Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 43 to 48                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grecian Ranger 8 reviews from this member

Have just returned after two weeks here.  The facilities are all that you would expect from a C & C C site, and the warden team are the most pleasant I've come across.  The number of toilets and showers is an issue as even though the site was not full I had to wait for a toilet on a couple of occasions.
 
It is a beautifully situated site in a very scenic area and so convenient for the beach and village.  If you are happy walking then there's no need to get in the car, although the nearby shops at Slapton and Torcross are small and unsurprisingly have  limited ranges of products.
 
The resident rabbit population are in abundance and very tame and add to the peacefulness and charm of the site, all in all a great place for a relaxing break.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spearson 5 reviews from this member

Have just spent a week here. The staff are all lovely, the site is well kept and clean. Heard a few moans from men about there not being enough shower/toilet facilities for them. The women's facilities were good in my opinion although there are only 3 showers which did mean a bit of a wait on a couple of occasions. They have parent and child and disabled facilities - the latter of which we used for our disabled child.

We were pitched right next to the children's play area which didn't impress my in-laws but was ok for us. The only gripe was that we took a bit of a battering from the wind. The site does have sheltered areas, and if you are looking to book to go way with a tent, it might be worth enquiring after a sheltered spot. There seemed to be plenty of electric hook-ups although we didn't have one ourselves.

There were loads of motor homes on site, but only the 8 caravans that they do allow on this site at any one time - my mother in law went round the site and counted (must have been bored that day!)

The beach is shingle but has nice sandy ones either side, can't comment on them because we didn't use the beach. There are two pubs in Slapton Village which both serve excellent food - in the words of another camper, because again, we can't vouch for that.

We will go back .

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Benny24 2 reviews from this member

Had a couple of days at this site over a very wet weekend! The site was very well looked after and the site managers were very pleasant, as it was quiet he told us to take a drive around and find a pitch we liked, and pointed out the good views from some of the pitches.
Toilets and all facilities were clean and tidy, (warm too!) site is five mins from shingle beach, and there were some good pubs in Slapton village.
 
Recommended for a short break
 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osprey 16 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a weeks stay at Slapton Sands, and I wanted to concur with previous remarks posted here.  The site is very well run by a team of C & CC wardens and the current team were most helpful, loaning me an extended electric cable for the entirety of my stay.  It is actually very gently sloping in most places which affords most pitches on the far side of the field a fairly distant sea view, albeit through trees and a tall hedgerow.  That is until a motor-home parks next you and blocks it out.  This site is very popular with motor-homes which I found a bit confusing as they restrict the number of caravans.
There are only 3 showers in the men's facilities (don't know about the ladies) which I fear may not be enough when families with children turn up during the school holidays.  Expect a queue, or get in there early, especially as they close at 11am until 12.30 pm for cleaning.  
The shop/office is well stocked with the basics and there is a newspaper reservation service.  A fish and chip van calls on Tuesday evenings.  The food is cooked to order and was well worth the wait.  
A barrier blocks vehicle movement between 11pm and 7am which ensured a quiet night, although the whole ambiance of the site was one of peace and quiet and relaxation.
The village offers one pub (Queens Arms) which does do food, however my meal was awful as was my dining partners, they need to stop relying on the microwave.  The other pub, The Tower, I was told, was not a place to just have a drink being more of a restaurant, however the food was apparently excellent, and good value.  So drink in the queens and eat in the tower!  Both of these establishments  are within easy walking distance of the site. 
I measure the enjoyment of a stay by whether I would return and I wouldn't hesitate visiting Slapton Sands again, but I would avoid the school holidays and Bank Holidays. 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Woodyallen 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned  from a long weekend at this site.  The loos are excellent but  there were only three showers,  which maybe difficult at peak times.  The staff are very helpful and  the pitches a good size  although some  you may need to use chocks.  The surrounding beaches are shingle but clean and  were never crowded.  The only negative would be that they say they only allow 8 caravans but there was  an army of motor-homes, so if you are looking for a tent only campsite,  this site wouldn't suit you.  We recommend this site and will return next year.  There are two pubs within walking distance, one child friendly and a lovely pub only 5 mins drive towards Dartmouth.
The  children's play area is central to the campsite if you require a pitch with view of your children, but there are also pitches away from it if you prefer a quieter time. Your requirements would be worth stating at the time of your booking as all ours were adhered to.

Reviewer: Goldfish Boy 5 reviews from this member

May 2004
Visited this site in May 2004 and it was fantastic. Lovely and peaceful with views of the sea from our tent flap. The site is five minutes walk from the lovely clean beach and five minutes from the quaint village of Slapton where there are two very good pubs. One of these pubs (the tower) served us probably the nicest pub meal we have ever eaten!

We would strongly recommend at least one day in Dartmouth which is approximately seven miles down the road - it is a beautiful place.

Facilities on the site were extremely modern and very clean. The shop sold a good range of essentials such as bread and milk and the staff were always keen to help (I took the wrong gas regulator)!

Myself and my wife really couldn't fault this place and cannot wait to return.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 43 to 48      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4852 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430