Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

Site with excellent views to the west over Morecambe Bay.

The entrance through a car park of a kiosk selling home made ice cream can be congested and care needs to be taken with a caravan on the final steep winding downhill approach.

The approach would benefit from having the potholes filled in.

1) The site has a large open area for tents etc. Without the requirements of electricity. The tent campsite, at weekends/school holidays, is full of families with excitable children who play ballgames anywhere and tend to scream and shout a good deal.

2) About 25 seasonal caravan pitches which after the school holidays seemed mostly empty.

3) About 10 touring pitches with electric hookup and good see view, beware good view also means awnings will be vulnerable to high winds

The 2&3 above are generally in a separate field to the tents.

The toilet block is old but kept very clean. The owners said that the toilet block was to be rebuilt this winter so as to have twice the facilities.

We suffered several days of gale force winds and watched a number of awnings/tents flattened. After two nights we took our all year awning down as it was becoming difficult to keep the pegs secure in what's is essentially a very sandy soil covered by a layer of crushed stone.

Our storm pegs 30cm * 1cm diameter were only just holding on the storm straps and on the windward side. During this period all but one tent camper packed up and left.

With improvements in the toilet block the site in reasonable weather is an excellent site for all families. I would imagine that during strong winds tent camping may be less desirable.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DanniMolly 1 review from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend away at Gibraltar farm and can easily say that we could of stayed another week!

Lovely walks across the beach when the tide goes out - very fun but be careful of the quicksand!

The local town is not too far away, about a 10 minute walk with a coop which is open 7 days a week till 10 at night. This is handy as there is not site shop but a little stand for ice creams at weekends and also free range eggs on site -

The site is very clean and tidy and even the two chickens are friendly.

Only two showers each for male and female and you can find yourself waiting a while but not complaining as the views, people and the pricing is outstanding and makes up for it.

Cant wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smile2day 2 reviews from this member

This omce Beautiful site that was full of magic has disappeared.

We have visited this site for 25 years.

What has happened - now all you view are commercial pegs, gone are the true camping days of the past. There was a time when vans were not allowed on the hill to the right of the descending road, and the view was free and breath-taking, but now there are vans with hard standing all over the site - up the hills - in the woods,

There seem to be more permanent sited vans than ever, think they originally had permission for about ten, but there's way more than that now.

I'm sorry Gibraltar farm has had its heart ripped out of it, trees have been felled, grass has been replaced by hard standing

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deers 4 reviews from this member

Just unpacked from a brilliant weekend at Gibraltar farm, this is only our second time camping and with 3 small young children we were a bit apprehensive but went on personal recommendation.

The campsite was off the beaten track and when we did find it we were not disappointed. The site itself is a perfect adventure playground an our girls loved playing on the rocks in the centre of the field and being free to explore.

The site was full but the noise level was not high and everyone seemed to respect the other campers in keeping it down later on at night. We found queues quite a few times for the facilities but it was a busy park and later on in the day the showers became free, the toilet block was very clean and the showers nice and warm.

We took a short walk(15-20 minutes) into the nearby village of Silverdale for some supplies not much there but a few shops and pubs but a lovely walk and stopped off at the shore on the way back.

A very relaxing time was had by all and we will be going back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrabblelovers 1 review from this member

Really happy with the campsite, toilet and shower block basic but very clean (and I'm very fussy!) Mr said gents were the same. But could do with a couple more showers.

Wasn't busy when we were there but could see it getting croweded when busy.

Will definitely be going again but this time without a gazebo, note of warning it can get very windy on the camping field so make sure everything is battened down, we came away minus the gazebo.

Owners easily contactable if the steward is not around. A site that we would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FranG72 1 review from this member

Just had our first visit to Gibraltar Farm, and can offer nothing but praise for such a fantastic site, location could not be better, situated 5 minutes walk from the beach/rocks (accessed via the field next to the site), the rocks made a great location for a fire to watch the sun go down, 15 minutes leisurely walk into the village, where you can find a very reasonably priced CO-OP (12 bottles of Budweiser 7. 50. bargain!), newsagents, pub etc.

The site itself does not have an actual play area for children, BUT the centre of the site plays host to a rather fetching large mound with rocks (we named this, 'Monkey Island') which kids of all ages congregate to, also a popular spot for the kids are the woods (next door), so fear not, there is plenty to keep the 'monkeys' happy. And make sure you have some change spare, there is a nice little Ice Cream shop at the top of the site. ;)

Facilities, are basic, but well maintained and always clean, time your visit right and you will have no problem getting a shower etc.

I can confidently predict, it will not be long before we return. Just hope the sun joins us like it did for our last visit, that was the icing on the cake.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickoteen 1 review from this member

Great site for camping, never saw the kids they were off playing in the woods. Staff on site very helpful and always happy to help with any problems.

The camping field can get very wet and is also exposed to the elements, but it never stopped our enjoyment of site.

Toilets very clean and tidy and I understand there is a new shower/toilet block being built for 2012, so here's hoping they are up to standard as I'm sure they will be.

Lots to do in the Silverdale area, We found the stock car racing at Warton a great day out, and there are plenty of walks from the site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babyjones 1 review from this member

Just had a great fun weekend at this campsite. No play area for kids but they didn't need one as they all played on the rocks in centre of site (ages11-4yrs).

Shower/loo block clean and tidy.1 shower gents and ladies.But hey, your camping.

Flat ground for tents and help and info from steward if needed.

We stayed up till 1.30 other campers stayed up till 3.30 but didn't make too much noise. Lots of dogs on site but all were under control at all times. No dog mess seen on site at all.

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from Gibralter Farm and it was a great little break. Went with 4 kids and 4 adults for 3 nights.

11 a night for each tent is superb value.Only 1 shower(free) and 2 dishwash sinks is the only problem so we washed ours in our own bowl and showered at tea time. Awesome ice creams on site,

only a 10 minute walk to silverdale for a co-op and pub (3.10 a pint) but a cracking pint.

Only saw our kids at tea time as they went playing on the rocks and woods(safe). Our kids are 6 and 8 and was gutted to have to leave.

Can get very windy, but you're on the coast with terrific views. No music allowed but we had ours on but at a reasonable level and not too late.

No hassle off wardens but were helpful when we needed a gas replacement and directed us to where we could get one at 5.30 on a bank hol.

Cracking site and belting price and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richbrowning63 9 reviews from this member

A great campsite in a stunning location. A warm welcome from the warden and provided lots of tips all weekend on where to eat and walk. Some great walks along the coast to secluded bays right from the site. We eat at The Silverdale Hotel, just minutes from the site and had a nice meal using local produce. The village is 10 minutes and there is another pub and usual choice of village shops- don't rely on the coop for all your food and booze- it is expensive.

Not many downsides, it is a working farm (but this adds to the magic). Only 1 shower for men, works fine, hot and free but the site is big so could be a pain when busy.

Overall great site, great location and village. My tip- abandon a hook-up and hard standing and park freely in the camping field closer to the coast.

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0981
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window