Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NMGIBBS 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to Cofton and we were not disappointed. The site is very big and quite busy, but we were able to choose where we wanted to park.

The site is very clean and tidy and was not noisy at all. Well maybe from my nearly two year old shouting 'hello' to everyone that walked past!

The toilets/shower block was also very clean.

Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble.

The take away was great and very popular.

Great location, not too far from Torquay or Paignton. Trago Mills in Newton Abbott is a must as you can find so many bargains!

We will definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Familyivory 2 reviews from this member

We use this place at least once most years and have done so for the last 10 or 11.

Quite simply this is our favourite place to holiday and we will continue to do so as long as we camp.

Good large pitches which are easily accessed. Superb facilities - showers and toilets are excellent and kept scrupulously clean - certainly during the busy seasons. The staff are never anything but friendly be it on the phone or in person.

There is a new Sainsbury's nearby which is most useful although the on site shop is well stocked with groceries as well as books, papers etc.

The pool is the best and it was nice to see this year an improved wash facility in one of the fields as well as a much improved children's park area.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper/glenn1975 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at cofton for 4 nights in June and would say this is the best campsite we have stayed at, the staff are all friendly and will do anything to help you, it is a very clean and tidy site and the shower and toilet blocks are spotless there is also Radio Devon being played in the shower/toilet blocks which we all thought was a great idea. The entertainment was good something every night from bands to theme nights, kids loved the play areas, donkeys, swimming pool, fishing lakes and the bouncy castle assault course they were never board!

The cofton chippy was good value and served lovely food. The on site shop was reasonably priced and well stocked. It was always quiet after 11:00pm and I did notice security patrols at night. We walked to Dawlish Warren though the woodland walk, this is a lovely place to go, we went to dawlish town and loved teigmouth pier and town. Cant wait to return someday.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa r 3 reviews from this member

Our first impressions were of a site with high standards, and we weren't wrong.

We chose to camp in the orchard (a tent only field) and although at first glance the pitches didn't look level, closer inspection showed that although the ground isn't flat, the way the pitches are divided up means that the pitch actually is.

The pitches were of a very generous size, we easily had room for our medium sized 5 man tent, plus windbreak and car. We saw people with much larger tents, and additional day tents also with plenty of room. Each pitch has electric hook up (although we didn't use it this time).

The facilities we clean, with the toilets and shower block always tidy. There were easily enough showers for everyone. We made use of the family room for bathing our 2 year old, and again, was always clean. The showers had plenty of hot water and the temperature in the blocks was warm enough that you didn't shiver when you got out of a hot shower.

There is plenty to do on site. We made the best of the glorious weather by having a dip in the outdoor pool, which was warm and always had a life guard on duty.

The pub served good food and was reasonably priced. We used the shop and found it to be well stocked, with plenty of choice and a good deal of camping gear in case you forgot something.

The site itself is very picturesque and although very big, you don't feel like you're on a large site because of the small number of pitches on each field.

We had a walk into Cockswood and found 2 good pubs, the ship and the anchor. I can only comment on the anchor as that's where we ate, but had good service and lovely food (fresh fish and seafood is their speciality)

The park is a good place for a base, being half way between Torquay and Exeter. We used it as a base to explore Teignmouth, Dartmouth and do some shopping in Exeter. There are lots of tourist attractions near by. I think the best impression I can give of a site, is that for the first time ever we have booked to go back to the same site next year. Can't wait!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K.farthing2 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this park and again we were not disappointed. Although big this site is clean and quiet.

There were three tents in our group and they were very accommodating - giving us a choice of where to pitch. My parents also stayed in one of their static caravans and this was very clean and to a high standard.

The staff are friendly and helpful and always stopped to chat when passing.

The toilet and shower blocks were always clean despite some rainy days. They are constantly reviving and improving the older parts of the park and were currently building a new shower block for one of the fields.

