Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NellyPS 8 reviews from this member

We have been to Gwithian for the past two years and are booked again for this August. With this summer looking like a washout we considered going abroad but the children (and the dog) voted for Gwithian, which we are more than happy about.

As everyone has said a warm welcome waits for you at the site, itís a beautifully clean site and well set out with great pitches and close enough to the beach and pub to leave the car at the site.

Everything has been covered by previous reviews but I wanted to mention a bit more for the benefit of families with children.

Although our children are 13 and 16 they still enjoy camping and as we have been going for a couple of years they have made friends who return each year at the same time, they keep themselves busy and we get some time to ourselves.

There is a little area for the children to congregate with table tennis and also the large field at the top for games, expect a stampede for the ice cream van, mass games of manhunt and plenty of ball games and kite flying during the summer holidays, the site is always busy during peak times and is very popular with families but people are considerate and will bring in their children at the appropriate time and it is quiet early enough in the evening to allow the smaller children to sleep.

We look forward to our return in August!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AandJ 7 reviews from this member

Spent a wonderful week at this very well kept campsite. The pitches were well maintained, though some perhaps a little short on elbow room (the only small criticism).

The toilet and shower block was spotlessly clean and modern, we never had to queue for a shower. The whole site was very well presented, it is obvious that a lot of thought has gone into this.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk from the campsite over the dunes to the beach.

We would definitely go back again as it is one of the very best sites we have found. It goes without saying that the general area of St Ives is beautiful too.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katylp 1 review from this member

We have just visited Gwithian Farm for the fourth time - the first being in 2005 - this was our first time with a serviced pitch though. The site has matured wonderfully with the toilet/shower block still in pristine condition and always extremely clean.

One of the best additions to the site since we last visited in 2007 is the planted areas that act as windbreaks and barriers between some of the pitches.

The on site shop now stocks more in the way of little toys for children to buy which my children loved spending their holiday money on!

Although there is no playground at Gwithian Farm I really don't think that it's missed. My children loved playing in front of our tent with the other children - usually on scooters. There are guinea pigs, goats and chickens for them to visit which is another new addition for us.

The site is well taken care of by Mike, Clair and their friendly staff - it's just a lovely place to stay.

Before we went this year I had read some of the more recent reviews commenting on the amount of pitches increasing and saying that there aren't enough showers and toilets to cope - I really didn't find this was the case for us.

We visited during the first week of the school holidays and the site was full. Once or twice I had to wait with my daughter for about 5 minutes for a shower but I think that is to be expected during peak times. I never had to wait for the toilet though!

Gwithian Towans beach is lovely. It's about 10 minutes or so walk from the campsite either across the dunes or down the road. It can be a trek with little ones who want to be carried so we sometimes took the pram with us. We also cheated one day and drove down to the beach car park!

We had excellent weather during our stay so we spent as much time on the beach as we could however we did also have a few days out. There are lots of good places to visit in this part of Cornwall, Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm at Penhallow, St. Michaels Mount at Marizion, St. Ives is lovely just to wander round and then there's Newquay too to name just a few.

We have visited the pub opposite the campsite previously and the food was very nice however this year we didn't really eat out apart from the odd pasty during the day! A van visits several mornings a week selling freshly cooked bacon rolls etc, a fish and chips van visits a couple of times a week and a fresh fish van selling locally caught fish visits too.

There are lots of shops nearby in Hayle - the Co-op supermarket was the one we visited most often as it stocked everything we needed. Theres also a Lidl and Spar shop.

I would especially recommend Gwithian Farm Campsite to families with children of all ages. We love it so much we will be going back again for a fifth time next year - we booked on our last day!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juro27 2 reviews from this member

We had a week stay here with 2 caravans, 4 adults and 2 children. We stayed on pitches 6 and 7, which were ideally positioned for all the facilities on site! We had a fantastic time, lovely location, perfectly situated for touring Cornwall.

Gwithian itself is a sleepy, picturesque, rural village, with a few houses, a church and a pub! (which was very friendly and served excellent food!)

Make sure you book in advance though, as we were disappointed on our last night there, as was fully booked. The owners and staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, so thanks for that.

The showers and washing up facilities were plentiful and clean (always a bonus). The beach is a 5-10 minute walk and worth every minute, absolutely stunning!

We will definitely stay here again, in fact we have already booked for next June!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mtooth 4 reviews from this member

Spent two weeks at the site in July 2011. We had a wonderful time and loved the site. Pitches are marked out but you don't feel hemmed in at all as they are very big.

Lovely plants and shrubbery around the site which makes it feel very private. Excellent shower blocks and never had to wait and we loved the family shower room which was great for getting three little boys showered in one go.

