Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Allan7072 2 reviews from this member

We arrived here mid-evening having booked last minute on the way past with a smoking hot VW Bay campervan and 3 hungry kids en-route to Scotland. Not too far off the main road but lovely setting.

They let us have a hard pitch for one night with hookup. Nice play area for kids (bit muddy but it had rained a lot). Loo block was absolutely fine (previous comment about 'scent' true! A bit of ventilation would work!) and very clean. No issues there.

Pub down the road great, but wouldn't recommend for little kids. Great food but a bit too gastro for quick family nosh. Nice pint though. Pub on site, however, although not doing food, is a great place for a pint and for the kids to play (all ages. Table tennis etc). Great beer and nice quiet atmosphere. Cash only bar though.

The site IS a fairly quiet, but not to the exclusion of families etc. It's just nicely out of the way.

Would we go there again? Yes. Great stop if on way through the Lakes or starting out a tour. Very clean, shop on site, great little atmospheric country pub on site (no food) and Penrith 10 mins drive for anything else you need. Including a garage to fix an ailing T2 (ullswater road garage. Very helpful), castle, play park and lovely town.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coll26 10 reviews from this member

Second camp for my family and we weren't disappointed with our choice of site for our stay.

Site was very easy to find from website directions and on arrival we were shown to our pitch and had the in and outs etc explained and shown to us. At this point I would mention that the pitch was gravel (which we weren't made aware of previously) and we didn't have a footprint/tarp for under tent so take heed fellow tenters!

Site has everything you need facilities wise, laundry, washing up facilities and immaculate showers/toilets and family bathrooms should you need a hot soak from a hard days camp!

Shop on site sells essentials (it does close at 6pm though) and also a bar which is quite unique with its stuffed animals! Speaking of animals dogs are very welcome and also within the bar as it doesn't serve food.

Childrens playground was fabulous, our 3 year old thoroughly enjoyed it and there is also a good dog walking area too for letting them of the lead.

If you fancy going further afield there is a pub serving food at bottom of bank from site or you can go into Glenridding or Pooley Bridge also.

Overall a lovely site, very friendly mix and we will return as some point for definite.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tankgrrrl 1 review from this member

My family and I have just returned from a fun packed (and expensive!) holiday at the lakes. We normally choose a basic site i. E. Field and shower block but this time we decided to go for somewhere which had a bit more for the kids and the dog. The Quiet Site didn't disappoint.

The tent pitches were flat and comfortable although the gravelly ground was a tad hard to get the pegs in but we got there in the end. The shower and toilet facilities were awesome! Spotless and clean. And they have baths! Can you believe it?! Brilliant for just chucking the kids in.

The site is extremely secure so I was happy to let the kids go back and forth to the play area on their own. The play area was excellent as it has a big field surrounding it which is great for family games of rounders etc. The dog walk is really good but I wish every owner would adhere to the doggy poop rule. PICK IT UP!

The bar is gorgeous. Proper wood burning fire on the go while you sup your favourite tipple. There are also play areas for kids which is always handy. The bar doesn't do food but I think this is a good thing! It would ruin the vibe. If you can't be bothered to cook you can take a 20 min walk to the Brackenrigg Inn down the road and get your eyes ripped out for food there instead.

The site shop opening time is my only complaint. It doesn't open until 9am. Most campers are up and gone by that time! Please open earlier - 7am is reasonable but 6. 30am would be better! The shop on the site is small but has everything you need but you can stock up on supplies at Pooley Bridge or go to Morrisons or Cranstons in Penrith. The Quiet Site provide fridge and freezer storage for free which is awesome.

Although we came back from the Lake District with empty wallets (parking charges are crazy expensive!) we will definitely be returning to the Quiet Site next year. We may even try a camping pod during the winter. We can't wait!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Croppster1967 5 reviews from this member

On arrival at the site from Scotland where we had spent the previous week the staff was very friendly and helpful, showed us to our pitch (47) in the far right top corner of the site with a great view overlooking the site and down onto Ullswater.

The showers and toilets are amazing and lovely and clean and never too busy. In an open barn they had a large fridge/freezer and microwave for your use, a good play area for our daughter. The site shop had frozen curries and rice which are made on the site and can be heated up in the microwave. If you need a phone charging they will do it for a 1, good idea!

The pub on site is a must to go and visit, it has a very warm and cosy feel helped by the big open log fire, two children's rooms with tv and table tennis for the older ones and the other room is a soft play area for the younger ones. A pint of The Quiet Site is lovely.

All in all a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christmasdonkey 4 reviews from this member

Used this site as a stopover on the way back from Scotland.

Facilities were ok but not as good as some we've experienced. Our pitch although large enough backed onto a steep slope and the multi coloured gravel looked untidy. The site was very crowded, mainly with tents and was not quiet! The road leading up to the site was a narrow single track and it was terrifying to meet traffic coming the other way!

The setting was beautiful with lovely walks and stunning scenery, BUT it was totally overpriced at 33 for one night. We expected inflated prices in the Lake District but this was double the amount we had paid the previous week.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coll26 10 reviews from this member

Booked this after reading reviews on here and as a small family with a young child we were really pleased with site overall.