Am already thinking about next years holiday and can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VickyandBrian 6 reviews from this member

While using UKCampsite.co.uk yet again for inspiration / reviews, I thought I should do some retrospective reviews for our few trips so far this year in return!

What a lovely site! This feels much smaller than it is. I personally hate big 'cheesy' sites with entertainment etc, but I needed to be near friends who live close so I thought I would give it a go. So glad I did!

There are so many facilities that can be used, but not rammed down your throat!

We did not use the pub / entertainment / pool, but enjoyed walking arouind the lakes and using the play areas (especially the woodland one with the zip wire). The shop is well stocked and shock horror. Sensibly priced!

The toilet / washroom facilities are second to none, and the staff are all genuinely happy and helpful.

The best bit though has got to be the private woodland you can walk through to get to the Warren. We saw so much wildlife including a huge deer :D (not the pig luckily enough!)

Next time we are in town we will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helsbels71 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site for the past 3 years and have always enjoyed it!

The site is large but did not feel cramped at all when we were there, although we have yet to go in school holidays!

The showers were always clean with plenty of hot water and space to change. The loos were also clean and we saw people cleaning the facilities on a regular basis. The family bathroom was also very useful although the floor can get rather damp!

The shop has all you could need and is reasonably priced and all the staff were very helpful. There is fresh bread in the mornings but at the weekend you need to get there quick!

The outdoor pool was also an attraction for my daughter, but would benefit from having a changing room nearby (Unless I missed it!)

My husband enjoyed the fish and chips but I have to say the veggie burger was a bit lacking, however it is useful to have.

The laundry and dishwashing areas are also fine.

There are 3 playgrounds, including one in the woods with a zip wire, which my 3 year old approves of.

We did not use the pub so can not comment on this.

There is plenty to do in the area and we particulary enoyed the playground and beachcomber cafe in Teignmouth.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melly74 4 reviews from this member

We have just got back from cofton holiday park and we had a brilliant time there. Such a clean and friendly site with so much to do for the kids.

The staff there were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.My son loved the pool and play area. The swan pub laid on good entertainment and food.

The fish and chip shop was great value for money its was good for when you didn't feel like cooking.

The showers and toilets were very clean and tidy.Also the park was very quite after 11 oclock at night so we had plenty of good nights sleep.

I would say this is the best campsite we have visited so far and we are returning next may.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon1963 2 reviews from this member

Just spent four nights at cofton an have to say what a brilliant campsite. The staff were really friendly the best we've come across.

The shower blocks were spotless. The on site takeaway was really nice an good value for money. There was plenty of playgrounds for the kids and a nice sized outdoor pool.

There is plenty of places to visit nearby Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Teignmouth and Torquay all very nice. The evening entertainment was good, enough for every taste.

Was very quiet at night where we pitched, an there is on site security that patrol at night.

The wifi was good too for only ten pounds for three days unlimited.

Best camping holiday we've had an will be going back, an would highly recommend to others.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Bignig 4 reviews from this member

Negative points:

If you booked the site for the fishing like myself you may be disappointed, a relative recommended the site as he came 2 yrs ago and said the fishing was excellent, unfortunately this year it was terrible, this was backed up by a regular who has been going for 5 years plus and has never known it so bad, he suggested that a netting of the lakes may have taken place over the winter but I have nothing to substantiate his comments.

We resorted to a fishery 10 mile away and this saved the day as the fishing was as it should be average 10lb carp and about 20 per session (local tackle dealer in Dawlish has details as I feel it unfair to publish details here)

Staff are mainly young and as such appear to be still on a learning curve when it comes to customer service.

Opening hours for some of the facilities in June I found bazaar and disappointing, (June not being classed as peak season).

A large and busy site.

Positive points:

If you are a family on holiday and not mad on fishing then this is the place for you, plenty of facilities great walks and plenty of wild life, we even watched an osprey for a while which was nice.

Toilets and showers were clean

Fish and chip shop on site was excellent value

Large site and busy although you can escape this by the lovely walks in the woods and down to Dawlish Warren

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1211