Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin15 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a week camping at Gwithian Farm & it is an excellent site.

The pitches are spacious & there have been screens / windbreaks thoughtfully positioned around the site, in between pitches that when mature & fully grown will be even better.

Most pitches are on a slight slope

The showers & toilet facilities were kept spotless & the showers have room to move around & dry off properly unlike some other sites we have been on. The only negative would be that it is a long walk to the toilets if you are at the top end of the field. The same would also apply to the dishwashing area, very good but a long way from the top of the field.

They have free wi-fi on site which is a great idea.

The mobile phone reception on the site is very poor, sometimes we could not get a signal!

Another camper said that they were not happy that there was not any security on site, ie anybody could drive in or out of the camp. Unlike other sites where you had electric gates / barriers to get through to enter sites. But this did not bother us, and the owners cottage is by the entrance to the site anyway.

It is a 10 minute walk to the beach, the beach is three miles long, Clean & unspoilt, There is lifegaurds at the one end of the beach.

There is a pub opposite the site which we did not go in but was told that it was very good & the food was not bad either.

The nearest supermarket is in Hale, a 5 minute drive & there is a Lidl or Coop. The shop on site sells basic items required & newspapers etc

The site is in a great position close to many attractions, we visited Lands End, The Minack Theatre, St Ives, Penzance, St Michaels Mount, Falmouth, & Newquay, all within 30 minutes drive of the site

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 111 reviews from this member

Site is in a nice location near to the sand dunes, the beach and the pub. Pitches are a very good size and the site is well looked after.

The pub was good value and also dog friendly. It's advisable to book as it gets quite busy. The beach has a dog friendly section throughout the year and restrictions on others parts during the summer months.

The only downside to the site is that it was a long walk to the washrooms. We'd probably only stay again, if we could book a bit closer to the them, as a couple of minute walk during the night isn't great.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toptrout 3 reviews from this member

We had a really lovely stay at Gwithian, the site is very well kept, clean & friendly, family oriented, with a good size pitch and in a lovely location. Within walking distance of the beautiful beach but you do walk near tall cliffs - my only point for raising this is that whilst we were there a little dog jumped off the cliff, which was very sad - so keep your children & pets close! There was a field for children to play on & an area with rabbits etc for the kids to see.

I recommend this site to everyone who wants to stay in this area & definitely would like to return one day.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ziggy65 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August, the owners/staff are so friendly and welcoming. We had a fantastic EHU pitch and from what we saw all the pitches were good and had plenty of space for caravan, awning and car.

The toilets/showers were always spotless and considering it was one of the main holiday weeks we never had to queue for the showers.

The site is in a fantastic location; opposite a pub, a short walk to the beach, a short drive from Hayle and St Ives.

There is also a regular bus service to St Ives and Newquay that stops right outside the site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Calcamper 14 reviews from this member

Recently returned from a week at Gwithian, an area we know well, but first time at this campsite.

Pitches are spacious, we were screened with hedges on 2 sides so quite private. Campsite had small shop and play area, showers clean and hot.

Main benefit was it was a 10 minute walk acros dunes to a fabulous beach, miles of golden sand. Excellent for surfing and fully lifeguarded.

The sunset surf does great food and hot chocolate.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NellyPS 8 reviews from this member

We have been to Gwithian for the past two years and are booked again for this August. With this summer looking like a washout we considered going abroad but the children (and the dog) voted for Gwithian, which we are more than happy about.

As everyone has said a warm welcome waits for you at the site, itís a beautifully clean site and well set out with great pitches and close enough to the beach and pub to leave the car at the site.

Everything has been covered by previous reviews but I wanted to mention a bit more for the benefit of families with children.

Although our children are 13 and 16 they still enjoy camping and as we have been going for a couple of years they have made friends who return each year at the same time, they keep themselves busy and we get some time to ourselves.

There is a little area for the children to congregate with table tennis and also the large field at the top for games, expect a stampede for the ice cream van, mass games of manhunt and plenty of ball games and kite flying during the summer holidays, the site is always busy during peak times and is very popular with families but people are considerate and will bring in their children at the appropriate time and it is quiet early enough in the evening to allow the smaller children to sleep.

We look forward to our return in August!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AandJ 8 reviews from this member

Spent a wonderful week at this very well kept campsite. The pitches were well maintained, though some perhaps a little short on elbow room (the only small criticism).

