Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
              9/10 from 188 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K.farthing2 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this park and again we were not disappointed. Although big this site is clean and quiet.

There were three tents in our group and they were very accommodating - giving us a choice of where to pitch. My parents also stayed in one of their static caravans and this was very clean and to a high standard.

The staff are friendly and helpful and always stopped to chat when passing.

The toilet and shower blocks were always clean despite some rainy days. They are constantly reviving and improving the older parts of the park and were currently building a new shower block for one of the fields.

Am already thinking about next years holiday and can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VickyandBrian 6 reviews from this member

While using UKCampsite.co.uk yet again for inspiration / reviews, I thought I should do some retrospective reviews for our few trips so far this year in return!

What a lovely site! This feels much smaller than it is. I personally hate big 'cheesy' sites with entertainment etc, but I needed to be near friends who live close so I thought I would give it a go. So glad I did!

There are so many facilities that can be used, but not rammed down your throat!

We did not use the pub / entertainment / pool, but enjoyed walking arouind the lakes and using the play areas (especially the woodland one with the zip wire). The shop is well stocked and shock horror. Sensibly priced!

The toilet / washroom facilities are second to none, and the staff are all genuinely happy and helpful.

The best bit though has got to be the private woodland you can walk through to get to the Warren. We saw so much wildlife including a huge deer :D (not the pig luckily enough!)

Next time we are in town we will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helsbels71 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site for the past 3 years and have always enjoyed it!

The site is large but did not feel cramped at all when we were there, although we have yet to go in school holidays!

The showers were always clean with plenty of hot water and space to change. The loos were also clean and we saw people cleaning the facilities on a regular basis. The family bathroom was also very useful although the floor can get rather damp!

The shop has all you could need and is reasonably priced and all the staff were very helpful. There is fresh bread in the mornings but at the weekend you need to get there quick!

The outdoor pool was also an attraction for my daughter, but would benefit from having a changing room nearby (Unless I missed it!)

My husband enjoyed the fish and chips but I have to say the veggie burger was a bit lacking, however it is useful to have.

The laundry and dishwashing areas are also fine.

There are 3 playgrounds, including one in the woods with a zip wire, which my 3 year old approves of.

We did not use the pub so can not comment on this.

There is plenty to do in the area and we particulary enoyed the playground and beachcomber cafe in Teignmouth.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melly74 4 reviews from this member

We have just got back from cofton holiday park and we had a brilliant time there. Such a clean and friendly site with so much to do for the kids.

The staff there were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.My son loved the pool and play area. The swan pub laid on good entertainment and food.

The fish and chip shop was great value for money its was good for when you didn't feel like cooking.

The showers and toilets were very clean and tidy.Also the park was very quite after 11 oclock at night so we had plenty of good nights sleep.

I would say this is the best campsite we have visited so far and we are returning next may.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon1963 2 reviews from this member

Just spent four nights at cofton an have to say what a brilliant campsite. The staff were really friendly the best we've come across.

The shower blocks were spotless. The on site takeaway was really nice an good value for money. There was plenty of playgrounds for the kids and a nice sized outdoor pool.

There is plenty of places to visit nearby Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Teignmouth and Torquay all very nice. The evening entertainment was good, enough for every taste.

Was very quiet at night where we pitched, an there is on site security that patrol at night.

The wifi was good too for only ten pounds for three days unlimited.

Best camping holiday we've had an will be going back, an would highly recommend to others.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Bignig 4 reviews from this member

Negative points:

If you booked the site for the fishing like myself you may be disappointed, a relative recommended the site as he came 2 yrs ago and said the fishing was excellent, unfortunately this year it was terrible, this was backed up by a regular who has been going for 5 years plus and has never known it so bad, he suggested that a netting of the lakes may have taken place over the winter but I have nothing to substantiate his comments.

We resorted to a fishery 10 mile away and this saved the day as the fishing was as it should be average 10lb carp and about 20 per session (local tackle dealer in Dawlish has details as I feel it unfair to publish details here)

Staff are mainly young and as such appear to be still on a learning curve when it comes to customer service.