The walk to the beach really does only take 10 mins and our three boys age 8, 6 and 4 walked it easily every day. The beach is lovely and as we had such good weather we didn't stray far from it.

The pub is lovely opposite and had a lovely afternoon sitting in their garden drinking cider and no need for a taxi back to the site, its only about a 1 minute walk!

There are two cafes near the beach both of which are nice, the Jam Pot is a little bit more of a tea and scone place rather than serving alcohol.

The free wifi was helpful but very slow due to usage I would imagine.

About two miles away is a Marks and Spencers for little luxuries, Boots and Next which was helpful as well as a Lidl.

The owners were really nice and always happy to help with all our questions. We made the mistake of not using a breathable ground sheet so remember to take one of those if your tent doesn't have an inbuilt one as the site does take a lot of pride in how it looks.

To summarise we will definitely be going back - can't wait actually.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cat the Dog Lover 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Pitches are screened off and act as windbreaks. Great location close to a fabulous beach- you can take a long walk along the beach or coastal path (in the dunes) to Hayle and back, or go in the other directions on a cliff top walk.

Beautiful. Surfing. Seals nearby. Variety of eating places within walking distance. Not fancy food but nice. Pub nearby is welcoming with a range of guest beers.

Wider range of eating places a short drive away. Toilet block/showers very very nice, including free hairdryers in the ladies - worth the walk if you are at the top end.

St Ives is a short drive or bus ride away - I recommend you take a photo of the bus timetable at the stop just outside the site with your phone as other stops don't all advertise the times for these local buses.

Riding on the top deck was like being on a rollercoaster - great fun! We spent 2 weeks here and could have stayed longer.

Wifi, fish and chip van twice a week (in the centre of the field) and a fresh fish van once per week.

We cycled the coast to coast (ha ha) to Marazion (St Michaels mount), penzance, Mousehole (very pretty) and beyond. We drove to Sennon Cove, also very nice, but don't bother with Lands End.

All in all a great quiet site with lovely facilities on it, a great variety of facilities nearby and lots of places to see and visit. Book up now!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Happy Campers! 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Gwithian Farm for only two nights but had a fantastic time! The site facilities were so clean and even though it was fully booked we didn't have to wait for showers or wash up.

Our pitch felt really private as there were plants on two sides and this made a pleasant division from our camping neighbours. Everyone was really friendly and the site had a really good atmosphere.

The shop was well stocked and strawberries from the local farm were available to purchase and the bread was made locally. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Mike who gave us all the info we needed and a really good map.

As the weather was just superb we made the most of enjoying sitting outside our tent in the evenings but a pub was right opposite the site which is ideal if the weather was raining.

A 10 minute walk to the fabulous beach, great for surfing and bodyboarding.

Two cafes were close to the beach, Sunset Surf and the Jam pot. We will definitely return, planning to for Aug but just realised it is fully booked. There will always be another time.

A must campsite if you are looking to stay in this area.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fishing family!! 5 reviews from this member

Arrived here at about lunchtime with my 2 dogs and 2 children. Kids loved it as soon as we got there and the pitch size was amazing!

Owners were very lovely and so accommodating for me as I asked for a couple of specifics. Thank you for that.

The showers and toilets are exceptionally clean, however, for a site that large I think a few more would be good as I queued for 40 minutes one day!

On the whole, it's a lovely site, but as a couple of people have said, it's not the most amazing. May go back again, may not.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaadow005 9 reviews from this member

Once again Mike and Claire have come up trumps, the warmest of welcomes and the best of sites, a real pleasure to look forward to and enjoy once there.

I must add this comment though, there is a short cut at the top of the campsite to the beach, but it is danger of being lost due to thoughtless dog owners. The path runs round the edge of a farmers field, and understandably he is getting very annoyed about dog mess being left there.

The alternative walk to the beach is much longer, so to all dog owners (I am one), clean up your dog mess or you will lose the short route to the beach.

Thanks Mike and Claire, we'll be back shortly!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

Had a very enjoyable weekend on this site recently. The site is really laid back, not lots of rules like some sites. We had a nice level grass pitch, facilities all good and clean. On-site shop had all the basics. Good TV & mobile signal (O2).

We had a meal at the Red River pub opposite, nice food, but we did find the tables a bit close together, especially as we had our collie dog with us. The 2nd night we walked out to the Sandsifter pub, enjoyed it there as well, also doggie friendly, more space. Had a cuppa at both the Godrevy Cafe and Sunset Cafe, like them both.

Great walks straight from site.

We will definitely be returning to this site.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.4038