Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
              9/10 from 50 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 43 to 48                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spearson 5 reviews from this member

Have just spent a week here. The staff are all lovely, the site is well kept and clean. Heard a few moans from men about there not being enough shower/toilet facilities for them. The women's facilities were good in my opinion although there are only 3 showers which did mean a bit of a wait on a couple of occasions. They have parent and child and disabled facilities - the latter of which we used for our disabled child.

We were pitched right next to the children's play area which didn't impress my in-laws but was ok for us. The only gripe was that we took a bit of a battering from the wind. The site does have sheltered areas, and if you are looking to book to go way with a tent, it might be worth enquiring after a sheltered spot. There seemed to be plenty of electric hook-ups although we didn't have one ourselves.

There were loads of motor homes on site, but only the 8 caravans that they do allow on this site at any one time - my mother in law went round the site and counted (must have been bored that day!)

The beach is shingle but has nice sandy ones either side, can't comment on them because we didn't use the beach. There are two pubs in Slapton Village which both serve excellent food - in the words of another camper, because again, we can't vouch for that.

We will go back .

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Benny24 2 reviews from this member

Had a couple of days at this site overa very wet weekend! The site was very well looked after and the site managers were very pleasant, as it was quiet he told us to take a drive around and find a pitch we liked, and pointed out the good views from some of the pitches.
Toilets and all facilities were clean and tidy, (warm too!) site is five mins from shingle beach, and there were some good pubs in Slapton village.

Recommended fora short break

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osprey 16 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a weeks stay at Slapton Sands, and I wanted to concur with previous remarks posted here. The site is very well run by a team of C & CC wardens and the current team were most helpful, loaning me an extended electric cable for the entirety of my stay. It is actually verygently sloping in most places which affords most pitches on the far side of the field a fairly distantsea view, albeit through trees and a tall hedgerow. That is until a motor-home parks next you and blocks it out. This site is very popular with motor-homes whichI found a bitconfusing as theyrestrictthe number of caravans.
Thereare only 3 showers in themen'sfacilities(don't know about the ladies)which Ifearmay not be enoughwhenfamilieswith children turn up during the school holidays. Expect a queue, or get in there early,especially as they close at11am until 12.30 pmfor cleaning.
Theshop/office iswell stockedwith the basics and there is a newspaperreservation service. Afish and chipvancalls on Tuesdayevenings. The foodis cooked to order and was well worththe wait.
A barrier blocksvehicle movement between 11pm and 7amwhich ensureda quiet night, although thewhole ambiance of the site was oneof peace andquiet and relaxation.
Thevillage offers one pub(Queens Arms)which does do food, however mymeal was awfulas was my dining partners,they need to stop relying on the microwave. The otherpub, TheTower, I was told, was not a place to just have a drink being more of a restaurant, however the food was apparently excellent, and good value.So drink in the queens and eat in the tower! Both of these establishmentsare within easy walking distance of the site.
I measure theenjoyment of a stay by whether I would return andI wouldn't hesitatevisiting Slapton Sands again, but I would avoid the school holidays and Bank Holidays.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Woodyallen 2 reviews from this member

We have justreturned from a long weekend at this site. The loos are excellent but there were only three showers,which maybe difficult at peak times. The staff are very helpful andthe pitches a good size although some you may need to use chocks. The surrounding beaches are shingle but clean and were never crowded. The only negative would be that they say they only allow 8 caravans but therewasan army of motor-homes, so if you are looking for a tent only campsite,this site wouldn't suit you. We recommend this site and will return next year. There are two pubs within walking distance, one child friendly and a lovely pub only 5 mins drive towards Dartmouth.
Thechildren's play area is central to the campsite if you require a pitch with view of your children, but there are also pitches away from it if you prefer a quieter time. Your requirements would be worth stating at the time of your booking as all ours were adhered to.

Reviewer: Goldfish Boy 5 reviews from this member

May 2004
Visited this site in May 2004 and it was fantastic. Lovely and peaceful with views of the sea from our tent flap. The site is five minutes walk from the lovely clean beach and five minutes from the quaint village of Slapton where there are two very good pubs. One of these pubs (the tower) served us probably the nicest pub meal we have ever eaten!

We would strongly recommend at least one day in Dartmouth which is approximately seven miles down the road - it is a beautiful place.

Facilities on the site were extremely modern and very clean. The shop sold a good range of essentials such as bread and milk and the staff were always keen to help (I took the wrong gas regulator)!

Myself and my wife really couldn't fault this place and cannot wait to return.

Reviewer: Fishcalledwanda 5 reviews from this member

May 2005
This is a very nice well run clean site (as you expect with CCC) with sea views. During the half term week we were there with the family the site was very busy and was bursting at the seams. With so many children during this week the play area is to small indeed the site could do with some break out spaces for the older children.

Very strict on pitching of tents so make sure everyone is clear otherwise you will shifting your tent six inches as both tents either side experienced. Although there is a limit on caravans this appears not to include campervans which were plentful during our stay. Conclusion is that this is a very nice site but best visited outside the school hols if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Slapton village is very nice with a couple of good pubs within walking distance with good grub. Slapton beach is very nice and good for fishing, go and watch the locals in the evening fish its like watching someone take sweets from a baby.If you have children and looking to beach then drive to Blackpool Sands five mins down the road and I promise you will not be disappointed. Carparking is cheaper for the day than Slapton. First class facilities, with life guards, organic & fair trade cafe, all set in a sheltered bay. Finally make sure you make sometime to walk around the nature reserve, we were lucky to see a kingfisher which for a bunch of townies made our day.


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 43 to 48      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2563 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0938