Opening hours for some of the facilities in June I found bazaar and disappointing, (June not being classed as peak season).

A large and busy site.

Positive points:

If you are a family on holiday and not mad on fishing then this is the place for you, plenty of facilities great walks and plenty of wild life, we even watched an osprey for a while which was nice.

Toilets and showers were clean

Fish and chip shop on site was excellent value

Large site and busy although you can escape this by the lovely walks in the woods and down to Dawlish Warren

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M6lbe 3 reviews from this member

We went to Cofton for our 1st camping trip over the Easter weekend and were really impressed.

The site is gorgeous and very well kept. It was quite busy but still didn't have to queue for showers or washing up.

Lovely play areas for kids, especially the woodland bit, my kids spent most of their time there!

The pool was closed unfortunately but it looked really nice. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The pub however is quite expensive if you want to eat there, and the family area was quite small which meant we had trouble finding somewhere to sit.

We walked into Dawlish Warren and it was quite a tatty place but the kids liked it. The walk was lovely. It was a bit of trek on the way back as its all uphill!

Overall, a really nice site and even though not cheap we will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Archaeojim 3 reviews from this member

Used this year for the first time as a temporary holiday site by the Camping and Caravanning Club and, because of the favourable comments by the members, has been booked again for 2012.

Very large individual pitches on a terraced landscaped site with splendid views of the surrounding countryside. Immaculate toilets, well-stocked shop and bar and restaurant with very reasonable prices.

This is important because the local pub is horrendously expensive for both food and drink! Star Cross is about a couple of miles away, with several good pubs and a decent minmarket.

Dawlish (with its black swans) still has the feel of a traditional seaside resort - the 'grot' shops are confined to the area near the beach.

A large Sainsbury's is in the process of construction near to Dawlish

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawcara 35 reviews from this member

As all others have stated a really good site.

The welcome is excellent, could not be better and have rarely had so good. All the staff are to be commended as it is one's first impression.

We went out of season and even then we felt it was busy, but well managed.

The shop was only just open but still well stocked and prices were reasonable. The swimming pool was shut, just as well had forgotten my stuff! Pub was open.

The whole place was neat and tidy, grass cut and no rubbish anywhere. There are loads of walks from the site and also a woodland trail that eventually leads to Dawish Warren, a bit of a tatty place but good for the kids.

There are also plenty of public footpaths and if you go out of the back of the site, towards the church and then on a bit, there are two further 'village' pubs that are for tasting.

There is only one minor point that perhaps the site, needs to address. The road that bisects the site has no obvious crossing. If one is situated in the fields by the lakes (lovely venue) and one has children that would want to visit the shop, then there is no obvious crossing point. We did see cars come down this road at a bit of speed. Perhaps a zebra crossing would be an idea.

This is not a criticism, merely an observation.

Nonetheless we will go again.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helsbells2 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a week at Cofton. What a lovely site.

We arrived on Saturday (2 adults and a toddler) and were told we could camp in any space that was free (with the exception of a couple of areas that were closed). We settled on the ‘tent only’ field – the orchard.

The facilities on the site were great (we didn’t use the pub so can’t comment on that). The toilet facilities were very good, always seemed clean, never out of toilet paper and they even played the local radio! Cofton also have family bathrooms (£10 deposit for a key refundable) which were great as we have a little one that doesn’t like showers!

The family bathroom near the orchard has a bath which was a godsend and they also provided a baby bath. The water in general was a good temperature and the washing up facilities were also very good.

The site also has a laundrette, games room, shop(well stocked) and fish and chip shop. The games room was near our field but closed at 10pm so noise wasn’t an issue at all. The fish and chips were very good and the shop also shut around 9pm so again no noise from that. The site also has a couple of playgrounds that were popular with our little one. Again these were clean and well maintained.

The swimming pool looked really nice but due to outside temperature we decided against using it!

The fishing lakes were lovely to walk around and seemed very popular.

Would definitely go back to the site and have already recommended it to a colleague at work (only got back in today!).

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0938