with terrific views. No music allowed but we had ours on but at a reasonable level and not too late.

No hassle off wardens but were helpful when we needed a gas replacement and directed us to where we could get one at 5.30 on a bank hol.

Cracking site and belting price and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richbrowning63 9 reviews from this member

A great campsite in a stunning location. A warm welcome from the warden and provided lots of tips all weekend on where to eat and walk. Some great walks along the coast to secluded bays right from the site. We eat at The Silverdale Hotel, just minutes from the site and had a nice meal using local produce. The village is 10 minutes and there is another pub and usual choice of village shops- don't rely on the coop for all your food and booze- it is expensive.

Not many downsides, it is a working farm (but this adds to the magic). Only 1 shower for men, works fine, hot and free but the site is big so could be a pain when busy.

Overall great site, great location and village. My tip- abandon a hook-up and hard standing and park freely in the camping field closer to the coast.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crabfat 1 review from this member

If you want a quiet, peaceful break, think twice about this site! We have just had two sleepless nights at this site due to two separate groups of adults drinking into the early hours and being very loud. It was only the intervention of the warden that eventually made the groups quieten down.

There are no play facilities for children on the site, but all the children (and there were many) seemed to congregate on a rocky outcrop in the centre of the tent fields until late into the evening. If you have a caravan or motorhome, the situation is different. These fields appeared to be quieter.

Apart from the noise problem, we found that the fees charged represented good value. There was always hot water available, however there is only one shower in the Gents and two in the Ladies although this did not cause us any problems even though the site was full to capacity. There is also two electric sockets adjacent to mirrors in the ladies which was ideal for the use of hairdriers. Do not expect anything too special in the ablutions. They are functional not fancy.

The fields for tents are predominantly level. However the fields used for caravans are tiered with hardstandings and electric hook-ups.

There are no facilities on site, however there are several public houses serving food in nearby Silverdale which is only a 15 minute stroll away. However, take a torch as there are very few street lights.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie528 5 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site, spacious,clean and tidy. I saw the toilet and shower block being cleaned thoroughly 3 times in one day. You find your own pitch then if during the week somebody will call on you later to pay. At weekends their is a steward to do this.

Even though there was quite a lot of children on site there wasn't a lot of undue noise and it was completely quiet before 10pm. It is only 5 mins walk into silverdale where there is a pub restaurant and a co-op,nearest cash machine and lottery is another 5mins drive in arnside.

Co-op does cashback though. Very close to the beach which pleased hubby as he could do some fishing.

I would only criticise one thing and that is for the amount of people there they should have more than 2 showers in the womens and 1 in the mens, mind you they are free. Am going back again tomorrow for a few days as weather is going to be nice and will definitely return next year

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1191