After checking availability and emailing site they accommodated my request for a 2 night stay as web would only allow min of 4 nights so this was a good start.

Arrived and booked in at shop where I was told where everything was and what facilities were available and then escorted to be shown our pitch which was on gravel. Don't know if this was me not understanding camping lingo but wasn't told this and from what I could see majority were same. Website had from what I recall flat terraced pitches. Never pitched on gravel before and have to say I definitely prefer grass! We did end up with a few scrapes and a couple of small holes on our sewn in groundsheet - maybe our fault for not having a footprint??? Maybe a tip there for anyone like ourselves fairly new to this!

That aside the showers were squeaky clean and cleaned at regular intervals. Never had to queue either. No charge for them, but it is the push button and push again type that some have a pet hate for, but for me its not an issue as long as water is hot which it was. (also 3 family bathrooms available too)

There is a mass of recycling bins for your unwanted bits which is great for the environment and a fridge, freezer and microwave which were free to use which again was fabulous. Washer and dryer I was told was 1 though I never used them.

Shop on site sold basics and handy bits and bobs you may need but note it does close at 6pm and nearest shop is a good car journey away, so if your late arriving or run out of something after 6 be prepared!

Location provides nice fell views, though struggled to find a view of Ullswater, nonetheless situated in a nice 'quiet' area!

The Quiet Bar was lovely, very atmospheric although our little boy was very spooked by the stuffed animals and meant an early exit! There is also a games room and soft play for kids as well as a nice kids playground and field for ball games etc which our little one loved (not to mention a nice dog walk through adjoining meadow).

It is a bit more expensive than some of neighbouring sites in area.

All in all I really liked this site and would return and recommend (though with a footprint for tent this time!) Nice mix of people, all helpful and friendly, and staff I encountered were the same.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayned 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable 4 nights.

Staff very welcoming once checked in we were shown round the site and taken to our pitch. All pitches are on level terraces of grass and pea gravel. We struggled with a couple of pegs so next time will take more suitable ones.

Plenty of water taps around the site. Washing up areas where very clean with a laundry room with free iron.

Toilet block were heated with free hot showers, hairdryers and plenty for the whole site never had to wait once. Additional to these were free family bathrooms which are ideal for little ones. Both were well maintained. Fridge, freezer and microwave is also available and free to use.

The kids had their own play area consisting of adventure playground and enough space for several games of footie.

The bar was lovely with its log burning fire, everything 3. 20 a pint we only popped in the 1 night when a couple of youngsters were singing and sat in the soft play area upstairs with the little ones. The older kids had fun in the downstairs games room with air hockey, table tennis and footie table this was adjacent to the tv room.

The shop had the basics but Morrisons is only a 15 minute drive away at Penrith.

The site was all quiet by 10.30-11 pm but we sat having a chat outside the tent until 11. 30, a couple further round had apparently been asked to keep the noise down after this but we never heard a thing.

We will definitely be back to this site hopefully in the very near future and might even try out their camping pods.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Charliepowell 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 5 nights over the August Bank Holiday and stayed in a camping pod.

While the Ullswater area is quiet the site is not. It was packed throughout our stay. It would appear that we misunderstood the title of the campsite.

The campsite itself is nice. The toilet/shower block were nice, clean and tidy at all times. One problem was that the toilet/shower block was surrounded by the static caravans and the main users ie caravans/tents/camping pods were some distance from these utilities. Not a nice trek at 3 in the morning.

The shop stocked the basics, however one morning they had no milk and we were told that it would be at least 11am until they had some. This was at 8am.

The bar is lovely. Nice roaring fire and a good selection of beers. The beers are around 3 for a pint or a bottle. A little expensive.

And on the last night the prices went up another 20p.

The camping pod was excellent and I recommend trying this form of camping. We normally use a tent but fancied a change.

Would we visit the Lake District again Yes.

Would we visit The Quiet Site again No.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toff 6 reviews from this member

We have just had a 4 day camp at the quiet site and even though a bit more costly than most lake district camps we have used it was very fulfilling to all our needs.

The area was fantastic and it had various outlets to surrounding fells and walks.

The site was very clean and on arriving we were shown to our pitch by a young man pointing out various does and don'ts. We had a good look round and it had a nice shop selling most needs and a converted barn like pub which was very handy.

The showers were 100% and even a separate bath room which enabled a nice soak after a day out walking.

We had a dog and the site had a nice long walking field so the pets could do there stuff and clean up system is well in place and runs smooth.

The site rules are very well documented and easy to stick to. The site was not as Quiet as you would think for the price because of the children been on holiday.

Overall we will give it 8/10 and only the price of the pitch seemed steep.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Verne 1 review from this member

The site is in a great place to tour around the area. The facilities are very good and I thought it was a great idea to have fridges & freezers people could use. I've never seen this before. The toilets & showers are spotless and the people are very friendly.

There is a down side & we may have been unlucky but this certainly isn't a 'quiet site', We were led to believe that after a certain time of night, peace & quiet would prevail so you could get some sleep but many people stayed up until the early hours. Although we did have a great time as there is loads to do & see, we came away exhausted due to lack of sleep.

I think it would be a good idea for the owners to remind people when they arrive about the rules.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0977
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec