Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
              8/10 from 98 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 43 to 48                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mojo70 3 reviews from this member

Just back from Luss today and the site was really nice and had a small private pebble beach along its length

Toilet Block was clean and showers powerful

Staff very friendly and show you to your pitch

There is a small playpark with a couple of swings and a climbing frame / slide

We walked from the site along the waters edge then into the village which was nice although usual midges out in force

Stopped in for a drink at the pub at the end of the road name escapes me now

Loch Lomond cycle path passes by the entrance to the campsite

The only downside for me for the site is how close it is to the A82 and the road noise that others have mentioned seemed to be constant no matter what time of day

One thing to note if you use Sat Nav I had just updated mine with the AA Camping and Caravan Add On and it takes you off the A82 at the first turning and heads down a private road to the Golf Course ! If you take the 2nd turning on the right(if coming from glasgow) ignoring the Sat Nav then its first on the left from the main road would have thought it could have been more accurate seeing as it is the 2010 update they have obviously just used the postcode rather than bother to do it right

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helenfreddie 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night and found it to be an excellent site.

The managers were really helpful and friendly.

The loos and showers were spacious and one of the cleanest we have found on our travels.

It is a lovely clean peaceful site right next to the loch with little stony beaches

Beautiful views.

Yes the midgies were out but were manageable - just take a couple of citronella candles

We would definitely stay for longer next time

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lawrence20 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site and location. The site is right alongside the Loch and pitches are amongst the trees with good access along roadways. Site was busy but not crowded with mixture of units Tents /caravans /motorhomes.

Staff very friendly and check in excellent. As usual with the camping club we were shown to our pitch and any questions we asked the warden were answered. We personally like being shown to pitches, we think it adds a nice touch to the overall service the camping club give, It also gives a chance to ask any questions.

The showers and toilet blocks were excellent and clean. The whole site is well looked after, as are all camping club sites, And our pitch was lovely looking out onto the Loch.

The only problem we had was that sadly we had quite a lot of rain especially at night and of course the midges.Midge spray is a must and one good thing with rain it keeps the midges away.

Overall a lovely site lovely village and a we would recommend the Village rest restaurant for good food breakfast tea and evening meal..

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 35 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for two nights.

The welcome was friendly and the staff very helpful when we had a problem with our van. We had a pitch on the waters edge with stunning views. The showers and toilets were always clean and tidy. We were not bothered very much by the midges but it was raining while we were there! You can hear traffic noise from the nearby road but it didn't really bother us much. Nice easy walk into Luss village which has a couple of cafes and a hotel (The Colqhouin I think) where we had a nice meal and a drink.

There is a outlet shopping centre about 5 miles away if that's your thing! We were disappointed by the Lochside bike ride which basically was the footpath to the main road.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monthesheep 2 reviews from this member

Have been to this campsite 3 times in last 2 years and every time the high standard of facilities have been maintained. It is not that big but it has never felt crowded. The staff are friendly and there are wardens which patrol at night ensuring rules are adhered to. There is a reception which also sells limited selection of goods but with Luss village centre just 5 mins walk away this limited stock is not a problem really.

There is a kids play area, toilet block and showers which are always spotlessly clean and there is always plenty hot water. And dishwashing facilities.

The campsite is right on the shores of Loch Lomond and the views across the loch to Ben Lomond are superb. Obviously kids and small children need to be supervised when on the shore. At night you can sit on the shore and marvel at the bats swooping above the water.

Pitches are level and the grass is kept short and free from debris. No open fires on the grass are allowed but there is a shingle shore on Loch Lomond where it is not a problem to have small camp fire and roast the marshmallows (son loves this). I have always camped but there are an abundance of pitches for caravans and tourers, with electric hook up and chemical toilet disposal.

The campsite is close to the road but the noise is reduced thanks to the road being on a higher level and also the campsite is surrounded by plenty greenery which also helps with winds.

The centre of Luss (5 min walk) offers everything from pubs, hotels, restaurants, Excellent ice-creams, licensed shop and post office, visitor centre, boat rides on Loch Lomond and walks. There is also a lovely walk nearby which takes you through an old slate quarry in Glen Luss.

This campsite is very easy to find and is only 40mins drive from Glasgow and the A82 will take you north to places like Glen Coe, Fort William and Inverness.

Good Points: Excellent location, Excellent high standard facilities, Excellent staff, reasonable price - me, son, car and tent 18 a night.

Bad Points: The midges will dine out on you if you don't use repellent. The nearby hotel can sometimes be noisy but it has never really bothered me as my son and I stay up late anyway.

Overall a really excellent camp site, I will be back again next spring if not sooner. Also an excellent campsite to introduce someone to camping, to show that there is no need to 'Go behind a tree' or 'just use a leaf!'

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekrobo 16 reviews from this member

Committed a cardinal sin. Forgot my up to date membership card.First time in 20 odd years and did I suffer for it. I had my booking form which you can only get when you have booked in via the membership web site and a credit card to pay the balance which so the chance of me being someone else was very slim. The lady on on reception said she would let me on this time but don't do it again and if the other lady had been on duty she would not have let me on at all. She went on to say they have been made aware of fraud going on with people pretending to be someone they aren't I agree in the modern climate but I was was only booking on a camp site at 23 per night which wasn't any cheaper than any where else.

Other than that a very nice site a few metres from Loch Lomond. We were at North end of the site which is very close to the main road and some people may find it noisy and the elsan point is very far away.

Luss village is very picturesque and later on in the day it quietens down from the day trippers. We had a warm reception in the hotel at the Colquhoun Arms Hotel in the bar everyone very friendly and not a bad pint of McEwans.

Stopped 2 nights on our way to Findhorn further north nice place would go back but will remember my membership card next time don't want shouting at!

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 43 to 48      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430