The toilet and shower block was spotlessly clean and modern, we never had to queue for a shower. The whole site was very well presented, it is obvious that a lot of thought has gone into this.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk from the campsite over the dunes to the beach.

We would definitely go back again as it is one of the very best sites we have found. It goes without saying that the general area of St Ives is beautiful too.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katylp 1 review from this member

We have just visited Gwithian Farm for the fourth time - the first being in 2005 - this was our first time with a serviced pitch though. The site has matured wonderfully with the toilet/shower block still in pristine condition and always extremely clean.

One of the best additions to the site since we last visited in 2007 is the planted areas that act as windbreaks and barriers between some of the pitches.

The on site shop now stocks more in the way of little toys for children to buy which my children loved spending their holiday money on!

Although there is no playground at Gwithian Farm I really don't think that it's missed. My children loved playing in front of our tent with the other children - usually on scooters. There are guinea pigs, goats and chickens for them to visit which is another new addition for us.

The site is well taken care of by Mike, Clair and their friendly staff - it's just a lovely place to stay.

Before we went this year I had read some of the more recent reviews commenting on the amount of pitches increasing and saying that there aren't enough showers and toilets to cope - I really didn't find this was the case for us.

We visited during the first week of the school holidays and the site was full. Once or twice I had to wait with my daughter for about 5 minutes for a shower but I think that is to be expected during peak times. I never had to wait for the toilet though!

Gwithian Towans beach is lovely. It's about 10 minutes or so walk from the campsite either across the dunes or down the road. It can be a trek with little ones who want to be carried so we sometimes took the pram with us. We also cheated one day and drove down to the beach car park!

We had excellent weather during our stay so we spent as much time on the beach as we could however we did also have a few days out. There are lots of good places to visit in this part of Cornwall, Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm at Penhallow, St. Michaels Mount at Marizion, St. Ives is lovely just to wander round and then there's Newquay too to name just a few.

We have visited the pub opposite the campsite previously and the food was very nice however this year we didn't really eat out apart from the odd pasty during the day! A van visits several mornings a week selling freshly cooked bacon rolls etc, a fish and chips van visits a couple of times a week and a fresh fish van selling locally caught fish visits too.

There are lots of shops nearby in Hayle - the Co-op supermarket was the one we visited most often as it stocked everything we needed. Theres also a Lidl and Spar shop.

I would especially recommend Gwithian Farm Campsite to families with children of all ages. We love it so much we will be going back again for a fifth time next year - we booked on our last day!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juro27 2 reviews from this member

We had a week stay here with 2 caravans, 4 adults and 2 children. We stayed on pitches 6 and 7, which were ideally positioned for all the facilities on site! We had a fantastic time, lovely location, perfectly situated for touring Cornwall.

Gwithian itself is a sleepy, picturesque, rural village, with a few houses, a church and a pub! (which was very friendly and served excellent food!)

Make sure you book in advance though, as we were disappointed on our last night there, as was fully booked. The owners and staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, so thanks for that.

The showers and washing up facilities were plentiful and clean (always a bonus). The beach is a 5-10 minute walk and worth every minute, absolutely stunning!

We will definitely stay here again, in fact we have already booked for next June!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mtooth 4 reviews from this member

Spent two weeks at the site in July 2011. We had a wonderful time and loved the site. Pitches are marked out but you don't feel hemmed in at all as they are very big.

Lovely plants and shrubbery around the site which makes it feel very private. Excellent shower blocks and never had to wait and we loved the family shower room which was great for getting three little boys showered in one go.

The walk to the beach really does only take 10 mins and our three boys age 8, 6 and 4 walked it easily every day. The beach is lovely and as we had such good weather we didn't stray far from it.

The pub is lovely opposite and had a lovely afternoon sitting in their garden drinking cider and no need for a taxi back to the site, its only about a 1 minute walk!

There are two cafes near the beach both of which are nice, the Jam Pot is a little bit more of a tea and scone place rather than serving alcohol.

The free wifi was helpful but very slow due to usage I would imagine.

About two miles away is a Marks and Spencers for little luxuries, Boots and Next which was helpful as well as a Lidl.

The owners were really nice and always happy to help with all our questions. We made the mistake of not using a breathable ground sheet so remember to take one of those if your tent doesn't have an inbuilt one as the site does take a lot of pride in how it looks.

To summarise we will definitely be going back - can't wait actually.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5632 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.2031
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec